REFERENCE
Home Books Articles Journals Reference Recordings Reviews Web Sites Classes

* Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Dictionaries and encyclopedias are the same thing, a subject listing arranged alphabetically.  These sources can serve as a quick look-up of a fact, a basic explanation of the theory and are a great source of ideas for research papers.
* Research Guides These books will offer advice and assistance during the research process.  It will assist students in choosing a topic and doing the research.
* Vocational Guidance Developing a career and assistance during the job search.
* Biographical Information Brief information on individuals, both living and dead. 
* Directories Directories will list people and places, combined with the contact information.


shelved in Reference Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
online databases Gale Virtual Reference Library collection of over 150 encyclopedias on all topics
online databases Oxford Reference Online Premium collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias on all topics
GV1585 C5 1967 The Dance Encyclopedia
GV 1585 R95 1997 Dictionary of Classical Ballet Terminology
GV1585 E53 1977 The Encyclopedia of Dance and Ballet
GV1785.A1 B74 1999  Fifty Contemporary Choreographers by Martha Bremser
ML 100 G16 1998 Garland Encyclopedia of World Music The focus is primarily on music but there is some information of dances around the world.  Look in the chapter for the country and in the index for dance information.
GN 307 I44 Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind v1-20 Contains information on dance in various countries or cultures.  Use the index.
GV 1585 I57 1993 International Dictionary of Ballet  v.1-2
GV 1585 B46 1999 International Dictionary of Modern Dance
GV 1585 I586 1998
and online
International Encyclopedia of Dance v.1-6 This is a good place to begin for information on country or cultural dances.
GV1585 .C78 2004      Oxford Dictionary of Dance
Online book The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance
website Performing Arts Encyclopedia Library of Congress website which will search the American Memory Project for primary research materials in theatre, music and dance topics.
GV1623 .G56 2007 Social Dancing in America : a History and Reference by Ralph G. Giordano v.1-2
GV1794 K66 1998 The Tap Dance Dictionary
GN 333 W67 1998 Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life This encyclopedia contains a small amount of information about dance in a wide variety of cultures
   
shelved in Reference
Research Guides
GV 1790 A1 T47 Ballet Guide: Backgrounds, Listings, Credits, and Descriptions for More than 500 of the World's Major Ballets
GV 1790 A1 S77 Ballet Plot Index: A Guide to Locating Plots and Associated materials
GV 1783 M26 Complete Guide to Modern Dance
GV 1781335 1989 Dance and The Musical Theatre: A Guide
GV 1603 D25 1983 Dance History: A Methodology for Study
RC 1220 D35 S64 Dance Medicine and Science Bibliography by Ruth and John Solomon
PN 1584z S56 1994 The Performing Arts: A Guide to the Reference Literature by Linda Keir Simons
PN 1584z W5 Performing Arts Research: A Guide to Information Sources by Marion K. Whalon
shelved in Reference
Vocational Guidance
HF 5382.5 U5 C32 Career Information Center: Communication and the Arts, volume 3, 1996.
PN 1580F5 1999 Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts by Shelly Field,
GV 1589J65 1999 Dancers Resources
HF 5381 E52 2000 Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance by Holli R. Cosgrove, volumes1-4
GV 1597 R67 1999 High Kicks: The Essential Guide to Working as a Dancer
HF 5382.5 U5 P76 Professional Careers Sourcebook: Where to find Help in Planning Careers that Require College or Technical Degrees,  Christine Maurer and Kathleen M. Savage, editors.
PN 2053 S68 1998 Stage Directors Handbook : Opportunities for Directors and Choreographers by the
Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation
shelved in Reference
Biographical Information
PN 2597 H5 Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers and Other Stage Personnel in London 1660-1800, volumes 1-14.
GV 1785 A1 C58 Biographical Dictionary of Dance
Online Databases Biography and Genealogy Master Index (online database to who's who-type sources)
Marquis Whos Who (online database to who's who-type sources)
GV 1785Z G48 1995 Dancers and Choreographers: A Selected Bibliography
GV 1785 A1 F69 Fifty Contemporary Choreographers.
shelved in Reference
Directories
GV 1580 D2 Dance Directory: Programs of Professional Preparation in American Colleges and Universities. by the National Dance Association
Online Dance Annual Directory: An online source which is maintained by Dance Magazine.  It is free but a user must register.  (This online source has taken the place of Sterns Performing Arts Directory.)
http://www.dancemagazine.com and click on Dance Annual Directory

This site is prepared and maintained by Cynthia Bruns, CBruns@fullerton.edu, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton. Last updated: 03/19/08