CSUF logo: color

Criminal Justice Research Guide
Pollak Library

Criminal Justice
Books
Journal Articles
Journals
News Articles
Reference
Web Sites
Classes @ CSUF

Sources of News Articles:
Newspaper articles are not scholarly or professional information.  Generally, students in Criminal Justice will not base a research paper solely on information found in newspaper articles.   However, you may require current news or background facts on your topic.  Newspaper articles can provide that type of information. To find sources of scholarly or professional articles click on Journal Articles.

The following indexes are good places to look for news articles:
ProQuest Newspapers: This database contains an extensive collection of United States and international news sources.
      This is a full-text database but contains no pictures.

Historical Newspapers online
We have access to full-text and full-image access to an number of newspapers
     New York Times Historical (1851 until 2001)

     Los Angeles Times Historical (1881 to approx.1984

    
The Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985
    
America's Historical Newspapers  
 
LexisNexis Academic: To find news articles in this database, click on News . This database contains the full text of news articles in large collection of newspapers and magazines going back as far as twenty years in a few cases. To search by a particular newspaper, click on More Options.
 
Newspapers in Pollak Library: This library subscribes to paper copies of a number of newspapers. To find out if we subscribe to the the newspaper you are interested in, search Find Journals by Title. This will tell you if we subscribe to the newspaper and if it is in paper copy or available online. Newspapers in paper copy are kept on the 2nd floor of the north Pollak Library.  The mircofilm is found on the 6th floor of the South Library.
 
Historical Newspaper Articles: If you are looking for old newspaper articles tye might not be found through computerized databases.  Exception are the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and The Times of London   which we have have online.  We have paper indexes to a limited number of newspapers such as San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.  These indexes are kept in Reference. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
 

To access all library databases

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns CBruns@fullerton.edu An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Last Revised: October 27, 2009