library logo

Civil Rights
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Encyclopedias

Books

Primary Sources
Articles
Web Sites
California
Civil Rights Act of 1964: 40th Anniversary
I Have a Dream [text of speech]
Laws & Legilsative Histories

Encyclopedias 

Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (2006)
Reference KF4747.5 .E53 2006 v. 1-3

Civil Rights in the United States [encyclopedia] [2 volumes] (2000)
REFERENCE  E184.A1 C47 2000 Vol. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

Black Americans (annual) (1999)
REFERENCE  E185.5 .B512 1999 CATALOG RECORD 

Civil Liberties in America: A Reference Handbook (2004)
5th FLOOR SOUTH KF4749 .W35 2004 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present (1992)
6th FLOOR SOUTH  E185.61 .E54 1992 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights (1997)
REFERENCE   KF8210.C5 E53 1997 CATALOG RECORD 

Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court (2006)
REFERENCE  KF 4549 .M334 2006 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement (2000) 
REFERENCE  E184.M5 M458 2000 CATALOG RECORD 

Freedom Days: 365 Inspired Moments in Civil Rights History (1998)
REFERENCE  E185.61 .A232 1998 CATALOG RECORD

Country-by-country information: Freedom in the World (2003)
REFERENCE JC571 .F66 2003 CATALOG RECORD

Great American Court Cases [civil rights cases] [4 volumes] (1999)
REFERENCE  KF385.A4 G68 1999 Vol. 1-4 CATALOG RECORD

Historical Statistics of Black America (1995)
REFERENCE  E185 .H543 1995 Vol. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD

International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies (2000) 
REFERENCE  JC571 .M3243 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States (2000)
REFERENCE  E184.A1 H417 2000 CATALOG RECORD

West's Encyclopedia of American Law (1998)
Note: See Volume 3 pages 1-13. Also see INDEX in Volume 12. Also see Annual Yearbook.
REFERENCE  KF154 .W47 1998 Vol. 1-12 CATALOG RECORD


Books

opac screenBelow is a list of recent books in Pollak Library. To find additional books, search the Library Catalog by the subjects listed here. 

Subjects:
    civil rights united states
    civil rights united states history
    civil rights movements
    king martin luther jr


Primary Sources

American Decades: Primary Sources
     REFERENCE  E169.1 .A471977 2004 Vol. 7 (1960-1969) CATALOG RECORD
     Note: In Volume 7, see INDEX.

Clinton Report: Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination [CERD] (2002)

FOR HELP finding additional primary sources, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.


newpapers and magazines icon
Articles

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Con
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

Articles of note:   

"Assessing Claims that Federalism and States Are Anti-Civil Rights" (January 7, 2003) [FINDLAW]

"Road to the Promised Land: The Civil Rights Movement from 1954 to 1968." Humanities, Nov/Dec 1994, Vol. 15, Issue 6, pages 24-26.
Print: DOCS/US  NF 3.11:15/6 page 24

"The Enforcement of the Civil Rights Act of 1875," Prologue, Winter 1974, Vol. 6 No. 4 pages 225-251.
Print: DOCS/US  AE 1.111:6/4 page 225



Laws & Legislative Histories

Civil Rights Act of 1964—TEXT

Civil Rights Act of 1964—LEGISLATIVE HISTORY     top

  • U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News
       
     Reference KF63 .U5X 1964 Vol. 2 pages 2355-2519
  • The Longest Debate: A Legislative History of the 1964 Civil Rights Act (1985) CATALOG RECORD
  • Civil Rights Act of 1964: Text, Analysis, Legislative History (1964) CATALOG RECORD

U.S. Code & Additional Laws     top

  Library Home Page