CSUF Pollak Library
Business Research Guides
Librarian Recommended Web Sites
This is a list of especially noteworthy web sites that are freely available to the general public.
Business Plans | Case Studies | Finance
International | Products | Ratios
Librarians' Index to the Internet: Business
Websites on business that have been selected, reviewed, and annotated by
librarians. A reliable source for finding accurate and authoritative
information on the web.
The
Internet Scout Report: Business
Timely reviews of websites by scholars, professors, librarians, and
other subject experts. The site may be browsed by subject heading or
searched by keyword.
Infomine: Business and Economics
A large database of scholarly websites. The site may be searched by
keyword or browsed by subject. You can limit your search to free
resources only.
Business.com: The Search Engine for Business Information
Accounting, Agriculture, Automotive, Chemicals, Computers & Software,
Electronics & Semiconductors, Energy & Environment, Financial Services,
Food & Beverage, Government & Trade, Healthcare, Human Resources,
Industrial Goods & Services, Information Technology, Internet & Online,
Law, Management, Marketing, Media & Entertainment, Pharmaceuticals, Real
Estate & Construction, Research & Education, Retail & Consumer Services,
Small Business, Telecommunications, and Transportation & Logistics.
Business Researcher's Interests
This business-oriented megasite covers twenty main topics of interest to
the business researcher: Information Search, Journals/Magazines, BPR:
Process Innovation, Knowledge Management, Emergent Organizations,
Electronic Commerce, Intellectual Property, NII &GII: Infrastructure,
Complex Systems, Research & Pedagogy, W(h)ither MIS?, MIS Research,
Philosophy of Technology, Infotech & Healthcare, Information
Professional, Researcher's News.Wire, Internet & WWW Design,
International BizTech, India Biztech, Investments & Leisure.
CEO Express
"We find that 80% of the useful information on the Internet comes from a
tiny percentage of the available websites. Through CEO Express, we sift
through this chaotic array of information and critically select the
links that you need on your desktop everyday." -Home page.
Google Scholar
Find freely available scholarly articles and other publications on any
academic topic including business, management, marketing, economics,
accounting, etc.
IOMA
Business Pages
Institute of Management and Administration Mega-site with over 400
business management links.
Knuru
A free, searchable database of full-text news articles and analysis on
business topics.
Library of Congress BE Online: Internet Resources
Hundreds of links to valuable websites recommended by the Business
Reference Service of the Library of Congress
PriceWaterhouseCoopers Publications
An online library of reports on industries and countries from a leading,
global management consulting firm. Many reports are available for free
download.
Stanford Securities Class Action Clearinghouse
Provides detailed information relating to the prosecution, defense, and
settlement of federal class action securities fraud litigation.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Includes demographic, labor, industrial and trade statistics. products.
Vault.com
Good source for corporate news and corporate culture information.
Factiva Newsstand (CSUF Portal Login required)
Read the latest editions of The Wall Street Journal,
New York Times, Business Week, Newsweek, Barron's,
San Francisco Chronicle, USA Today, and The Christian Science
Monitor. Click on News Pages to access.
Yahoo! Finance: News and Opinion
CNBC.Com
CNNMoney.Com
Bloomberg.Com
FoxBusiness.Com
Check this sites for breaking business news.
Moneycentral: Newscenter
Check the latest news from a variety of business newspapers and
websites.
Wall
Street Journal Online
News, opinion, and analysis from the world's leading business newspaper.
Businessweek.com
News, opinion, and analysis from one of the leading business magazines.
New
York Times: Business
Business news, opinion, and analysis from the New York Times.
Los
Angeles Times: Business
Business news, opinion, and analysis with a focus on Southern
California.
Orange County Register: Money
Local news, opinion, and analysis with an emphasis on Orange County,
personal finance and small business.
Blog
Business World
A blog about blogs. This is a good place to find out about unique and
interesting business blogs.
Research Recap
The latest news on market, academic, and economic research, summarized
by business journalists.
BPlans.com, The Business Planning Resource Center
Samples of business and marketing plans.
Moot
Corp. Competition: Sample Business Plans
Award-winning business plans submitted to the Moot Corp. Competion held
at the University of Texas.
Caseplace.org
Abstracts and some full-text of business case studies, provided by The
Aspen Institute Business and Society Program.
European Case Clearing House
Searchable by keyword. Includes management case studies, related
teaching notes, technical notes, industry background notes and videos.
Cases may be searched free of charge through COLIS: Case Online
Information System.
INSEAD: Research and Development Activities
Case studies, developed at INSEAD in France, can be browsed by broad
subject categories including Entrepreneurship. European or international
focus.
B&E DataLinks: Econ & Financial Data Sources
This site, from the Business&Economics Statistics Section of the American
Statistics Association, is loaded with information about web sites that have
statistics related to business and economics statistics. The database is
searchable by keywords or can be browsed by broad subject category
(macroeconomics, business datasets, finance, etc). The results are listed
alphabetically, however a detailed annotation, date of last update, and
rating of the site is provided with each link.
