CSUF
Suggested Dance Internet Sites
Jump to:
General |
Specialized &
Cultural
Dance: General
CSUF:
Department of Dance
Artslynx International Dances Resources
Ballet.co
This site is a good
resource for U.K. ballet coverage. It features a monthly magazine with
a mix of latest reviews, a brief weekly newsletter, and links to other
ballet sites.
BalletCompanies.com
Links to1800 ballet and
dance companies all over the world.
Copyright of Choreographic Works
Overview of legal history of copyrighting choreographic
works in terms understandable to non-lawyers. Discusses the definition
of "choreographic work," the nature of "originality," the distinction
between "expression" and "idea," the requirement of "fixation in a
tangible medium," infringement, derivative works, and the role of
expert testimony. Article by Julie Van Camp, Professor of Philosophy,
CSULB, 1994.
CyberDance News and Information
Links to magazines,
events, auditions, competitions, research and FAQ's, dance and
technology, newsgroups, bulletin boards & chat lines, articles and
reviews.
Dancing Online: Internet Dance Magazine
Articles, ballet, choreographers, dancers, fashion,
performers, and directly.
Great Performances: Free To Dance [PBS]
Three-part documentary that chronicles the crucial role that
African-American choreographers and dancers have played in the
development of modern dance as an American art form. A co-production
of the American Dance Festival (ADF) and The John F. Kennedy Center
for the Performing Arts in association with Thirteen/WNET New York.
Scholarly Societies Project: Dance
Directory of scholarly organizations in the field of dance.
Society of Dance History Scholars
a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting study,
research, discussion, performance, and publication in
dance history and related fields
Dance:
Specialized & Cultural
Alegria:
the Mexican Folklorico Home Page
The music and dance of Mexico. Especially interesting is the link
"Regional Dances."
American Ballroom Companion: Dance Instruction
Manuals 1490-1920 [American
Memory]
Full text copies of over 200 dance manuals. From the Library of
Congress.
Artslynx International Dance resources
Contains a wide range of quality dance sites. This site is especially
useful for the international dance links, contains dance links to
African, American Folk, Asian, American Indian, Aboriginal, India,
Indonesian, Mexican, Slavic and more.
Australian Dance Resources
People, companies, performances, oral histories,
education, research, news and more.
Ceolas: The Celtic Music Archive
This web site is especially usefully for the link to Celtic Dance.
The user will find that this link has a substantial directory of
Scottish and Irish dance.
English Folk Dance Project
The music and essence of English dancing, including Cotswold Morris
dance.
Hula Articles and Internet Links
An About.com site that contains information on hula of Hawaii and
Polynesia.
Renaissance
Dance: The Rendance Archive
Information on everything to do with European dance
from the 15th to early 17th centuries.
Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
The following types of dance are represented: Balkan; Ballet;
Ballroom; Belly Dancing; Cajun Dancing; Chinese Dance; Clogging;
Contra Dancing; Country Western; English Country; Flamenco; Folk
Dancing; Greek Dance; Historical Dance; Hungarian; Indian Dance; Irish
Dance; Jazz Dance; Latin Dance; Lindy Hop; Modern Dance; Morris
Dancing; Salsa; Samba; Scandinavian Dance; Scottish Dance; Square
Dancing; Swing Dancing; Tango; Tap Dance; Vintage Dance; Zydeco.
Tap
Dance Homepage
Contains history, audio files of tap, tap steps, biographies, a
dictionary, notation and more.
What is Morris Dancing?
Explanation, history, and bibliography of Cotswold Morris dancing.
World of Butoh Dance: Japanese Avant-garde Dance
from the 1960s
Resources on the Japanese art of Butoh Dance.
|