Pollak Library Research Guide for
Chicana & Chicano Studies Resources

Home   Get Started   Find Resources   Pollak Library   CRC   Cal State Fullerton

CHIC 106/305/313: Historical/Background Research:
Selected Reference Resources:
The following list is not complete, please consult with the CRC Librarian for additional suggestions.
World Cultures Country Profiles History Women Local History
World Cultures & Ethnic Groups
The Asian American encyclopedia.
Edited by Franklin Ng. New York : Marshall Cavendish, c1995-
Changing faces, changing places: mapping Southern Californians.
James P. Allen and Eugene Turner. Northridge, CA: Center for Geographical Studies, California State University, c2002.
Countries and their cultures.
Edited by Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001, 4 vol. set.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history.
Edited by Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West. New York: Macmillan Library Reference, c1996.
The encyclopedia of the Chinese overseas.
General editor, Lynn Pan. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1999.
Encyclopedia of contemporary American culture
Edited by Gary W. McDonogh, Robert Gregg, and Cindy H. Wong. London; >New York: Routledge, 2001.
Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture  [Also available as an ebook]
Edited by John Sandford. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Italian culture
Edited by Gino Moliterno. London; New York: Routledge, 2000.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Japanese culture
Edited by Sandra Buckley. London; New York: Routledge, 2002.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture
Edited by Eamonn Rodgers. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.

Encyclopedia of Cuba: people, history, culture
Edited by Luis Martínez-Fernández ... [et al.]  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003.

Encyclopedia of Mexico : history, society & culture.
Editor, Michael S. Werner. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997
Encyclopedia of world cultures.
Edited by David Levinson.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1991-
Ethnic groups worldwide: a ready reference handbook. [Also available as an ebook]
By David H. Levinson. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998.
Gale encyclopedia of multicultural America.
Edited by Judy Galens, Anna Sheets, Robyn V. Young.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 2000, 3 vol. set.
Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States.
General editors, Nicolás Kanellos, Claudio Esteva-Fabregat.  Houston, TX: Arte Público Press, 1993-1994, 4 vol. set.
A nation of peoples: a sourcebook on America's multicultural heritage.
Edited by Elliott Robert. Barkan Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
The new face of Asian Pacific America: numbers, diversity, and change in the 21st century
E
dited by Eric Lai and Dennis Arguelles.  San Francisco: AsianWeek books, c2003
.

Racial and ethnic diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites
By Cheryl Russell.  Ithaca, N.Y.: New Strategist Publications, c2002.

Reference Library of Asian America.
Edited by Susan Gall and Irene Natividad.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1995.
We the people: an atlas of America's ethnic diversity
By James Paul Allen, Eugene James Turner. New York: Macmillan, c1988.
World atlas of epidemic diseases.
By Andrew Cliff, Peter Haggett, Matthew Smallman-Raynor. London: Arnold; New York: Distributed in the United States of America by Oxford University Press, 2004.

Return to top

Country Profiles
Encyclopedia of the stateless nations: ethnic and national groups around the world.
By James Minahan. Westport,CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Regional surveys of the world. London: Europa Publications.
Africa South of the Sahara, 2002
Central and south-eastern Europe, 2002
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, 2002
Far East and Australasia, 2003
Middle East and North Africa, 2003
South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, 2003
Territories and States of India, 2002
Western Europe, 2002
U.S. Department of State Background Notes -- 
     http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/ -- Bush Presidency
    http://www.state.gov/www/background_notes/index.html -- Clinton Presidency
Contains basic information on 170 countries covering economy, government, geography, history, political conditions, and foreign relations.  Background notes are also available in print at the Reference Desk.
U.S. Library of Congress Country Studies -- Area Handbook Series
Covers the history, society, economics, etc. of 125 countries.  Some titles in this series are also available in Documents, (see Library Catalog records).
World Factbook 2002
Published by the CIA.  Latest edition also available at  the Reference Desk.
For more resources on countries, try the Pollak Library Country Information Guide.

Return to top

History
American decades.
Edited by Vincent Tompkins.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1994-1996, 10 vol. set.
American Eras.
Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1997-1999, 10 vol. set.
American Memory
Historical Collections for the National Digital Library -- From the Library of Congress; Keyword searching is possible.
Chronology of Hispanic American History from Pre-Columbian Times to the Present.
Edited by Nicolas Kenellos and Cristelia Perez.  Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1995.
Chronology of World History.
Edited by H.E.L. Mellerish and Neville Williams.  Santa Barbara , CA: ABC-CLIO. 4 vol. set.
Hammond atlas of world history.
Edited by Geoffrey Barraclough.  Maplewood, NJ: Hammond, 1999.
Historical atlas of Central America.
By Carolyn Hall and Héctor Pérez Brignoli ; John V. Cotter, cartographer. Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c2003
To search for information on the historical background, also try the Pollak Library Research Guide to History

Return to top

Women's History
Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender.
Edited by Judith Worell.  San Diego: Academic Press, 2001. 2 vol. set.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide.
Editor-in-chief, Lynn Walter. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003.  Six volume set: Contents: 1] Asia and Oceania -- [2] Central and South America -- [3] Europe -- [4] The Middle East and North Africa -- [5] North America and the Caribbean -- [6] Sub-Saharan Africa
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge.
Edited by Cheris Kramarae and Dale SpenderNew York : Routledge, 2000.  4 vol. set.
Women's studies encyclopedia.
Edited by Helen TierneyWestport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.  Revised and expanded edition.  3 vol. set.
The women's chronology: a year-by-year record from prehistory to the present.
By James Trager.  New York: Holt, 1994

Return to top

Miscellaneous Local History Resources
Tejano Voices -- Is multimedia project sponsored by the University of Texas at Arlington that presents the oral histories of 77 Tejanos and Tejanas in post-World war II Texas.
U.S Latinos and Latinas & World War II -- Is another oral history project from the Department of Journalism at the University of Texas at Austin.
Cuentos de Nuestros Padres: Tucson's Hispanic Community - Site sponsored by the University of Arizona Library

Return to top

Prepared by Barbara Miller, CRC Reference Librarian: bmiller@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.

This site may contain links to Web sites not administered by California State University, Fullerton, or one of its divisions, schools, departments, units or programs. California State University, Fullerton, is not responsible or liable for the accuracy or the content of linked pages.

Last Updated: 01/24/2008.