csuf logo
Pollak Library

City Government & Urban Development: China and California
A Pollak Library Research Guide
Last updated: June 4, 2002
CITY COUNTY REGIONAL & UNIVERSITY STATE & FEDERAL CHINA & URBAN DEVELOPMENT CSUF DATABASES
(Journals)
BOOKS & DOCUMENTS
Carol Bednar
Government Documents Librarian
.
Jie Tian
Reference Librarian

Rachael Clemens

Reference Librarian
.
.
WELCOME to Visiting Chinese Government Officials and Faculty from Renmin University and Tsinghua University!

This research guide provides information about resources available to CSUF students and faculty researching local governments and urban development. Information for city, county, regional, state, federal, and international levels is available in these resources.

The guide provides links to information that is freely available to the general public from government and non-profit organizations' Web sites. In addition, it provides links to CSUF subscription databases that include full-text articles from major newspapers and journals.

CITY INFORMATION     Top of Page

Official City Web Sites - Local Area

California Cities Online— All California Cities
Searchable database of information by city and county. To view a list of all cities in California, select City and then click on DISPLAY.
 
Official City Web Sites— All California Cities & Other States & Countries
This site provides links to official web sites for cities throughout the United States (and other countries). It is very commercial but by selecting a state and then a city you will eventually see a link to the Official Web Site of each city.
 
League of California Cities
The League of California Cities is an association of California city officials who work together to enhance their knowledge and skills, exchange information, and combine resources so that they may influence policy decisions that affect cities.
 
Cities and Growth in California: Just the Facts (April 2002) [Public Policy Institute of California] - PDF-2 pages
Brief statistical overview of California cities in general.
 
Demographic Profiles from Census 2000— All U.S. Cities
Select a state and then a county, city, or congressional district (for a congressional district, type only the district number in the search box). Four-page statistical report for each geographic area giving population by age, sex, detailed race, and Hispanic origin. Also households, educational attainment, marital status, grandparents as caregivers, disability status, place of birth, language spoken at home, ancestry, employment status, commute to work, occupation by broad category, industry, income, poverty level, housing characteristics, monthly owner costs, rental costs, and more.
COUNTY INFORMATION     Top of Page
Orange County Official Web Page
Agency List
Housing & Community Development
 
Los Angeles County Official Web Page
Links to Commissions and Committees, county departments, county code, and more.
 
Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation
The LAEDC is a private, non-profit organization established in 1981 with the mission to attract, retain, and develop businesses and jobs in the Los Angeles region.
 
San Diego County Official Web Page
Departments & Services
Links to Community Services Groups, Financial/General Government, Health & Human Services, Land Use, and Public Safety information. Also Organizational Chart.
 
California Institute for County Government
Reports of special note:
     bullet The New California Dream: Regional Solutions for 21st Century Challenges - PDF-28 pages
     bullet Analysis of Regional Revenue Restructuring Proposals - PDF-20 pages
     bullet County Profiles 2001

"The California Institute for County Government (CICG) is a nonpartisan public policy research organization dedicated to improving county government in California. CICG is a joint program of the California State Association of Counties (CSAC), the California State University system, and the California State University, Sacramento (CSUS). CICG conducts empirical research projects in a broad range of areas relevant to county government in California. The institute also maintains a database of local government financial statistics, which provides researchers, county officials, and state-level policy makers with access to accurate, reliable data for use in research, public policy analysis, and decision making." -Excerpt from home page.

CSUF Guide: California, State, & Local Information
Links to web sites providing demographic, economic, education, and legal information.
REGIONAL & UNIVERSITY RESEARCH INFORMATION     Top of Page
Southern California Association of Governments [SCAG]
As the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization for six counties (Los Angeles, Orange, San Bernardino, Riverside, Ventura and Imperial), the Association of Governments is mandated by the federal government to research and draw up plans for transportation, growth management, hazardous waste management, and air quality.
Metropolitan Growth Planning in California, 1900-2000 (2002) [PPIC] new
For collaborative planning to be successful, state government will have to assume a more active role in mandating and supporting cooperation among localities.
 
