CSUF Signature Logo

 

Criminal Justice Research Guide
Pollak Library

Criminal Justice
Books
Journal Articles
Journals
News Articles
Reference
Web Sites
Classes @ CSUF

Journal Articles
Articles in journals can provide the most current information on a topic.  The information provided will be scholarly, professional or technical.  Articles in magazines are useful for brief, general, or introductory information. Most of the assignments in Criminal Justice will require the use of the scholarly journals and discourage the use of popular magazines.

Click here for an explanation of the differences between scholarly journals, trade journals, and magazines.

The indexes listed below are used to direct the researcher to journal articles.

Subject Resource
To access all library databases
General

 

Academic Search Premier
bulletSome citations, some abstracts, some full-text, some full-text, full-image
bulletOver 1500 journals and magazines, from 1980 to current
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus or to CSUF people off campus
Criminal Justice Criminal Justice Abstracts
bulletContains scholarly research and professional articles
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus or to CSUF people off campus
Social Sciences

 

 (Firstsearch)

Social Sciences Full Text
bulletContains scholarly research articles only
bulletAbstracts for 1994 to current date
bulletIndexes over 400 journals in the Social Sciences from the present back to 1983
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus or to CSUF people off campus
Criminal Justice and Political Science

(Firstsearch)

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
bulletContains articles, books, books chapters, conference proceedings and documents
bulletCovers the years 1972 to present with abstracts from 1985 to present
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus or to CSUF people off campus
Public Administration ABI/Inform
bulletFull-text of Business, administration, marketing, and management trade journals
bulletUseful for Public Administration students as it does contain public administration, especially management
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus or to CSUF people off campus
Criminal Justice Justice Information Center/ Abstracts Database
bulletTo search, click on "Abstracts Database"
bulletIndexes over 150,000 criminal justice publications including government documents, books, research reports, journals and unpublished reports
bulletCovers the 1970's to present date, with abstracts
bulletAvailable to the public through the WWW
http://www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/search.asp
Citation
Index
bulletWeb of Science: Online database including the social sciences
bulletSocial Sciences Citation Index in print format, shelved in Reference Stacks: H1 .S62 
Reference
HV
6001
C74
Criminal Justice Periodical Index
bulletAvailable in the library only. This is a set of books.
bulletIndexes Criminal Justice materials
bulletCovers the years 1975-1998

 

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns CBruns@fullerton.edu An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Last Revised: August 26, 2008