library logo

Children
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Titles

Encyclopedias

Statistics
Books--Recent
Books--How to Find More Books
Web Sites
Articles
California & Orange County--Books
California & Orange County--Web Sites
World
Child Care/Day Care
Child Support
Expenditures on Children by Families
Families
Health Insurance Coverage
Obesity
Poverty

Recent Titles 

Encyclopedias 

Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Careers in Child Care (2000)
     REFERENCE  HQ778.5 .E24 2000 CATALOG RECORD

The Family in America: An Encyclopedia (2001)
  
REFERENCE HQ536 .H365 2001  v. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

National Directory of Children, Youth, and Families Services (2007)
     REFERENCE  HV741 .N3157 2005-06 CATALOG RECORD

Growing Up in America: An Atlas of Youth in the USA (1998)
     REFERENCE  HB1323.C52 U658 1998 CATALOG RECORD 

National Survey of State Laws (2003)
     REFERENCE KF386 .N38 2003
(see Family Law section) CATALOG RECORD

Statistical Handbook on the World's Children
     REF DESK HQ767.9 .K385 2002 CATALOG RECORD


Statistics 

 Key indicators--U.S.: America's Children in Brief: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2008

California County Data Book 2007
"The 2007 California County Data Book provides the most comprehensive county-level data on children’s health, education, and economic well-being available to the public." --introduction

Annual Report on the Condition of Children in Orange County
     Online: Conditions of Children in Orange County
     Print: REFERENCE  HQ792.U52 A56 2006 CATALOG RECORD

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being [annual]
    
Online: INTERNET VERSION
     Print: DOCS/US  PR 42.8:C 43/2007 CATALOG RECORD

  • Policy: The Economics of Early Childhood Policy: What the Dismal Science Has to Say About Investing in Children [RAND] (2008)
    Full report
    Research Brief

    Summarizes the contributions from the field of economics in recent discussions about early childhood policy. Of value to individuals who are interested in early childhood policy, including decisionmakers in the public and private sectors, service providers, and the public more generally.
  • Key indicators: A Child's Day: 2003 (2007) PDF-22 pages
    Statistics on tv viewing, meals with parents, praise from parents, sports participation, progression through school, and more.

    Key indicators: Children Now: California Report Card 2008: The State of the State’s Children
    Examines different aspects of childhood well-being including Health (health insurance, oral health, obesity, asthma, mental health, infant and adolescent health); Education (early education, k-12 and after school); and Public Safety (crime, juvenile justice, foster care, and more). Letter grades are given to describe the state and progress of these categories of well-being. General considerations for policy recommendations are also provided.

    Key indicators: Children Now: State of the State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages
    (Obesity, health insurance, adolescent health, education, family well-being--how California's children are faring and policy recommendations in the areas of health, education and family well-being.)

    Expenditures on Children by Families [annual]
     
    Health and Well-Being of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation: 2005
    Statistics on health status, health care, and additional socio-economic indicators.
     
    Changes in the Lives of U.S. Children: 1990-2000 (July 2005)  
    HTML version (47k) | PDF version (1.5M)
     
    About Children (2005)  
    REFERENCE HQ792.U5 A515 2005

     
    new California County Data Book 2005  
    County-level statistics about California children's health, education, family economics and child welfare. 26 measurements of children's well-being. Thirty-three County Ranking Charts allow for county-by-county comparisons.
     
    new A Child’s Day: 2000 (Selected Indicators of Child Well-Being) (2003) PDF-20 pages
    This publication gives many indicators that are seldom reported including reading interaction with parents, family rules about television, mealtimes shared, family outings, and more.

    new Child Abuse Referral Reports for California (state and county data)

    Child Health USA 2003
       
     Online: INTERNET VERSION | Older editions
        
    Print: DOCS/US  HE  20.9213:2000 CATALOG RECORD

    Children and the Households They Live in: 2000 (2004) PDf-20 pages new

    Grandparents Living with Grandchildren (2003) PDF- 12 pages

    Historical statistics on families—1950-present: Green Book 2004: APPENDIX G: DATA ON FAMILIES -- scroll down to APPENDIX G

