Arches National Park Reference
Comparative Religion
A Pollak Library Research Guide
California State University, Fullerton


Home
Articles
Journals
Reference
Books


Atlases & Maps BibleBibliographies BiographiesBook Reviews
Dictionaries Encyclopedias/HandbooksHagiography (Lives of the Saints)
Types of Reference Materials
See also: Hope University Library Resources

horizontal rule

Atlases & Maps 
  Click here to see OPAC location. Atlas of the World's Religions
REF ATLASES G1046.E4 A85 1999
World maps and historical geography.
Click here to see OPAC location. Atlas of American Religion: the denominational era, 1776-1990   Reference BR515 .N49 2000
Click here to see OPAC location. Cultural Atlas of Islam           
Reference DS36.85 .A39 1986 
Compendium. Emphasis on essence and manifestation. Coverage of the arts excellent. Weak in Persian areas. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World   
Reference BL80.2 .F28 1974
6th FL SOUTH BL80.2 .F28

Compendium of world religions. Articles may be dated, but the maps are excellent. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Macmillan Bible Atlas
Reference G2230 .A2 1968
Click here to see OPAC location. New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
Reference 1201 .E4 N4 2001
Click here to see OPAC location. The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America
Reference G1201 .E4 C3 2000

horizontal rule

The Bible  
Click here to see OPAC location. The Anchor Bible Dictionary
Reference BS440 .A54 1992
Mega-encyclopedia. Emphasis on historical and archeological topics. Includes monographs and bibliographies. For specialists. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. A Catholic Commentary on Holy Scripture
Reference BS491 .O7
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Dictionary of Bible and Religion 
Reference BR95 .D46 1986
Dictionary of the Bible, church history, and world religions. Also, who's who. Omits some countries.1
Click here to see OPAC location.
 
A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature
Reference PR149.B5 D53 1992
Lexicon. Citations and explanations from Greek and Latin commentaries through English- speaking literature.1
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. A Dictionary of the Bible
Oxford Reference Online
Click here to see OPAC location.
Handbook of Biblical Criticism 
Reference BS511.2 .S68 1981 
Glossary of methodology. For seminary students. Technical terms plus a who's who. Weak on theology.1
Click here to see OPAC location. Harper's Bible Dictionary
Reference BS440 .H237 1985 
For non-specialists. Non-theological approach. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
Reference BS440 .I6 1979 
Reallexikon. Evangelical. Hebrew and Greek vocabulary stressed. Conservative viewpoint. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Illustrated Bible Dictionary
Reference BS440 .I44 1980
Conservative, evangelical approach. Emphasizes historicity; minimal hermeneutics. Omits Apocrypha, current topics. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Jerome Biblical Commentary
Reference BS491.2 .B7 
Click here to see OPAC location. The Oxford Companion to the Bible 
Reference BS440 .M434 1993 
Bible dictionary and handbook of interpretation. For non-specialists. 1
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible
Oxford Reference Online
Click here to see OPAC location. Who's Who in the Bible 
Reference BS570 .W56 1980 
Recounting of Bible stories. Includes Apocrypha, New Testament, Old Testament. 1

horizontal rule

Bibliographies  
Click here to see OPAC location. Religious Periodicals Directory 
Reference BL 48z C75 1986
Click here to see OPAC location. Theological and Religious Reference Materials 
Reference BS 511 .2z G66 1984 
[1] General resources and biblical studies -- [2] Systematic theology and church history 

horizontal rule

Biographies  
Click here to see OPAC location. Religious Leaders of America 
Reference BL72 .R44 
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of American Religious Biography 
Reference BL72 .B68
Who's who for religiously significant Americans who died before 7/1/1992.
Click here to see OPAC location.
Dictionary of Religion and Philosophy
Reference BL31 .M23 1989
Who's who of theologians, founders, scholars, philosophers and glossary. Strong in philosophy of religion, patristics, Bible, and church history. Non-Christian religions weakly covered.1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Reference BR66.5 .D5813 1992
Every aspect of Christianity to the year 750 C.E. Emphasis on regions, cities, institutions, languages, liturgies, arts, doctrines, heretics, and leaders of the church. Reallexikon, who's who, and lexicon. 1
This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library.
 
