|


| |
Under Construction
Last Update: 08/19/07
Synthesis or reactions of desired compounds or classes of compounds:
Synthesis:
Organic:
 | Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for Organic
Synthesis (Title varies) Reference QD
262.F5
 | This book is provided not only with a
subject and an author index but also with an index of types, that is,
types of reactions or types of compounds. The reagents are listed in
alphabetical order by common usage name. A few are old reagents recently
reintroduced into modern research. Examples:
 | Volume2: 9-Borabicyclo[3.3.1]nonane
(9-BBN) Preparation. Hydroboration. Synthesis of
9-alkylbicyclo[3.3.1]nonanols-9. |
|
|
 | Organic Syntheses: an Annual Publication
of Satisfactory Methods for the Preparation of Organic Chemicals (CSUF
does not own all volumes) Books
QD262.O72a
 | Complete methods for preparing selected
compounds, with subject indexes for each volume (plus some cumulated
indexes for several years) by compound name, types of reactions, etc. |
|
 | Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis,
3d ed. Reference QD262.G665
Includes protection for hydroxyl groups, phenols and catechols, carbonyl
groups, carboxyl groups, thiol groups, amino groups, alkyne--CH, and
phosphate groups. Also includes charts of relative reactivities. |
 | Synthetic Methods of Organic
Chemistry (title varies, CSUF does not own all
volumes)
Books QD262.S94 or QD262.S95
 | Year-by-year references to chemical
literature dealing with the synthesis of organic compounds.
Arranged systematically by reaction, with subject index (methods, types
of compounds, reagents, etc.) and a formula index. |
|
Inorganic:
 | Preparative inorganic reactions
Books QD155.J64
 | These volumes are collections of
research papers. The chapters have been written to provide
information on the synthetic principles that can be applied to new
compounds of the same class and also to preparation of entirely
different classes of compounds. |
|
 | Inorganic syntheses
Books QD151.I5
 | This series provides users of inorganic
substances with safe and reliable procedures for the preparation of
important and timely compounds by experienced or inexperienced
users. Contains summary of available procedures, estimate of time
required, indication of importance and utility of the product and any
hazards associated with the procedure. Indexes include
contributor, subject, formula and CAS Registry number. |
|
Reactions:
Focused on reaction mechanisms:
 | Named Organic Reactions
Reference QD291.L3513
 | This book is rather a reference work
on name reactions. The book deals with 134 of the most important
reactions in organic chemistry. The reactions are arranged in
alphabetical order. The name of the reaction serves as a heading, and
is followed by a subtitle giving an one sentence description of the
reaction. Then follows a formula scheme depicting the overall
reaction, and an initial paragraph with an introductory description of
the reaction. The major part of each section deals with mechanistic
aspects. Side-reactions, variants and modified procedures with respect
to product distribution and yields are described. At the end of each
section, a list of references is given. Examples:
 | Aldol
Reaction: Reaction of aldehydes or ketones to give
hydroxy carbonyl compounds. The addition of the carbon of an
enolizable aldehyde or ketone to the carbonyl group of a second
aldehyde or ketone is called the aldol reaction. |
 | Hydroboration:
Addition of boranes to alkenes, Borane adds to carbon-carbon
double bonds without the need of catalytic activation. This
reaction has been discovered and thoroughly investigated by H. C.
Brown, and is called hydroboration. |
|
|
Focused on chemical or reagent names:
Indexed by reaction or chemical:
 | Fieser and Fieser's Reagents for
Organic Synthesis (Title varies) Reference
QD 262.F5
 | This book is provided not only with a
subject and an author index but also with an index of types, that is,
types of reactions or types of compounds. The reagents are listed in
alphabetical order by common usage name. A few are old reagents
recently reintroduced into modern research. Examples:
 | Volume2: 9-Borabicyclo[3.3.1]nonane
(9-BBN) Preparation. Hydroboration. Synthesis of
9-alkylbicyclo[3.3.1]nonanols-9. |
 | Volume5: 9-Borabicyclo[3.3.1]nonane
(9-BBN) Hydroboration of olefins. Borepane. |
 | Volume20: 9-Borabicyclo[3.3.1]nonane
(9-BBN) Reduction of tertiary amides. Selective
alkylation of 2-aminobenzylamine. Cleavage of
2,2-dimethyl-4-pentenoic esters. |
|
|
 | Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic
Synthesis Reference QD77.E53:
 | A particular reagent can be found
either directly, by going to the appropriate place in the
Encyclopedia, or from the Subject Index in Volume 8. Types of
reaction, named reaction, named reagents, general substrates or
products, and specific substrates or products, are included in this
index. ·
 | Subject Index Example:
 | Br-9-BBN
- see 9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, 1, 705 |
|
 | Reagent Formula Index Example:
 | C8H14BBr
9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, 1, 705 |
|
 | Reagent Structural Class Index
Example:
 | Bromine
reagents: Bromide ion sources 9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo
[3.3.1] nonane, 1, 705 |
|
 | Reagent Function Index
Example:
 | Borylating
reagents 9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, 1, 705 |
 | Deoxygenation
Sulfoxides Using 9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane,
1, 705 |
 | Hydroborating
reagents9-Borabicyclo
[3.3.1] nonane,
1, 622 |
|
|
|
Indexed by chemical:
 | Dictionary of Organic Compounds Reference
QD246.D5:
 | This dictionary is arranged by
element, and then by molecular formula in Hill convention order (i.e.,
C, then H, then other elements in alphabetical order.) Brief synthetic
details are provided for the majority of compounds, with the aim of
appraising the reader with the kind of routes available. Formulae are
frequently abbreviated. For full details of conditions necessary to
effect transformations, refer to literature citations. |
 | Volume 5:
 | Index of Synthetic Reagents
Example:
 | Aldol
reaction 9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, B-00438,
C8H14BB |
|
 | Molecular Formula Index Example:
 | C8H14BBr
9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, B-00438 |
|
 | CAS Registry Number Index Example:
 | 22086-45-9
9-Bromo-9-borabicyclo [3.3.1] nonane, B-00438 |
|
|
|
Organic
Compounds Database
|