chemtitle.jpg (10047 bytes)

Chemistry Main
Up 1 Level

Click here to return to library home page Click here to search Pollak Library catalog
HOME Library Catalog

 

Under Construction  Last Update: 08/19/07

Spectra

To find spectra by compound name, CAS number, etc.:

bulletAldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra  Reference QC457.P87
bulletThis collection contains nearly 18,500 compounds. The compounds are arranged by functionality, and by increasing complexity within a functional group. A special feature of this collection is the design and layout of the grid for each spectrum. Includes physical properties. Indexes include alphabetical, molecular formula, and CAS numbers in volume III.
bulletSDBS: Integrated Spectral Database of Organic Compounds     
bulletSDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory database of the compounds. The spectra are EI mass, 1H decoupled 13C NMR, 1H NMR pattern (90 and/or 400 MHz), 1H NMR parameter (300 MHz pattern generated), FT-IR, laser-Raman, and ESR. The master files of the MS, 1H NMR-pattern, IR and Raman spectra are constructed by direct transfer of the digital data from the spectrometers. The compounds are mainly obtained from commercial sources and two thirds of the organic compounds in SDBS have between 6 and 16 carbon atoms. Search Compound is possible by name, molecular formula, atom numbers, molecular weight, CAS registry number and/or SDBS No. The first priority of the search is SDBS-No and the second is CAS registry number.
bulletUV Atlas of Organic Compounds  Reference QC495.U85  
bulletThis Atlas presents electronic absorption spectra of selected organic compounds. The term "UV Spectra", as usual, also includes spectra in the visible region. This Atlas contains 1,160 spectra obtained by modern methods of measurement. Each main section of the schedule is further divided into appropriate sub-groups. Each section is accompanied by an introduction. This introduction deals with general correlations within the section, theoretical descriptions of the bands, solvent effects and the influence of substituents. To facilitate searching for compounds, there is a Formula Index and an Alphabetical List of Compounds in Volume V.

To find compound from spectra:

bulletInfrared band handbook  Reference QD457.S983
bulletThese volumes will best serve those who wish to locate infrared data quickly and without recourse to instruments or related equipment. The Handbook can best be utilized searching a specific wavelength region for samples of compounds having absorption bands in that region, identifying an unknown where data are not readily available, and locating the absorption bands of a compound using the molecular formula. The Handbook presents data arranged by wavenumber, in steps of 1 cm-1 , and does not limit itself to complete spectra.
bulletSpectroscopic Tools 
bulletThis web database includes 4 different types of spectra. The spectra are 1H-Wizard, IR-Wizard, MS-Wizard, and 13C-Database. For 1H-Wizard, enter chemical shifts [ppm]. The results show the shift ranges [ppm], structure, type of hydrogen. For IR-Wizard, enter wave number [cm-1]. The results show wave numbers ranges, Intensity, and type of compound. For MS-Wizard, need fragment or loss mass. The results show formula, structure, and name. For 13C-Database, need compound name or chemical shift [ppm]. The results show all compounds contains searching chemical in their name, structure, and all chemical shifts values.
 

Prepared by Elizabeth Housewright, with subject-specific input from Sung Sam Kim (Spring 2001)
Updated and maintained by Barbie McConnell (2004-present)
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999-2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 11/28/07.