|
Statistics-All Countries
General-All
Countries
Africa
Asia
Developing Countries
Europe
Latin America
OECD
Transition Countries
United States

| |
 |
Following is a
list of resources in CSUF's Pollak Library that provide statistical and economic
information about foreign countries.
|
 |
Information on
one country will be found on several lists. To find information about Japan,
for example, review the titles under STATISTICS, WORLD, ASIA,
and OECD COUNTRIES.
|
 |
To
quickly find keywords (for example: income, literacy,
crime, largest companies, leading exports)
in this list of resources, use your browser's FIND command.| |

STATISTICS—Core Statistical Sources—All
Countries
top
Background Notes
INTERNET VERSION
Basic information on 170 countries covering economy, government, geography,
history, political conditions, and foreign relations. Each report is 4-8
pages. Statistical data include population and growth rate, religions,
literacy, GDP, inflation, leading industries and five leading imports and five
leading exports by commodity.
World Factbook
INTERNET VERSION
| CATALOG RECORD
Economic, demographic, and government statistics arranged by country. ANNUAL.
CountryWatch
[subscription database--CSUF
only]
Country map, economic conditions and data, history, government and
political conditions, foreign relations, and environmental information.
Europa World Year Book
Online:
Europa World [subscription
database--CSUF
only] 
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Statistical tables and generous discussion of recent history and economic
affairs of each country, arranged alphabetically by the name of the country.
Includes leading imports and leading exports by commodity. Some tables give
data for a span of years, usually the 3 most recent years. ANNUAL.
NationMaster.com [FREE]
Statistics on population (age distribution), economics, crime, education,
environment, government, industry, labor, and more. Includes information on
Spain's 17 provinces.
CountryReports.org
[FREE]
Background, people, government, economy, communications, transportation,
military, transnational issues (border disputes), map, and more.
United
Nations: Demographics & Statistics
Demographic and social and economic indicators by country. Includes
income by country.
Post Reports
[U.S. Dept. of State
Population, commerce and industry, transportation, communications (telephones,
Internet, wireless, radio, televisions, newspapers, magazines), health
and medicine, food, clothing, education, recreation and social life, military,
and more. Target audience is Americans who are working overseas.
The Economist Pocket World in Figures (BUSINESS TABLE 2A)
CATALOG RECORD
Economic and population statistics for each country of the world. Small,
easy-to-use book for quick look-up of data.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Culture and Daily Life
(1998)
CATALOG RECORD
Provides information on 500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different
areas of daily life including clothing, food, language, and religion. See
also: Culturegrams—REFERENCE GT150 .C85
2002 v. 1-2.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (2001)
CATALOG RECORD
Economic conditions,
political situation, history, geography of countries of the world.
International
Statistical Agencies
[ONLINE]
Links to the statistical agencies in foreign countries responsible for
compiling population, economic, business, and social statistics for the
country. Coverage varies for each country. Some provide complete country
profiles.
Regional
Surveys of the World (Europa Publications)
The following Europa publications are similar to the World Year Book but
have more detailed information.
Central and South-Eastern Europe (Europa
Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive
discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical Survey
includes industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living,
national accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by
commodity in USD or local currency, principal trading partners, number of
radios, televisions, books, newspapers, and education data. Countries:
Former Soviet Republics, Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech
Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Maldova, Poland, Romania, Russian
Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Yugoslavia.
Far East and Australasia (Europa Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical
Survey includes industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living,
national accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by
commodity in USD or local currency, principal trading partners, number of
radios, televisions, books, newspapers, and education data. Countries:
Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, Cambodia, China, Hong
Kong, Macau, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia,
Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Pakistan,
Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Middle East and North Africa (Europa Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical
Survey includes industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living,
national accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by
commodity in USD or local currency, principal trading partners, number of
radios, televisions, books, newspapers, and education data. Countries:
Algeria, Bahrain, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait,
Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey,
United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.
World Almanac and Book of Facts
CATALOG RECORD
In 2000 edition, see Nations of the World (p. 768). Population and age
distribution, ethnic groups, language, religions, GDP per capita, railroads,
motor vehicles, TV's, newspapers, life expectancy, hospital beds, literacy,
and very brief discussion of each country's history. ANNUAL.
Countries of the World
CATALOG RECORD
Contemporary political and economic conditions, governmental personnel and
policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and
TV, climate and other characteristics of each nation. ANNUAL.
Statistical Abstract of the World
CATALOG RECORD
Demographics, population and projections, educational attainment,
literacy, newspapers, libraries, R&D, crime, government and military
expenditures, labor force, production and manufacturing sectors, economic
indicators, and trade. Data are given for a span of years in some categories
including demographics and education.
World Bank Countries & Regions
[ONLINE}
This web site allows viewer to select a country or a region. Also, go to
Data by
Country to view reports with statistical data.
EIU ViewsWire
[subscription database--CSUF
only]
Search example:
TITLE guatemala: country
outlook
Current, in-depth
coverage of 195 countries, highlighting up to 250 important economic,
political and market developments around the world with analytical briefings
on their implications for business.
Mergent Online
[subscription database--CSUF
only]
Full-text country reports similar to those found in World Factbook: map,
history, economy, labor force by occupation, unemployment rate, export and
import commodities and partners, and more. NOTE: At the logon
screen, click on Enter Mergent
Online. At
next screen, see Country Profiles in right column.
LexisNexis Academic
[subscription database--CSUF
only]
Country profiles from
Kaleidoscope (Current World Data and Walden Country Reports). At LOGON
SCREEN, select REFERENCE and then COUNTRY
Profiles. Type a country name in search box and then change selection
from CIA World Factbook to WALDEN COUNTRY REPORTS. Statistical data and
narrative discussion on the economy, the government, political structure,
trade, and sometimes major industries. Reports are updated annually.
Country Commercial Guides
See
STAT-USA
Most recently released reports:
Country Information - Quick Reference (TIC)
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies and
present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, with
economic, political and market analysis. Chapters for most countries include:
Economic Trends & Outlook, Political Environment, Marketing U.S. Products &
Services, Leading Sectors for U.S. Exports, Trade Regulations & Standards,
Investment Climate, Business Travel, Economic & Trade Statistics, and
Marketing Research & Trade Events.
Portals to the
World [Library of Congress]

