csuf logo
Pollak Library

Masters in Instructional Design and Technology
A Guide to Library Resources for MSIDT Students

POLLAK LIBRARY HOME PAGE

POLLAK LIBRARY DISTANCE EDUCATION  GUIDE

MSIDT BLACKBOARD SITE

 

LIBRARY SERVICES FOR MSIDT STUDENTS
bullet Welcome to Pollak Library


CONNECT TO LIBRARY RESOURCES FROM HOME
bullet User Name and Password
bullet Getting Help with Remote Access

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE
bullet MSIDT Librarian
bullet Ask-A-Librarian
 

THE RESEARCH PROCESS: ARTICLES
bullet Education Databases

bullet Information Systems Databases

THE RESEARCH PROCESS: BOOKS
bullet E-
books
bullet Library catalogs

JOURNALS
bullet Finding journals

bullet MSIDT-related journals

ORDERING BOOKS AND ARTICLES (not available electronically)
bullet ILLiad

BORROWING WHEN ON CAMPUS
bullet Check out with Titan Card
bullet  Link+


CITING SOURCES
bullet OWL Purdue Univ. -APA
bullet APAstyle.org
bullet Research and Documentation Online
bullet Online! Citation Styles
bullet Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism

LIBRARY SERVICES FOR MSIDT STUDENTS      top
  • Welcome to Pollak Library! CSUF students enrolled in the MSIDT program have access to Library resources and services including:
  • Access to Electronic Databases for articles and e-books
  • Research Assistance
  • Home Delivery of Books & Articles (ILLiad)
  • Borrowing Privileges when On Campus or at any other CSU library
CONNECT TO LIBRARY RESOURCES FROM HOME    top

To access one of the Library's 150+ electronic databases, you must be authenticated as a CSUF student: 

1. Navigate to the Library's homepage and find the database you wish to search under Find Articles or Find Books.

2.  When you click on a database, you will be prompted to log into the Campus Portal.

Students:  username = Student ID number More Info
                    password = PIN number More Info

Faculty:     username = campus email user name
                    password = campus email password

3.  After you have been authenticated, the system will provide you with a button to click to enter the database.

Note: You may also login to the campus portal directly and then navigate to the library, but you will be asked to log in again when you access the first database.  Your authentication will continue for four hours before you are asked to authenticate yourself again.

If you have a problem accessing the Library's databases remotely, contact the Titan Help Desk at 714-278-7777.

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE   top

 There are many ways to get research help from the library:

  1.  Contact the MSIDT Librarian:

             Dr. Susan Tschabrun
           stschabrun@fullerton.edu
                             
           714-278-7556
                             
 2.  Ask-A-Librarian provides round-the-clock help via 24/7 live chat, telephone, or email assistance.

THE RESEARCH PROCESS: ARTICLES   top

The process for identifying and getting the full text of journal, magazine and newspaper articles is as follows:

1.  Navigate to the library homepage, and click on Databases by Subject or Find Articles.  Scroll down the list of subjects and select MSIDT; then click Go.  Articles useful to MSIDT research are also listed under Education or Information Systems, but you may explore any of the subject areas to find databases.  Some key databases are:

Education:  Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Education Full-Text

Information Systems:  Computer Abstracts International

2.  Using any of the databases, locate articles on your topic.  If there is a link to the full-text of the article, you may download or print out the article directly from the database you are using.

3.  If there is no full-text, click on the SFX link (in the article record)  to get the SFX menu and click on the links provided.  You will recognize SFX when you see or .

If there is a full-text version of the article available at Pollak Library, the SFX menu will provide you with a link directly to the article located in another database.  SFX is a linking technology that allows one database to link directly to articles in other databases licensed by the Pollak Library.

4.  If the the article you are looking for comes from a journal that is owned by the Pollak Library in paper only, or is not owned by the library at all, the SFX menu will provide you with a link to ILLiad so you can order the article. 

   

THE RESEARCH PROCESS: BOOKS    top

To locate books and e-books related to your topic,

1.  Identify a book using the Pollak Library Catalog, the CSU Union Catalog, WorldCat, or any of the library catalogs listed under Find Books located on the library homepage.

2.  If the book is an e-book in the Pollak Library collection, you will be able to read and print out pages of the book online.  If you wish to search the catalog for only e-books or government information available online, search the Pollak Library Catalog and limit the collection to Internet Resources Only.

