|


| |
Chemistry: Classes @ CSUF: CHEM 302
Chemical Literature Assignment:
The class will meet in the Library with a science librarian
who will illustrate methods of searching the chemical literature, both using the
paper collection of Chemical Abstracts and numerous online sources.
At the conclusion of the librarian’s presentation, you will be given a slip of
paper with the names of two compounds. For EACH compound, you are required to
turn in the following as your lab report for this assignment:
-
The Chemical Structure.
-
The CAS Registry Number.
-
A print-out of an entire research article in the primary
literature which contains an abstract an experimental section which describes,
for example, procedures, materials used, spectroscopic data, etc. The article
must deal with chemical or biochemical aspects of the compound such as its
synthesis, characterization, analysis, and/or reactions.
-
A print-out of the search page from Web of Science which
shows the result of the search for each research article.
NOTE:
Highlight the name of each assigned compound as it appears in the print-outs you
turn in for parts 3 and 4 above.
To find these....
 | Structures and CAS registry numbers (try in this order):
 | Merck Index: Find electronic copy from Library Home Page >
Find Articles > Chemistry [in the electronic copy choose "Search Compound
Monographs (no ChemDraw Plugin)] or ask for the paper copy at the Reference
Desk. |
 | ChemFinder |
 | Dictionary of Organic Compounds (Reference QD246 .D5) |
 | The Chemical Abstracts Index Guide includes CAS registry numbers
(Reference QD1 .A51). |
 | Articles on a chemical frequently contain chemical structures. |
|
 | Articles: find links to electronic databases from Library Home Page > Find
Articles > Chemistry:
 | ACS Publications |
 | ScienceDirect |
 | Wiley InterScience |
 | SpringerLink Journals |
 | PubMed |
 | Chemical Abstracts (Reference QD1 .A51 and so on: complicated, but very
thorough! Remember to start with the Index Guide) |
|
Using Chemical Abstracts to Find Articles: click here to access
the class handout.
Help for
Web of Science Component to Assignment:
click here for the class handout.
PowerPoint Guides: The following documents will help you
understand and navigate Chemical Abstracts. The first shows a sample
search in the paper version, the second shows a sample search in one of the
electronic versions.
You can view either of these directly in your web browser or right click on the
link and save the file to your computer, then open it using
Microsoft PowerPoint.
List of QD (Chemistry) journals at the Pollak Library
|