Goddesses in World Mythology eBook
Who's who of goddesses and their attributes. Includes those demonized or trivialized. Indexed by region and attribute.1
Click here to see OPAC location.
This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library.
Guide to the Gods
Reference BL473 .L43 1992
Immense Who's who. Intricate classification. Also available as a eBook.1 
Click here to see OPAC location. Medieval Philosophers 
Reference PN451 .D53 vol. 115 
Who's who of philosophers from 400 to 1490. Emphasis on careers and thought.
Click here to see OPAC location. The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Reference BX955.2 .K45 1986 
In chronological order.

horizontal rule

Book Reviews  
Click here to see OPAC location. Index to Book Reviews in Religion 
Reference BL1 .I55 
IN REFERENCE 1986-1994.
Click here to see OPAC location. Index to Religious Periodical Literature 
Reference BL1 .I51 
IN REFERENCE 1949-1977. An author and subject index to periodical literature, including an author index to book reviews.
Click here to see OPAC location. Religion Indexes [computer file] : RIO/RIT/IBRR 1975- on CD-ROM 
LAM BL1 .R4 
COVERAGE FROM 1975-1997. ATLA's Religion index one on cd-rom. Religion index one: periodicals (1975-) -- Religion index two: multi-auti-author works (1975-) -- Index to book reviews in religion (1975-). Backfiles through 1974 issued under the separate journal titles 

horizontal rule

Dictionaries 
Click here to see OPAC location. Abingdon Dictionary of Living Religions 
Reference BL31 .A24 
Lexicon of all living religions, including a who's who of founders, leaders, rulers and scholars; a glossary of doctrines, practices and events, and a reallexikon of scriptures, movements and art forms. Detailed, but may be out of date.1
Click here to see OPAC location. A Catholic Dictionary of Theology; A Work Projected with the Approval of the Catholic Hierarchy of England and Wales 
Reference BR95 .C27 v. 2 
Volume 2 only. History of Catholic thought. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Companion to Literary Myths: Heroes and Archetypes
Reference PN56.M95 D4813 1992 
Lexicon. Literary reception of myth from Europe, India, china, Japan and Africa. Not Scandinavia or Latin America. Emphasis from French literature and history.
Click here to see OPAC location.
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy
Reference B131 .G67 1996
Glossary of Sanskrit terms. Emphasis on denotations among Buddhist, Jain and Hindu schools of philosophy. For philosophers delving into Indian Studies.1
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Oxford Reference Online
Click here to see OPAC location. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 
Reference BR95 .O82 1977 
Strong in basics of Christian history. 1
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
Oxford Reference Online
Click here to see OPAC location. Corpus Dictionary of Western Churches
Reference BR95 .C68x 
Dictionary. Western denominations, including founders, missionaries, issues and movements, historical overviews. Written in response to Vatican II. May be dated. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Dictionary of Bible and Religion 
Reference BR95 .D46 1986
Dictionary of the Bible, church history, and world religions. Also, who's who. Omits some countries.1
Click here to see OPAC location.
This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library.
Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
Reference BL900 .M445 1998 
Dictionary of history, literature, and mythology of six Celtic peoples of the British Isles and Brittany. Mentions ancient Gaul, Galatia, and Iberia. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of Cults, Sects, Religions and the Occult
Reference BL31 .M295 1993 
New religious movements in North America are juxtaposed to evangelical Christianity. Uneven. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible DDD
Reference BS680.G57 D53 1999 
Lexicon. Deities, demons and heroes. Clear writing. Heavily cross-referenced. Authoritative.1
Click here to see OPAC location. A Dictionary of Greek Orthodoxy: Lexicon Hellenikes Orthodoxias
Reference BX230 .P37 1984 
Historical lexicon. Reallexicon of liturgy and who's who of church fathers and saints. Self-definition of a faith. For church historians. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
A Dictionary of Indian History
Reference DS433 .B48 1977
Dictionary of Indian politics and military history. Emphasis on persons, places, institutions and events, not religion.1
Click here to see OPAC location. A Dictionary of Indology
Reference DS423 .R69 1983
Dictionary of Indian culture with a focus on persons, places, sects, texts, sciences, deities, jatakas (account of previous lives of Buddha). Highly praised introductory dictionary.1
Click here to see OPAC location.
