|
There are many books that can give you career
information. The following are some of the most used and most
useful. All are available in the reference section of the library
which means they are always here: reference books are not checked out.
If you can't find one of these titles, ask at the Reference Desk. If an
online version is available, the web address is included.
Reference: General job information
Starting Area in Reference: HF5382.5
Career Information Center
HF5382.5.U5 C32 1996
12 vol. Each volume covers a general field such as Communications & the
Arts, Hospitality & Recreation, Public & Community Services. A job
summary chart presents salary, education, and employment outlook for jobs within
the field. Chapter detail getting into the profession, what is available at
different training/experience levels, bibliography of further reading.
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
HF5381 .E52 2005
5 vol. Vol. 1 has valuable information on how to get a job and detailed
information on career fields (industries). Vol.2-5 have multi-page entries for
specific careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (kept at
the Reference Desk) or online http://www.bls.gov/oco/
HF5382.5.U5 O23
1998. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Covering 250 occupations accounting for 6 out
of 7 jobs in the U.S. What workers do on the job, working conditions, training
and education, earnings, job prospects. Often used with the DOT, Dictionary of
Occupational Titles
VGM's Careers Encyclopedia
HF5382.5 .U5 C337 1997
2-3 page entries on 200 careers. Description of the work and working conditions,
requirements, potential and advancement, income and contacts for additional
information.
Reference: Company Information
Starting Area in Reference: HF5382.5
First Stop for Jobs and Industries
HF5382.5 .U5 F57 2000
Profiles of more than 1100 industries, 500 occupations. Part 1. Job descriptions
with nature of the work, outlook, earnings, and related industries. Part 2.
Industries by SIC with a snapshot of the business environment and a list of
leading companies.
Job Seeker's Guide
HF5382.75 .U6 J634
4 vol. 17,000 companies with primary entry geographic through state (then city).
Also has industry index and corporate name index. Each company has contact
information, employees, benefits, application procedures, and internship
possibilities.
Los Angeles JobBank
HF5382.75 .U62 C265 1999
For all of Southern California. Listing 7,400 employers under their subject
areas. Provides contact information and company description for larger
companies, address and phone for smaller. Includes "Basics of job
winning" and resume writing chapters.
Peterson's Job Opportunities for…
Check catalog for call number. Alphabetic entry by company or
government agency. Also has a geographic listing. Main entry has address,
business, sales & employees, hiring history, expertise/education, internship
option, contact person.
Reference: Additional
 | Starting Area in Reference for Resumes: HF5383 |
 | Job hunting: HF5382.7 |
 | Interviewing: HF5549.5 |
 | Specific jobs will be in the subject area such as education,
business, health. Use the catalog (OPAC). |
Adams Resume Almanac
HF5383 .A273 1996
600 resumes for many industries and positions. Cover letters.
|