|
» |
Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias |
REF
HV7411 C48
2005 |
The American
Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and
Major Court Cases
by Dean John
Champion |
REF
HV
6017
S35 |
The Concise Encyclopedia of Crime and Criminals by Harold
Scott, 1961 Despite its age this book is still useful because of
its detailed and extensive entries on many aspects of criminal Justice.
The biographical articles often contain pictures. Entries for major
cases are also included. |
REF
HV
7411
R87
2000 |
The
Dictionary of Criminal Justice by George E. Rush, 2000 This
dictionary contains words, phrases, people, acts, and associations. included
a few flow included a flowchart of the sequence of events through the court
system. Also major Supreme Court Cases relating to Criminal Justice are
listed by subject and indexed by title. |
REF
HV
9471
E425 |
Encyclopedia of American Prisons ed. Marilyn D. McShane, 1996
This one volume encyclopedia is especially useful for its detailed
entries which can include some theoretical background on the topic.
All entries have a bibliography and some of the entries include a list of
law cases. |
REF
HV
8694
G76
1998 |
Encyclopedia
of Capital Punishment, ed. by Mark Grossmann, 1998. This one
volume encyclopedia includes a introduction that is useful for its overview
of capital punishment brief articles on a wide range of people and laws.
An historical timeline is included. the greatest focus is on
issues related to the United States but the encyclopedia does include
international information. |
Ref
HV
6017
E52 |
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 2002
This four volume set includes extensive articles on broad topics in
Criminal Justice. It would be especially helpful to a student who
needed some theoretical background on a topic. A bibliography is
included for each article. Also
available online as an ebook. |
REF
HV6017
E524 |
Encyclopedia
of Crime and Punishment, editor David Levinson, 2002 vol 1-4 |
REF
KF
3941
A68
U88
2000 |
Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights, By Glenn Utter, 2000.
This one volume encyclopedia attempts to deal in a balanced
manner with a highly controversial topic. The book covers legislation, court
cases, organizations, associations, and individuals who have affected the
controversy. The appendix includes constitutional provisions dealing with
the right to keep and bear arms for all fifty states. |
REF
HV7921 E53
v. 1-3 |
Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement, 2005.
Larry E. Sullivan, editor-in-chief
This multi-volume set includes information for both local
and national law enforcement issues. |
REF
HN
90
V5
V5474 |
Violence in
America, ed. Ronald Gottesman, 1999. The three volume set
includes articles on types of violence, criminals, laws, criminologists, the
coverage in the mass media, racial issues, and more. There is
generally a detailed bibliography included. The appendix includes
organizations, publications and recommended web sites that deal with the
topic of violence. |
Ref
6768
E63 |
Encyclopedia Of
White-Collar And Corporate Crime, editor
general editor, Lawrence M. Salinger,
2005. vol 1-2 |
Ref
HV6403
B87 |
Environmental Crime : a Sourcebook
/ Ronald G. Burns and Michael J. Lynch, 2004. |
Ref
KF9223.
A68 F35 2005 |
Prentice Hall's dictionary of American criminal justice, criminology, and
criminal law by
David N. Falcone |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Research Guides |
REF
K
36
M47 |
Author's
Guide to Journals in Law, Criminal Justice and Criminology ed. by Roy
M. Mersky, 1979. This guide is intended to assist the
prospective author in deciding on an appropriate journal to which to submit
his/her articles by providing as much information as possible about the
journals and their policies. |
REFDESK
HV
7419.5
C75
1998 |
Criminal
Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It by Dennis C.
Benamati and others. This books leads the researcher to the wide
range of materials, agencies, journals, statistics, government documents,
laws and more that are available for research and practicable purposes in
the field of Criminal Justice. This includes a chapter devoted to
sources available through the Internet. |
Ref
HV
9950
C74323
1999 |
Criminal
Justice Students Writers Manual by William A. Johnson, Jr. 1999.
This book will give the student direction in writing a research
paper, covering such topics as format, style, writing competently and how to
cite sources. The book also gives direction in the research process
with specific advice on writing book reviews, agency case studies, policy
analysis papers, and legal case briefs. |
REF
RA
1053
F67
1999 |
Forensic Medicine Sourcebook, Annemarie S. Muth, ed. 1999.