Selective links providing
authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the
world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted
into a wide range of broad categories. When completed, the project will
include all the nations of the world.
OECD Economic Surveys
CATALOG RECORDS
|
INTERNET VERSION
Major reports providing narrative discussion and also statistical tables
giving overviews of current economic policy issues. ANNUAL for each of the
OECD countries. Some tables give data for a span of years (1980's to date).
OECD
Economic Outlook
CATALOG RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
Extensive
discussion, analysis, and tables/charts on economic conditions of the OECD
countries. TABLE OF CONTENTS lists each country--each issue has 4-5 page
report on current economic conditions. Towards the back of each issue
there is a list of statistical tables: Demand & Output (real GDP),
Wages, Costs, & Inflation (unit labor costs, GDP deflators, consumer prices),
Labor Force, Employment & Unemployment, Business Sector (capital income
shares, rates of return on capital), Savings, Fiscal Balances & Public
Indebtedness, Interest Rates & Exchange Rates, External Trade and Payments
(export volumes, import volumes, export prices, import prices, trade
balances), and Other Background Data (demand and output projections,
productivity). SEMIANNUAL.
Country Reports
on Human Rights Practices
1999-2001 |
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed analyses of human rights practices and policies for foreign
countries. Includes discussion on child labor practices, racial and religious
discrimination, freedom of movement within the country and foreign travel,
people with disabilities, and worker rights. Appendix gives the text to the
Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted by the UN General Assembly in
1948. ANNUAL.
Gale Country & World Rankings Reporter
CATALOG RECORD
Economic and
social indicators. More than 3,200 tables including economics, demographics,
education, labor, agriculture, environment, geography, transportation, public
utilities, and political profiles. Indexed by geographic location and by
keyword.
Human Development Report
INTERNET
VERSION | CATALOG
RECORD
Social indicators including Human Development Index (life expectancy,
literacy, GDP per capita), Gender Empowerment (female administrators and
managers, female professional technical workers, and women's real GDP per
capita (see page 165 in 2000 ed.)), Poverty, Health Profile (immunizations,
AIDS cases, tuberculosis, malaria, people with disabilities, cigarette
consumption), Demographic Trends (population growth rate, urban population,
population over 65, contraceptive prevalence rate), Energy Consumption per
Capita, Food and Nutrition (daily per capita calories / protein / fat, food
consumption as percent of household consumption), Crime (prisoners, juvenile
prisoners, homicides, drug crimes, rapes), Personal Distress (road accidents,
suicides by sex, divorces, teenage pregnancy, people killed by disasters,
refugees), Gender Gaps in Education, Gender Gaps in Political Participation.
In general, explores quality of life, income share, economic conditions, and
relationship between economic and human development. ANNUAL.
Illustrated Book of World Rankings
CATALOG RECORD
Economic and social
indicators and quality of life statistics, including population dynamics, race
and religion, politics and international relations, military power, trade,
agriculture, energy, labor, transportation and communications, environment,
consumption, housing, education, crime (crime rate, number of offenses
for murder, assault, etc. as well as rankings), culture, and women.
International Financial Statistics Yearbook
CATALOG RECORD
Exchange rates, interest rates, consumer prices, international
liquidity, money and banking, international transactions, labor force,
wages, employment / unemployment, balance of payments, government finance.
Annual edition gives data for a span of years, usually 1970 to date.
MONTHLY issues and
ANNUAL.
International Marketing Data and Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
RECOMMENDED!
Economic indicators,
commercial statistics, and market surveys. Data sections include marketing
geography, demographic trends and forecasts, finance and banking, labor force,
environment, retailing and retail distribution, trade, advertising patterns
and media access, consumer market sizes, consumer prices and costs,
health and living standards, literacy and education, cultural indicators, and
income and earnings (in
2004 edition, see pp.466-470).
Leading exports (USD) by SITC Classification: in 1999 edition, go to page 258
Exports by Commodity by SITC and see country data by SITC (footnotes identify
the broad industry categories).
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
The
intent of this publication is to provide statistical indicators to allow
international comparisons relating to the manufacturing sector. Part 1 deals
with the manufacturing sector as a whole and with its branches. Part 2
provides country tables.
Key Indicators of the Labour Market (ILO)
CATALOG RECORD
Current labor market conditions in addition to recent historical data (data is
given for 1980 and 1990 and all available subsequent years) for over 200
countries. Discussion and statistical tables. Arranged by subject:
Participation in the Work Force, Employment Indicators (employment-to-
population ratio, employment by sector, part-time workers), Unemployment
(youth unemployment, long-term unemployment, unemployment by educational
attainment), Educational Attainment and Illiteracy, Wages and Labor Costs,
Labor Productivity and Unit Labor Costs, Poverty and Income Distribution, Real
Manufacturing Wage Indices, Hourly Compensation Costs, and Gini Index.
Report on the World Social Situation
2001 Overview |
CATALOG RECORD
Narrative discussion and statistical tables on economic trends,
population trends including international migration, health indicators, hunger
and malnutrition, education, poverty, unemployment, and discrimination.
Statesman's Year Book
CATALOG RECORD
Statistical and
historical information on the nations of the world. ANNUAL.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Online:
INTERNET
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
See Section 30: International Comparative Statistics. World population
and growth rate, population by country, religions of the world, age
distribution, vital statistics, marriage and divorce rates, births to
unmarried women, foreign exchange rates, health expenditures per GDP, air
pollutants per capita, waste generated, educational attainment, foreign
students in selected OECD countries, GNP, GDP, percent change in consumer
prices, food and beverage expenditures, consumption of meat and poultry, motor
vehicle registration, telephones, TV's, newspapers, and radios, unemployment,
patents, petroleum prices, energy consumption and production, world food
production, Dow-Jones World Stock Index, source of imports and destination of
exports, tourism, military expenditures, and armed forces personnel. ANNUAL.
Travel Warnings / State
Department
See also: Travel Warnings / Consular Office
Information |
Travel warnings
and announcements, visa and passport information, international adoption, tips
for American students abroad and more.
UNCTAD Commodity Yearbook
CATALOG RECORD
World, region, and country data on total exports and imports and also levels
of production, trade, and consumption in selected primary commodities and
minerals. Tables include Principal Exporters of Selected Commodities,
Principal Importers of Selected Commodities, Direction of Commodity Exports.
Main statistical tables are arranged by commodity: wheat, rice, bananas,
sugar, coffee, tobacco, copper, tin, crude petroleum, etc. Data for a span of
years--approximately 10 years. ANNUAL.
UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of world
trade, investment and development. Information is presented by subject.
UNESCO Statistical Yearbook
CATALOG
RECORD |
SELECTED TABLES
Narrative
and statistics on health and population, wealth, knowledge and culture, and
ecosystem wellbeing. Indicators include HWI (Human Wellbeing Index) and HDI
(Human Development Index) (page 150). Extensive statistics on water quality
and other environmental factors.
World Bank Atlas
CATALOG
RECORD
Economic and social indicators, maps and tables on population, GNP, life
expectancy, fertility, school enrollment for 184 countries and territories.
ANNUAL.
World Business Rankings Annual
CATALOG RECORD
Lists of international companies, products, services, and activities compiled
from a variety of published sources, including largest companies.
World Development Indicators
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Online:
World Development
Indicators 2004 [free sample of selected tables by clicking on
links in left frame]
Statistics. World View
(size of economy, key indicators for other economies), People (population
dynamics, labor force, unemployment, poverty, education, nutrition, health),
Environment (land use, fresh water, water pollution, energy production and
use, urbanization, traffic, air pollution), Economy (growth of output,
merchandise trade, central government finances, monetary indicators, and
prices, external debt), States & Markets (business environment, stock markets,
tax policies) and Global Links (integration with the global economy, regional
trade blocs, tariff barriers, travel and tourism).
World Development Report
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Online:
2004: Making Services Work
For Poor People
Online:
2003:
Sustainable Development in a Dynamic World
Online:
2002:
Building Institutions for Markets
Online:
2000--2001
Attacking Poverty
Online:
1999/2000: Entering the 21st Century
Online:
World
Development Reports - all available years
World Economic And
Social Survey
Online:
World Economic and
Social Survey
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
State of the
world economy, perspective on policies, dimensions of economic and social
change, statistical tables on world trade, financial indicators, external debt
and debt indicators. Statistical tables include consumer price inflation (in
2003 edition, page 276). Of special note: in 2003 edition, see Part Two:
Economic Policy and Poverty, pp. 111-185. Most tables give data for a span of
years.
World Economic Outlook Reports [IMF]
Semiannual reports on recent world economic developments and future prospects.
Links to information by country and more.
World Health Statistics Annual
CATALOG RECORD & INTERNET
LINK
Data on vital
statistics and notifiable diseases in a large number of countries and
territories, together with information on medical and paramedical personnel,
hospital establishments, and numbers of vaccinations performed. Statistics on
HIV/AIDS, motor vehicle accidents, suicide by country. 1996 was last year
published in paper-Continued on Internet.
World Population
Profile
PDF-167 pages |
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed data on
population size, growth, distribution, and projections. Also contraceptive
prevalence by country. Includes substantial narrative discussion. 1998 edition
includes special report on HIV/AIDS in the Developing World.
World Statistics Pocketbook
CATALOG RECORD
Yearbook of Labour
Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Worldwide data on employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor (labour
cost), consumer prices, occupational injuries, strikes and lockouts. ANNUAL.

