CSUF Signature Logo

 

Criminal Justice Research Guide
Pollak Library

Criminal Justice 475: Controlling Crime
Dr. Amy Cass
California State University Fullerton

Cynthia Bruns
Criminal Justice Instruction Librarian,
CBruns@fullerton.edu
Pollak Library http://www.library.fullerton.edu

Available Library Services
Use the Library at home: All Library databases can be searched at home by CSUF students
       If you have any difficulties, get technical assistance from the Titan Help Desk... 714 278 7777     
 
What to do if library does not own what you need:
       
Interlibrary Loan...Books and Articles from anywhere, week+ turnaround, free
        Your CSUF card is valid at CSU libraries, local community colleges and some private.  
    

Pollak Library research Guide for Criminal Justice Students

RefWorks
web-based bibliographic management service used for storing and organizing citations,
         as well as automatically formatting bibliographies. more information

horizontal rule

Shortcuts to Sociology
Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries need a clear-cut explanation on a theory?
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice..
. ……Reference HV 6017.E52 2002 vols1-4
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment…Reference HV6017.E524 2002  vols1-4
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.  H41 .I58 2001 26 volumes
Gale Virtual Reference Library... online collection of 1,100+ encyclopedia volumes
     
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice...
online  4vols  
      
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences  6vols
     
sample search: social control (document title) or
drunk driving

horizontal rule

How get books this library owns
Library Catalog
http://opac.fullerton.edu  Online database of books, journals, newspapers, recordings, atlases, more
            sample search: subject: credit card fraud
                                   Title:  Crime and Delinquency (limit to periodicals)

What are Scholarly Journals and how to recognize them:When a college professor assigns articles, the assumption is that the class will use scholarly journal articles. Original research and empirical studies are published in journals and will include the following sections: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, and References.

Does this library own this article?
       
Cass, Amy, Routine Activities and Sexual Activities: An Analysis of Individual and School-Level Factors. Violence and Victims, vol 22, no. 3, 2007.

horizontal rule

How to get articles on your topic:

Criminal Justice Abstracts
   
 Journals articles and more in the field of criminology
     sample search:
deterrence or social control (descriptors)
     Drunk Drinking (descriptors) and deterrence (descriptors)

PsycINFO
    International research database includes
Psychology, Sociology, Criminology, Counseling
    sample search:
deviance leads to the terms...antisocial behavior and social control and crime or criminals and theories

  Social Sciences Full Text
      This database contains scholarly journal articles in the field of Social Sciences.

      sample search:
Juvenile delinquency and Cause*


PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service (Political Science, Criminal Justice, Public Policy)
    Professional database with books, articles, reports, documents, more
    Sample search: Internet and Fraud

Additional databases of interest to Criminal Justice Students:
Academic Search Premier (be sure to limit results to peer reviewed)
     a general database with magazines, journals and a few newspapers
     contains a great deal of full text articles
 
Omni Full Text Mega.  Combined search of eleven data bases
     Includes Social Sciences Full Text
 
Proquest Newsstand (newspapers only)
     300 full-text newspapers from the United States
 
Lexis/Nexis Academic (contains link to laws and court cases)
    Also contains newspapers, including international
 
LexisNexis Congressional Universe (Legislation, Histories, Hearings, Bills, Laws,)

 

"Plagiarism is defined as the act of taking the specific substance of another and offering it as one's own without giving credit to the sources.  When sources are used, acknowledgement of the original author or source must be made following scholarly practice." Cal State Fullerton Catalog 07-09 p. 30

Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism Campus statement on the avoidance of plagiarism.

How do I Cite Sources  All sources of information must be cited. 

Pollak Library Quick Guide to the APA Citation Style
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, copies available in Reference and Bookstore     
 

How to get help with library assignments: Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk (714) 278-3284, Instant Message, Live Chat Reference, Email Reference, and Research Appointments 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

course description: This course provides a thorough examination into the study of crime, deviance, and its control. The course will approach issues of control through a theoretical lens. Select types of common control tactics, such as imprisonment, capital punishment, situational crime prevention, and restorative justice will be addressed. Other less common measures, such as community building, surveillance, and cultural change will be discussed.

 

Assignment description: Control Policy Project: You will be assigned a criminal activity to closely examine. Using 3 scholarly sources, you must first determine why this is an important crime to study? You will then interview 25 individuals and find out why they have never committed this criminal act. Using the interview data, apply theories from class that explain control and conformity. Based on the most supported theory, create a policy that would be most useful in controlling this criminal act (explain why this is the best policy)? You must then discuss any unintended consequences that could potentially stem from your policy?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns CBruns@fullerton.edu An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Last Revised: August 26, 2008