    Historical statistics on children—1970: Profiles of Children (1970)
    DOCS/US  Y 3.W 58/3-2:2 P 94 CATALOG RECORD

    Online: Philosophy for Children [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]

    Online: The Philosophy of Childhood [Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy]

    State of the World's Children [annual]
    Online: State of the World's Children 2004
    Print: DOCS/INT  HQ792.2 .S73  2004 CATALOG RECORD
     
    Summary Health Statistics for U.S. Children: 2001 (2003) new
    Discussion and statistics on asthma, allergies, learning disabilities, dental 
    care, and more. Data by age, sex, race/ethnicity, family structure, patents' education, family income, poverty status, health insurance coverage, and more.
    Online: PDF-62 pages
    Print: DOCS/US  HE 20.6209:10/208
    CATALOG RECORD
     
    Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth (annual)
    Discussion and statistics on Population, Family, & Neighborhood, Economic Security, Health Conditions & Health Care, Social Development, Behavior, Teen Pregnancy, and Education & Achievement..
    Print: DOCS DESK  HE 1.63:2003 CATALOG RECORD
    Online: 2003 Internet version
    Online: 2002 Internet version
    Online: 2001 Internet version
    Online: 2000 Internet version

    Books--Recent 
    • About Children (2005)
      REFERENCE HQ792.U5 A515 2005

      ,

    • Working Families and Growing Kids: Caring for Children and Adolescents (2003) CATALOG RECORD
      .
    • Key indicators: A Child's Day: 2003 (2007) PDF-22 pages SOCIAL INDICATORS!

    • Statistics on tv viewing, meals with parents, praise from parents, sports participation, progression through school, and more.
      .
    • Key indicators: A Child’s Day: 2000 (Selected Indicators of Child Well-Being) (2003) PDF-20 pages  SOCIAL INDICATORS!
    • This publication gives many indicators that are seldom reported including reading interaction with parents, family rules about television, mealtimes shared, family outings, and more.
      .
    • Child Health USA
      Online: Child Health USA 2003 | earlier editions
      Print: DOCS/US  HE  20.9213:2000 CATALOG RECORD
      .
    • Education for Homeless Children and Youth Program (2002) Go to CATALOG RECORD and click on Access on Internet.
      .
    • America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being [annual]
      • Print: DOCS/US  PR 42.8:C 43 CATALOG RECORD
      • Online: INTERNET VERSION
      • Discussion and  statistics on Population and Family Characteristics (population, race, difficulty speaking English, family structure, births to unmarried women, child care, children's environments), Economic Security (poverty/income, parental employment, housing, food, access to health care), Health (general health, limitations, immunizations, low birthweight, mortality, teen births), Behavior and Social Environment (cigarette smoking, alcohol use, illicit drug use, youth victims), and Education (family reading, early childhood care, math and reading achievement, high school courses, graduation, higher education). 2001 edition has a special report on youth employment while in school. .
        .
    • Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth (annual)
    • National Survey of State Laws (2003)
      REFERENCE KF386 .N38 2003
      CATALOG RECORD
      See Family Law section for child custody laws, page 391.
      .
    • Young Hearts & Minds: Making a Commitment to Children's Mental Health
      .
    • Custodial Mothers and Fathers and Their Child Support (2002) PDF-8 pages
      Statistics on custody, child support, income/poverty, employment of parents, and more.
      .
    • Children’s Living Arrangements and Characteristics: March 2002 (June 2003) PDF-20 pages
      Press Release
      Detailed statistics and discussion on family structure and population characteristics of children. Hispanic Americans, single parent families, grandparents, income, health insurance coverage data, and more.
      .
    • At-Risk Conditions of U.S. School-Age Children (2001)
      .
    • Summary Health Statistics for U.S. Children: 2001 (2003)
      • Online: PDF-62 pages
      • Print: DOCS/US  HE 20.6209:10/208 CATALOG RECORD
      • Discussion and statistics on asthma, allergies, learning disabilities, dental care, and more. Data by age, sex, race/ethnicity, family structure, patents' education, family income, poverty status, health insurance coverage, and region.
         
