Children's Literature
Reviews, evaluation, banned books, online resources, awards

While there is much written about children's literature, finding criticism about your particular author or criticism about a particular book is sometimes difficult. The most useful resources held at the CSUF Pollak Library are listed here with some descriptive information to help you decide which are the most appropriate resources. Search techniques and examples are sometimes included. 

horizontal rule

Reviews:

Reviews are generally published within 18 months of the first publication of a book. Subsequent editions are rarely reviewed. The year first published is especially important in resources such as the print version of Book Review Digest that are published annually.

bullet Book Review Digest
Ref Z1219 .C96 (see also online version)
Summary and selected abridged (partial full text) reviews for English language fiction and non-fiction first published in 1905 or later. The last cumulative index covers 1905-1974. The online version indexes 1983-.
 
bulletBook Review Index
Ref Z1035 .A1 B7 1966-. Since 1979.
No full text. BRI is published annually. No cumulative index.
 
bulletChildren's Book Review Index
Ref Z1037 .A1 C475 1965- .
No full text. From Gale publishers, a comprehensive listing of reviews of children and young adult literature. Listed by author or illustrator.
 
bullet Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Online

Full text reviews. Sponsored by Barnes and Noble, entries include a brief synopsis, awards and links in addition to the reviews. Incomplete - some older titles are included, reviews (green dot) start in the 1990's.
 
bulletChildren's Literature Review
Ref
PN1009.A1 C5139
Full text. Gale publishers. History and criticism covering current and historic children's literature with excerpts from original reviews. Your best source for older books such as Tom Sawyer, Secret Garden and the original Hardy Boys. The blue paperback index lists all titles in the series.
 
bullet19th Century Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature,1890-1899
Ref AI3 .R3
and Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1990-1994
Ref A13 .R4
No full text. Index to popular literature from 1890-1994. Use for any publications prior to 1905. Search by author. From 1976 (vol.36), book reviews are listed at the end of each volume.

Journals

bullet Booklist
Periodicals
Z1035 .A4912 
Magazine of recommended library materials with suggested reading ages. Short (100-500 words) reviews for books of all types and for all ages. Indexed in Book Review Digest, Academic Search Elite
 
bulletBulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Periodicals
Z1037 A1
Journal of reviews of young adult and children's books. Indexed in Book Review Digest
 
bullet Choice
Periodicals
Z1035 A1 C5 
Reviews of new academic titles. Indexed in Book Review Digest, Academic Search Elite
 
bulletHorn Book
Periodicals
Z1037 A1 H4 
Articles and reviews of young adult and children's books. Indexed in Book Review Digest, Academic Search Elite
 
bulletSchool Library Journal
Periodicals Z 675 S3 S2 
Book reviews for K-12. Indexed in Book Review Digest, Academic Search Elite

horizontal rule

Evaluation/Analysis/Biography:

bulletSomething About the Author
Ref
PN451 .S6
Another in the Gale Literary Index titles. Use the online edition to the Gale's Literary Index . Each odd numbered volume includes a cumulative index by author to all authors in the SATA series. The brown paperback "Title Index to Contemporary Authors", ref PN771 .C56, lists any book mentioned in any of the Gale series. Extensive biographical and autobiographical sketches of children's authors and illustrators of all eras.
 
bulletBeacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults
Ref PN1009 .A1 B35
A Gale multi-volume collection of analytical essays on and study activities for fictional and biographical works written for young adults. Includes a short biography for the author and discussion of settings, themes and characters, literary qualities and social sensitivity.
 
bulletInternational Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Ref PN1008.5 I57 2004
2 vols. Invaluable scholarly encyclopedia with signed chapters and an extensive bibliography for each topic. V.1 covers theory; forms & genres; critical approaches. V.2 covers contexts (including censorship, children's book design, children's book publishing); national and international  (by country or region).
 
bulletThe Newbery and Caldecott Awards : A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books
R
ef PN1009 .A1 N49 2002
Some minimal analysis follows the plot summary. All the winners and runners-up since 1922 for the Newbery and 1938 for the Caldecott awards.
 
bulletThe Newbery & Caldecott Medal Books
Ref PN1009 .A1z N48: 1956-65, 1966-75  PN1009 .A1z N49: 1976-85, 1986-2000. 
Each entry contains the plot summary and analysis of the winning book and author/illustrator acceptance speech and biography. Excellent for background.