Urban Institute
Topics List
Advanced Search: Scroll to bottom of screen and select STATE: California and then SEARCH. This will retrieve reports on California.
 
"The Urban Institute is a nonprofit nonpartisan policy research and educational organization established to examine the social, economic, and governance problems facing the nation. It provides information and analysis to public and private decision makers to help them address these challenges and strives to raise citizen understanding of these issues and tradeoffs in policy making." -Excerpt from home page.
 
UCI Department of Urban & Regional Planning
Click on Research & Practice for information about working papers and research issues.
USC School of Policy, Planning, and Development
See Research for recent studies.
 
UC Berkeley Institute of Government Studies
Ongoing research focuses on such issues as the history of American political institutions, reapportionment in theory and practice, racial and ethnic politics in California, political regulation and campaign finance, immigration and citizenship, and institutional reform.
 
UC Berkeley Institute of Urban & Regional Development
The Institute conducts research into processes of urban and regional growth and decline, and effects of governing policies on the patterns and processes of urban and regional growth and decline.
STATE & FEDERAL INFORMATION     Top of Page
California Official Web Page
Agency Index
Housing & Community Development
 
California's Infrastructure Policy for the 21st Century: Issues and Opportunities Research brief (PDF) | Full text of report (PDF)
"Although California will need to invest an estimated $82 billion in its infrastructure over the next decade, projected state and local revenue sources will meet only half of this need. This report offers market-oriented solutions to this problem. Policymakers are urged to concentrate on management rather than the direct provision of infrastructure; to prioritize needs by focusing on how much the public is willing to pay for them; and to manage demand in such areas as energy, transportation, and water supply. Even as the state fosters demand-oriented competition, however, it must ensure that all households and businesses have access to high-quality infrastructure services at fair prices." -Excerpt
 
Metropolitan Growth Planning in California, 1900-2000
Research brief (PDF) | Full text of report (PDF)
This report "traces the history of regional planning and growth management in California.  Focusing on transportation, land use, and environmental planning, Barbour divides the state’s reform efforts into three distinct waves: the consolidation of planning activities under central city governments; the fragmentation of those activities during post-World War II suburbanization; and recent attempts to reintegrate them without changing the fundamental structures of political authority.  Barbour also assesses the state’s current prospects for growth management at the regional level." -Excerpt
 
Now is the Time: Places Left Behind in the New Economy
Report from the U.S. Department of Housing (HUD) on the state of communities still struggling during the Nation's economic recovery.
 
CalWorks [Welfare]
CalWORKS provides temporary financial assistance and employment-focused services to families with minor children who have income and property below State maximum limits for their family size.
California Research Bureau
CRB provides nonpartisan, confidential research to the Governor's Office.
 
SAMPLE SEARCH: local government
 
Report of special note: Evaluation of California's Enterprise Zones (2001) - PDF-45 pages
 
California Legislative Analyst's Office

Sample Search: transportation and "urban development"

California Senate Office of Research
The Senate Office of Research develops public policy initiatives for the California Senate. It conducts strategic policy planning and evaluates policy initiatives from sources both inside and outside government. This bipartisan office of public-policy specialists assists members, committees and commissions of the California Senate in bringing ideas to enactment, improving government effectiveness, and providing the public with an understanding of state issues.
 
Public Policy Institute of California
Reports of special note:
PPIC Statewide Surveys (links to full-text surveys on public policies)
Just the Facts (links to full-text reports)

"The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. It focuses on three program areas: population, economy, and governance and public finance. Studies examine the underlying forces shaping California's future, cutting across a wide range of public policy concerns: the California economy, education, employment and income, immigration, infrastructure and urban growth, poverty and welfare, state and local finance, and the well-being of children and families. -Excerpt from home page.

Center for California Studies     Top of Page
The Center for California Studies is a public service, educational support, and applied research institute of California State University, Sacramento. It is dedicated to promoting a better understanding of California's government, politics, peoples, cultures and history.
 
