|





| |
Bible •
Dictionaries •
Encyclopedias • Handbooks
• Who's Who •
See also: Hope University Darling
Library Catalog

|
|
|
 |
The Books of the Bible
6th FL SOUTH BS540 .B62 1989
Textbook. For beginners. Doesn't emphasize methodology and the history of scholarship.
1 |
|
 |
Bible: English Anchor Bible
6th FL SOUTH BS192.2.A1 F64 G3
Commentary. Multiple volumes. |
|
 |
International Critical Commentary On The Holy Scriptures Of The Old And New
6th Floor SOUTH BS491 .I6
Multiple volumes, by scripture. |
|
 |
The Interpreter's Bible: The Holy Scriptures in the King James and Revised
Standard Versions with General Articles and Introduction, Exegesis,
Exposition for Each Book of the Bible
6th Floor SOUTH BS491.2 .I55
Vol 1: General articles, Genesis, Exodus; 2: Leviticus-Samuel; 3: kings-Job; 4: Psalms, Proverbs; 5: Ecclesiastes-Jeremiah; 6: Lamentations-Malachi; 7: General Articles, Matthew, Mark; 8: Luke, John; 9: The Acts, Romans; 10: Corinthians, Ephesians; 11: Phillippians-Hebrews; 12:
James-Relevation. 2 |
|
 |
The Interpreter's One Volume
Commentary on the Bible: Introd. and Commentary for Each Book of the
Bible including the Apocrypha, with General Articles
6th FL SOUTH BS491.2 .I57 |
|
 |
The New Jerome Biblical Commentary
6th Floor SOUTH BS491.2
.N485 1990 |
|
 |
Peake's Commentary on the Bible
6th FL SOUTH BS491 .B57 1964 |

|
|
|
 |
The Melody of Theology : A
Philosophical Dictionary
6th FL SOUTH BR95 .P36 1988
Philosophical dictionary. Includes Eastern Christianity. Raises pivotal
questions for reflection. Omits ecumenism, feminism, and postmodernism.1 |
|
 |
Mythologies/ Compiled by Yves Bonnefoy;
A Restructured Translation of Dictionnaire des Mythologies et des
Religions des Sociétés Traditionnelles et du Monde Antique
6th FL SOUTH BL311 .D513 1991
All periods of Indian mythology. Well done.1 |
|
 |
Tirtha, the Treasury of Indian
Expressions
6th FL SOUTH DS423 .T54 1992
Glossary of India. Pakistan and Sri Lanka not covered. Focus on Indian customs. Excellent for travel.1 |

|
|
|
 |
A Book of Jewish
Concepts
6th FL SOUTH BM50 .B55 1975
Detailed explanations of liturgy and festivals. 1 |
|
 |
The Buddhist Handbook: A Complete Guide to Buddhist Schools, Teaching, Practice, and History
6th FL SOUTH BQ4012 .S64 1991
Handbook on transmissions from antiquity to present. Includes rare biographical information. |
|
 |
The Commentary on the Qur'¯an, Vol. 1
6th FL SOUTH BP130.4 .T2713 1987
Revisionist commentary. 1 |
|
 |
Contemporary Jewish
Religious Thought: Original Essays on Critical Concepts, Movements, and
Beliefs
6th FL SOUTH BM50 .C64 1987
Revisionist lexicon. Theology, philosophy, and cultural criticism, but not literature, art or social science.
1 |
|
 |
Deciphering the
Signs of God: A Phenomenological Approach to Islam
6th FL SOUTH BP161.2 .S29 1994
Phenomenology. Islamic spirituality. Indexed by persons, places and themes. Highly praised.
1 |
|
 |
Encyclopaedia of Buddhism
6th FL SOUTH BQ128 .E59 1961
Persons, places, shrines, rites, concepts, movements. Who's who includes teachers, rulers, and some western scholars. Highly regarded. For specialists. |
|
 |
Encyclopedia
Talmudica; A Digest of Halachic Literature and Jewish Law from the Tannaitic
Period to the Present Time
6th FL SOUTH BM500.5 .E613
Vol. 1 of 4. Descriptive. Accessible to non-specialists. 1 |
|

