Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States (2001)
- Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court (2006)
- Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice (2002)
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (2002)
- American Attitudes: Who Thinks What About Issues That Shape Our Lives (2005)
Statistics ▲
- Capital Punishment Statistics [USDOJ]
- Sourcebook of Criminal
Justice Statistics [annual]
Note: In INDEX, see CAPITAL PUNISHMENT. - California--LAT article--2009 statistics: "Death row foes cite state costs; California could save $1 billion, they say, by commuting all capital sentences to life without parole." Statistics. Los Angeles Times, June 30, 2009, p. A3. Available full text in database Los Angeles Times.

Books ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: capital punishment
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: capital punishment united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: capital punishment united states history
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: discrimination in capital punishment united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: judicial error united states
Titles of note:
- A Broken System: Error Rates in Capital Cases, 1973-1995 [National Institute of Corrections]
- Arbitrary and Capricious: The Supreme Court, the Constitution, and the Death Penalty (2003)
- Don't Kill in our Names: Families of Murder Victims Speak Out against the Death Penalty (2003)
- The Contradictions of American Capital Punishment (2003)
- Cruel and Unusual Punishment: Rights and Liberties under the Law (2003)
- Who Owns Death? Capital Punishment, the American Conscience, and the End of Executions (2000)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search the library's subscription databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Web Sites ▲
- Capital Punishment [NCJRS]
- Death Penalty: An Overview [LII]
- Capital Punishment: Links to Documents Online
- ACLU: Capital Punishment Project
- Death Penalty Information Center
California ▲
- California
Constitution, Article 1, Section 27
Note: Scroll down to Sec. 27 -
California Penal Code
Note: Use browser's EDIT/Find to locate all occurrences of death penalty - California Penal Code Section 3600-3607
- California Penal Code Section 187-199
- Article: "Death row foes cite state costs; California could save $1 billion, they say, by commuting all capital sentences to life without parole." Statistics. Los Angeles Times, June 30, 2009, p. A3. Available full text in database Los Angeles Times.
- History of Capital Punishment in California
- Capital Punishment - Key Events
Juveniles ▲
- Roper v. Simmons 543 U.S. 551 (2005)
- U.S. Supreme Court Ends Death Penalty for Juveniles (March 1, 2005)
- The Juvenile Death Penalty Today: Death Sentences and Executions for Juvenile Crimes, January 1, 197-April 30, 2004
- Juveniles and the Death Penalty (2000) [USDOJ]
- Juveniles and the Death Penalty: Exploring the Issues in Roper v. Simmons (2004)
Pro & Con ▲
- Database: Opposing Viewpoints [CSUF]
- Database: CQ Researcher [CSUF]
- A Comparative Analysis of Capital Punishment: Statutes, Policies, Frequencies, and Public Attitudes the World Over (2002)
- Arbitrary and Capricious: The Supreme Court, the Constitution, and the Death Penalty (2003)
- The Federal
Death Penalty System: A Statistical Survey: 1988-2000 (2000)
Statistics and Discussion of the federal death penalty system since the enactment of the first modern capital punishment statute in 1988. Focuses on racial/ethic and geographic distribution of defendants and their victims.
U.S. Law, Supreme Court, State Laws ▲
- Background and overview: Death Penalty: An Overview [LII]
- Background and overview: West's Encyclopedia of American Law [see 1998 volumes and Yearbook]
- Supreme Court cases--juveniles: Roper v. Simmons 543 U.S. 551 (2005)
- Supreme Court cases: Death Penalty Cases: Leading U.S. Supreme Court Cases on Capital Punishment (1998)
- Supreme Court cases--mentally ill: Atkins v. Virginia 536 U.S. 304 (2002)
- House Report 103-458: Racial Justice Act: Report together with dissenting views (to accompany H.R. 4017) (including cost estimate of the Congressional Budget Office (1994). House Report 103-458.