California Planning & Development  Report     Top of Page
This is a commercial web site. Excerpt from it's home page: "For more than a decade, CP&DR has been a unique institution - a monthly newsletter that serves the California planning and development community by providing comprehensive and up-to-date information in an impartial way using the highest journalistic standards. Almost all of CP&DR's editorial material is prepared by professional journalists with special knowledge in planning and development."
 
Surface Transportation Policy Project [STPP]     Top of Page
STPP is a non-profit organization working to ensure a diversified transportation system. Links to full-text reports on transportation issues.
 
STPP California [Surface Transportation Policy Project]     Top of Page
Reports on California traffic congestion, public transit, streets and highways, funding, and more.
 
Rebuilding the Dream: Solving California's Affordable Housing Crisis (2002)
Discussion with charts and statistics. 20 pages. From the Little Hoover Commission.
 
Ten Years of Progress: Building Better Communities Through Transportation [Surface Transportation Policy Project]
Report on how transportation is changing America and where transportation is creating better communities.
Urban Transportation Planning in the United States: An Historical Overview
The Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1962 created the federal mandate for urban transportation planning in the United States. The 1962 Act combined with the incentive of 90 percent federal funding for Interstate highway projects caused urban transportation planning to spread quickly throughout the United States. This report is an overview of its impact in the United States and also on urban transportation planning in other parts of the world.
 
Urban Research Monitor
This journal helps researchers, policymakers, academicians, and other professionals keep current with issues on housing and community development. Each issue contains a listing of new research, listed by subject from Affordable Housing to Zoning, including recent books, articles, reports, dissertations, and other publications, and gives information on where to find them. Each issue also features an essay exploring a current policy debate in the field. The September/October 2001 issue examines "Model Local Strategies Help Low-Income, Minority, and Immigrant Households Become Homeowners." The July/August 2001 issue examines "Revitalizing Inner-City Neighborhoods."
 
HUD Publications: Urban Affairs & Planning
Links to full text reports on urban development and related topics (affordable housing, community development, poverty and homelessness, and more).
CSUF Guide: California, State, & Local Information
Links to web sites providing demographic, economic, education, and legal information.
 
CSUF Guide: California Demographics
Links to an extensive list of books and web sites with statistics and discussion about California demographics.
World Bank: Urban Development Publications
Links to full text reports on urban development around the world.
 
Urban Development Program in China [World Bank] PDF-3 pages
World Bank analysis of China's transition to an urban future.
 
Asian Development Bank
ADB is a multilateral development finance institution dedicated to reducing poverty in Asia and the Pacific.
 
Sections of special note:
People's Republic of China - see list of reports in right frame
Publications: Governance
 
Emerging World Cities in Pacific Asia [Chinese University of Hong Kong]
Scroll down to see chapters on Globalization and the Urban System in Taiwan and Globalization and the Urban System in China.
 
Making Cities Work: Urban Policy and Infrastructure in the 21st Century [ADB]
Online edition is available free of charge. Scroll down to list of Theme Papers and City Papers with links to full text.
 
Tale of Two Sustainable Cities in China Soon To Unfold [UNEP]
UNEP analysis of environmental issues during industrialization.
Urban Partnership: Case of the Garment Industry in Shenzhen City, China (2000) PDF-36 pages
World Bank Background Series report.
China: A Country Study [Library of Congress]
This 1987 edition discusses historical, political, social, and economic issues. At the main screen, in the search box type urban development to find sections that discuss this topic.
 
Country Information: A Pollak Library Research Guide
In left frame, click on ASIA. This is a list of books and government documents in the CSUF Library on social and economic conditions in Asian countries.
CSUF DATABASES—Journals & Newspaper Articles     Top of Page

The following subscription databases are available only to CSUF students, faculty, and staff. The databases can be accessed on CSUF campus computers. To access the databases, start at the Library's Home Page and click on Databases A-Z.


