-
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
Site contains 137 texts tracing the Southern African American experience of disenfranchisement, segregation, and
bigotry. The texts are mostly books but include a few pamphlets and journal articles. This site is an
continuation of the work started with another Library of Congress collection, "First-Person Narratives of the American
South, 1860-1920." - jz
-
The Holsinger Studio Collection
The Holsinger Studio Collection constitutes a unique photographic record of life in Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, from before the turn of the century through World War I. The collection consists of approximately 9,000 dry-plate glass negatives and 500 celluloid negatives from the commercial studio of Rufus W. Holsinger. Approximately two-thirds of the collection are studio portraits, and among these are nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville and the surrounding area. - site intro
-
America in the 1930s
Digital collection reflecting life in America in a complex decade. Categories include: On Film, In Print, On Display, On the Air, and includes a 1930s TimeLine. From the University of Virginia American Studies program. - mh
-
Frank
M. Hohenberger Photograph Collection
The Hohenberger collection, dating from 1917-1960 and housed in the Lilly Library, consists primarily of photographs by Frank Michael
Hohenberger, 1876-1963, Brown County photographer and newspaperman. The photograph collection totals 8300 prints and 9400 negatives. Also present in the collection is a small amount of correspondence, a lengthy "diary" by Hohenberger describing many of his photographic tours and processes, and copies of his "Down in the Hills O' Brown County" articles. The total collection is just over 18,700 items. - site intro. At Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington.
-
July 1942: United We Stand
During July 1942, seven months after the United States entered World War II, magazines nationwide featured the American flag on their covers. - site intro Requires Flash.
-
Making of America (Cornell site)
Making of America (University of Michigan site)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. - site intro. From two sites, access scanned images of popular
and general interest periodicals, and books and monographs.
-
The Urban Landscape Digital Image Access Project
Images from 14 different collections. From the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University. - mh
Digital Collections: Art

-
Harold Cazneaux - Australian Observer
Cazneaux was the leading exponent in Australia of the school of 'pictorial photography.'
Cazneauz was also a writer, critic and teacher of photographic theory and
technique. - site intro. From the National Library of Australia.
-
Los Angeles Country Museum of Art Collections Online
Collections Online currently contains 42,000 records and 18,000 images of art objects from selected departments, and 150,000 bibliographic records from our non-circulating art research library. Continuously expanding; will include a cross section of the entire collection. - site intro
-
Pictures Catalogue: The National Library of Autstralia's Pictorial Collection
Catalogue contains descriptions of paintings, drawings, prints, photographs and three-dimensional objects held in the Pictorial Collection of the National Library of Australia. The emphasis is on Australian material, with some material relating to New Zealand, Antarctica, Papua New Guinea and the Pacific. The main time period covered is late eighteenth century to the present day. The Collection includes thousands of portraits of significant Australians. - site intro. Images currently available: oil paintings, watercolours, and photographs.
-
Thinker ImageBase
The ImageBase is a searchable image and text database of objects from the collections of the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco (the de Young Museum and the Legion of Honor). Approximately 12,000 artists are represented in the ImageBase. The ImageBase contains images of 75,000+ objects. - site intro
-
Web Gallery of Art
Contains over 9,200 digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1150 and 1800. Searchable by Author, Time when the artist was active, Nationality of the artist, Form, Subject of the picture, Museum or church collection where the artwork is exhibited, Title, or text. Created by Emil Kren and Daniel Marx.
Digital Collections: Asian
& Asian-American

-
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive
(JARDA)
JARDA is a digital "thematic collection" within the California Digital Library's
Online Archive of California (OAC) documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps. Contains a broad range of primary sources to be digitized, including: photographs, documents, manuscripts, paintings, drawings, letters, and oral histories. - site intro
-
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
An ongoing digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics, in all their diversity. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. Its scope is global. From the University of Washington Digital COllections. - site intro
Digital Collections: Business

-
Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. - site intro
-
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
Site contains137 texts tracing the Southern African American experience of disenfranchisement, segregation, and
bigotry. The texts are mostly books but include a few pamphlets and journal articles. This site is an
continuation of the work started with another Library of Congress collection, "First-Person Narratives of the American
South, 1860-1920." - jz
-
Making of America (Cornell site)
Making of America (University of Michigan site)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. - site intro. From two sites, access scanned images of popular
and general interest periodicals, and books and monographs.
-
Sunday School Books: Shaping the Values of Youth in the
Nineteenth Century
Site contains 163 Sunday school books published in the US between 1815 and 1865. The books are from the
collection of Michigan State University Libraries and the Clark Historical Library at Central Michigan
University. - jz
Digital Collections: English/Comparative
Literature

-
Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals. 18th-century journals:
Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the
Royal Society. 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's
Edinburgh Magazine. A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds,
Manchester and Oxford. - mh
Digital Collections: French