    • National Estimates of Missing Children (2002)
      • Online: PDF-12 pages
      • Print: DOCS/US J 32.2:N 21/MISSING CATALOG RECORD
      • This series offers "national estimates of missing children based on surveys of
        households, juvenile residential facilities, and law enforcement agencies.
        It also presents statistical profiles of these children, including their demographic characteristics and the circumstances of their disappearance."

        .
    • Runaway/Thrownaway Children: National Estimates and  Characteristics (2002)
      • Online: HTML | PDF-12 P ages
      • Print: DOCS/US J 32.2:N 21/RUNAWAY CATALOG RECORD
      • Statistical profiles of missing children including their demographic characteristics and circumstances of their disappearance.
        .
    • Title V: A Snapshot of Maternal and Child Health (2000)
      • Online: PDF-302 PAGES (very large file!)
      • Discussion and statistics on teen births, teen suicide, family composition, children in poverty, working mothers, child care, dropouts, uninsured, and much more. Also extensive data for each state on federal-state block grant expenditures and Title V measures and outcomes..
        .
    • Kids Count Census Data Online
    • "The Quality of Young Children's Diets." Family Economics and Nutrition Review, volume 14, number 1, 2002, pages 52-60.
      • DOCS/US  A 98.20:14/1 page 52
        .
    • DIGITAL LIBRARY: International Children's Digital Library
    • America's Children At Risk (1997) [Census Brief] PDF-2 pages
    • After-School Lives of Children: Alone and With Others While Parents Work (1999) CATALOG RECORD
    • Coresident Grandparents and Grandchildren (1999) PDF-10 pages
    • Education of Children With Disabilities [statistics] (1997) CATALOG RECORD
    • Ethnicities: Children of Immigrants in America (2001) CATALOG RECORD
    • "G" is for Growing: Thirty Years of Research on Children and Sesame Street (2001) CATALOG RECORD
    • Irreducible Needs of Children: What Every Child Must Have to Grow, Learn, and Flourish (2000) CATALOG RECORD
    • Life Without Father: Compelling New Evidence That Fatherhood and Marriage Are Indispensable for the Good of Children and Society (1999) CATALOG RECORD
    • Pictures of Innocence: The History and Crisis of Ideal Childhood (1998) CATALOG RECORD
    • Ready or Not: Why Treating Children As Small Adults Endangers Their Future and Ours (1999) CATALOG RECORD
    • Working with Children from Culturally Diverse Backgrounds (2001) CATALOG RECORD


    Articles 

    To find articles, search Pollak Library subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

    Databases--Statistics
    Databases--Current Issues
    Databases--Scholarly Journals
    Databases--Newspapers
    Databases--Government Sources

    CQ Researcher issues of note:

    • Cyber-Predators, March 1, 2002
    • Children in  Crisis, August 31, 2001
    • Special Education, November 10, 2000
    • Fatherhood Movement, June 2, 2000
    • Child Poverty, April 7, 2000
    • Childhood Depression, July 16, 1999
    • Foster Care Reform, January 9, 1998
    • Child Care Options, May 8, 1998
    • Child Custody and Support,January 13, 1995
    • Selected articles of interest:

    Children: News Releases [Census Bureau]

    "Prospects for O.C. Youth on the Rise: Statistics on gang violence, teen pregnancy and abuse improve. But indications of increased child poverty still worry one county official." Los Angeles Times, September 24, 2003, Wednesday, Orange County Edition, Part 2 Page 3.


