.

As a CSUF-HKU SPACE M.A. Communications student, you may use a combination
of both the HKU and CSUF libraries:
HKU Library
- Remote access to the library's online
catalogue (http://library.hku.hk/)
- Use of the library's databases
(in-person only; no remote access)
- In-person/phone/email/chat Librarian
Reference assistance
- In-person viewing/photocopying of books
& journals (no checkout)
CSUF Library
- Remote Access to the library's online
catalog
(http://opac.fullerton.edu)
- Remote Access to the library's databases
(many with full-text articles, instantly)
- Email/chat Librarian Reference
assistance
HOW TO CONNECT TO THE CSUF
LIBRARY'S DATABASES FROM HOME
Any person, worldwide, may remotely
access the CSUF library's online catalog, but remote access to the CSUF library's databases
is restricted to students/faculty only; therefore, you will be asked for a
username/password to access the databases. Follow these 5 easy
steps:
| 1. Go to CSUF's
Library Web page: http://www.library.fullerton.edu.
Under the Quick Links (left side), click on "Databases A-Z" if you already
know a specific database, or "Databases by Subject" for a a list of Comm-related
databases. |
 |
| |
|
2. Upon trying
to enter any of the databases, you will be transferred
the Portal Logon screen. Type in:
-
Your username.
This is a nine-digit student ID number that was assigned to you when you
enrolled in the M.A.-Communications program (example:
123-45-6789).
- Your
password (or P.I.N.--Personal Identification Number). This is a six-digit password number that
was also assigned to you when you enrolled in the M.A.-Communications program
(example: 12356).
NOTE: If you do not know
either your username or password, contact the HKU SPACE office to obtain them. |
 |
| |
|
| 3. If it is
your first time logging in with your your student ID and P.I.N, you will
be transferred to a "customization" page, for you to create a more
customized username & password. This is for your security, so
please do it (and its required). Your customized username will
also serve as your CSUF email (for example, iamcool@csu.fullerton.edu).
Remember to write down what you have created so you don't
forget...because you will use your newly-customized username & password
for all your future log-in's. |
 |
| |
|
| 4. After
completing the log-in procedure, you will then be transferred back to
the library databases page. You may then enter the databases from
either the the "A-Z" list or the "by Subject" list. |
 |
| |
|
5.
For example, if you clicked on the Communication & Mass
Media Complete database, you would now be in, and your screen would
look like this -->
|
 |
Troubleshooting
If after following the above 5 steps you
still have trouble entering the databases, you may email the CSUF
Communications Librarian and
describe the problem. You will get a response within a day or two.
Librarians at both
universities are available to assist you with reference or research
questions.
HKU Library
CSUF Library
- The
CSUF
Library Home Page
is the gateway to CSUF Library
services. Explore the links to become familiar with the information and
services that are available.
SEARCHING
- Any person, worldwide, is welcome to
access the CSUF Library's
online catalog.
- You can search by random
KEYWORD
(examples: publicity, television violence, corporate communications, etc.)
Or search by formal SUBJECT terms (examples: Public Relations, Advertising, Mass Communications, etc.)
BORROWING BOOKS
- Due to the costs and delays of shipping
internationally, books in the CSUF Library are not available to be sent to
Hong Kong. If you find a book in the CSUF Library catalog that you
want, you should check HKU Library's
catalogue
to see if it is owned in the HKU library. If so, you may, as a HKU-SPACE
student, read
(although not check-out) the book there.
The CSUF Library subscribes to over 100
article databases. You may access them by following the 4 steps noted
above.
In many of the databases, you will find
articles that are instantly full-text. However, sometimes you will
only find an abstract. If this occurs, simply click the little icon
labeled "S.F.X." ( )
and a new window will pop-up, providing you links to other CSUF Library
databases that have the full-text. This is successful most of the
time...but please note that sometimes the full-text is simply not
available electronically. If this is the case, you will need to check
the HKU Library's online
catalogue to see if the HKU Library has
a paper (hard) copy of the journal with your article. If they do, you
may read or photocopy it there. Like books, the CSUF library cannot
scan or ship its hardcopy journals to you.
- To see a list of
electronic journals with full-text: Go to the
CSUF Library Home Page.
At the top of the "Find Articles & More" page, click on
Pollak Library Journal
Titles.
Search this list to find out which other databases provide full-text to
the specific journal containing your article.
The CSUF Communications Librarian has
prepared a special
guide--to
help with research--specifically for Communications students.
|