CQ Researcher - Full Text

This journal explores issues of current interest each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology. Reports are objective and balanced and feature comments from experts, lawmakers, and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- are given for each report.

 
QUICK SEARCH Examples:
     urban development
     urban planning
     cities and transportation
     government services
     welfare reform
     public administration and urban development
     public safety    
 

ABI/INFORM—Full Text
Full-text journal articles, including many international business journals.

SAMPLE SEARCH:

ALL BASIC SEARCH FIELDS   china       
AND                   
ALL BASIC SEARCH FIELDS   urbanization   
 
NOTE: To include newspapers in your search (in addition to journals), in top left corner of screen click on COLLECTIONS then select Search All Collections then click on Continue.

PROJECT MUSE— Full Text

Full-text articles from 160 scholarly journals in the fields of American Studies, Asian Studies, political science, and sociology.

SAMPLE SEARCH:

NOTE: AT LOGON SCREEN, click on SEARCH (in left frame).
ALL FIELDS   china and urban development


EMERALD FULLTEXT— Full Text

Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the fields of business and management.

SAMPLE SEARCH:

ALL HEADER FIELDS    china and urban development


SCIENCE DIRECT— Full Text

Full-text articles from scholarly journals in business, economics, social sciences, and environmental science.

SAMPLE SEARCH:

NOTE: AT LOGON SCREEN, click on SEARCH in green box at top of the screen.

ABSTRACT        china                            
ABSTRACT        urban development    
NOTE: Uncheck ABSTRACTS and REFERENCE (this limits the results to full text)
SEARCH


JSTOR— Full Text

Full-text scholarly journals in all disciplines.

SAMPLE SEARCH:

TITLE              china
FULL TEXT        cities
FULL TEXT        development
SELECT JOURNALS:
Asian Studies
Economics
Political Science
Sociology
LIMIT BY DATE: 1992-2002
SEARCH

LexisNexis— Full Text

Full-text newspaper and journal articles, including international sources.

SAMPLE SEARCH #1:

NEWS
GENERAL NEWS
KEYWORD:                 china and urban development
ADDITIONAL TERMS:   atleast3(china) and urban development
SOURCE:                   Major newspapers
DATE:                       Previous 2 years

NOTE: After viewing articles, click on EDIT SEARCH and select SOURCE: Magazines & Journals to search journals.

SAMPLE SEARCH #2 (finds editorials on urban development):

NEWS
GENERAL NEWS
KEYWORD:                 city government and urban!
ADDITIONAL TERMS:   (california or china) and section(editorial)
SOURCE:                   Major newspapers
DATE:                       Previous 2 years

TIP: Click on EXPANDED LIST to quickly see the number of occurrences of your search terms in each article.


RAND CaliforniaFull Text

Sections of special interest:
What's New
- Links to full-text, recent reports.

Community Statistics - Crime, air quality, housing prices, traffic congestion.

Government Finance Statistics - Federal, state, county, and city statistics.


PAIS International—Abstracts

Citations to articles in scholarly journals (no full text). NOTE: CSUF does not own all journals that are cited in this index.

SAMPLE SEARCHES:

SUBJECT PHRASE            redevelopment, urban       
SUBJECT PHRASE            china, people's republic       
LIMIT AVAILABILITY to items in my library

SUBJECT PHRASE            urban policy               
SUBJECT PHRASE            china, people's republic   
LIMIT AVAILABILITY to items in my library

SUBJECT PHRASE           cities and towns               
SUBJECT PHRASE            growth                       
SUBJECT PHRASE            china, people's republic   
LIMIT AVAILABILITY to items in my library

SOCIAL SCIENCES ABSTRACTS— Abstracts

Citations and abstracts from 500 scholarly sources in economics, political science, public welfare, and sociology, 1983-current date. No full text. NOTE: CSUF does not own all journals that are cited in this index.

SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS—Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from 1500 scholarly journals, 1963-current date. No full text. NOTE: CSUF does not own all journals that are cited in this index.

