csuf logo
Pollak Library

Distance Education:
Library Resources & Services
DE Guides by Major
  »Communications

  »Economics
  »Education
  »MSIDT
  »Nursing

CSUF Distance Education

Pollak Library

Remote Access to Library Subscription Resources

How to Connect to the Library's Databases from Home Updated March 12, 2008
Information on username and password needed to access journal article databases.

If you have a problem accessing the Library's databases remotely, contact the Titan Help Desk at 714-278-7777 or contact them via e-mail at helpdesk@fullerton.edu.

Pollak Library has implemented EZ Proxy to provide patrons with the means to connect to subscription resources from off campus. EZ Proxy works with basically any browser and version, does not conflict with most firewalls and requires only a username and login--no configuration on the user's side.

Remote Access to Full-Text Journal Articles  top

A broad array of full-text databases continues to be hailed by distance students as these tools allow users to review, print, and save complete journal articles. Databases such as those below allow students to search for relevant articles and provide immediate electronic access to the item. The recently introduced SFX software allows smart interlinking between our online resources. When using a bibliographic database to identify particular articles, this tool will search across all of the Library's full-text resources to determine whether or not the specific article is available in full text online.

Integrated Online Interlibrary Loan: ILLiad  top

After registering with this free Library service, Distance Education users may request books or journal articles regardless of ownership by Pollak Library. The Library obtains the item either in-house or through national borrowing channels. Articles are typically delivered electronically within 3-5 days and books are delivered to the user's home via postal mail at no charge. The student is responsible for return postage costs.

Virtual Reference Assistance  top

In lieu of the traditional "Reference Desk" interview, users may consult librarians through alternative venues such as telephone reference, e-mail reference, and online chat reference. These methods allow for timely, effective, and personal research assistance.

Connecting From Home: Your Username & Password   top

For information about your username and password, click here.

Library Home Page  top

The Pollak Library Home Page is your gateway to Library services. Explore the links to become familiar with the information and services that are available.

Mission Statement   top

Pollak Library at CSU Fullerton will make every reasonable effort to provide CSUF Distance Education students with services and resources necessary for their academic success in a rapidly evolving information environment.

We are currently engaged in a pilot project designed to provide Library services to Distance Education students.

For the purposes of this project, we define Distance Education students as those students at California State University Fullerton who are enrolled only in CSUF Distance Education classes.

Distance Education classes are those classes that do not require students to attend meetings at CSUF or its satellite locations (including El Toro Campus) on a regular basis.

top

An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This page created by
Rachael Clemens, 2002.
URL of this page:
http://www.library.fullerton.edu/distance/default.htm
Date created: 08/01/02. Updated: 03/12/08 .