Digital Collections: History

-
America in the 1930s
Digital collection reflecting life in America in a complex decade. Categories include: On Film, In Print, On Display, On the Air, and includes a 1930s TimeLine. From the University of Virginia American Studies program. - mh
-
American Memory: Collection Finder
Gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. - site intro.
From the Library of Congress.
-
Chicago Anarchists on Trial: Evidence from the
Haymarket Affair, 1886-1887 The "Haymarket Affair" was a clash between Chicago police and labor protestors
in 1886. This exhibit contains more than 3,800 images of manuscripts, broadsides, photographs, prints, and
artifacts related to the event. The items are owned by the Chicago Historical Society.
-
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
Site contains137 texts tracing the Southern African American experience of disenfranchisement, segregation, and
bigotry. The texts are mostly books but include a few pamphlets and journal articles. This site is an
continuation of the work started with another LOC collection, "First-Person Narratives of the American
South, 1860-1920." - jz
-
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department Database, Northern Arizona University
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department (SCA) houses over 700,000 photographic images. Database includes basic descriptive, biographical and historical information about all of the Cline Library's photographic holdings. - site intro. Some images are digitized here in thumbnail size. Searchable by creator/photographer, word in title, subject, or collection name. Wide variety of
subjects, particularly Americana.
-
Government Publications from WWII
A digital library from Southern Methodist University. Search by title,
author or keyword. - mh
-
The Holsinger Studio Collection
The Holsinger Studio Collection constitutes a unique photographic record of life in Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, from before the turn of the century through World War I. The collection consists of approximately 9,000 dry-plate glass negatives and 500 celluloid negatives from the commercial studio of Rufus W.
Holsinger. Approximately two-thirds of the collection are studio portraits, and among these are nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville and the surrounding area. - site intro
-
Internet Library of Early Journals
A digital library of 18th and 19th Century journals. 18th-century journals:
Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the
Royal Society. 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's
Edinburgh Magazine. A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds,
Manchester and Oxford. - mh
-
July 1942: United We Stand
During July 1942, seven months after the United States entered World War II, magazines nationwide featured the American flag on their covers. - site intro Requires Flash.
-
Making of America (Cornell site)
Making of America (University of Michigan site)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. - site intro. From two sites, access scanned images of popular
and general interest periodicals, and books and monographs.
-
Sunday School Books: Shaping the Values of Youth in the
Nineteenth Century
Site contains 163 Sunday school books published in the US between 1815 and 1865. The books are from the
collection of Michigan State University Libraries and the Clark Historical Library at Central Michigan
University. - jz
-
The Urban Landscape Digital Image Access Project
Images from 14 different collections. From the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University. - mh
Digital Collections: Latin
American Studies

-
Cuban Heritage Digital Collection
Digital collection of materials in the Cuban Heritage Collection of the University of
Miami, Otto G. Richter Library. Includes correspondence, clippings, photographs,
government documents, field notes, letters and more. Each collection is described and
has a finding aid. - mh
Digital Collections: Maps

-
Maps of Scotland 1560-1928
Nearly 800 maps covering the first four centuries of the mapping of Scotland,
including maps of the whole country, county maps, town plans and sea charts. From the
National Library of Scotland. - site intro
-
American Memory: Collection Finder
Gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. - site intro.
From the Library of Congress.
-
Australia's Oral History Collections
Collections document Australian life, customs, politics and traditions and cover a
wide range of subjects, and were collected in the 1980s and 1990s. Searchable by name
of collection or holding institution, subject, geographic regions covered, and
date/decade of recording. - site intro
-
Australian Digitisation Projects
Significant or substantial collections in Australian libraries, including digital
conversion of books, manuscripts, articles, films, unique reference tools, finding aids or indexes, photographs, illustrations, maps, sound recordings, video, and 3D
objects. - site intro
-
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department Database, Northern Arizona University
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department (SCA) houses over 700,000 photographic images. Database includes basic descriptive, biographical and historical information about all of the Cline Library's photographic holdings. - site intro. Some images are digitized here in thumbnail size. Searchable by creator/photographer, word in title, subject, or collection name. Wide variety of
subjects, particularly Americana.
-
Digital
Collections Online (DCO)
Includes information about and links to digital collections worldwide, which range in subject from classic American sheet music and Connecticut history to George Washington's papers at the Library of Congress and Victorian literature. Search the database by keyword, title, subject, or media
type--including image, photograph, sound, text, or video format. Entries are reviewed, selected, and cataloged. Created by librarians at the University of Connecticut Libraries. - site intro
-
Making of America (Cornell site)
Making of America (University of Michigan site)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. - site intro. From two sites, access scanned images of popular
and general interest periodicals, and books and monographs.
-
Other Digital Image Collections
Wide variety of digital image collections found on the Web by UC Berkeley Digital Library
SunSITE. - mh
-
Other Digital Text Collections
Wide variety of text digital collections found on the Web by UC Berkeley Digital Library
SunSITE. - mh
-
Perseus
Digital Library
Greek, Latin, and Archaeology Classics; Papyri; English Renaissance - Shakespeare and
Marlowe; London - the Bolles Collection; California, Upper Midwest, and Chesapeake;
History of Science: Boyly Papers; gems; Photographs of Sicily; 3D Computer Models
and Virtual Reality Presentations; + - mh
SunSITE Digital Collections
Text and digital image collections in a wide variety of topics, including some related to
California. From UC Berkeley. - mh
Digital Collections: Music

Digital Collections: Physics

-
Emilio Segrè Visual Archives
A collection of some 25,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, the Emilio Segrè Visual Archives is part of the Niels Bohr Library of the Center for History of Physics at the American Institute of Physics. The collection focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century, but includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times. - site intro
Digital Collections: Radio,
TV & Film

-
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department Database, Northern Arizona University
Cline Library Special Collections and Archives Department (SCA) houses over 700,000 photographic images. Database includes basic descriptive, biographical and historical information about all of the Cline Library's photographic holdings. - site intro. Some images are digitized here in thumbnail size. Searchable by creator/photographer, word in title, subject, or collection name. Wide variety of
subjects, particularly Americana.
-
Social Issues Collection
Historical images from the Western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. The collection covers political and social topics such as women's issues, labor and government, as well as ethnic groups.
From the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections. - mh
-
Ad*Access
Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. - site intro
-
July 1942: United We Stand
During July 1942, seven months after the United States entered World War II, magazines nationwide featured the American flag on their covers. - site intro Requires Flash.
-
Visitors from
May 20, 2002 to present:
Created: April, 2002 Updated:
11 Mar 2003
|