WORLD—All
Countries of the World—General Information & Additional Statistics
top
Area
Handbook Series
INTERNET VERSION |
CATALOG RECORDS
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the
historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security
systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the
interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural
factors." -Excerpt from Web Page.
Balance of
Payments Statistics Yearbook CATALOG
RECORD
Description and analysis
of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national
security systems and institutions of countries. Extensive background
information about countries but updated infrequently so best used for
background information rather than current events. For date of publication, go
to first link (name of country in all caps). At present, 101 countries are
covered.
Countries and Their Cultures
CATALOG RECORD
Cultural information
about countries. Arranged alphabetically by country name. Includes
bibliographical references.
Cultural Profiles Project
[ONLINE]
For major countries, gives history, family life, work life, recreation, health
care, education, communications, spirituality, holidays, arts and literature
and more.
Demographic Yearbook
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive population and
demographic statistics.
Education at a Glance:
OECD Indicators
INTERNET VERSION |
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed statistics and text on education indicators for OECD countries
including demographic, social and economic context of education, financial and
human resources invested in education, access to education, teachers'
salaries, social and labor market outcomes of education, and student
achievement. ANNUAL.
Education for All:
Country Reports
[UNESCO]
Discussion and reports on education in 150 countries published by UNESCO in
2000. Available online only.
Energy Statistics Yearbook
CATALOG RECORD
Comprehensive collection of international energy
statistics. Commercial energy production, trade, consumption, solid fuels,
liquid fuels, gaseous fuels, electricity and heat, and nuclear fuels. Data
given for a span of years (1997 edition has data for 1994 to 1997). ANNUAL.
Environmental Data Report
CATALOG RECORD
Narrative and statistical tables on water quality, biological monitoring,
human exposure, predictions of climate change, natural resources, food and
agricultural resources, forests and woodlands, population and
development, health status indicators, energy resources and production and
consumption, environmental disasters, and international cooperation. Data
given for a span of years (some tables go back to 1960's, other 1980's).
ANNUAL.
Global
Development Finance
Online:
INTERNET
VERSION
Print:
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
A World Bank publication with financial statistics on developing countries.
Volume 1 presents analysis and summary tables. Volume 2 presents country
tables.
Governments of the World
CATALOG RECORD
Includes over 500 articles with information on the politics and government of
every country in the world, on political systems, movements, and leaders, and
on human rights, wars, international organizations, and related topics.
Handbook of International Economic Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive commercial and economic statistics.
Hoover's MasterList of Major International Companies
CATALOG RECORD
Largest companies in 21 countries. Each entry includes basic contact
information, 5-year sales, income, employees, annual growth rate, and a brief
narrative on the company. Cross-indexed by industry, headquarters, short name.
Top 500 companies by sales and employees included.
IMF Publications
[International Monetary Fund]
Links to full-text country reports, IMF Survey, Finance & Development, Staff
Papers, and other publications on country and world economic issues and
situations. Current information. Searchable and browsable.
International Crime Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Crime statistics for 115 countries, arranged alphabetically as spelled in
French. Data includes homicides, sex offenses, rape, assault, theft, robbery,
breaking and entering, motor car theft, fraud, counterfeiting currency
offenses, and drug offenses. ANNUAL.
International Economic Review
CATALOG
RECORD
Monitors significant developments in international
economics and trade.
International Labor Comparisons Among the
G-7 Countries: A Chartbook CATALOG
RECORD
Provides reasonably comparable information to assess U.S. economic performance
relative to other countries and to evaluate the competitive position of the
United States in foreign trade. Focuses on the Group of Seven (U.S., Canada,
Japan, France, Germany, Italy, and U.K.). Compares population, labor force,
employment / unemployment, education, hourly compensation costs in
manufacturing, trends in manufacturing labor productivity, and unit labor
costs. 1995.
International Monetary Fund Annual Report
CATALOG
RECORD
Exchange rate arrangements, consumer prices, interest rates, inflation,
imports/exports, debt service rations, GNP, GDP.
Main Developments In Trade
CATALOG RECORD
Concise, factual compendium of cross-country trade developments,
tracking major trade developments, spotting emerging trends, and establishing
historical and current perspectives on the multilateral trading system.
ANNUAL.
Main Economic Indicators
CATALOG
RECORD
Graphs, statistics, and indicators for GNP, industry production,
deliveries, stocks and orders, construction, wholesale and retail sales,
wages, employment, balance of payments, foreign trade, prices, and finance.
MONTHLY. Cumulates into
Main Economic
Indicators: Historical Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Monthly Bulletin Of Statistics
CATALOG
RECORD
Detailed economic data including
production, prices, and trade. MONTHLY.
Nations of the World
[Library of Congress]
Links to World Fact Book, Country Studies, Human Rights Reports,
constitutions, legislative, executive, and judicial bodies of governments.
Arranged by country.
Nations of
the World (2002)
CATALOG RECORD

LOCATION: Business Table 3B: International Business
This book provides a basic overview of the business,
social, travel, infrastructure, and political environments of 232 nations. Key
indicators, key facts, a map, risk assessment and a business directory is
included in each country profile.
OECD Economic Surveys
CATALOG RECORDS
|
INTERNET VERSION
Some tables give data for a span of years (1980's to date).
Political Handbook of the World
CATALOG RECORD