This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library.
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Reference E98.R3 G46 1992 
Dictionary of myths and stories. Introductory. Also available as an eBook. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of Non-Christian Religions.
Reference BL31 .P36 1981  
Glossary. Contains brief articles on deities, myths, leaders, scriptures, practices, art genres and holy places for non-Christian religions. Who's who and introduction are also valuable. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements 
Reference BR1644 .D53 1988 
Historical lexicon. Worldwide, but focus is on North America. Good synopses. Omits non-Christian religions. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. A Dictionary of Superstitions 
Reference BF1775 .D53 1989 
10 centuries of British quotations concerning folk beliefs. Arranged chronologically. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Reference D114 .D5 1982 
Reallexikon covering 500 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Regions, capital cities, who's who, languages, literary traditions, painting, architecture, economic institutions and techniques, products. For students.
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols
Reference BM50 .F74 1992 
Historical dictionary
.
Click here to see OPAC location. Handbook of Denominations in the United States 
Reference BR516.5 .M38 
Start here for research on pre-1950 Christian denominations in the United States.
Click here to see OPAC location. Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism: Its Mythology, Folklore, Philosophy, Literature, and History
Reference BL1105 .S88x 1977
Historical glossary. Excellent source for self-teaching Hindu mythology. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Historical Dictionary of Buddhism 
Reference BQ130 .P74 1993 
Glossary of concepts, texts, schools of thought, and cities. Who's who of masters, rulers, Western scholars. For novices. Extensive bibliography.
  Click here to see OPAC location. Human Values in a Changing World: A Dialogue on the Social Role of Religion
6th FL SOUTH BJ1012 .W537 1984
Philosophical dictionary. 6 themes: Homo religious; Reason and Responsibility; The Problems of Organization; Some Historical Perspectives; Matters of Mind and Body; The Wider Ethical Perspective. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. An Illustrated Dictionary of the Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya 
Reference F1435.3.R3 M55 1997 
Click here to see OPAC location.
Longman Guide to Living Religions 
Reference BL80.2 .L66 1994
Dictionary. Carefully describes contemporary subgroups within major religions.1
Click here to see OPAC location. The New Dictionary of Theology
Reference BR95 .N38 1987 
Catholic lexicon. Post-Vatican II developments. Weak on art and literature. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship
Reference BV173 .N49 1986 
Articles on practices, sacraments, liturgies, architectures and music. People and places not covered. Anglican liturgical changes since 1972.
Click here to see OPAC location. The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Reference DF521 .O93 1991
All aspects of the Byzantine empire 4-15 century. Emphasis on rulers, conquests, administration, law, objects (realia), customs and art. Less emphasis on religious leaders, thinkers, heretics, disputes, and practices. For specialists. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 
Reference BR95 .O8 1997 
Lexicon. Excellent resource on Christianity. Weak in other religions, methodology, social history, and ethics. 1
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Oxford Reference Online
Click here to see OPAC location. The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity
Reference BR145.2 .O86 1992 
Revisionist compendium. High callibre. Use index for access. Emphasis on social history, liturgy and imagery. Weak: Judaism, women, music. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Penguin Dictionary of Religions
Reference BL31 .P38 1984
Reallexikon surveys past and present world religions. Covers movements, founders, doctrines, scriptures, myths, religious orders, countries and cross- religious categories. May be too condensed and too heavily cross- referenced.1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Vocabulary of Jewish Life
Reference BM50 .H4 
Glossary.
Click here to see OPAC location. The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Education 
Reference BV1461 .C8 
First edition. 
Click here to see OPAC location. The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Spirituality
Reference BV4488 .W47 1983 
Lexicon of mystical and spiritual movements worldwide. World religions, French, German, English, Irish, Greek, Syrian, and Coptic spirituality. 1

