Library Research in Computer Science (CPSC589)

Goals and Objectives

  • Knowledge of library services, resources, and collections within and beyond the CSUF Pollak Library
  • Knowledge of indexes, abstracts, articles, scholarly journals, popular magazines
  • Search skills and strategies
  • Skills to use web-based databases
  • Citing print and electronic references


Books

To locate books on topics in computer science, use the following catalogs:
  • CSUF Library Catalog -- Books, journals, and other materials in the CSUF Library.
  • LINK+ -- Books, journals, etc. in several CA libraries, including 9 CSU libraries and the Claremont Colleges Libraries.
  • Melvyl -- Books, journals, etc. in UC and other libraries in the state of California.
  • WorldCat -- Books and other materials from libraries worldwide.

Journal Articles

To locate journal articles on computer science, use the following electronic journals and indexes/abstracts/full-text databases.  To access these databases from the Library's home page, hover over "Research" and click on Find Articles, then click on "Computer Science".  To learn more about a database, select the "INFO" button next to the database name.

Electronic Journal Collections
NOTE:  Under the Research menu on the Library's Home Page, you will find a link to:
Find Journal Titles -- a searchable listing of the journals in the Pollak Library, including electronic holdings.  The list links directly to the databases that include each title.

Databases containing full-text electronic scholarly articles include:

  • Science Direct -- Click on link to Science Direct, then chose Search.  Under Subject, select Computer Science.
  • Wiley Interscience -- Click on link to Wiley Interscience, then Advanced Search.  Restrict search to journals in subject category Computer Science by checking the box next to that category.

Databases with Full-text (or Selected Full-text) Articles

Indexes/Abstracts Databases


Web Resources

How to find information on the Web? 
  • Use web site reviews from various literature or learn from your professors, fellow students, colleagues, etc..

How can I tell the good, the beautiful, and the truthful from the bad, the ugly, and the false?
Learn to evaluate Internet resources!   Consider the following criteria:

Authority
Content
Accuracy
Currency
Objectivity
Usability & Aesthetics

Check out the pointers on Evaluating Web Resources.


Citing Your Sources

  • Pollak Library has web pages offering citation help: CyberCitations links to information about style guides such as MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago.  These style manuals are also available at the Library's Reference Desk.  The Library Survival Skills Citations Page gives examples of several citation formats.  Please consult your professor for the appropriate style manual required.
  • If you are asked to use the same format as a particular journal, see that journal's instructions for authors for guidance.  You can often find this on the journal's web page as well as in a recent issue of the journal.
  • Referencing Electronic Information:
    • When citing electronic and Internet references, additional information is often required.  Be sure to consult the appropriate style guide or the helping pages above for special instructions on citing resources such as journal articles obtained in electronic format or information retrieved from a web page.

Prepared by Jie Tien.  Updated by Barbie McConnell.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2003 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
 

Last updated 23 Jan 2004 04:52 PM