Five-to-ten page chapters on each country, including history of the country,
political background, political parties, legislature, and dissident groups.
CATALOG RECORD
Political Risk Yearbook
(1998-2002)
CATALOG RECORD
Starting with 2003, INTERNET VERSION is available: to
access, click on
CATALOG RECORD
and then click on ACCESS ON INTERNET).
This six volume series is divided by geographic region. It provides a 5-year
forecast of countries in the following areas: political control, investment
restrictions, trade restrictions, domestic economic problems and international
problems. It gives detailed information regarding key political figures,
economic indicators and country comparisons of inflation and GDP.
Portals to the
World [Library of Congress] (ONLINE)
Portals to the World contain selective links
providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other
areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for
each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. For most countries, links
include Business, Education, Embassies, History, and Media & Communications.
When completed, the project will include all the nations of the world.
Progress of Nations
CATALOG RECORD
The nations of the world ranked according to their achievements in child
health, nutrition, education, water and sanitation, and progress for women.
Text and tables. ANNUAL.
Sex
and age distributions of population
CATALOG
RECORD
Detailed population characteristics. ANNUAL.
Social Security Programs Throughout the World
CATALOG RECORD
For each country of the world, lists old age, disability, maternity,
unemployment, and survivor benefits and qualifying conditions. BIENNIAL.
Staff Papers. International Monetary Fund
CATALOG RECORD
Theoretical studies on monetary and financial issues covering balance of
payments and exchange rates, monetary systems and analysis, national monetary
and fiscal policies, and international liquidity. Indexed in PAIS, Social
Sciences Index, America History & Life, IIS, and Historical Abstracts.
QUARTERLY.
STAT-USA
[ONLINE]
[subscription database--CSUF only]
Full-text.
300,000 reports and statistical series including Country Commercial Guides and
market research reports. Updated daily. Country Commercial Guide chapters
usually include: Economic Trends & Outlook, Political Environment, Marketing
U.S. Products & Services, Leading Sectors for U.S. Exports, Trade Regulations
& Standards, Investment Climate, Business Travel, Economic & Trade Statistics,
and Marketing Research & Trade Events. Available through
STAT-USA: After logging on,
select GLOBUS then scroll down to Country Commercial Guides.
State of the World's Children
CATALOG RECORD
Narrative discussion on children's rights, child labor, and education.
Statistical tables on nutrition, child mortality, immunization, maternal
mortality, school enrollment, demographics, and the economic progress and
situation of women. ANNUAL. Internet version also available.
Times 1000
CATALOG RECORD
Ranks companies worldwide by region. Includes world's top 50 industrial
companies, UK's top 1000, Europe's top 1000, and Japan's largest companies.
Towards Sustainable Development: Environmental Indicators
CATALOG
RECORD
Brief discussion and numerous charts and tables on environmental indicators
and socio-economic indicators having environmental significance, highlighting
linkages between environmental indicators and sustainable development.
Indicators: greenhouse gas concentrations, ozone layer depletion, air quality,
waste generation and recycling, forest resources, fish catches and
consumption, threatened species, population growth and density, energy prices,
road traffic, fuel prices and taxes, pollution abatement and control
expenditures. Data arranged by subject, then country.
Trade
and Development Report
CATALOG RECORD
Developing countries’ economic issues. World economy and global trends.
ANNUAL.
Trends in International Migration
CATALOG RECORD
Migration movements and population change in OECD countries, immigrants in the
labor market, migration policies, Asian migration to OECD countries,
intra-Asian migration, migration movements in Central and Eastern Europe, from
permanent to temporary emigration, inflows of foreign population, immigrant
population by place of birth.
World Bank Country Study
CATALOG
RECORD
Economic and social characteristics, development issues and policies for 83
countries. A continuing series.
World Bank Economic Review
CATALOG RECORD
Emphasizes policy relevance and operational aspects of economics. Indexed in
P.A.I.S. Three times a year.
World Comparisons of Real Gross Domestic Product and Purchasing
Power 1985
CATALOG RECORD
United Nations report on GDP, purchasing power, and national income
statistics. 1994.
World Culture Report [UNESCO]
CATALOG RECORD
Part 1: Culture and Economic Development. Part 2: Global
Sociocultural Processes. Part 3: Creativity, Markets, and Cultural Policies.
Part 4: Public Opinion and Global Ethics. part 5: Methodology: Building
Cultural Indicators. Part 6: Implications for Policy. Part 7: Statistical
Tables and Culture Indicators.
World
Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide (3
volumes) 2002
CATALOG RECORD
Arranged by country. Basic demographic data, history of the country,
constitutional and legal foundations, educational system overview, primary,
secondary, and higher education systems, teaching profession, and bibliography
for each country of the world.
World Employment
Report
CATALOG RECORD
Discussion and tables on global employment trends. Statistical tables include:
unemployment by world regions, growth rates of employment and labor force,
world output growth, labor market indicators, percentage of employees at
various ability levels, human development indicators. Data by subject, then
country. ANNUAL.
World Labour Report
CATALOG RECORD
World employment situation trends and prospects, women’s economic
participation, health expenditures, GNP, inflation, poverty rate, literacy,
real wages, strikes and accidents at work, social security. ANNUAL.
World
Social Science Report [UNESCO]
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive social indicators and discussion for countries around the world.
Worldmark
Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
CATALOG RECORD
Cultural
information on
500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different areas of daily life
including clothing, food, language, and religion.

AFRICA
top
African Development Indicators
CATALOG RECORD
Social and economic indicators including GDP growth, consumer price index
(CPI), money supply growth, discount rate, imports and exports, electric power
consumption per capita, telephone/radio/televisions, vehicle ownership, labor
force and unemployment, poverty, income distribution, illiteracy rate,
economic opportunities of women, forest resources, energy balances, and
endangered species. World Bank. 1994-. ANNUAL.
African Development Report
CATALOG RECORD
Overview and analysis of
the status of African industry in the light of the globalization process.
Presents data and information from UNIDO and other multilateral agencies and
research institutions. This is a compilation of the latest available
statistics with in-depth analysis providing industry-related information
for policy-makers, entrepreneurs, businesses, economists and development
partners.
African Socio-Economic Indicators
CATALOG RECORD
National accounts, population, balance of payments, agriculture, industry,
external trade, historic data back to the 1970’s for African countries. ANNUAL
Economic Report on Africa
The African continent's economic performance and outlook. Emphasis on economic
conditions and policy. Note: Scroll down to Economic Report on Africa,
2003, or latest year.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania 1750-1993
(1998)
CATALOG RECORD
Provides economists and historians with a wide range of mainly economic
statistical data and gives annual figures for long comparable time series.
Includes Population and Vital Statistics, Labor Force (unemployment, money
wages), Agricultural, Industry (indices of industrial production), External
Trade, Transport and Communications (railroads, motor vehicles, commercial
aviation, telephone services, and radio and tv receiving licenses), Finance
(money supply), Prices (wholesale price indices and cost-of-living/consumer
price index (cpi)), Education, and National Accounts (balance of payments).
Middle East and North Africa
(Europa Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive
discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical Survey includes
industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living, national
accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by commodity in USD or
local currency, principal trading partners, number of radios, televisions,
books, newspapers, and education data. Countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Cyprus,
Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman,
Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.
Survey of Economic and Social Conditions in Africa
CATALOG
RECORD
Economic and social conditions and policy in Africa. Published 1976-1992.
Continued by Economic and Social Survey of Africa (see above).

ASIA—Statistics
top
Asia-Pacific in Figures
CATALOG
RECORD
Detailed economic and social indicators by country, including life
expectancy, literacy, school enrollment, population per physician & hospital
beds, telephones, TV's, radios, daily calorie supply, population employed,
energy consumption, per capita GDP, imports & exports, government expenditures
for education / health / social security, savings, consumer prices, land use,
railways, cars, tourist arrivals & receipts. ANNUAL.
Economic And Social Survey Of Asia And The Pacific
CATALOG RECORD
Annual reports analyzing economic and social conditions in developing
ESCAP regions. Data on industrial and agricultural development, foreign trade,
balance of payments, government revenues and expenditures. ANNUAL.
Far East and Australasia (Europa Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive
discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical Survey includes
industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living, national
accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by commodity in USD or
local currency, principal trading partners, number of radios, televisions,
books, newspapers, and education data. Countries: Afghanistan, Australia,
Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burma, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Macau, East Timor,
India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar,
Nepal, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri
Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Foreign Trade Statistics of Asia & and Pacific
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics by country, then commodity, then trade partner (world, ESCAP,
ASEAN, Pacific Isles, etc.). Total imports and exports by country, imports and
exports by SITC. ANNUAL.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania 1750-1993
(1998)
CATALOG RECORD
Provides economists and historians with a wide range of mainly economic
statistical data and gives annual figures for long comparable time series.
Includes Population and Vital Statistics, Labor Force (unemployment, money
wages), Agricultural, Industry (indices of industrial production), External
Trade, Transport and Communications (railroads, motor vehicles, commercial
aviation, telephone services, and radio and tv receiving licenses), Finance
(money supply), Prices (wholesale price indices and cost-of-living/consumer
price index (cpi)), Education, and National Accounts (balance of payments).
Key
Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries
CATALOG RECORD
Statistical data and socioeconomic indicators from members of the Asian
Development Bank. Includes education, poverty, health, environment, and energy
indicators, consumer price index, imports/exports. Tables give annual data for
a span of years (2000 edition gives each year from 1982 to 1999). ANNUAL.
Statistical Indicators For Asia And The Pacific
CATALOG RECORD
Finance, transportation, agricultural production, trade, industry,
construction, population and growth rate, life expectancy, death rate,
consumer prices, international trade, GDP per capita and GDP growth rate,
family planning (IUD, oral contraceptives, condoms). QUARTERLY.
Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
CATALOG RECORD
Comprehensive statistics by country: population, infant mortality,
rural/urban population, population by age and sex, life expectancy, employment
by industry, GDP per capita, land use, fertilizers in use, energy
production/trade/consumption, railways, cars, tourism, telephones, TV, radios,
radio broadcasting. Direction of trade (by country and value), external trade
by product and dollar value, wages/prices/consumption, number of schools by
level, teaching staff, students enrolled, medical facilities (physicians,
hospital beds), traffic accidents, housing types.

