Articles play a predominant role in disseminating scholarly information. Articles in general are published in newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. Current articles communicate the most recent research and studies in a field. Your professor may require that you use articles from either popular or scholarly periodicals or both. The Pollak Library's collection contains popular and scholarly periodicals, indexing and abstracting databases, electronic journals, and full-text databases that can be helpful to your research.
Indexing & Abstracting (I&A) Databases
Provide citations to articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers. I&A databases generally do not supply full-text, online articles. In order to determine how an article is available (e.g., full-text online in another database, in print in the Pollak Library, interlibrary loan), it is necessary to click on the icons similar to those pictured here:
In the event that a specific article is only available through interlibrary loan, or ILLiad, it is a good idea to have an ILLiad account already established. Access to ILLiad is available from the Pollak Library homepage under the "Quick Links" tab.
The following are examples of databases ou may wish to consult as you begin your research:
Electronic Journal Collections
Provide the complete text of articles in electronic format. Entire issues of journals are available for online browsing and access. Articles online vary from journal to journal. The following is a sample list of databases providing access to online journal collections:
Full-Text (or Selected Full-Text) Databases
Provide a mix of article citations and complete text from both popular and scholarly publications. Among these databases are the following:
Complete Lists
A complete list of counseling databases is available through the Pollak Library website. In addition, you may wish to consider exploring the databases for a related field (e.g., psychology databases). The Pollak Library homepage offers access to all databases under the "Quick Links" tab.
A complete list of counseling and psychology journals can be accessed through the Pollak Library homepage by clicking on the "Find Journals" link, which is located under the "Research" tab, and searching by category.
BACK TO THE TOP
|