Internet
 

Home
Internet
Books
Reference
Articles
Campus Information
Interview Research

 
 

Careers, Jobs & Scholarships

 25 Jun 2007

Careers Internships Job-HuntingScholarships & GrantsStudy Abroad

 

Careers

Cal State Fullerton Career Center
Guides students through interest assessment, links to graduate and professional school programs, and career information.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. government web site that provides statistics on employment for jobs, industries, cities, and many other criteria.
Career Ideas
Site features career center handouts that answer the question: What Can I Do With A Major In...? From the University of Texas.
Career Guide to Industries
The Career Guide to Industries provides information on available careers by industry, including the nature of the industry, working conditions, employment, occupations in the industry, training and advancement, earnings and benefits, employment outlook, and lists of organizations that can provide additional information. - site intro
Major Resource Kits 
Links academic majors to career alternatives by providing information on career paths, sample job titles, and a short bibliography. From the University of Delaware.
Salary.com
Find salaries based on job title and location.
SalaryExpert.com
Salary, benefit, cost-of-living, and compensation data. Allows you to assess not only what you should earn in a certain job and area, but also what those earnings will purchase. In over 30 languages.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Issued by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and searchable by occupation, it describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. - site intro.

Vault.Com
Vault provides "insider" accounts of working for hundreds of corporations around the country. Some information is available by subscription only, but there is plenty of free information on the site.

Wet Feet Press
A web site with profiles of companies, industries, and occupations.  A great feature are interviews with real people working in hundreds of fields.
Wet Feet is a great site to get an insiders view of what it is really like to work in an industry.

Internships

Corporation for National and Community Service  
The Corporation for National and Community Service matches talented, motivated people with opportunities to serve their community and the nation. This is the umbrella organization for the AmeriCorps program that helps serving students pay for college as well as the Learn and Serve, America Reads Challenge, AmeriCorps Promise Fellows and AmeriCorps*VISTA Technology programs.
Council on International Educational Exchange
In 1997, Council on International Educational Exchange celebrated the past half century of service to young people studying, working and traveling abroad. We now look forward to the future and the contributions that Council can bring to a global society in the next millennium. Employment and internship opportunities are listed by position and by location.
Internship Programs.com
Contains over 2400 programs and 250,000 positions. At this web site you can research and apply online. Listings by company are for the U.S. only. International internships are searched by location - bm.
Peace Corps
Must have a four-year college degree to volunteer. College Juniors may apply but must have obtained degree by the time their assignment begins.
Rising Star Internships
Allows students to search for internships and post their résumés and employers to post their available internships as well as hunt for prospective interns.  Also  contains a small but growing list of part-time employment for students.

Job-Hunting - Specifically For College Students
General Sites

Academic 360.com
Meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the academic job hunter. It includes links to faculty, staff, and administrative announcements and is not restricted to teaching positions. - cb
 
CampusCareerCenter.com
CampusCareerCenter.com is a leading campus recruiting company. College students can log in and search for jobs, research companies, or search for tips in the career corner. - gy
Careerjournal
From the publishers of the Wall Street Journal, careers.wsj.com provides job-hunting and work-place advancement advice as well as job listings by position, company and location. Emphasis is on business careers. - bmiller
CollegeGrad.com
A site which posts entry-level and limited experience job openings for recent graduates.
CollegeJournal
For undergraduate, graduate and MBA students who want job-search and career-guidance information. updated daily. Includes news, features and trends in jobs, internships, and careers. - site intro

JobTrak
This site provides full access to job postings at hundreds of colleges and grad schools across the country. Note: You must be a student or alumnus of a JobTrak affiliated school such as CSUF to use this service. - site intro.

Job-Hunting - General Sites

AmericanJobs.com
Employment site with emphasis on technology, computer and engineering jobs.
Ask the Headhunter
The insider's edge on job search and hiring.
Black Collegian Online
 
Career Builder.com
This site allows one to search for jobs or review archives of career resources such as changing careers, interviewing, and résumés.
CareerJet.com
Searches across the web for job postings in the U.S.
EmploymentSpot
EmploymentSpot (part of the StartSpot Network) is a free resource center with links to job searching resources, interview tips, company profiles, and salary and benefits information. -gy
Garage.com
Interested in a job with a high-tech start-up company?  You can post your résumé here.
HotJobs.com
Hotjobs allows you to search by keywords, job type, and by company name. The Careers link has information on résumés, interviewing techniques, and a networking link (Communities). - gy
+Jobs America
Searchable database of job postings. Free access. - mh
Job Searching
Links to job sites, and tips and tools for managing effective job search from About.com's guide Alison Doyle. - gy
Job-Hunt.Org
This site strives to be a comprehensive source of web employment resources. Although the site itself does not post jobs or résumés, they are extensive site of links to these type of resources (links you can search by category or location). Also available are links to getting started in your job search, job search news, and networking. - gy
JobStar Los Angeles
"Looking for a job or planning a career in the Los Angeles Area? You're in the right place for local job openings, career assistance and information." - site intro.
Monster
Includes job listings worldwide, a personal job search agent, employer profiles, relocation services, résumé preparation assistance.
NationJob.com
This site was named “one of the top 5 job searching engines” by Fortune Magazine. It includes an easy-to-search database of jobs in many different industries, as well as “P.J. Scout”, a personalized job search agent that seeks out openings based on criteria you provide. - rsage
Orange County Careers.com
Job openings, particularly in professional, technical, and managerial fields, located in Orange County. - rsage
Recruiter Resources
This portal is designed to be a complete resource for human resources, staffing, and recruiting industries. There are links to national and regional job sites and to résumé broadcasting sites. -gy
State Jobs (The Internet Job Source)
Large collection of links to civil service agencies and job openings on the federal, state, county, and city levels. - rsage
True Careers
This site features resources for finding jobs, tips on getting hired, and resources for being successful in the workplace.

Scholarships , Grants & Loans

College is Possible
"A resource guide for parents, students, and educational professionals." - Site intro.
eStudentLoan.com
Get student loan comparisons and apply online to major lenders. Includes advice, news, and a scholarship search tool.
FastWeb
Search for scholarships in a database of more than 800,000 listings.
FinAid (The Financial Aid Information Page)
"This page provides a free, comprehensive, independent, and objective guide to student financial aid. It is maintained by Mark Kantrowitz... and is sponsored by the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA)." - Site intro.
Gates Millennium Scholars Program
This is the program supported by a $1,000,000,000 donation by Bill Gates and his wife in 1999. Administered by the United Negro College Fund, the grants will provide scholarships and fellowships targeting outstanding African-American, Hispanic American, Native American and Asian American students allowing them to attend the undergraduate or graduate institution of their choice.- bmiller.
Grants: A Pollak Library Research Guide
This guide is designed to assist you in exploring the world of grants and grant writing. It includes a selective listing of internet sites, general and special directories, and grant writing guides. These sources should be useful to beginners, as well as to more savvy grant seekers and writers in identifying funding sources.
Student Guide
Financial Aid from the U.S. Department of Education

Study Abroad

GoAbroad.com
Directory of study-abroad programs, overseas internships, international volunteer opportunities, teach abroad, jobs abroad, and a whole lot more.
Study Abroad
Studyabroad.com is the on-line study abroad information resource. Here you will find listings for thousands of study abroad programs in more than 100 countries throughout the world. You will also find hundreds of links to study abroad program home pages and a wealth of related information. - site intro.

 

Last Updated: June 20th, 2007
modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.