ASIA—Additional
Sources
top
Asia-Pacific Development Journal
CATALOG RECORD
All aspects of economic and social development in the Asia-Pacific region.
Emphasis is on empirically based, policy-oriented articles directed to policy
makers and researchers in the member countries. Article of special note:
"Globalization and the Asia-Pacific Region: Challenges and Opportunities in
the Twenty-First Century," v. 4, n. 2 (Dec '97), p. 1. SEMIANNUAL.
Asia-Pacific Population Journal
CATALOG
RECORD
Broad view of economic progress in developing Asia and the Pacific with
analysis and assessment of recent trends. ANNUAL.
Asian Development Review
CATALOG RECORD
Discussions on major development issues and results of research carried
out by Asian Development Bank staff. Indexed in P.A.I.S. SEMIANNUAL.
China 2020 Series
CATALOG
RECORD
National trends in poverty, rural-urban divide, structure of employment, value
of education, land distribution, status of women, migration. Many tables and
references. 1997.
China Human Development Report [UNDP]
CATALOG RECORD
History and current status of sustainable human development in China, focusing
on challenges and making broad policy recommendations. Special focus on
poverty reduction. Narrative discussion with tables and charts throughout:
demographic indicators 1980-90, socioeconomic characteristics of rural
counties, school and education statistics, urban-rural income inequality, HDI
(Human Development Index) by province, social and political participation by
women, unemployment by sex, gender comparison of migrant income. 1999.
The
Chinese Economy: Fighting Inflation, Deepening Reforms
CATALOG RECORD
Growth, inflation, incomes, employment, external trade, monetary policy,
reforming state enterprises, interest rate policy, the central bank, reforming
public finances, poverty alleviation, environment, references and statistical
index. 1996.
Different Paths to a Market Economy: China and European Economies in
Transition.
CATALOG RECORD
Discusses economic conditions, economic policy, and privatization in China and
Central Europe. 1998.
East Asia: The Road to Recovery (1998)
CATALOG RECORD
This World Bank report on the Asian financial crisis gives an overview of the
crisis and has chapters titled Trade and Competition, The Financial Sector,
Corporations in Distress, From Economic Crisis to Social Crisis, Environment
in Crisis, and Priorities for a Sustainable Recovery. Includes many tables and
charts.
East
Asian Miracle: Economic Growth and Public Policy
CATALOG RECORD
A World Bank Policy Research Report on East and Southeastern Asian
economic conditions and policies. 1993.
Education in Asia
CATALOG RECORD
Educational attainment, enrollment, public spending on education,
pupil-teacher ratios, literacy. 1992.
Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its
History and Culture
CATALOG RECORD
Entries cover major cities and provinces, geography and climate, historical
eras and figures, government and politics, religion, language and literature,
family structure, and food and customs. 1999.
Historically Planned Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Comparative analysis of Historically Planned Economies (Albania, Bulgaria,
Cambodia, China, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Lao, Mongolia,
Nicaragua, Poland, Romania, Former USSR, Vietnam, and Yugoslavia). Economic
data by country. 1993.
Liberalization, Growth and the Asian Financial Crisis: Lessons for
Developing and Transitional Economies in Asia
CATALOG RECORD
Case
studies on liberalism and structural adjustment in the Asian financial crisis.
2000.
Social
Development & Absolute Poverty in Asia & Latin America
CATALOG RECORD
Social indicators and economic statistics. Poverty, GDP growth rates, GNP
per capita, life expectancy, infant mortality, maternal mortality,
tuberculosis, fertility, nutrition, literacy, school enrollment (male and
female), government health expenditures. 1996.
Survey of Economic and Social Developments in the ESCWA Region
CATALOG RECORD
Analysis of latest economic and social conditions (economic growth and trade
performance, monetary and fiscal developments, foreign direct investment) in
Western Asia giving comparisons for major country groupings: ESCWA
region, developing countries, and industrial countries. ESCWA countries
include Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syrian Arab
Republic, United Arab Emirates, Oman, and Yemen. Narrative discussion with
statistical tables. The 1996-1997 edition includes a special section on the
"Status of Arab Women." ANNUAL.
Trends In Developing Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Emphasizes current events and recent past of each economy of World Bank
borrowers (includes China, India, Mexico, Russian Republic, Viet Nam). Focuses
on the distinguishing characteristics of an economy, its problems and
prospects, and the principal elements of its strategy. Narrative and
statistical tables of socioeconomic indicators and graphs for each country.
ANNUAL.

DEVELOPING COUNTRIES
top
Annual World Bank Conference on Development Economics
CATALOG RECORD
Forum for discussion and debate of important policy issues facing developing
countries. Emphasizes the contribution that empirical and basic economic
research can make to understanding development processes and to formulating
sound development policies. ANNUAL.
Compliance with IMF Program Indicators and Growth in Transition
Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Economic policy and
conditions in developing countries.
Emerging Stock Markets Factbook
CATALOG RECORD
Stock exchanges, statistics, for developing countries. ANNUAL.
Human Development Report
CATALOG RECORD
Social indicators including Human Development Index (HDI) (life
expectancy, literacy, GDP per capita), Gender Empowerment (female
administrators and managers, female professional technical workers, and
women's real GDP per capita (see page 165 in 2000 ed.)), Poverty, Health
Profile (immunizations, AIDS cases, tuberculosis, malaria, people with
disabilities, cigarette consumption), Demographic Trends (population growth
rate, urban population, population over 65, contraceptive prevalence rate),
Energy Consumption per Capita, Food and Nutrition (daily per capita calories /
protein / fat, food consumption as percent of household consumption), Crime
(prisoners, juvenile prisoners, homicides, drug crimes, rapes), Personal
Distress (road accidents, suicides by sex, divorces, teenage pregnancy, people
killed by disasters, refugees), Gender Gaps in Education, Gender Gaps in
Political Participation. In general, explores quality of life, income share,
economic conditions, energy use, environmental profile, and relationship
between economic and human development. Some tables give comparison over a
span of years, for example 1990 and 1997. ANNUAL.
Global Economic Prospects And The Developing Countries
CATALOG RECORD
Annual series of World Bank staff reports analyzing global economic prospects
and their implications for developing countries. Focus is on developing
countries, but in the context of the global economic environment and
international linkages. Long-term forecasts for all major regions of the
developing world, including the transition economies. Tables include Global
Economic Indicators and Classification of Economies. ANNUAL.
The Least Developed Countries Report
CATALOG RECORD
Narrative, charts,
and tables including GDP growth rates, nutrition levels, health expenditures,
and refugees. ANNUAL.
The Role of Foreign Aid in Development
CATALOG RECORD
Examines the role that U.S. foreign aid plays in promoting economic
development and improving human welfare in developing countries. Historical
and current overview. Includes "Objectives in the Foreign Assistance Act of
1961." 1997.
Socio-Economic Monetary and Resource Tables
CATALOG RECORD
Up-to-date information on developing countries’ socio-economic indicators
(life expectancy, population per physician, population access to safe water,
adult literacy, GNP per capita), development aid profiles, and other UN
Development Programme information. ANNUAL.
Transforming Foreign Aid: United States Assistance in the 21st Century
(2000)
CATALOG RECORD
Brief discussion of U.S. economic assistance to developing countries.
Trends In Developing Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Emphasizes current events and recent past of each economy of World Bank
borrowers (includes China, India, Mexico, Russian Republic, Viet Nam). Focuses
on the distinguishing characteristics of an economy, its problems and
prospects, and the principal elements of its strategy. Descriptive text,
tables of socioeconomic indicators and graphs for each country. ANNUAL.
World Bank Research Observer
CATALOG RECORD
Economic conditions in developing countries. SEMIANNUAL.
World Development Indicators
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Online: World
Development Indicators 2004 [free sample of selected tables by
clicking on links in left frame]
Statistics.
World View (size of economy, key indicators for other economies), People
(population dynamics, labor force, unemployment, poverty, education,
nutrition, health), Environment (land use, fresh water, water pollution,
energy production and use, urbanization, traffic, air pollution), Economy
(growth of output, merchandise trade, central government finances, monetary
indicators, and prices, external debt), States & Markets (business
environment, stock markets, tax policies) and Global Links (integration with
the global economy, regional trade blocs, tariff barriers, travel and
tourism).
World Development Report
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Online:
2004: Making Services Work
For Poor People
Online:
2003: Sustainable
Development in a Dynamic World
Online:
2002:
Building Institutions for Markets
Online:
2000--2001 Attacking Poverty
Online:
1999/2000: Entering the 21st Century
Online:
World Development Reports - all
available years
Annual review of trends in the world economy and future prospects of
developing countries. Country data on energy, manufacturing, balance of
payments, exports/imports, public and private debt, urban living conditions
(average household income [1999/2000 edition page 220], house price-income
ratio, travel time to work), quality of life (growth of private consumption,
child malnutrition, life expectancy, illiteracy rate), consumption and
investment, government revenue and expenditure, education, labor force,
interest rates. Most tables give data for a span of years, usually 1990 and
1999. ANNUAL.

