| |
To access all of the online databases found on the following list: |
| Academic
Search Premier |
- This database is a good source for a wide range
of popular and current topics.
- Indexes 1,550 journals and magazines, from 1980
to current date
- Contains some abstracts and some full-text
(which means the actual article is included)
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: (dancers or dance or dancing) and auditions
|
| Music and
Performing Arts Online |
- Contains may links to full-text but not all
citations will offer direct access to full-text
- Is made of of two databases, International
Index of Music Periodicals and International Index to Performing
Arts
- Subjects covered include: dance, film, drama,
theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, performance art, storytelling,
opera, pantomime, puppetry and magic
- Contains entries as far back as 1864
|
|
OmniFile Full Text Mega |
- Great source for full text information (but
not everything is full-text)
- Combined search of 11 databases
- Includes Business, Humanities, Social
Sciences, General topics, Art and more
|
|
America
History and Life |
- This is an historical database which is useful
for its coverage of dances and dancers
- Covers United States and Canada, not Mexico
- Indexes 2,000 journals, from 1964 to current
date
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: Harlem and dance
|
|
Historical
Abstracts |
- This is an historical database which is useful
for its coverage of dances and dancers
- Covers the world, except for United States and
Canada. Use this database for Mexico
- Indexes 2,000 journals, from 1954 to current
date
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: Flamenco and Spain
|
|
Humanities
Abstracts |
- Search this database for research articles,
interviews, obituaries, bibliographies in the broad field of Humanities.
- Contains articles since 1984, abstracts are
included from 1994 only, updated monthly
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: Choreography and Ballet
|
|
Sociological
Abstracts |
- Dance students would be interested in this
database for its coverage of societal aspects of dance
- Covers the years 1984 to present, with abstracts
from the year 1994 to present
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: India and dance
|
| Sports
Discus |
- Database for professionals in sports, recreation, fitness and more
- Contains journal articles and more
- Good source for dance injuries and therapy
- Especially useful for dance teacher and dance teams
|
|
Art Abstracts |
- Dance students would be interested in this
database for its coverage of the artistic aspects of dance, dancers,
costumes, choreography, set design, make-up, and more.
- Covers the years 1984 to present, with abstracts
from the year 1994 to present
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: Isadora Duncan
|
|
Anthropological Index Online |
- Dance students would be interested in this
database for anthropological studies of dance
- Covers the year 1957 to present, with no
abstracts.
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: Ghost dance
|
Index to
Dance Periodicals
Print Source
Ref
GV
1594
I53 |
- Indexes twenty-five journals in the field of
dance, a few of the titles are not indexed elsewhere. A few of the
titles are written in a foreign language
- Covers the years 1990- to current date. It
is published annually. There is a time lag.
- Produced by the Dance Division of the NY Public
Library for the Performing Arts
- Sample search: Dance - Hawaii
|
|
LexisNexis Academic |
- A massive database known for full-text of
newspapers, business, legal and medical sources.
- Contains full-text reviews of dance
performances, movies, music, and entertainment news,
- Can be searched through home computers by CSUF
students.
- Sample search: American Ballet Theatre
|
|
Bibliography
of Asian Studies |
- This database covers all subjects in the field
of Asian Studies with good coverage of dance and culture topics.
- Many of the articles listed are not found in Pollak Library and must be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Sample search: Dance, limited to country (such as
India)
|
| Chicano Database |
- Hispanic, Latin or or Mexican American topics
- Links to full text information
- Sample search: Tango
|
|
Biography Index |
- Biographical information
- From articles
|
| CINAHL |
- Nursing databases
- May be useful for sport injuries and recovery
|
| Marquis
Who's Who |
- Biographical information
- In a brief "whos who" type format
- Full-text
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
|
|