|

| |
Chemistry: Reference
Reference materials, kept on the first floor of
Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific
dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Click
on the icon below to link to the OPAC record for location and call number of
some useful resources.
Jump to: Dictionaries
& Encyclopedias | Handbooks &
Manuals | Research
| Biography |
 |
American
Chemists and Chemical Engineers
Brief biographies of about
500 American chemists and chemical engineers spanning 300 years.
|
|
 |
Great
Chemists
Biographies of more than 100
people involved in the development of chemistry over the last three
thousand years.
|
|
 |
Women
in Chemistry: Their Changing Roles from Alchemical Times to the
Mid-Twentieth Century
Traces the life, times and
scientific contributions of more than 50 women chemists from antiquity
through the present day.
|
| Dictionaries
& Encyclopedias |
 |
Concise
Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
More than 4,500 entries and
over 1,000 figures, formulas and tables.
|
|
 |
Dictionary
of Electrochemistry
Defines terms used in
electrochemistry, including fuel cells, corrosion, energy conversion,
electrode kinetics, ion selective electrodes, bioelectrochemistry and
more. Includes bibliographical references to texts and review
articles for more information.
|
|
 |
Dictionary
of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics
Fermat's Last Theorem, Pourbaix Diagram, Tyndall Effect: this dictionary
defines effects, laws, units and other phenomena named after workers in
the fields of chemistry, physics, and mathermatics.
|
|
 |
Dictionary
of Organic Compounds
Chemicals covered:
Basic fundamental organic compounds; Compounds of industrial or commercial
value; Compounds frequently encountered in the laboratory; A limited
selection of natural products (only the most important and
well-documented); Important biochemicals; Other compounds of particular
interest
Entries contain:
DOC name and number and alternative names (including CAS Chemical Index
name); CAS registry number; Structure; Molecular formula; Use; Molecular
weight; Hazard information/RTECS number; Stereoisomer/derivative
information; Physical data; Bibliographic references (with keyword content
information, e.g., synth)
Indexes:
Name Index; Molecular Formula Index; CAS Registry Number Index
|
|
 |
Dictionary
of Organometallic Compounds
This dictionary is arranged
by element, and then by molecular formula in Hill convention order (i.e.,
C, then H, then other elements in alphabetical order.) Compounds are
included if they have a metal-carbon bond. Entries may contain
structures, chemical names and synonyms, molecular weights, synthesis,
importance/use, physical data, toxicity and hazard information, and
bibliographic references. Indexes include synthetic reagents,
molecular formula, and CAS Registry Number.
Caution: CSUF does
not currently subscribe to the Internet service where updates to this
material can be found.
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia
of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Reagent: defined as "an
agent or a combination or agents which with some generality effects the
transformation of a substrate into a product". Over 3000 entries,
alphabetical by IUPAC name.
Entries contain:
Structure; CAS Registry number; Molecular formula; Molecular weight;
Physical data; Solubility data; Form supplied in ; Purification; Handling,
storage and precautions; Reactions (described in detail); Related
reagents; Bibliography
Indexes:
Subject (includes type of reaction, named reactions, named reagents,
general or specific substrates or products); Formula; Reagent structural
class (e.g., hydrides); Reagent function (e.g., alkylating agents)
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia
of Chemical Technology (Kirk-Othmer)
Subjects covered:
Chemical substances and compounds, industrial processes, uses, adhesives,
pharmaceuticals, dyes, fibers, foods and other human uses, unit operations
and processes of chemical engineering, fundamentals, and other scientific
and technological subjects.
Entries (for chemical substances) usually contain:
CAS Registry numbers; Physical properties; Chemical properties; Industrial
manufacture and/or processing; Economic aspects; Analysis, testing,
standards, quality control; Storage and transport; Health and safety
factors; Uses; Bibliography
Indexes:
Common and systematic name cross references; Trademark names
|
|
 |
Encyclopedia
of Common Natural Ingredients Used in Food, Drugs, and Cosmetics
Each entry may include
source information, a general description, chemical composition,
pharmacology or biological activities, uses in medicine, pharmaceuticals
or cosmetics, food, health food/herb teas, traditional medicine or other
areas plus references to sources of additional information. Includes
a chemical index.
|
|
 |
Feiser
and Feiser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Thousands of entries
abstract the most important information on commonly used and new reagents,
including preparation, uses, sources of supply, critical comments,
references and more. The reagents are listed in alphabetical order by
common usage names. Author and subject indexes in each volume, plus
a cumulative index to volumes 1-12.
|
|
 |
Grant
& Hackh's Chemical Dictionary
More than 55,000 entries
covering every branch of chemistry and the related sciences., based on
recent scientific literature.