EUROPE
top
Basic
Statistics of the European Union
CATALOG RECORD
Comparison of principal partners in the European Union. Economic and
social statistics. All tables. ANNUAL.
EuroStat Yearbook
[annual]
CATALOG RECORD
Kept on: Business Table 2A: World Markets and Consumers

General statistics.
Industry, trade, and services statistics.
NationMaster.com [FREE]
Statistics on population (age distribution), economics, crime, education,
environment, government, industry, labor, and more. Includes information on
Spain's 17 provinces.
BISNIS: Business
Information Service for the Newly Independent States [online
only]
BISNIS is the Department of Commerce's primary resource center for U.S.
companies exploring business opportunities in Russia and other Newly
Independent States. It provides the latest market reports and tips on
developments, export and import opportunities, and strategies for doing
business in the NIS.
Different Paths to a Market Economy: China and European Economies in
Transition.
CATALOG RECORD
Discusses economic conditions, economic policy, and privatization in China and
Central Europe. 1998.
Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States
(Europa Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive
discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical Survey includes
industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living, national
accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by commodity in USD or
local currency, principal trading partners, number of radios, televisions,
books, newspapers, and education data. Countries: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria,
Croatia, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Maldova, Poland,
Romania, Russian Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Yugoslavia, and the former
Soviet Republics.
Economic Survey Of Europe
CATALOG
RECORD
Annual Reports analyzing the economic performance of 27 ECE countries,
including Eastern European countries. Previously published annually, now three
times a year.
Europe In Figures
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics on the European Union, environment, population, education,
research and development, labor, living standards, agriculture, energy,
industry, money and finance, national accounts, international trade.
Europe's 15,000 Largest Companies
CATALOG
RECORD
Tables ranking Europe's largest companies by sales, by profit, and by
employees.
European Business Rankings
CATALOG RECORD
Tables listing "top ten" rankings of companies by subject. To find largest
companies in Germany, go to subject heading "Companies--Germany."
Facts Through Figures
CATALOG RECORD
European Economic Community: geography, climate, rainfall, recycling,
birth rate, live births outside marriage, marriage/divorces, migration,
foreign residents, school enrollment by sex, employment, hours worked per
week, earnings, GDP growth rate, taxes and social contributions, net
disposable income, household expenditures for food/clothing/heating/health
care/leisure, cpi, consumption of foods, number of cars and road deaths, rail
and air passenger statistics.
Historically Planned Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Comparative analysis of Historically Planned Economies (Albania, Bulgaria,
Cambodia, China, Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Germany, Hungary, Korea, Lao, Mongolia,
Nicaragua, Poland, Romania, Former USSR, Vietnam, and Yugoslavia). Economic
data by country. 1993.
Hoover's Masterlist of Major European Companies
CATALOG RECORD
Company rankings: largest companies by sales, largest companies by number of
employees. provides address, sales, number of employees and status (public,
private, cooperative) for 2,674 companies in Europe.
Incomplete Revolutions: The Successes and Failures of Capitalist
Transition Strategies in Post-Communist Economies
CATALOG RECORD
Post-Communism and economic policy in the former Soviet republics. 1999.
International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-1993 (1998)
CATALOG RECORD
Provides economists and historians with a wide range of mainly economic
statistical data and gives annual figures for long comparable time series.
Includes Population and Vital Statistics, Labor Force (unemployment, money
wages), Agricultural, Industry (indices of industrial production), External
Trade, Transport and Communications (railroads, motor vehicles, commercial
aviation, telephone services, and radio and tv receiving licenses), Finance
(money supply), Prices (wholesale price indices and cost-of-living/consumer
price index (cpi)), Education, and National Accounts (balance of payments).
Social Portrait of Europe
CATALOG
RECORD
Statistics by subject with narrative discussions with each table.
Population, education, employment, working conditions, living conditions,
standard of living, political life, and community institutions. Many detailed
statistics: working hours per week, deaths from drug overdose, time spent
reading per person per day, feature films produced per year, female graduates
by field of study. References. 1996.
Statistical Handbook: States Of The Former USSR
CATALOG
RECORD
Data on the economies of the Former Soviet Republics. ANNUAL.
Transition Countries [Labour Statistics. Volume 9] (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
ILO companion to Yearbook of Labour Statistics and presents
methodological descriptions of national statistics on labor from 26
transition countries on consumer price indices, employment and wages
(establishment surveys), employment and unemployment (household surveys),
unemployment (administrative records), economically active population
(population censuses), strikes and lockouts, and occupational injuries.
The
Transition Economies After Ten Years
CATALOG RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
IM Report on economic stabilization, economic conditions, and privatization in
the former Soviet republics.
Transition to a Market Economy
CATALOG RECORD
Free enterprise, capitalism, economic conditions in central and Eastern
Europe, broad issues and special issues. References. 1991.
Transition Report
CATALOG RECORD
Economic conditions in eastern Europe and former soviet republics. The
1999 edition is subtitled "Ten Years of Transition" and focuses on the
ten years since the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 and the developments over
the first decade of reform: macroeconomic performance and prospects,
structural change, politics of economic reform, governance in transition,
competition & enterprise performance & investment climate, and
restructuring large industrial enterprises. ANNUAL.