    California & Orange County--Books 

    To find additional books, search the Library Catalog:
        
    Library Catalog SUBJECT SEARCH: children california
        
    Library Catalog SUBJECT SEARCH: youth california
        
    Library Catalog KEYWORDS SEARCH: children and california
    • Conditions of Children in Orange County
      • Online: latest edition
      • Print: REF DESK  HQ792.U52 A56 2002 CATALOG RECORD
      • Edition of special note: 2003 (9th Annual Report) - Special Section: Early Childhood
        • Sections on Health, Economic Well-Being, Educational Achievement, and Safe Homes & Communities.
    • Key indicators: Children Now: California Report Card 2008: The State of the State’s Children
      Examines different aspects of childhood well-being including Health (health insurance, oral health, obesity, asthma, mental health, infant and adolescent health); Education (early education, k-12 and after school); and Public Safety (crime, juvenile justice, foster care, and more). Letter grades are given to describe the state and progress of these categories of well-being. General considerations for policy recommendations are also provided.
    • California County Data Book 2007
      "The 2007 California County Data Book provides the most comprehensive county-level data on children’s health, education, and economic well-being available to the public." --introduction
    • Key indicators: California 2006/07 Report Card: State of the State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages (Obesity, health insurance, adolescent health, education, family well-being--how California's children are faring and policy recommendations in the areas of health, education and family well-being.)
    • The Educational Success of Homeless Youth in California: Challenges and Solutions (2007) PDF-70 pages
      Key issues related to the challenges homeless youth face in achieving their educational goals. It describes federal and state programs and funding, identifies successful practices and model programs, and presents policy options that address these challenges.
    • California 2005 Report Card: An Assessment of Children's Well-Being PDF-28 pages
      Assesses key indicators of childhood well-being in California.  Indicators include: health (health & dental insurance coverage, childhood obesity, childhood and adolescent health, teen birth rates, juvenile arrests and incarceration rates, child abuse), family economic security (income and food security), and education (early education, K-12, after school activities). Includes policy recommendations.
    • Making Ends Meet: How Much Does it Cost to Raise a Family in California? (2005) PDF-34 pages
    • Changes in the Lives of U.S. Children: 1990-2000 (July 2005)  
      HTML version (47k) | PDF version (1.5M)
    • CalWorks Children in the County of Los Angeles (2005) PDF-28 pages 

      Portrait of children in CalWORKS in LA County in 2003. Includes: a demographic profile (by supervisorial district, age, ethnicity/race, language spoken, type of household), program characteristics (length of time in program, child care, rules & penalties, parents sanctioned), and issues of well-being  (teen pregnancy, child abuse, proportion in LA County schools, drop out rates, health coverage). Also includes an overview of caseload and poverty trends in LA County.

    • Children and Family Services Division [California]
    • Snapshot: California's Uninsured 2005
    • California County Data Book 2005 (county-level statistics about California children's health, education, family economics and child welfare. 26 measurements of children's well-being. Thirty-three County Ranking Charts allow for county-by-county comparisons)
    • Status of Children Ages 0-5 (2005) [OCHNA] PDF-155 pages
    • California Report Card (2004 report is on immigrant children)
    • State Profile of California: Data from the 2002 National Survey of America's Families (2004) [Urban Institute]
    • Are L.A.'s Children Ready for School RAND (2004)
    • Los Angeles County: 2004 Children's Score Card PDF-34 pages (health, family, income, school readiness)
    • Preschool and Childcare Enrollment in California (2004) PDF-38 pages
      Examines the differences in enrollment rates by several variables including: the age of children, the number of parents in a household, the "linguistic isolation" of a family (which refers to the inability of persons aged 14 and older in a home to speak English "very well"), and family income.
    • 2003 Special Report: Nutrition, Physical Fitness and the Future of Orange County's Children (2003) PDF-8 pages
    • The Health of Young Children in California (2003) [UCLA]
           PRINT: DOCS DESK  CALIF C373 Y68 
      CATALOG RECORD
    • Our Children, Our Future: How Latino Children Can Succeed in School (Orange County Register special series)
    • Conditions of Children in Orange County, 2004 [10th Annual Report]
      Special Section: Early Childhood
    • Just the Facts: California's Children (July 2003) PDF-2 pages
    • California's Children 2005 PDF-3 pages
    • A Portrait of Race and Ethnicity in California: An Assessment of Social and Economic Well-Being.
    • "Study Examines Changing Picture of Health Coverage for Children," Los Angeles Times, November 19, 2003, Part 2; Page 7. For full text, search Los Angeles Times by Article Title. .
    • "Prospects for O.C.'s Youth on the Rise: Statistics on gang violence, teen pregnancy and abuse improve. But indications of increased child poverty still worry one county official." Los Angeles Times, September 24, 2003, Wednesday, Orange County Edition, Part 2 Page 3. For full text, search Los Angeles Times by Article Title. .

