CAS 490T
Senior Seminar on Gender and Development
Dr. Patricia Szeszulski
According to your CAS 490T course syllabus, you
will need to produce four products for this class. In order to produce
these products, you will need to use the Pollak Library Website in order
to access, find, and evaluate current newspaper, magazine, and journal
articles.
Product 1---Newspaper Editorial
In addition to the article from the class
reading list, you also need to find two (2) other articles from popular
press sources (newspapers or magazines).
To find relevant articles, use either of the sources listed below:
Proquest Newspapers---provides full
text articles from 300+ newspapers such as the New York Times, Chicago
Tribune, Los Angeles Times, and Orange County Register.
Academic Search Elite---provides
full text articles and citations with SFX links to articles published in
magazines and peer-reviewed articles in scholarly journals.
1985-present.
Remember to critically evaluate all the articles
you read. Is the author reliable and the facts and figures provided
accurate? Select the best, most relevant articles for your research.
For
more information on evaluating sources, including web sites,
click here.
Product 3---A Magazine Article
top
In order to complete this product, you will need to
find, evaluate, and use a minimum of twelve (12) sources (magazines,
journals, books); at least half of these sources must be peer-reviewed
articles from scholarly journals.
To find relevant articles, use any of the sources
listed below:
GenderWatch---provides full text articles and citations with
SFX links to articles from magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers,
newsletters, reports, and books. 1970-present.
Academic Search Elite---provides full text articles and
citations with SFX links to articles published in magazines and
peer-reviewed articles in scholarly journals. 1985-present.
ERIC WEBSPIRS---provides citations with SFX links to
education-related documents, reports, and articles published in scholarly
journals. 1966-present.
PsycInfo---provides citations with SFX links to
psychology-related articles published in scholarly journals. 1887-present.
CQ Researcher---provides full text
reports, bibliographies, statistics, and more on gender related issues
such as education and gender, gender and learning, and equity in sports.
Google
Scholar---freely
available web access to scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed
papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all
broad areas of research.
Pollak Library Catalog--provides a listing of Pollak Library
books, documents, videos and more
(Do you need to know
more about SFX---what it is, and how to use it? If so,
click here)
A portion of
Product 3
must also include an
annotated
bibliography.
Want to know what an
annotated bibliography is and what it looks like?
Click here.
Citing Sources
top
Do you need more information on citing sources
according to APA style? If so, click:
How Do I Cite Sources
according to APA style?
top
This Web page created and maintained by
Suellen Cox.
To contact Suellen Cox for research assistance, call 714-278-4619 or email at scox@fullerton.edu
Date
created: June 16, 2005. Date updated: June 16, 2005.
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at
California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton.
URL of this page: |