|
|
 |
Hawley's
Condensed Chemical Dictionary
This dictionary identifies thousands of chemical substances by name,
physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, CAS
number, chemical formula, potential hazards, derivations, synonyms, and
applications. Arranged alphabetically, with an appendix explaining
the origin of some chemical terms, another appendix detailing highlights
in the history of chemistry.
|
|
 |
Named
Organic Reactions
134 important reactions,
e.g., Diels-Alder Reaction, Grignard Reaction, are listed in alphabetical
order. Each reaction is discussed in terms of importance,
mechanisms, variations, etc. Structures are provided and references
are given for further information.
|
|
 |
Wiley's
English-Spanish Spanish-English Dictionary
Accurate equivalents for the
words and phrases most commonly encountered in the chemistry literature,
over 40,000 total entries.
|
| Handbooks
& Manuals |
 |
Aldrich
Library of FT-IR Spectra
Spectra of over 18,000
chemicals arranged by functionality, and then by increasing complexity
within a functional group. Includes physical constants, e.g.,
molecular weight, formula weight, melting and boiling points, density,
index of refraction and flash point. Indexes include alphabetical,
molecular formula, and CAS number.
|
|
 |
Chemical
Technician's Ready Reference Handbook
Basic information on
chemical laboratory methods, e.g., preparation of solutions,
chromatography, electrophoresis, determination of physical properties.
safety information, good laboratory practice, and more.
|
|
 |
Comprehensive
Organic Synthesis
This 9 volume set
concentrates on work of the 1980s, with reference to earlier key review
articles. Volumes 1-5 focus mainly on carbon-carbon bond formation,
Volumes 6-8 on interconversion of heteroatoms, and Volume 9 provides
subject and author indexes to the entire set.
|
|
 |
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Sections on:
Basic constants, units, and conversion factors; Symbols, terminology and
nomenclature; Physical constants of organic compounds; Properties of the
elements and inorganic compounds; Thermochemistry, electrochemistry, and
kinetics; Fluid properties; Biochemistry; Analytical chemistry; Molecular
structure and spectroscopy; Atomic, molecular and optical physics; Nuclear
and particle physics; Properties of solids; Polymer properties;
Geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics; Health and safety information
Long tables are arranged by systematic
name, with indexes to synonyms, formulas, and CAS Registry Numbers.
Shorter tables may be ordered by common name or molecular formula.
|
|
 |
CRC
Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Includes information on
emergency planning and response, laboratory design, equipment, and
operations, nonchemical laboratories, and personal protective equipment.
|
|
 |
The
Elements
Basic facts about each
element arranged by chemical, physical and biological properties.
Includes foreign names, pronunciation guides, CAS numbers, health hazards
and toxicity, isotopes, electron binding energies, neutron scattering
lengths and more.
|
|
 |
History
and use of our Earth's Chemical Elements: A Reference Guide
This book contains
information on elements, including symbol, atomic number, common valence,
atomic weight, natural state, common isotopes, characteristics, abundance,
history, common uses, common compounds, and hazards.
|
|
 |
Merck
Index
Chemicals covered:
10,330 monographs covering significant chemicals, drugs and biological
substances based on present, or historic, importance and interest.
Usually single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.)
Entries may contain:
Chemical Abstracts name; Alternate chemical names; Molecular formula;
Molecular weight; Percentage composition; Structure; Literature
references: patents, chemical information, biological, pharmacological
information, etc.; Physical data; Derivatives information; Therapeutic
category: human or veterinary
Indexes:
Name Index; Molecular Formula Index; CAS Registry Number Index;
Therapeutic category and biological activity index
|
|
 |
Polymer
Handbook
Over 520 tables of
information on synthetic polymers, polysaccharides and derivatives, and
oligomers. Includes IUPAC nomenclature rules for polymers, data and
constants for synthesis, kinetic mechanisms and thermodynamic studies,
physical constants, solid state properties and properties of solutions,
and commonly used abbreviations and acronyms and CAS Registry Numbers.
|
| Research |
 |
ACS
Style Guide: a Manual for Authors and Editors
Information on writing a
scientific paper, effective oral or poster presentations, editorial style,
conventions in chemistry, peer review guidelines, and more.
|
|
 |
Chemistry
Chapters on social issues in
chemistry, biographical sketches, documents and reports, career
information, statistics and data, organizations and associations, print
and electronic resources, make this a good place to begin research.
|
|
 |
How
to find Chemical Information: a Guide for Practicing Chemists, Educators,
and Students
Guide to print and
electronic sources of information covering all aspects of chemistry,
including reference works, journal articles, business and marketing
information, and more.
|
|