This book provides basic information on forensic medicine topics such as
crime scene investigation, evidence, expert testimony, computer-aided
identification, DNA profiling, accident reconstruction, autopsies,
ballistics, drugs and explosives detection, latent fingerprints, product
tampering and more. It also contains statistical data, terminology and
sources of additional information. |
Ref
HV
6469
U5
K663 |
Hate
Crimes: Contemporary World Issues by Donald Altschiller, 1999
This book acts as an introduction to the topic of hate crimes for
the students who is doing research in this area. It contains an
explanation of hate crimes, targeted groups, history of, chronology, laws
and legislation, biographical sketches, statistics, bibliography of all
types of sources, and a listing of World Wide Web sites. |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Statistical
Information |
Ref
HV
6787
C58 |
City Crime
Rankings: Crime in Metropolitan America |
Ref
HV
6787
C745 |
Crime in America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Profile, This book includes 20 years of statistical crime
information for 75 American cities. It contains information on types
of crime, crime rates, hate crimes, illegal drugs, correctional facilities,
curfews, inmates, law enforcement personnel, anti-crime programs and much
more. |
| Doc/US
J 1.14/7 Current year at DocDesk |
Crime in the United States: Uniform Crime
Reports Criminal Justice statistics of all types are
published in this annual set of books. The library owns this set of books
back to 1962. The statistics are based on the Uniform Crime
Reports contributed by law enforcement agencies. This source is
now also available on the Internet:
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm |
Ref
HV
6787
C77 |
Crime State Ranking: Crime in the 50 United States
This source contains crime statistics such as murder, crime rates,
change in crime rates, recidivism, prison and jail populations, executions,
arrests by type and many others. All statistics are ranked by all
fifty states. |
Doc/US
J 29.9
/6
Current year at DocDesk |
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, Bureau of Justice
This statistical book is a collection of statistics from a wide
range of organizations, agencies and public opinion polls.
Statistics cover topics such as characteristics of the criminal justice
system, public attitudes, offences, persons arrested, the
correctional system. The library own back to 1973. This source
is also available on the Internet:
|
DocDesk
Y3.SE5:
1 |
Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics This book contains
descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing
guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing
data. |
| Doc/US
C 3.134: Current year at RefDesk |
Statistical Abstract of the United States This is a
statistical source which covers a very wide range of subjects. Because
of this wide coverage, it is a good place to start looking for statistics.
The sources are listed and can lead the user to further statistics. This
book comes out annually and the library owns back to 1878. It is also
available through the Internet. |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Vocational Guidance |
Ref
JK
716
P58
1999 |
Careers in Government by Mary Elizabeth Pitz, 1999.
This book offers advice and job hunting strategies. Included are
job descriptions, salary ranges, working conditions, required qualifications
and an academic major listing of agencies and departments who are interested
in individuals with that academic background. |
Ref
HV9950
.A54 2003 |
Criminal justice and
criminology : a career guide to local, state, federal, and academic
positions by James F. Anderson, Nancie J. Mangels,
and Laronistine Dyson,
2003. |
Ref
HF
5382.7
R557
2005 |
The Guide to
Internet Job Searching, 2005. There are many opportunities for job
searching on the Internet. This book gives advice on how to proceed
with the job search and the web addresses for job sites, employers and other
useful pages. The Criminal Justice major might be interested in the
chapter on "Government, Public Policy and Public Service." |
Ref
HV
9950
T38 |
Jumpstarting Your Career: An Internship Guide for Criminal Justice by
Dorothy Taylor, 1999. This is essentially a handbook for
students who are planning an internship or for professionals who would like
to start an internship program. It does not list individual
internships available. |
Ref
HV
8143
S86 |
Opportunities in Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Careers by James
Stinchcomb, 2003. |
|
return to top |
| » |
Biographical
Information |
| Computer
Database |
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This is a database
which will indicate which Reference sources contain biographical entries for
the individual which the student is searching. This database is so extensive
that it helps to know the individual's full name and birth/death dates. |
| Computer
Database |
Biography Index This is a database which provides
citations on biographical information. It indexes both articles and
books. |
Ref
HV
7911
A1
A94 |
Cops,
Crooks and Criminologists: An International Biographical Dictionary of Law
Enforcement by Alan Axelrod, 1996. This is an encyclopedic
dictionary of major and significant figures, living and dead, who have
shaped the history of law enforcement. The emphasis is strongly
American with a few international entries. There is a strong historical
emphasis and the earliest entry is from the 16th century. |
Ref
HV
6245
K64 |
Dictionary of Culprits and Criminals by George C. Kohn, 1986
This book contains concise bibliographic sketches with the full name and
nickname of the culprits or criminals. American figures predominate the book
through there are some international people. |
Ref
HV
6595
N49 |
The
Encyclopedia of Kidnappings, 2002, by Michael Newton. This
encyclopedia is made up entirely of short biographies, with details of the
crime, of both kidnap victims and the perpetrators, a few pictures are
included. |