Return to Library Research Guides
LIBRARY DATATBASES
Expanded
Academic Index
Expanded Academic Index includes indexing and abstracting for nearly 2,000 journals
and magazines, and full text for over 900 journals and magazines. Some full
text titles include College Literature (1992-current), Contemporary
Literature (1992-1999), International Fiction Review (2001-2002),
Journal of Modern Literature (1999-2001), Kenyon Review(2001-current),
Literary Review (1993-current), Nineteenth Century Literature
(1994-2002), Renascence: Essays on Values in Literature (1997-2003),
Research in African Literatures (1992-current), Review of Contemporary
Fiction (1993-current), Studies in the Novel (1993-current), Twentieth
Century Literature (1992-2001), and World Literature Today (1994-2002).
Factiva
Factiva seems an unlikely database for articles related to World Literature,
but there is a wealth of information available. Go to the Publications Library
and you will find selected full text from journals such as Canadian Literature,
College Literature, Comparative Literature, Criticism, Explicator, Hispanic
Review, Latin American Literary Review, Literary Review, Renascence, Review
of Contemporary Fiction, Russian Review, Studies in Romanticism, Studies in
the Literary Imagination, Studies in the Novel, Twentieth Century Literature,
and World Literature Today.
Humanities
Abstracts
Humanities Abstracts indexes and abstracts more than 300 key humanities publications.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database of scholarly journals available in electronic form. JSTOR
covers subjects from anthropology, demographics, economics, finance, history,
literature, political science, sociology, etc. Some journals of interest to
World Literature include: African American Review (1992-1999), Alif:
Journal of Poetics (1981-1999), Callaloo (1976-1994), Chinese
Literature (1979-1999), ELH (1934-1994), French Review
(1927-1997), German Quarterly (1928-1997), Italica (1926-1997),
Nineteenth Century Fiction (1949-1986), Nineteenth Century Literature
(1986-1996), Representations (1983-1996), and Russian Review
(1941-1997).
Literature
Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and
critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining
Gale's most used literary databases in a single web-based service, the LRC covers
more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers,
with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
MLA
MLA's coverage includes covers literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore/folklife.
MLA has 1,000,000 citations from 1963 to the present. Before 1970, however,
the file is primarily limited to English language materials. The database became
much stronger in 1980 with the addition of detailed subject indexing. Today,
the file is updated ten times a year with about 49,000 entries added annually.
MLA includes: journals, books, book chapters, essay collections, working papers,
dissertations, and bibliographies.
Oxford
Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online features various resources in literature such as: Concise
Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Concise Oxford Companion to
American Literature, Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature, Concise
Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, A Dictionary of Writers and Their
Works, and the Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English.
Project
Muse
Project Muse is an Internet-based subscription service to over 160 scholarly
journals. Some journals of interest to World Literature include:
American Literature, China Review International, Comparative Literature
Studies, Eighteenth Century Studies, Journal of Modern Literature, Manoa, Modern
Fiction Studies, and Research in African Literatures.
WEB RESOURCES
About.com: Classic Literature
About.com's site includes links to authors, criticism, theory, El Toro Campus.
http://classiclit.about.com/
CLC Web: Comparative Literature and Culture: A WWWeb Journal
CLC web is a peer reviewed journal of scholarship in the humanities and social
sciences from the Purdue University Press. Besides the journal there is an extensive
set of links
available from the site.
http://clcwebjournal.lib.purdue.edu/
Internet Public Library: Literary Resources
This site contains links to criticism, online texts, and journals.
http://www.ipl.org/ref/litcrit/
Multicultural Literature Resources
This web site is from the University of North Carolina at Asheville.
http://www.library.unca.edu/
Postcolonial and Post Imperial Literature in English
This web site is a project funded by the University Scholars Programme at the
National University of Singapore. The site features links to countries, authors,
history, post colonial theory, politics, religion, and gender issues.
http://www.postcolonialweb.org
Road to East Asia
Road to East Asia is a journal on contemporary East Asian literature in English
from York University.
http://www.yorku.ca/iwai/
Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures (Other Than English)
The Voice of the Shuttle web site is by the University of California, Santa
Barbara. It was established as a annotated guide to online resources. This link
focuses on links to literature of different countries.