Bizstats.com
Financial ratios and other industry data. Limited free information is
available, but you must be a paying subscriber to access all of their data.
Finance
Resources on the Web
Ian Giddy of the Stern School of Business at New York University, created
this guide to valuable resources for students of Finance. An excellent
place to start looking for reliable web sites.
bigcharts.com
Current and historical stock quotes, market and industry information,
interactive charting, a stock screener and more.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
A very well-organized site put together by the American Economists
Association. Web sites are organized by detailed categories and given full
annotations. It may be browsed by table of contents or searched by keyword.
Secinfo.com
A searchable database of all SEC filings reported since 1995.
Registration may be required.
EDGAR
Company Search
Find the SEC report for any company or mutual fund, dating back to 1993.
The full text of all reports for the last two years may be searched at once.
Asian Sources
A searchable database of products, suppliers, and companies in Asian
markets. Company profiles include a detailed description of each
company, contact information, and links to descriptions of the products
they supply. Product descriptions include pictures, product details, and
pricing information.
Euromonitor Sources
Links to country-specific resources on business, marketing, and finance.
Exports.gov
A site from the federal government providing trade statistics, tariff
rates, and other data. The site is aimed at businesspeople wanting to
export goods.
FedEx
International Resource Center: Country Profiles
A free website from FedEx that provides trade information for over 40
countries. Data includes import/export regulations, Trade agreements
and treaties, regulatory contracts, and a basic country profile.
Global Business and Finance Resources
An annotated listing, including links, of websites dealing with
international business.
global EDGE
From Michigan State University, this site provides detailed country
profiles that include profiles ,statistics, marketing data, government
information, economic information, and relevant links to other sites.
Tradeport
From the state of California, Tradeport contains country profiles, trade
leads and statistics, reference information, and tutorials on how to
conduct foreign trade.
Statistical Offices in Europe
France: INSEE
Economic, political, geographical, social, and demographic data about
France. Some information is provided in French only.
Germany: Federal Statistical Office
Economic, political, geographical, social ,and demographic data about
Germany.
Spain: National Statistics Institute
Economic, political, geographical, social, and demographic data about
Spain.
Italy: National Institute of Statistics
Economic, political, social, geographical, and demographic data about
Italy.
Portugal: Instituto Nacional de Estatistica
Economic, political, social, geographical, and demographic data about
Portugal. Many reports are available for download, however, most of
these are not available in English.
Belgium: National Institute of Statistics
The English version of this site includes short-term indicators and some
census reports. Complete information is available in French and Dutch.
Netherlands: Statistics Netherlands
Economic, political, social, geographical, and demographic data about
The Netherlands. Many reports and up to date news releases are also
available.
Canadian Sources
Company Capabilities
A directory of over 50,000 Canadian businesses. The Directory may be
searched by keyword, product type, or company name.
Nafta
Topics
A site provided by U.S. Customs and Boder Protection. It includes
information on regulations for doing business with the NAFTA countries,
including Canada.
ProfitGuide.com's 100 Canada's Fastest Growing Companies
Basic profiles of the top 100 fastest growing companies in Canada, as
determined by revenue growth over the previous year.
Mexican Sources
Consensus Economic Forecast: Mexico
These quarterly reports, provided by the W.P. Carey School of Business
at Arizona State University, provides projections, statistics, and other
data about the Mexican economy.
Export.gov: Mexico
A site from the U.S. government designed to provide information to U.S.
companies interested in doing business in Mexico.
Nafta
Topics
A site provided by U.S. Customs and Boder Protection. It includes
information on regulations for doing business with the NAFTA countries,
including Mexico.
Business.com: The Search Engine for Business Information
Accounting, Agriculture, Automotive, Chemicals, Computers & Software,
Electronics & Semiconductors, Energy & Environment, Financial Services,
Food & Beverage, Government & Trade, Healthcare, Human Resources,
Industrial Goods & Services, Information Technology, Internet & Online,
Law, Management, Marketing, Media & Entertainment, Pharmaceuticals, Real
Estate & Construction, Research & Education, Retail & Consumer Services,
Small Business, Telecommunications, and Transportation & Logistics.
Industry Search
An online industrial directory which can be searched by product,
supplier, or manufacturer. It can also be browsed by product portal.
Kompass: The Business to Business Search Engine
A searchable database of products, services, companies, and trade names
worldwide. Each profile includes general business information for each
company and a list of products, services, or supplies that they provide.
-rs
Manufacturing e-Marketplace
Touted as the manufacturing e-marketplace this contains manufacturing
yellow pages, key indicators, and manufacturing news.
Bizstats.com
Financial ratios and other industry data. Limited free information is
available, but you must be a paying subscriber to access all of their
data.
Business Owners Toolkit: Business Ratios
[CCH]
Describes types of ratios, what they are used for, and how they are
calculated.
Financial Ratio Calculator
Plug in the company financials and you can calculate your own ratios.
Market Guide: Business Ratios
Enter a company ticker or name and get stock information. It also lists
key ratios and brief financials.