    • .
    • State of Our Children: 2002
      Statewide information on Family Economics (children in poverty, low income children, children receiving TANF, child care), Health (uninsured children, teen births, smoking, alcohol and drug use, prenatal care), Education (high school dropout rate, reading and math skills, babies born to mothers with less than 12 years education), Safety (child abuse and neglect, foster care, gun violence). County Data Tables: Age by Ethnicity, Low-income Children, Teen Births, Prenatal Care, Low Birthweight, Infant Mortality, High School Dropout Rates, Graduates Prepared for College, Reading Skills, Math Skills, and Foster Care. Data sources are given.
      .
    • Health insurance: California Healthy Families
      The Healthy Families Program is a state- and federally-funded health coverage program for children with family incomes above the level eligible for no-cost Medi-Cal and below 250% of the Federal Income Guidelines ($38,160 for a family of three).

      .
    • California's Young Children: Demographic, Social, and Economic Conditions (2002) PDF-16 pages
      • Excerpt: "Examines how the social and economic circumstances of California's young children vary according to race and ethnicity, nativity and immigrant generation, region, family structure, and parents' education and workforce participation." (November 2002)
      • Social and economic indicators
      • Immigrant status of children by region
      • Family structure by race and ethnicity
      • Workforce participation by race and ethnicity
      • Childcare arrangements
      • Income, poverty, health insurance, public assistance
      • Bibliographic references
        .
    • Poverty: "The Nation: 16% of Children Live in Extreme Poverty," Los Angeles Times, May 1, 2003.
    • "State's Children Facing Fewer Risks, Study Says: Safety: Annual survey reports declines in child abuse, gun injuries and teen births. School performance remains a cause for concern," Los Angeles Times, Wednesday, November 28, 2001, Home Edition, Part 2 Page 3.
      This article summarizes findings from the California Report Card 2001 providing discussion and statistics for Orange County and Los Angeles County on foster care, child abuse, prenatal care, and more.
    • Young Hearts & Minds: Making  A Commitment to Children's Mental Health (2001)
    • "26% of Kids Overweight, Study Finds; Nearly 40% are not physically fit, according to test of 1.2million schoolchildren. L.A. County areas rank among state's worst." Los Angeles Times, December 12, 2002, Part 2 Page 1.
    • Orange County Child Care and Development Planning Council
    • California Adolescents Ages 11-18: A Fact Sheet (1999) PDF-7 pages
    • "Los Angeles: County Survey Finds Gains, Losses in Children's Welfare," Los Angeles Times, August 29, 2002 Thursday, Home Edition, Part 2; Page 3.
    • California Special Education Programs: A Composite of Laws (2000) CATALOG RECORD
    • Educating California's Immigrant Children: An Overview of Bilingual Education (1999) PDF-74 pages
    • Foster care: Still In Our Hands: A Review of Reports to Reform Foster Care in California (2003) PDF-36 pages
    • Foster care: Foster Care Fundamentals: An Overview of California's Foster Care System (2001) PDF-62 pages
    • History and Development of Kindergarten in California (2001) PDF-87 pages
    • Now In Our Hands: Caring for California's Abused and Neglected Children (1999) INTERNET VERSION | CATALOG RECORD
    • Options for Expanding the Healthy Families Program: Estimates (1999) PDF-16 pages
    • Teach Our Children Well (2001) INTERNET VERSION | CATALOG RECORD

    World  

    State of the World's Children [annual]
    Print: DOCS/INT  HQ792.2 .S73 CATALOG RECORD
    Narrative and statistical tables: basic indicators, nutrition, health, HIV/AIDS, education, demographic indicators, economic indicators, women, child protection, and rate of progress.


