|






| |
ResearchinQuestion: You’ve
landed the job interview. It’s scheduled for two weeks from now…..How should
you prepare?
Answer: FIND OUT
EVERYTHING YOU CAN ABOUT THE ORGANIZATION YOU ARE INTERVIEWING WITH.
Chances are you had a basic
idea about what the organization does before you applied for the job. However,
in order to be completely prepared for the interview, you’ll need to know more
than just what the company does. Potential employers want to know that you are
up to speed on their company. Impress them with your knowledge! Make them feel
that you aren’t just another recent graduate, but someone who truly wants to
work for their organization and in their industry. To accomplish this, you’ll
need to know about its products, their competitors, the industry, any issues or
problems the organization is involved in, etc.
The Pollak Library at Cal
State Fullerton provides many resources for students to research companies and
organizations. The following examples cover just a small range of all that is
available. Ask a librarian at the reference desk in the Pollak Library or speak
to a Career Counselor at the Career Planning and Placement Center for more
information.
|
Factiva
·
Full - text database
·
Contains over 6,000 full-text
sources
·
Excellent source of company
information
|
To find company
information:
1)
click on Company Quick
Search
2)
Enter Company Name
3)
Results include: Latest
News Articles, Latest Trade Articles, Latest Press Releases, basic overview
of the company, basic financial figures
4)
For more detailed Company
Information: Click on Financial Profile
5)
Results include: Company
description, Company History, Competitors, complete financial details of the
company for the last four years
To find articles on
your company:
1.
Click on Factiva
Intelligent Indexing
2.
Click on Company
3.
Enter Company Name
4.
highlight Company
5.
Click AND |
|
Lexis Nexis Academic
Universe
·
All articles are full-text
·
Can search Full-text, headline,
or lead paragraph
·
Can search newspapers,
journals, magazines, TV and Radio transcripts, SEC Filings, Hoovers Reports,
and Disclosure Reports |
To find company
information:
1)
Click on Business
2)
Click on Company
Financial
3)
Enter Company Name
4)
Select report from the pull
down menu - Disclosure provides a full report taken from the SEC
Annual reports, Hoovers
provides company profiles for public
companies as well as larger private firms.
To find recent news
articles on a company:
1)
select either News or
Business
2)
Select General News
(News) or Business News (Business)
3)
Enter company name
4)
Select date range
5)
Click Search |
|
ABI/Inform
·
Contains full-text articles
from scholarly journals as well as trade and popular magazines
·
Uses subject and other fields
·
Can Email full-text
Hint: For maximum results, You may search in
more than one ABI/Inform database at onece. Click on Databases Selected,
and choose ABI/Inform Global, AbI/Inform Dateline, ABI/Inform
Trade&Industry, and Proquest Newspapers.
|
To find articles
about a company:
1.
Select ABI/Inform and
click on Continue
2.
Select Advanced Search
3.
Enter Company Name
in Company/Org from the pull-down menu
4.
Enter any other terms you
are interested in (company profiles, problems, marketing, etc.) in
the Subject Field from the pull-down menu
|
|
D&B Million Dollar
Database
·
The best source to find
information on small firms, local companies, and subsidiary companies
·
Information provided includes
Address, Company size, sales, total employees, Executive biographies, SIC
codes, parent company, private or public company, ticker symbol and company
websites.
·
Companies may searched by name,
location, size by employees or sales, or any combination of above. |
To Find Company
Information if you know the company name:
1.
Enter company name
2.
Click on Start Search
To find a list of
companies that fit your criteria:
1.
Enter Criteria you are
searching for (company size, location by city, county, state or zip code,
etc.)
2.
Click on Start Search |
| |
|
|
Mergent Online
·
Financial profiles for publicly
traded companies worldwide.
·
Financial data goes back to
1989
·
Includes the latest Annual
Reports in PDF format.
|
1.
Click on
Enter
2.
Enter
Company Name or Ticket Symbol
3.
Select
Report
you wish to view. |
Company Culture Websites
·
Use these sites to find out
what it is “really like” to work at a particular company or industry.
|
Vault Reports
www.vaultreports.com
Wet Feet
www.wetfeet.com
Hundreds of company and
industry profiles are available. More detailed reports from these
publishers can be obtained at the Pollak Library or at the Career Planning
and Placement Center.
|
Employer Profiles
·
Each of these sources provide
brief descriptions of employers and what type of compensation, training, and
benefits they offer their employees. These books are available in the
Pollak Library. |
Plunkett’s Almanacs –
Located in the Industry Table of the Business Tables in the Pollak Library
or through
Plunkett's Research Online
Almanac of American Employers Plunkett’s
Companion To The Almanac of American
Employers
Plunkett’s Health Care
Industry Almanac Plunkett’s E-Commerce &
Internet Business Almanac Plunkett’s Telecommunications Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s Retail
Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s Financial
Services Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s Energy
Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s Enterainment
& Media Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s InfoTech
Industry Almanac
Plunkett’s Engineering &
Research Industry Almanac
The Career Guide – D&B Employment Opportunities Directory -
located on the Company Table of the Business Tables in the Pollak Library.
Adams Jobs Almanac –
Located in
Reference at HF5382. 75.U6 Adams Los Angeles Job Bank –
Located in Reference at HF5382.75 .U62 C265
|
|