|
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies
6th FL SOUTH B131 .E5 1977
Historical lexicon. Other volumes are located nearby. Advanced resource for
historical of Indian thought.1 |
|
 |
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of
World Mythology and Legend
6th Floor South BL303 .M45 1988
Who's who of deities, heroes, and other figures from world mythology. 1 |
|
 |
The Folklore of
World Holidays
6th FL SOUTH GT3930 .F65 1992
Margaret Read MacDonald, editor. Holidays for 150 countries. Most complete calendar.
1 |
|
 |
Jewish Lliteracy :
The Most Important Things to Know About the Jewish Religion, its People, and its
History
6th FL SOUTH BM155.2 .T44 1991
Glossary introduces the Jewish religion. |
|
 |
Judaism, Christianity, and Islam:
The Classical Texts and Their Interpretation
6th FL SOUTH BL80.2 .P455 1990
Selects and compiles quotations from the religions' classical periods plus
connective commentary with explanatory and factual data. 3 |
|
 |
Indian Philosophy and Religion :
A Reader's Guide
6th FL SOUTH BL2001.2 .P22 1990
Indian philosophy and religion for beginners. |
|

|
Pur¯anic Encyclopaedia: A
Comprehensive Dictionary with Special Reference
to the Epic and Pur¯anic Literature
6th FL SOUTH BJ122 .M3513x
Who's who of deities, characters and places mentioned in puranas and epics.
For experts.1 |
|
 |
A Reader's
Guide to the Great Religions
4th FL SOUTH Z7833 .A35 1977
13 chapters: 1: Primitive religion; 2: The Ancient World; 3: The Religions
of Mexico and of Central and South America; 4: Religions of China; 5: Hinduism; 6: Buddhism; 7: Sikhs; 8: Jainas; 9: Religions of Japan; 10: Early
and Classical Judaism; 11: Medieval and Modern Judaism; 12: Christianity; 13: Muslim. Running commentary. |
|
 |
Religion in
Today's World: The Religious Situation of the World from 1945 to the
Present Day
6th FL SOUTH BL80.2 .R42 1987
Collection of essays focusing on 5 major religions (Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Jewish and Muslim) in the latter part of the 20th century.
Civil religion, cults and new religious movements, secular world-views,
spirituality, and the study of religion are also covered. |
|
 |
The Torah: A
Modern Commentary
6th FL SOUTH BS1225.3 .P55 1981
Explores each verse. |
|
 |
The World of Buddhism : Buddhist
Monks and Nuns in Society and Culture
6thFLS OVRSZE BQ4012 .W67 1984
Compendium. Stunning images of architecture, sculpture, and life of the sangha in 13 countries.
|

|
|
|
 |
Backgrounds of
Early Christianity
6th FL SOUTH BR129 .F47 1987
Handbook. Excellent bibliography, summaries, and analysis. 1 |
|
 |
Eerdmans' Handbook to the World's Religions
6th FL SOUTH BL80.2 .E35 1982
Introductory compendium. World religions past and present. Divisions include: Development of Religion;
Ancient Religions; Primal Religions; Living Religions of the East; Judaism; Christianity. Some articles may lack neutrality.
1 |
|
 |
Handbook of
Western Philosophy
6th FL SOUTH B804 .H17 1988
Compendium on major themes, problems and schools of European and American philosophy. For beginners and experts.
1 |
|

|
Historia Religionum; Handbook for the
History of Religions
6th FL SOUTH BL80.2 .B55
V. 1: Ancient Religions, 2: Living Religions 1 |
|
 |
A Religious
History of the American People
6th FL SOUTH BR515 .A4 1972
Handbook. Social and intellectual context for American religious history. |

|
|
|
 |
Twentieth-Century
Shapers of American Popular Religion
6th FL SOUTH BL2525 .T84 1989
Who's who. Includes biography, appraisal, survey of criticism and bibliography. Substantial scholarship.
1 |

comments from:
1. Johnston, William M., ed. Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for
Students, Scholars, Researchers, Buyers & Readers 2nd edi. 1998 Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.
2. Tucker, Dennis C. 2000. Research Techniques for Scholars and Students in Religion and Theology. Medford, NJ: Information Today, Inc.
3. Walford
|