| |
California Legislative Hearings
If You Have A Bill Number
If You Have A Code Section
Legislative Intent California Assembly Resources:
Bills & Official Publications (Bills, Assembly Journals, Daily
Histories, Statutes)
Guide to Legislative Research
Related CSUF Research Guide:
California Bills
Additional Guides:
California Legislative History Research Guide [LA County Law Library]
California Legislative
Hearings
top
To find California
legislative hearings owned by Pollak Library, search the Library
Catalog using the following sample searches as examples. It is
important to note that not all California hearings are printed and are
therefore not available in Pollak Library.
KEYWORD:
california hearing*
KEYWORD:
california hearing* child abuse
The results list
will include both California and U.S. hearings. To limit to California
only, next click on Limit/Sort and search by AUTHOR:
california.
To limit by year
of publication, click on
Limit/Sort and and then select Sort results by year and
enter years of your choice.
If You Have A
Bill Number
top
Internet Resources
Official
California Legislative Information (1993-current date)
- California
Assembly and Senate Bills, 1993-current date.
- Full text of
bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments.
- Status, history,
votes, analyses, and veto messages.
-
Legislative Counsel's Digest
appears at the head of the bill. This is a summary of the bill's
intent.
- If you know the
bill number, select the session and House of origin and type the
bill number in the search box.
- If you do not
know the bill number, select the session and House of origin and
then type the keywords and/or author(s).
-
Legislative Index is available from this site to allow searching
by subject or keyword. Also available in print 1973-current date:
REFERENCE KFC14
.C35 CATALOG
RECORD
Print Sources
top
-
Summary Digest (REFERENCE
KFC38 .C34 )
CATALOG RECORD
Note: The Summary Digest is also bound into
Statutes and Amendments to the Code
(REFERENCE
KFC25 .A213 )
CATALOG RECORD ,
in the last volume for the year, in a section following the codes.
- Go to the CROSS
REFERENCE TABLES (they appear in the last volume for the year,
following the summaries), look up the bill number, and write down
the chapter number.
- Go to the
SUMMARY DIGEST section and look up that chapter number. Here you
will find the author, relevant sections of the code, and a summary
of the statute. Now that you have a code section, follow
instructions below for
If
You Have A Code Section.
- SUBJECT INDEX
facilitates finding bills by subject terms.
-
Legislative Index and Table
of Sections Affected (1973-current date) REFERENCE
KFC14 .C35 CATALOG
RECORD. Search by subject or
keyword.
If You Have A Code Section
top
Online
LexisNexis
Academic
[CSUF
only]
-
LexisNexis
Academic
- Legal Research
- State Codes
- California
- More Options
- Search for Cite
[Example, type: 1797.188]
- Scroll to the end
of the section of the code. Following is an example of the
information on the legislative history of this section that is
available here:
HISTORY: Added Stats 1986
ch 999 § 1. Amended Stats 1988 ch 260 sec 2.
AMENDMENTS: 1988 Amendment: Substituted (1) subd (a)(1) for
former subd (a)(1) which read: "(1) 'Emergency medical technician'
….
COLLATERAL REFERENCES:
LAW REVIEW ARTICLES: Review of 1986 Legislation. 18 Pacific
LJ 669 (1987).
Print
top
- Go to
West's Annotated California Codes
(REFERENCE KFC 30.5 .W4)
CATALOG RECORD.
- Look up the code
section. The chapter number and relevant legislation will be cited at
the end of the code section. Write this down. For example, at the end
of Health & Safety Code 1797.188 is the note "Added by Stats 1986 c
999 sect.1" - this means you will find the final text of the act as
passed by going to Statutes and Amendments to
the Codes for 1986, chapter 999 sect.1.
- Shepardize the code
section for further appellate cases and law review articles that may
discuss intent. To Shepardize, go to
Shepard's California Citations: Statutes (REFERENCE KFC
39 S54s)
CATALOG RECORD
and look up the statute.
- Look at the statute
as it appears in Statutes and Amendments
to the Codes (REFERENCE
KFC25 .A213 )
CATALOG RECORD
to compare it with the codified
version in West's (REFERENCE KFC 30.5 .W4).
- Use the chapter
number (999) to find the bill number by looking in the
Summary Digest (the
Summary Digest is included as a
section in Statutes And Amendments To The
Code (REFERENCE
KFC25 .A213 )
CATALOG RECORD,
following the codes). The Summary Digest
also is published separately (REFERENCE
KFC38 .C34 )
CATALOG RECORD.
The Summary Digest of Chapter 999
is given as SB 1518.
- For bills
1993-date, go to the web site
Official California Legislative Information—www.leginfo.ca.gov—and
search by bill number (SB 1518). View text of the bill. At the head of
the bill is the Legislative Council's Digest,
which is a summary of the bill's intent.
- Go to
Assembly Final History (REFERENCE
JK8778 H5 )
CATALOG RECORD
—(CSUF
owns 1973-date) or Senate Final History
(REFERENCE
JK8776 H5 )
CATALOG RECORD—(CSUF
owns 1973-date). For the above example, go to the Senate volume for
1986 and look up the bill number (SB 1518).
This will tell you what committees reviewed the bill and if there were
any hearings or reports. It also gives the dates of each action. Often
the hearings and reports are not published, but do check. To check if
they have been published, go to California
State Publications (DOCS/STATE
CALIF L575 P94 )
CATALOG RECORD
(CSUF owns 1964-date).
- You can also check
the dates in the Journal of the Assembly
(REFERENCE JK8778
J7)
CATALOG RECORD—or
Journal of the Senate (REFERENCE
JK8776 J7)
CATALOG RECORD.
These journals usually list only what took place on a specific date
but may contain a letter from a legislator or some other valuable
information. For the above example, go to the Senate volume for 1986
and search by date or go to the INDEX and look up the bill
number (SB 1518).
- Secondary
Sources:
LexisNexis,
ProQuest Newspapers, and
Factiva,
are full-text subscription databases that may have newspaper and
journal articles about legislation.
California Journal is included full-text in Lexis-Nexis. California Journal is
also available in print: PERIODICALS JK 8701 .C33 (CSUF owns
1970-date).
-
Personal Contact. Contact a committee
or committee members to inquire about the existence or availability of
other materials. For Committee lists, go to the
California State Assembly web site at
www.assembly.ca.gov/ or the California State
Senate web site at
www.sen.ca.gov/.
-
California State Archives collects
materials and makes them accessible to the public. They maintain the
governor's chaptered bill file from 1943-1967 and 1975-date. They also
collect materials from sponsors and committees. Researchers can view
the materials at the Archives in Sacramento or the staff may photocopy
and mail items for a fee. The Archives can be contacted at
916-653-7715. Or visit their web site at
www.ss.ca.gov/archives/archives.htm.
Legislative Intent
top
For an
examination of California legislative intent research see:
Chapter 4, Legislative Intent, in Henke’s California Law Guide,
6th ed. (Reference KFC74
.H46 2002),
pages 63-121.
|