Journals

bullet Children's Literature
PN1009.A1 C5x (5th floor south) and electronically from Project Muse. 1972- Annual, scholarly articles. Indexed in Academic Search Elite, MLA
 
bullet Children's Literature in Education
 [Electronic] 1997- .
Scholarly articles on children' literature. Although education is a focus, articles are wide-ranging critical analysis of genres, subjects and titles. Indexed in Children's Book Review Index, Web of Science
 
bullet Lion and the Unicorn
[Electronic] 1995- through Project Muse.
Most issues are theme or genre based with scholarly articles on all aspects of children's literature. International in scope. Indexed in Children's Book Review Index, MLA, ERIC, Web of Science

horizontal rule

Banned:

Print

bulletBanned Books Resource Guide (annual) 
Ref
Z658 .U5 B37
American Library Association (ALA) annual publication that includes all titles challenged, where, when, why, results. Also relevant court cases to First Amendment issues.
 
bulletBanned in the USA: A Reference Guide to Book Censorship in Schools and Public Libraries
Ref Z658 .U5 F64 2002

Each chapter cover major book banning incidents; the laws on book banning; banned author articles; the most frequently banned or challenged books.
 
bulletHit List -Although written for librarians, the Hit Listsinclude a brief plot summary, work analysis, and a complete list of challenges - where, when, why.
 
bulletfor Children: Frequently Challenged Books 
Ref Z1019 .H68  (1st ed.), Z1019 .H682 (2nd ed.)
bulletfor Young Adults: Frequently Challenged Books
Ref Z1019 .H683 (1st ed.), Z1019 .L48 (2nd ed.)
bulletLiterature Suppressed on Social Grounds
Ref Z658 .U5 S69

Part of the Banned Books series (other titles cover Religious, Political, Sexual Grounds). Substantive articles on specific titles. Social covers most of the children's literature titles.
 
bulletTrust Your Children: Voices Against Censorship in Children's Literature
4th floor south Z1037 .A1 W38 1998

Brief interviews with 10 authors (Blume, Klein, Cormier, Miles, Mazer, Hentoff, Dahl, Keyes, Sendak, Steptoe), and nine others in the publishing business, discussing book censorship in the US since the 1970s.
 
bulletCensorship: A World Encyclopedia
Ref Z657 .C393 2001

4 vols. World view of censorship in all forms. Search by author. Good, substantive article on the history and issues surrounding the censuring of a specific author and their work. Most major US challenges are included.

Journals

bulletNewsletter on Intellectual Freedom
Periodicals
Z 671 N47 
All aspects of intellectual freedom issues for librarians. The Newsletter includes articles on book challenge incidents and issues and the latest legal developments in state and federal law . "Targets of the censor", "Censorship Dateline" and "Success Stories" list challenges.  Indexed: Library Literature, The annual index for each volume is published in the following volume, issue 3 e.g. The index for volume 51 is found in volume 52, issue 3.

Web Pages

bullet Jumping Off the Banned-Wagon http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/college/nwsevnts/exhibits/banned99/
UCLA College Library Exhibits in the Rotunda, Fall Quarter Exhibit September 24 - October 29, 1999
List of some of the most frequently challenged books in the 1990s - with brief report on where, why, and the conclusion of challenge. Not updated.
 
bullet American Library Association Banned Books http://www.ala.org/ala/oif/bannedbooksweek/bannedbooksweek.htm
History, top 100 titles (not all children's books), legal arguments and other issues surrounding intellectual freedom and book banning.
 
bullet Censored  http://www.ala.org/ala/oif/bannedbooksweek/bannedbooksweek.htm
Unofficial site, with links to organizations and articles dealing with censorship and book banning.

horizontal rule

Databases & Indexes:

There are several databases useful for finding articles and reviews but all have limitations, so don't rely solely on them. Use SFX links to see of the library has the full text of an article or review, either in print or online.  Select the database you need from the Databases A-Z list on the Library homepage (the link is under "Quick Links").

bulletBook Review Digest (full text)
All the reviews, usually abridged,  and summaries as originally published in the print BRD. Coverage is for English language fiction and non-fiction first published 1983 or later.  Click on the linked No. in the Reviewed Item line, to confirm that you have all reviews. Also available in print in reference.
 
bulletChildren's Literature Comprehensive Database (full text)
Annotated in Review section.
 
bulletGale's Literary Index (not full text)
An extremely useful index to the several Gale publisher literature series held in the Pollak Library. Includes all dates covered by the individual series such as Something About the Author, Contemporary Authors and Children's Literature Review. Search by title to find all entries in the various series that discuss the work; search by author for more comprehensive information about the author and all works.
 
bulletLiterature Resource Center (full text)
Gale collected articles from several of its series to provide an online overview of an author or literary topic. Each entry includes the following sections: Biographies; Literary Criticism, Articles & Work Overviews; Bibliographies; Additional Resources; Literary Historical Timeline. These articles are found in the print volumes in the reference section, but entries are not comprehensive, so check Gale's Literary Index (accessible from this database in the top green row of buttons) for all possible articles. All dates.
 
bulletABC-Lit: An Index to Children's Literature Scholarship (index, no full-text)
Available for free on the World Wide Web.  Indexes a limited number of children's literature journals, including the MLA journal Children's Literature.
 
bulletAcademic Search Elite (partial full text) The most-used database for popular-press and scholarly articles. Only covers articles published since 1980, so if you need to use other resources for earlier reviews. Author or book analysis might be found by searching by
bulletsubject: Sendak, Maurice
bulletkeyword: maurice sendak "book reviews"
 
bulletProquest Newspapers or Newsstand (full text)
Newspaper articles going back to various dates. Includes the Los Angeles Times, the Orange County Register, New York Times Book Review. Many small regional newspapers are included.
 