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2719#id247
JOURNALS AVAILABLE AT THE MAIN CAMPUS
Afro-Hispanic Review
: Publication of the Afro-Hispanic Institute
Library has 1995-current
1979-1989 available on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PQ7081 A1 A36
Chinese Literature
Library has 1975-1991, 1997-2000
1965-1971, 1974 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals DS777.55 C45
Chinese Literature,
Essays, Articles, Reviews
Library has 1982-current
1979-1981 available on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PL2250 C531
Comparative Literature
Library has 1978-current
1956-1989 available on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PN851 .C57
Contemporary Literature
Library has 1975-current
1968-1974 in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PR1 C7
Eighteenth Century
Library has 1979-current
Call Number: Periodicals PR3334 B41
Essays in Criticism
Library has 1975-current
1963-1974 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PR1 E78
French Studies
Library has 1975-1996
1962-1974 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PQ1 F85
Journal of Modern Literature
Library has 1976/77-current
1970/71 -1974/75 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PN2 J8
Latin American Literary
Review
Library has 1976/77 - current
1972 - 1975/76 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PQ7081 A1 L35
Letras Femeninas
Library has 1996 - current
Call Number: Periodicals PQ6055 L48
Literary Imagination
: the Review of the Association of Literary Scholars and Critics
Library has 2000 - current
Call Number: Periodicals PN2 L58
Nineteenth Century
Literature
Library has 1986-current
1987-1990/91 available on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PR863 .N711
Partisan Review
Library has 1975-current
1934-1974 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals AP2 P27
Philosophy and Literature
Library has 1978-current
Internet Access
1996-current for internet access
Call Number: Periodicals PN56 L45 P45
Renascence
Library has 1975/76-current
1962-1975 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PN2 R39
Research in African
Literatures
Library has 1975-79, 1992-current
1970-1974 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PL8010 R46
Call Number: Compact Stacks PL8010 R46
Revista Hispanica
Moderna
Library has 1976/77 - 1993, 2000-current
1956, 1960-1975 available in compact stacks
Call Number: Periodicals PQ6001 R47
Russian Review
Library has 1976 - current
1941-1989 in microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals DK1 R82
Tulsa Studies in Women's
Literature
Library has 1992-current
Call Number: Periodicals PN471 T84
Twentieth Century
Literature
Library has 1978-current
1955 - 1989 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals PN2 T8
World Literature Today
Library has 1989-current
1977-1989 on microfilm
Call Number: Periodicals Z1007 B7171
POLLAK LIBRARY
CATALOG
The library's catalog contains the holdings for all materials in the Fullerton
campus library (books, periodicals, videos, documents, etc.). Check to see if
the library has the periodicals for the citations that you are interested in.
A feature on the catalog is Link+. Link+ allows you to check the holdings of
participating California State Universities and other schools and libraries
for book materials that are not available at Fullerton (this also includes if
the item is checked out or missing). Link+ gives you the option to order
the item online. Items are delivered to the campus library. You
can check if your item is in at the Circulation counter (1st Floor, Library
South).
CSUF:
POLLAK LIBRARY JOURNAL TITLES
This is a link to what journals the library has available from its databases.
You can search by entering the name of the journal in the search box or by clicking
on the alphabetical links. This site can only be accessed by using computers
on campus or the library proxy server from off campus.
ORDERING INTERLIBRARY LOANS
Students may also order items that are not available at Fullerton, via interlibrary
loan. Order interlibrary loans via the ILLiad
link from the library home page.
Remember ILL can only be used for items not in the library.