3.  If you find a book in paper form that you wish to consult, use ILLiad to request the book and we will mail it to you by postal mail.  You will be responsible for buying return postage and returning the book on time.  (Note:  If you are living within easy driving distance of CSUF, it is usually quicker, cheaper and more convenient to check out the books in person.  See Borrowing when on campus)

JOURNALS   top

To locate journals, magazine and newspapers, navigate to the Library home page and click on Find Journals by Title under ResearchType in any journal title to see if it is owned by the library.  You can also click on the By Category tab, and see the journals listed under Information Technology, or Arts and Humanities/Education and Careers.

Here is a far from exhaustive list of MSIDT-related journals:

ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction
American Educational Research Journal (AERJ)
Association for Learning Technology Journal
Chronicle of Higher Education: Academe This Week
Communications of the ACM (CACM)
Computers and Education
Computers and the Humanities
Education and Information Technologies
Education Technology News
Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis (EEPA)
Educational Researcher (ER)
Educational Technology Review 
Educational Theory
Educause Quarterly 
Educause Review
Human-Computer Interaction
Information Technology in Childhood Education Annual (ITCE)   
Information Technology, Learning and Performance Journal
Instructional Science   
International Journal of Computers for Mathematical Learning
International Journal of Educational Research
International Journal of Educational Telecommunications
International Journal of Human-Computer Interaction
International Journal of Human-Computer Studies 
International Journal of Technology and Design Education   
Journal of Adult Development
Journal of Asynchronous Learning Networks
Journal of College Reading and Learning
Journal of Computers in Mathematics and Science Teaching (JCMST)
Journal of Computing in Higher Education
Journal of Computing in Teacher Education
Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics (JEBS)
Journal of Educational Computing Research
Journal of Educational Multimedia and Hypermedia (JEMH)
Journal of Educational Research
Journal of Educational Technology Systems
Journal of General Education
Journal of Instruction Delivery Systems
Journal of Interactive Instruction Development
Journal of Interactive Learning Research (JILR)
Journal of Research on Computing in Education
Journal of Research on Technology in Education
Journal of Technology and Teacher Education
Journal of Technology Education
Learning & Leading With Technology
Learning Environments Research
Library Trends
Review of Educational Research
T H E Journal: technological horizons in education
Technos: Quarterly for Education and Technology
TechTrends
The Journal of The Learning Sciences
User Modeling and User-Adapted Interaction  
WebNet Journal: Internet Technologies, Applications & Issues

 

ORDERING BOOKS AND ARTICLES NOT AVAILABLE ELECTRONICALLY  top

If the material you want is not available electronically through a Pollak Library database or electronic subscription (under Find Articles or Find Books), you may request books and copies of articles using ILLiad.  Books are delivered to your mailing address.  Articles are sent to you electronically through your ILLiad account.  You are responsible for paying return postage on books, but articles you may keep.

To use Illiad, you must first register:

  1. Access ILLiad from the Quick Links menu on the Library home page.
  2. Click on First Time Users to register. 
  3. In the online profile form, be sure to include your correct email and mailing address (only distance students are eligible for home delivery). 
  4. Choose a Department = MSIDT: Distance Education
  5. Pick-up Location = Distance Education only
  6. Select a user name and password--be sure to write this down as you will use it every time you access ILLiad.
  7. Once you are registered, you may submit your requests by logging in with your user name and password.
  8. Plan ahead--most requests are filled within a week, but it sometimes takes longer.
BORROWING WHEN ON CAMPUS  top

If you live within driving distance of the Pollak Library, it is sometimes quicker to get materials that are not available electronically by coming to the library.

  • Books owned by the library (or any other CSU library) may be checked out using your Titan card
  • Articles may be photocopied from the paper journal collection on the 2nd floor north of the library.
  • Books may be ordered through Link+, with pick up at the Circulation Desk at the Pollak Library.
CITING SOURCES    top

Here are some helpful guides for citing your sources correctly in APA format and avoiding plagiarism:

    top

An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2004 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Send questions or comments about the resources listed on this page to Susan Tschabrun.
This page compiled by Catherine Kaye, Government Documents Section.
URL of this page:
Date created: 01/13/2004. Updated: 08/24/07 .