Encyclopedias ▲
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (2006)
- Civil Rights in the United States
- Black Americans
- Civil Liberties in America: A Reference Handbook
- Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Present (1992)
- Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
- Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court (2006)
- Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
- Freedom Days: 365 Inspired Moments in Civil Rights History
- Country-by-country information: Freedom in the World
- Great American Court Cases [major civil rights cases]
- Historical Statistics of Black America
- Statistical Handbook of Racial Groups in the United States
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Civil Rights Act of 1964 & Additional Laws ▲
Civil Rights Act of 1964—TEXT
- U.S. Code: 42 USC 1981
- Public Law 88-352 / 78 STAT. 241
Print: Reference KF50 .U5 Vol. 78 page 241
Online: Civil Rights Act of 1964 (text) - Public Law 88-352: U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News 1964
Reference KF63 .U5X 1964 Vol. 1 page 287 - Civil Rights Act of 1964: Text, Analysis, Legislative History (1964) CATALOG RECORD
- Citation and Summary: Civil Rights Act of 1964: Equal Employment Opportunity
Civil Rights Act of 1964—LEGISLATIVE HISTORY top
- U.S.
Code Congressional & Administrative News
Reference KF63 .U5X 1964 Vol. 2 pages 2355-2519 - The Longest Debate: A Legislative History of the 1964 Civil Rights Act (1985) CATALOG RECORD
- Civil Rights Act of 1964: Text, Analysis, Legislative History (1964) CATALOG RECORD
U.S. Code & Additional Laws top
- United
States Code Annotated, Title 42, Chapter 21 (sections 1985+)
Print: REFERENCE KF62 W48x Vol. 42 Pt. 5b page 5
Online: Cornell's Legal Information Institute: U.S. Code, Title 42, Chapter 21: Civil Rights - Civil Rights Acts of 1957, 1960, 1964, 1968: And Voting Rights Act of 1965 [texts of laws] (1969) CATALOG RECORD
- Civil Rights: An Overview [Cornell LII]
- Compilation of Selected Civil Rights Laws (as amended through the 105th Congress, first session) [texts of laws] (1998) CATALOG RECORD
I Have A Dream Speech ▲
Primary Sources ▲
Thurgood Marshall Law Library: Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
American Decades:
Primary Sources
REFERENCE E169.1 .A471977 2004 Vol. 7 (1960-1969)
CATALOG RECORD
Note: In Volume 7, see INDEX.
Clinton Report: Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination [CERD] (2002)
FOR HELP finding additional primary sources, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
Books ▲
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following SUBJECTS:
- civil rights united states
- civil rights united states history
- civil rights united movements
- martin luther king jr
Books of note:
- Ten-Year Check-Up: Have Federal Agencies Responded to Civil Rights Recommendations (2003)
- Civil Rights Act: The Passage of the Law that Ended Racial Segregation
- Twenty Years After Brown
- I May Not Get There With You: The True Martin Luther King, Jr.
- Indicators of Equal Employment Opportunity--Status and Trends
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Articles of note:
- "Road
to the Promised Land: The Civil Rights Movement from 1954 to 1968."
Humanities, Nov/Dec 1994, Vol. 15, Issue 6, pages 24-26.
Print: DOCS/US NF 3.11:15/6 page 24 - "The
Enforcement of the Civil Rights Act of 1875," Prologue,
Winter 1974, Vol. 6 No. 4 pages 225-251.
Print: DOCS/US AE 1.111:6/4 page 225
Web Sites ▲
- U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
- U.S. Department of Education: Office for Civil Rights
- U.S. Department of Justice: Civil Rights Division
- American Civil Rights Institute
- Civil Rights Era [Library of Congress--American Memory
- Civil Rights: An Overview [Cornell LII]
- FindLaw: Legal Subjects: Civil Rights
- Race-Based Charges FY 19992-present [EEOC]
- Historic Places on the Civil Rights Movement