SAMPLE SEARCH #1:

KEYWORD                          china
DESCRIPTORS PHRASE      urban development

SAMPLE SEARCH #2:

KEYWORD                         california
DESCRIPTORS PHRASE    urban development

BOOKS & DOCUMENTS     Top of Page

To find books in Pollak Library, search the  LIBRARY CATALOG using the following sample searches as examples.
TIP:
While viewing results list, click on Limit/Sort and then select Sort Results By Year - Limit Sort.

KEYWORDS: china urban development
KEYWORDS: china urban policy
KEYWORDS: china urbanization
KEYWORDS: china city planning

SUBJECT: city planning china
SUBJECT: city planning california
SUBJECT: cities and towns china
SUBJECT: cities and towns california growth
SUBJECT: regional planning california
SUBJECT: urbanization china
SUBJECT: china economic conditions
SUBJECT: community development california
SUBJECT: urban renewal united states

BOOKS & GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS: A Selective List

California
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Annual Report of Financial Transactions Concerning Cities of California CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Annual Report of Financial Transactions Concerning Counties of California CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Annual Report of Financial Transactions of Transportation Planning Agencies of California CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Comprehensive Annual Financial Report CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Public Retirement Systems Annual Report CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: School Districts Annual Report CATALOG RECORD
bullet ANNUAL REPORT: Streets and Roads Annual Report CATALOG RECORD
bullet Defining Excessive Urbanization in California and Other Western States (2001) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Economic Forecast for Southern California and Orange County (2001) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Growth Within Bounds: Planning California Governance for the 21st Century (2000) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Influences of the "Fiscalization of Land Use" and Urban-Growth Boundaries (2001) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Orange County [McCormack's Guide] CATALOG RECORD
   NOTE: This is a general-interest guide for newcomers to Orange County (2001)
bullet Orange County Community Indicators (2001) (statistics) CATALOG RECORD |
     INTERNET VERSION (1999-2004 editions)
bullet Orange County Progress Report 2001 (basic statistics) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Projections and Planning Information. Los Angeles-Long Beach Metropolitan Statistical Area (Los Angeles County) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Projections and Planning Information. Orange County CATALOG RECORD
bullet Strategic Growth: Taking Charge of the Future: A Blueprint for California (1993) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Tailor-Made Government: A Citizen's Guide to California's Charter Cities and Counties (1998) CATALOG RECORD
 
United States
bullet America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Handbook CATALOG RECORD
bullet From Chicago to L.A.: Making Sense of Urban Theory (2002) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Suburban Nation: The Rise of Sprawl and the Decline of the American Dream (2000) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Community Development: Extent of Federal Influence on "Urban Sprawl" is Unclear: Report to Congressional Requesters (1999) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Encyclopedia of Urban American: The Cities and Suburbs (1998) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Governance and Opportunity in Metropolitan America / Committee on Improving the Future of U.S. Cities through Improved Metropolitan Area Governance (1999) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Journal of Urban Planning and Development (1983-current date) CATALOG RECORD & INTERNET LINK
bullet Proposals to Promote Affordable Housing: Hearing (2000) CATALOG RECORD
bullet State of the Cities (2000) CATALOG RECORD | 1999 edition online
bullet Tax Incentives to Assist Distressed Communities: Hearing (2000) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Urban Renewal in Minority Communities: Hearing (2000) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Urbanized Area Formula Program and the Needs of Small Transit Intensive Cities (2000) CATALOG RECORD
 
International

bullet Cities and the Environment (1999) CATALOG RECORD
bullet Cities Fit for People (1997)
CATALOG RECORD
bullet Cities in a Globalizing World (2001)
CATALOG RECORD
bullet Globalization and the World of Large Cities (1998)
CATALOG RECORD
bullet Mega-City Growth and the Future (1994)
CATALOG RECORD

top

CSUF Library Home Page

An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This page created by Catherine Kaye.
URL of this page: http://www.library.fullerton.edu/docslinks/citygovernment.htm
Created: 6/4/2002.