LATIN AMERICA
top
Latin
American Market Planning Report (2003)

REFERENCE BUSINESS TABLE 2A: World Markets
CATALOG RECORD
Economic statistics and market surveys on consumers and consumption. Arranged
by country. Statistics include demographics, top metropolitan markets (cities)
in each country, GDP per capita, socioeconomic strata, buying power,
consumption, unemployment, inflation, consumer confidence, top problems of the
country, televisions, computers, automobiles, types of Internet connection,
frequency of grocery shopping, preferred place to shop for food, credit card
use, most popular alcoholic beverages, and more.
Statistical Abstract of Latin America
CATALOG RECORD
Statistical data and outline maps arranged by subject: geography, environment,
transportation, communication, demography, women, vital statistics, health,
nutrition, family planning, political statistics, religion, military, labor
force, unemployment, wages, income distribution and poverty, drugs and crime,
commercial and industrial production, energy resources, foreign trade (leading
exports), balance of payments, international assistance, debt, exchange rates,
price changes, interest rates, and gross product. ANNUAL.
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
CATALOG RECORD
Comprehensive economic and social statistics. Data are given for a span of
years, usually 1980 to present. Arrangement is by subject. Sections in 2000
edition: Social Development & Welfare (population growth rates, life
expectancy, school enrollment, inhabitants per physician), Economic Growth
(GDP growth), Domestic Prices, Capital Formation & Financing, External Trade,
Population (age, sex, size of households), National Accounts, Domestic Prices
(annual consumer price indexes), External Financing, External Trade, Natural
Resources and Production of Goods (agricultural products harvested),
Infrastructure Services (roads, railways, merchant fleets, air traffic),
Employment (by sex and sector of economic activity), and Social Conditions
(education, hospital beds, physicians).
Latin America
Profiled: Essential Facts on Society, Business and Politics in Latin America
(2000)
CATALOG RECORD
Concise
data on territory and population, time zones, key historical events, political
and cultural chronologies for the century, leading cultural figures, profiles
of major cities including landmarks and museums, social statistics, climate,
government, national anthem, recent elections, current administration,
political profiles, local government, international relations, economy
(policy, performance, budget, currency), banking and finance, energy and
natural resources, industry (including largest companies), communications
(roads, rail, aviation, telecommunications), social institutions (justice,
religion, education, health, welfare), culture (broadcasting, cinema, press),
tourism, and social etiquette.
Annual World Bank Conference on Development in Latin America and the Caribbean
CATALOG RECORD
Discussion and analysis of subjects significant to the future stability and
success of Latin America and the Caribbean. 1995 edition focuses on reform,
1996 on poverty and inequality, and 1997 on trade. ANNUAL.
CEPAL
Review
CATALOG
RECORD
Economic conditions. Article of note: "The Mexican Peso Crisis," v. 60, page
155. Indexed in PAIS. Three times a year.
Economic and Social Progress in Latin America [ANNUAL]
CATALOG RECORD
Macroeconomic dynamics through the adjustment and reform process, trade
liberalization, tax reform, privatization, labor reform, pension reform,
health and education services. Statistical tables: GDP, domestic credit, money
supply, interest rates, consumer prices, real wages, balance of payments,
external debt.
Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
CATALOG RECORD
Main trends, economic policy (macroeconomic policy, fiscal policy, monetary
policy, structural reforms), inflation and employment, foreign trade.
Statistical tables: main economic indicators, growth of per capita GDP,
consumer prices, real average wages. Information also by country: narrative
and statistical tables (5 to 10 pages on each country). ANNUAL.
Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean: Summary
CATALOG RECORD

The Summary is the first chapter of the Survey (the
full edition of the Survey will be published in September). The
Summary also gives a brief overview of regional data (the external
sector, macroeconomic policy, activity levels, inflation, employment, and
saving and investment). The Summary replaces Economic Panorama of
Latin America, providing information on economic trends in the region
during the first half of the year within the context of the previous year's
performance. Statistical appendix. ANNUAL.
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society, and Culture
CATALOG RECORD

Facts on historical figures, events, institutions, and processes in historical
as well as contemporary Mexico. 2 volumes.
Health Statistics from the Americas
CATALOG
RECORD
Comprehensive health statistics: deaths by type of infectious disease, heart
disease, motor vehicle traffic accidents, accidental falls, homicide, birth
rates, measles, whooping, malaria, leukemia. Special report in 1998 edition:
Health During Early Childhood (mortality in children under 5 years of age,
breast-feeding, nutrition, common childhood illnesses, cancer, AIDS).
BIENNIAL.
Latin America in Graphs
CATALOG RECORD
Growth of school age population, public spending by education level, literacy,
years of school, GDP per capita, GDP growth by major sectors, energy
production and consumption, external debt. 1995.
Latin American Economic Policies
CATALOG RECORD
Newsletter format with articles on fiscal policy. Good issue: "Progress and
Poverty: Latin America’s Dilemma of the 1900’s," includes macroeconomic
indicators for 1990’s. QUARTERLY.
The Long March: A Reform Agenda for Latin America and the
Caribbean in the Next Decade
CATALOG RECORD
Examines fiscal policy, macro- and microeconomic factors as well as recent
experiences in the region and exchange rate policy. Chapters on economic
progress, strategic priorities for accelerating growth, and poverty reduction.
References. 1997.
Poverty and Income Distribution in Latin America
CATALOG
RECORD
Text and tables on income distribution and poverty. Detailed tables including
percent of female-headed households by income quintile, and average family
size by income quintile. 1997.
Preliminary Overview of the Economy of Latin America and the
Caribbean
CATALOG RECORD
This is the preliminary report to Economic Survey of Latin America and the
Caribbean (above). Text and tables. Main economic indicators (GDP, consumer
prices, real wages, Money [M1], real effective exchange rate, fiscal
balance/GDP, real deposit rate, real lending rate, exports/imports, current
account, capital and financial account). The 1997 issue has brief report on
"Repercussions of the Asian Crisis in Latin America." ANNUAL.
Social Development and Absolute Poverty in Asia and Latin America
CATALOG RECORD
Text and tables: population with income less than $1/day, GDP growth rates,
GNP per capita, life expectancy, tuberculosis rates, babies with low birth
rate, illiteracy, school enrollment, health expenditures.
South American Handbook
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics on countries in
South America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