    Child Care/Day Care 

  • new California: Child Care Price Dynamics in California (2003)
  • California: Child Care/Preschool RAND Publications
  • new Child Support, Child Care, and Head Start Collaboration: Innovations Ideas (2003) PDF-31 pages
  • new Arranging and Paying for Child Care (2003)
  • new Kinship Foster Care: Custody, Hardships, and Services (Snapshots III: No. 14) (November 2003) PDF Version
  • new Unsupervised Time: Family and Child Factors Associated with Self-Care  (November 2003) PDF Version
  • new Green Book 2004Scroll down to SECTION 9: CHILD CARE
    This is a 60-page background report with extensive discussion and statistics on marital status of mothers, child care costs, costs and expenditures as percent of income and by poverty status,  wages, research on child care quality and standards, and child care programs.
    Note: Complete title of Green Book is: "Background material and data on major programs within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means"
  • new Child Day Care [Medline reports]
  • new Child Care: States Have Undertaken a Variety of Quality Improvement Initiatives: But More Evaluations of Effectiveness are Needed (2002) PDF-65 pages
    .
  • Careers in Child Care (2000) CATALOG RECORD - Reference  HQ778.5 .E24 2000 
  • Championing Child Care [government policy] (2001) CATALOG RECORD
  • Statistics: My Daddy Takes Care of Me! Fathers As Care Providers (1997) PDF-9 pages | CATALOG RECORD
  • Lasting Returns: Strengthening California's Child Care and Development System (2001) CATALOG RECORD
  • National Child Care Information Center
  • Orange County Child Care and Development Planning Council
  • Public Agenda: Child Care [public opinion surveys]
  • Who's Minding the Kids? Child Care Arrangements:1995 (2000) PDF-27 pages
  • Who's Minding Our Preschoolers? (1997) PDF-1 page | CATALOG RECORD

  • Child Support  

    Recent report: Support Providers, 2002 (2005) PDF-11 pages (alimony, child support payments by age, sex, ethnicity, and more)

    Recent reports: Office of Child Support Enforcement (links to many reports)

    Child Support, Child Care, and Head Start Collaboration (2003) PDF-34 pages

    Custodial Mothers and Fathers and Their Child Support: 2001 (2003) PDF-9 pages | Press Release

    Custodial Mothers and Fathers and Their Child Support: 1999 [statistics] (2002) PDF-8 pages.

    Child Support for Custodial Mothers and Fathers: 1997 (2000) PDF-8 pages

    Child Support Reports [Census Bureau]


    Families 

    America's Families and Living Arrangements: Detailed Tables: 2007

    Families: 60 Million Children Lived with Married Parents in 2007 (2008)

    Families--detailed tables: America's Families and Living Arrangements: Detailed Tables: 2007         

     Key indicators: A Child's Day: 2003 (2007) PDF-22 pages
    Statistics on tv viewing, meals with parents, praise from parents, sports participation, progression through school, and more.

    Key indicators: California 2006/07 Report Card: State of the State's Children 2006-07 PDF-40 pages
    Obesity, health insurance, adolescent health, education, family well-being--how California's children are faring and policy recommendations in the areas of health, education and family well-being.

    America's Families and Living Arrangements (1990 to present)
         Press release: Stay-At-Home Parents Top 5 Million (Nov. 2004)

    Single and Unmarried Americans (2006) [Facts for Features]
    Statistics on unmarried Americans do not identify with the word “single” because they are parents, have partners or are widowed. Various combinations of household partners, unmarried grandparents who are caregivers for their grandchildren, education of unmarried people, percentage of births to unmarried women, number of married and unmarried Americans over 65, and more.

    Grandparents Living with Grandchildren (2003) PDF- 12 pages

    Statistical Handbook on the American Family
    REFERENCE  HQ 536 .S727 1999

    Encyclopedia of Family Life—(info on nuclear families)
    REFERENCE  HQ 534 .E53 1999—5 volumes CATALOG RECORD

    Gale Encyclopedia of Childho