 

bulletLexis-Nexis (full text)
Newspaper articles going back to the 1980s.
 
bulletLibrary Literature (abstracts-only)
Good for reviews, banned and challenged books and issues of intellectual freedom.
 
bulletERIC (abstracts-only)
Good for issues relating to the development and process of reading, lesson plans and other educational aspects of books.
 
bulletMLA (abstracts-only) Scholarly articles on all aspects of literature; includes children's literature. Not a primary source for reviews.

Awards (Selected):   

Bibliography

bullet Children's Books: Awards and Prizes
Older editions (1972, 1992, 1996) in print, latest online (click on Access on Internet). Comprehensive listing of U.S. and international children's literature awards (primarily English-language awards, but a few other European languages are included). Updated quarterly.
 

American Library Association

bullet Newbery Medal and Newbery Honor  http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/awardsscholarships/literaryawds/newberymedal/newberymedal.htm Annual award by the Association for Library Service to Children (division of the American Library Association) for the "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children". Since 1922.
 
bullet Caldecott http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/awardsscholarships/literaryawds/caldecottmedal/caldecottmedal.htm
Annual award by the
Association for Library Service to Children (division of the American Library Association) for the "most distinguished American picture book for children". Since 1938.
 
bullet Coretta Scott King Award
www.ala.org/ala/emiert/corettascottkingbookawards/corettascott.htm
Established in 1970 to commemorate the lives and work of Dr. Martin Luther King and Coretta Scott King, and also to "promote, recognize, and celebrate the continued publication of quality literature by African-American children's authors and illustrators."
 
bullet Pura Belpre Medal
http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/awardsscholarships/literaryawds/belpremedal/belprmedal.htm
Established in 1996 and named for the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library.  Awarded biennially, this award seeks to recognize Latino/a writers and illustrators "whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."
 
bullet Other ALA awards for children's literature http://www.ala.org/ala/alsc/awardsscholarships/literaryawds/literaryrelated.htm
 

California Awards

bullet California Young Reader Medals
http://www.cla-net.org/awards/cyrm.php
Authors (and illustrators for Primary-level books) are nominated and voted for by children. Primary, Intermediate, Middle School,  and Young Adult categories (K-12). Annual since 1974. 
 
bulletSouthern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People
http://www.childrensliteraturecouncil.org/awards.htm
Given for outstanding children's books to Southern California authors and illustrators.  Since 1961.
 
bullet Commonwealth Club of California Book Awards
http://www.commonwealthclub.org/features/caBookAwards/2004/index.html
Honors books "with exceptional literary merit".  Two children's categories:  fiction or nonfiction up to age 10, and fiction or nonfiction for children 11-16.  Annual since 1990.
 

Other Notable Awards

bullet Asian Pacific American Award for Literature
http://www.apalaweb.org/awards/awards.htm
New award for 2004:  Books chosen by or about Asian Pacific Americans published between 2001 and 2003.  Sponsored by the Asian / Pacific American Librarians Association.
 
bullet Ezra Jack Keats
http://www.ezra-jack-keats.org/programs/nyplawards.htm
Annual award by the New  York Public Library and the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation to new writers an illustrators of picture books for age 9 and under.
"books that portray the universal qualities of childhood, a strong and supportive family, and the multicultural nature of our world". Since 1985 (biennial), annual since 1999.
 
bullet Hans Christian Anderson Award 
http://www.ibby.org/Seiten/04_andersen.htm
Biannual award by  the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) for "
a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature". Since 1956, 1966 for illustration.
 
bullet Sydney Taylor Book Award
http://www.jewishlibraries.org/ajlweb/awards/st_books.htm
Established in 1968 to "recognize distinguished contributions to Jewish children's literature".  Two awards are given, one for older readers, and one for younger readers.
 
bullet Tomas Rivera Mexican-American Children's Book Award http://www.education.txstate.edu/oldsite/rivera/Mainpage.html
Annual award "to
the author/illustrator of the most distinguished book for children and young adults that authentically reflects the lives and experiences of Mexican Americans in the United States". Since 1995.

horizontal rule

Prepared by Rosemary McGill and Collette Childers (2006). An administrative page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2004-2006.  California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 01/22/2007