OECD COUNTRIES
top
| Australia |
Finland |
Ireland |
Netherlands |
Sweden |
| Austria |
France |
Italy |
New Zealand |
Switzerland |
| Belgium |
Germany |
Japan |
Norway |
Turkey |
| Canada |
Greece |
Korea |
Poland |
United
Kingdom |
| Czech
Republic |
Hungary |
Luxembourg |
Portugal |
United States |
| Denmark |
Iceland |
Mexico |
Spain |
|
Education at a
Glance: OECD Indicators
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed statistics and text on education indicators for OECD countries
including demographic, social and economic context of education, financial and
human resources invested in education, access to education, teachers'
salaries, social and labor market outcomes of education, and student
achievement. ANNUAL.
Income
Distribution In OECD Countries
CATALOG RECORD
Statistics on income distribution in OECD countries. 1995.
Labour
Force Statistics
CATALOG RECORD
Population, labor force, employment/unemployment, employment by sector for
OECD countries. ANNUAL. For most recent data, see
Quarterly Labour Force Statistics.
National Accounts
Volume I Main Aggregates
CATALOG
RECORD
National Accounts Volume II Detailed Tables
CATALOG
RECORD
Annual reports on major components of GDP, capital formation, public and
private consumption expenditures for OECD countries. Supplemented by
Quarterly National
Accounts.
OECD
Economic Outlook [SEMIANNUAL]
CATALOG RECORD
RECOMMENDED
Extensive discussion, analysis, and tables/charts on economic conditions
of the OECD countries. Table of Contents lists each country--each issue has
4-5 page report on economic conditions in each of the OECD countries.
Towards the back of each issue there is a list of statistical tables: Demand &
Output (real GDP), Wages, Costs, & Inflation (unit labor costs, GDP deflators,
consumer prices), Labor Force, Employment & Unemployment, Business Sector
(capital income shares, rates of return on capital), Saving (housing saving
rates, gross national savings), Fiscal Balances & Public Indebtedness,
Interest Rates & Exchange Rates, External Trade and Payments (export volumes,
import volumes, export prices, import prices, trade balances), and Other
Background Data (demand and output projections, productivity). .
OECD Economic Studies
CATALOG
RECORD
Statistics and articles on applied economic and statistical analysis,
generally with an international or cross-country dimension. SEMIANNUAL.
OECD Economic Surveys
CATALOG
RECORD
RECOMMENDED
Major reports providing narrative discussion and also statistical
tables giving overview of current economic policy issues.
Some tables give
data for a span of years (1980's to date). ANNUAL for each of the OECD
countries.
OECD
Historical Statistics
[ANNUAL] CATALOG
RECORD
Economic development of OECD countries since 1960 in tables and graphs.
Includes national accounts, domestic finance, population and labor force,
foreign trade, exchange rates, prices. Data covers a span of years.
OECD in Figures
[ANNUAL]
CATALOG
RECORD
Concise booklet with statistics on demography, employment, consumer prices and
interest rates, economic growth and performance, energy, agriculture,
transportation, taxation, health, education, R&D, science and technology.
Sources of data are listed.

TRANSITION ECONOMIES
top
Composition of Fiscal
Adjustment and Growth: Lessons from Fiscal Reforms in Eight Economies
(1997)
CATALOG RECORD
Eastern
Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (Europa
Publications)
CATALOG RECORD
Extensive
discussion of history and economy of each country. Statistical Survey includes
industry data, exchange rates, money supply, cost of living, national
accounts, GDP, balance of payments, imports and exports by commodity in USD or
local currency, principal trading partners, number of radios, televisions,
books, newspapers, and education data. Countries: Former Soviet Republics,
Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania,
Macedonia, Maldova, Poland, Romania, Russian Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, and
Yugoslavia.
Emerging from
Communism: Lessons from Russia, China, and Eastern Europe (1998)
CATALOG
RECORD
Discusses transition experiences and analyzes reasons for successes and
failures. It addresses the issues of inflation, privatization, enterprise
restructuring, banking reform and labor market policy, and the role of
decentralization in China's growth.
Growth Experience in
Transition Countries, 1990-98
CATALOG RECORD
Reviews output decline and recovery in the 25 countries of central and eastern
Europe and the Baltics, Russia, and other countries of the former Soviet
Union. Annex IV gives the Structural Reform Index for each of the economies.
Additional data include growth, average output and productivity indices, and
GDP and investment.
Institutional Reform
in Transition Economies: How Far Have They Come?
(2001)
CATALOG RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
Discussion, charts, tables. Examines how
institutional conditions in transition economies compare with the rest of the
world using various indicators of governance.
Transition Economies After
Ten Years
(February 2000)
PDF-45 pages
|
CATALOG RECORD
IMF working paper
summarizing the macroeconomic performance of 25 transition economies. It
discusses inflation and stabilization, initial conditions, transition
strategies, aid and capital flows, implementation of reforms, and growth
performance. Charts include GDP Index in transition time, output profile,
private consumption and investment, inflation and fiscal profile, fiscal
revenue, phases of reform, and structural reforms profiles. Tables include
"Transition Economies: Output Performance, 1989-1998" and "Structural
Indicators."
Transition Report
CATALOG RECORD
Economic conditions and statistics on countries in the former Soviet
republics.
World Economic Outlook,
October 2000
CATALOG RECORD
The October 2000 issue is
subtitled "Focus on Transition Economies" and presents extensive discussion
and statistical data.

UNITED
STATES
top
Global Perspectives on the United States: A Nation by Nation Survey
(2007)
OPAC
SUBJECTS:
SUBJECT United States -- Foreign relations -- 2001-
SUBJECT United States -- Foreign public opinion.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
[ANNUAL]
HTML |
CATALOG RECORD
Comprehensive statistics including population, vital statistics, education,
law enforcement (prisons), environment, elections, labor force, employment,
earnings, consumer prices (cpi), energy. The 1999 edition has a special
section on "20th Century Statistics". Sources of data are cited. INDEX. .
Statistical Portrait
of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends (2002)
CATALOG RECORD
Population characteristics -- Households and families -- Social conditions --
Labor force and job characteristics - Housing -- Income, wealth, and poverty
-- Education -- Crime and criminal justice -- Health -- Leisure, volunteerism,
and religiosity -- Voting -- Environment -- Government -- Appendix: Detailed
tables.
Historical statistics
of the United States : earliest times to the present (2006)
REFERENCE
HA202 .H57 2006 v. 1-5
Rev. update of: Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to
1970. v. 1. Population -- v. 2. Work and welfare -- v. 3. Economic structure
and performance -- v. 4. Economic sectors -- v. 5. Governance and
international relations.
Beige Book
Current economic conditions by Federal Reserve District.
Economic Report of the President
[annual]
Overview of the nation's economic progress with discussion and extensive data.
Second half of volume is statistical tables (gdp, consumer prices indexes,
money stock, credit, and finance, etc.).
Economic Indicators
(1998 to current date)
[ONLINE]
CATALOG
RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
GDP, implicit price
deflators, national income, corporate profits, employment, unemployment, wages
and earnings, production and business activity, producer prices, consumer
prices (cpi), money stock and debt measures, consumer credit, interest rates
and bond yields, federal finance, and international statistics (industrial
production and consumer prices for major industrialized countries and U.S.
international transactions).
MapStats
Population, race, education, income/poverty, and economic statistics for U.S.,
each state, and all counties from Census 2000.
Demographic Profiles
[Census 2000]
Detailed demographic profiles (age, sex, detailed race, Hispanic origin,
education, ancestry, income/poverty) for every city, county, congressional
district, and state. U.S. Summary-PDF-4
pages.
Population Profile of the United States
"America at the Close of the 20th Century." Statistics on population
distribution, geographic mobility, vital statistics, families, marital status,
living arrangements, living arrangements of children, school enrollment,
educational attainment, computer use, voting, income and poverty, health
insurance coverage, race and ethnicity, foreign-born, older adults, and adults
with disabilities.
OECD
Economic Surveys: United States [ANNUAL]
CATALOG RECORD
RECOMMENDED
Major report providing narrative discussion and
statistical tables giving overview of current economic policy issues.
International
Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-1993
CATALOG RECORD
Provides economists and historians with a wide range of mainly economic
statistical data and gives annual figures for long comparable time series.
Includes Population and Vital Statistics, Labor Force (unemployment, money
wages), Agricultural, Industry (indices of industrial production), External
Trade, Transport and Communications (railroads, motor vehicles, commercial
aviation, telephone services, and radio and tv receiving licenses), Finance
(money supply), Prices (wholesale price indices and cost-of-living/consumer
price index (cpi)), Education, and National Accounts (balance of payments).
Energy Profile: Country
Analysis: United States [Department of Energy] (October 2001)
Background, statistics, and analysis of U.S. energy industry including
oil, natural gas, coal, electricity, and nuclear, and environmental overview.
top
|
Library Home Page |
This page compiled and
maintained by Catherine Kaye
ckaye@fullerton.edu.
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/countries/
Created: 4/20/99. Last Revised:
03/14/08.
An instructional page of Pollak Library at
California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. |
|