horizontal rule

Encyclopedias/Handbooks/Guides 
Click here to see OPAC location. Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome 
Reference DE59 .C55 1988 
Compendium on every aspect of history, culture and daily life in ancient Greece and Rome.
  This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library. A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Oxford Reference Online
  Click here to see OPAC location. Contemporary American Religion
Reference BL2525 .C65 2000 v.1 & v.2                                                       
Click here to see OPAC location. Eastern Definitions: A Short Encyclopedia of Religions of the Orient 
Reference BL31 .R52 
"A guide to common, ordinary, and rare philosophical, mystical, religious, and psychological terms from Hinduism, Buddhism, Sufism, Islam, Zen, Taoism, the Sikhs, Zoroastrianism, and other major and minor Eastern religions."
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Reference BL2462 .E53 2001
Stephen D. Glazier
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of African American Religions
Reference BR563.N4 E53 1993 
Historical lexicon. People, concepts and organizations. Cultural analysis, but weak for Africanists. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of American Religions 
Reference BL2525 .M449 
Handbook of religions, denominations, and new religious movements. Excellent for schismatic churches and new religious movements. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of American Religious History 
Reference BL2525 .Q44 2001
Edward L. Queen II, Stephen R. Prothero, and Gardiner H. Shattuck, Jr.; foreword by Martin E. Marty  editorial advisor
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Asian History
Reference DS31 .E53 1988
Reallexikon. Fullest coverage on India, China and Japan; lesser on Korea and Southeast Asia. Introductory level.1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Celtic Mythology and Folklore
Reference BL900 .M66 2004 
Patricia Monaghan
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Death
Reference HQ1073 .E54 1989 
Lexicon for the social sciences on death and dying. Includes practices, concepts, images and beliefs. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
Reference BR162.2 .E53 1999 
Lexikon on people, cities, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms to 600 C.E. Origins of Christian practice and belief. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
Reference BL1005 .L4813 1989
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Ethics
Reference BJ63 .E45 1992
Historical lexicon of thinkers, doctrines, and controversies. Who's who of major Eastern and Western thinkers. Retraces intellectual history.
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism
Reference BL238 .E63 2001
Follows a broad definition of fundamentalism and covers fundamentalism across time and place, although the emphasis remains on its primary manifestation: Protestation fundamentalism in the United States
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopædia Iranica
Reference DS253 .E53 1985
History and culture of all regions influenced by Iranian culture. For master scholars. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopaedia of Islam 
Reference DS37 .E52 
Mega encyclopedia. History, art, beliefs and practices of Islam worldwide. Western scholarship. In-depth articles. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Judaism
Reference BM50 .E63 1999 
Dictionary of Jewish religious practices, who's who of rabbis and teachers. Intermediate level. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Mormonism 
Reference BX8605.5 .E62 1992 
History and doctrine of Mormonism. Detailed. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
Reference E98.R3 H73 2000 
Glossary and who's who. Ceremonies, deities, practitioners, and Christian missionaries. Myths are retold. For beginners.1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Reference B41 .E5 
Historical encyclopedia of all periods, regions and schools. Bibliographies may be out of date.1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Reference BL65.P7 E53 1998 
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Religion
Reference BL31 .E46 1986
Mega-encyclopedia of religions and religious studies. Comprehensive.1 
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Religion and Society 
Reference BL60 .E53 1998 
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
Reference BL31 .E47 2004                                                                               Frank A. Salamone 
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of Unbelief 
Reference BL2705 .E53 1985 
Antireligious lexicon. Strongest point: Who's who. Strident viewpoint. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Encyclopedia of World Faiths: An Illustrated Survey of the World's Living Religions
Reference BL80.2 .E495 1988 
Compendium. Topics include: Faith; Religious Leaders; Death and the Afterlife; Gods and Gurus; Festivals; Myths and Legends; Worship; and the Life Cycle. Scholarly. Extinct religions not covered. Excellent photo essays. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedia of the Early Church
Reference BR66.5 .D5813 1992
Every aspect of Christianity to the year 750 C.E. Emphasis on regions, cities, institutions, languages, liturgies, arts, doctrines, heretics, and leaders of the church. Reallexikon, who's who, and lexicon. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Yoga
Reference B132.Y6 F46 1990
Glossary of techniques, concepts and schools of yoga for practitioners. Technical. For experts.1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend
Reference BL303 .M45 2004
Anthony S. Mercatante; revised by James R. Dow
Click here to see OPAC location. The Folklore of World Holidays
Reference GT3930 .F65 1998 
Robert H. Griffin and Ann H. Shurgin, editors.  Holidays, festivals, folklore.
Click here to see OPAC location. The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition: An Encyclopedia 
Reference BL245 .H57 2000 
Click here to see OPAC location. Islam and Islamic Groups: A Worldwide Reference Guide 
Reference BP10 .I73 1992 
Dictionary of political Islam. By country. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan 
Reference DS805 .K633 1983 
Encyclopedia of the history and culture of the religions of Japan. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. A New Handbook of Living Religions
Reference BL80.2 .H275 1998
Compendium. Emphasis on 20th Century beliefs and practices, particularly how religions function for believers today. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
The Hindu World; an Encyclopedic Survey of Hinduism
Reference BL1105 .W34
Lexicon of English sources 1850- 1960. Reallexikon of regions, land features, languages, tribes, epics, deities, plants and animals, religious and sexual practices, sciences, arts. Who's who covers writers, philosophers, dynasties, rulers, religious founders and reformers. Sources may be illusive.1
Click here to see OPAC location. Holidays and Anniversaries of the World: A Comprehensive Catalogue Containing Detailed
Information on Every Month and Day of the Year

Reference CE76 .H65 1990 
2-3 pages for each day of the year. Focus on Europe and the United States. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Indiana Companion to Traditional Chinese Literature
Reference PL 2264z I53 1986
Handbook. Lexicon of writers, works, genres, styles, movements, and influences. Compendium on chiefly Buddhist schools and genres. For readers of Chinese. 1
Click here to see OPAC location. The Modern Encyclopedia of Religions in Russia and the Soviet Union
Reference BL940.S65 M63 1988 
Lexicon. History of all religions in the former Soviet Union. 1
Click here to see OPAC location.
This subscription-based resource is available only to CSUF students and faculty either on campus or calling in from home to Titan Internet Access, the Proxy Server, or at the Library.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Reference B41 .B53 1996 
Glossary and who's who of contemporary and classical issues. 1
</