.
Welcome
to Pollak Library! CSUF students
enrolled in Distance Education courses have access to Library resources and
services including:
- Access to Electronic Databases for
articles and e-books
- Research Assistance
- Home Delivery of Books & Articles
(ILLiad)
- Borrowing Privileges when On Campus or
at any other CSU library
How to Connect to the Library's Databases from Home
Updated March 12, 2008
Information on username and password needed to access journal article
databases.
If you have a problem accessing the
Library's databases remotely, contact the Titan Help Desk at
714-278-7777 or contact them
via e-mail at
helpdesk@fullerton.edu.
-
Telephone Reference -
714-278-3284
To talk with a Reference Librarian, call during
Reference Desk hours. Please note that this is for quick questions only and
that priority is given to those physically present in the library—telephone
patrons may have to wait until a librarian is free to answer a question.
.
-
AskRef
If you have a research question and can wait 24 hours for a response,
at the library home page go to
Ask A Librarian, click on
Email Reference, and fill out the online
form.
.
-
Research
Consultation Request
If you have a research
question and can wait 7 days for an answer,
at the library home page go to
Ask A Librarian, click on
Research Consultations
and fill out the online
form You will be contacted within 3 days and an appointment
will be scheduled for you within 7 days to work one-on-one with a
librarian. If you cannot come to the Fullerton campus, please indicate this
on the request form and a librarian will work with you via email.
.
-
Chat
Reference
Chat reference is available to CSUF students, faculty, and staff. At the
library home page go to
Ask A Librarian and click on
24/7 Chat Reference. You will be able
to chat in real time with a librarian online. Although CSUF librarians
participate, your question will probably be answered by a librarian from
another CSU library or out-of state academic library.
Go to
Library
Home Page
The Library
Home Page is your gateway to Library services. Explore the links to
become familiar with the information and services that are available.
To find books in Pollak Library,
search the Library Catalog. You can search by title, author, subject,
keyword, call number, and additional options.
Connect to
the
Library Catalog.
Tip: Before searching the
Library Catalog for the first time, see Search Tips below.
Search
Tips
- Start with a
keyword
search rather than a subject
search. For example, search Keyword: math anxiety.
- To sort the titles so that the most
recent books are at the top of the results:
While viewing a list of records,
click on Limit/Sort. Then click on
Sort Results by Year and
then Limit/Sort. .
- To narrow your search
results by an additional term:
While viewing a list of records,
click on Limit/Sort.
Then click on the down arrow next to
Words
in the Author to see what additional terms can be added to your
original search. .
- On the catalog record,
note the following fields:
- Imprint:
date the book was published
- Descript:
number of pages in
the book
- Subject:
describes the subject content of the book
- Notes:
additional
descriptive information
- Contents:
additional descriptive
information
Check Your Circulation Record
If you live at a distance from CSU
Fullerton, consider using resources at other libraries.
- To find libraries
with reciprocal lending agreements with CSUF: At the Library Home Page,
click on
Borrowing & Reserves
and then Reciprocal Borrowing.
-
LibWeb—This web
site helps you find a library near you.
- Other
Libraries & Library Online Catalogs: At the Library Home Page,
click on
Find Books
and then Other Library Catalogs.
If you live in Long Beach, for example,
you can search CSU Long Beach's catalog.

The process for identifying and getting
the full text of journal, magazine and newspaper articles is as follows:
1. Navigate to the
Library Home Page. Under
RESEARCH, click on
Find Articles. Select the subject Education and then
click on the name of a database. Some key databases are: Academic Search
Premier, ERIC, Education Abstracts. See information on specific information
immediately following.
2. Search the databases to retrieve
articles on your topic.
3.
If there is a link to the full text of the
article, you may download or print out the article directly from the
database you are using.
4. If there is no full text link,
click on the SFX link—
or —in
the article record to get the SFX menu. The SFX menu will provide links to
databases having full text if available, or to the Library Catalog record if
we own the journal in print, or to
ILLiad
(Interlibrary Loan) so that you can request it from another library.
 If
you have a citation to an article and need to find the full text, the
following information explains how to obtain an electronic or print
version of the article.
To
determine if a journal is available
electronically or in print in Pollak Library:
- At the Library Home Page,
click on Find Journals by Title.
- In the search box, type the title of
the journal.
- The results screen will indicate if
the journal is available online, in print, or both.
- If the article is available
electronically: the name(s) of databases will be listed. Click on
the database name to go to the database.
- If the article is available in
print: the journal title, call number, and the years that Pollak
Library owns will be listed. Write down the LOCATION and CALL NUMBER.
Go to the 2nd Floor North to retrieve the article from the shelves.
- If the journal is not available
in any format: there will be an option to request the article from
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan).
Home delivery of
books and journal articles unavailable through our licensed databases, but
available in our print collection, can be requested by Distance Education
students through ILLiad.
Note:
Allow two weeks for delivery.
Pollak
Library
owns copies of theses written by CSUF students.
To view a list of
CSUF theses from the CSUF Department of Education, search OPAC
by TITLE:
OPAC TITLE:
thesis education csuf
To sort the titles by
date: While viewing the list of titles, click on Limit/Sort, and
then select Sort by Year:
Note: All CSUF
theses are shelved on 5th Floor South and all have call numbers
beginning LD729.
Full-text
newspaper and magazine articles (these will not necessarily be
scholarly but can be useful secondary sources) are available in the
following databases.
Access these databases from
Library Home Page >>
Databases
A-Z
-
ProQuest
Newsstand
- Easiest to use.
- To search both
newspapers and magazines at the same time, in the upper left corner of
screen click on Collections and then select Search All
Collections.
- Academic Search Premier
- OmniFile
-
Factiva
-
LexisNexis
- Start with a keywords
search and note the subject terms or descriptors. Then do
another search using those subject terms or descriptors.
- When you find a good
article or book, check the references at the end for additional
sources.
- After logging onto a
database, click on HELP and read the instructions for Basic
Searches and Advanced Searches.
- If you keep finding
citations for articles in journals that CSUF does not own,
try using full-text databases such as Academic Search Premier,
OmniFile, Wiley Interscience, Science Direct, Factiva, LexisNexis. Access these databases
from Library Home Page
>> Databases A-Z.
- When viewing an HTML
file, use your browser's EDIT/Find command to quickly locate a
keyword in the document.
- When viewing a PDF
file, use Adobe's FIND command - BINOCULARS ICON in Adobe
Menu Bar - to quickly locate a keyword in the document.
- When viewing a PDF file,
click and drag on right scroll bar to see how many pages there are
in the document and to quickly go to a specific page.
- While searching in a
subscription database (ERIC, PsycINFO), click on the HELP icon for
information on constructing effective searches
- To open a New Window
(in Internet Explorer or Netscape):
File - New - Window
- To E-mail an article
when database does not have an e-mail feature:
- Open a new window [CTRL-N].
- Open your e-mail account
in this new window.
- Create a message
addressed to yourself.
- Go back to the database
window (in Internet Explorer, click on it in the taskbar at the bottom
of the screen), and EDIT/Select All of the text in the article,
including the bibliographic information. Click on EDIT/Copy.
- Go back to the e-mail
window (in Internet Explorer, click on the taskbar button at the bottom
of the screen) and EDIT/Paste into the e-mail message.
- Type the name of the
database in your e-mail message so that you know the source of the
article when you are citing references in your paper. SEND.
The
following are Internet resources freely available to the general public.
|