| KEYWORD
|
DOCUMENT (latest
at top) |
|
Health Care Reform Bill -
signed 3/22/2010 |
Health Care Reform Bill and Debate
-- direct links to HR 3590, HR 4872, the Congressional Record containing
the debate and vote. |
|
State Retirement Systems |
The Trillion Dollar Gap: Underfunded State
Retirement Systems and the Roads to Reform (2010)
Executive summary: "An analysis by the Pew Center on the States found
that at the end of fiscal year 2008, there was a $1 trillion gap between
the $2.35 trillion states and participating localities had set aside to
pay for employees’ retirement benefits and the $3.35 trillion price tag
of those promises." Discusses all 50 state, including California.
|
|
Families & Unemployment |
Families with Children Increasingly Face
Unemployment (2010)
Intro: "The latest look at the American family from the
U.S. Census Bureau shows just what effect the recession is having on
families and households."
|
|
Retirement Systems |
Federal, State, and Local Governments: Finances of Selected Local and
Local Government Employee Retirement Systems
(2010)
Finances of Selected State and Local Government Employee Retirement
Systems is a quarterly survey that provides national summary data on the
revenues, expenditures, and composition of assets of the largest state
and local government employee retirement systems. This survey currently
consists of a panel of 100 retirement systems, which comprise 89.4
percent of financial activity among such entities. |
|
Universal Health Insurance |
Individual Mandate: A Background Report
[California Research Bureau] (April 2009)
Introduction: "Over 46 million Americans are without healthcare
coverage. The number of uninsured is increasing with the growth of
unemployment and stagnation of employer-based coverage. Healthcare cost
growth continues to outpace growth in wages. The individual mandate is a
policy option that could significantly reduce the number of uninsured in
the United States and lead to universal health care coverage. An
individual mandate would require every citizen to obtain health
insurance, be it through an employer, an individual plan, a purchasing
pool, or a public plan. This report will discuss how such a mandate
could work, what it would cost. It also will review the pros and cons of
the individual mandate as well as the availability, affordability and
enforcement that would come from such a mandate." |
Men's and Women's Earnings
comparison
|
Men's and Women's Earnings by State: 2008 American
Community Survey (September 2009)
Concise report presenting data on men's and
women's earnings at the national and state levels. |
|
Health care reform |
Health Care Reform: In Introduction
(August 31, 2009) [CRS]
Concerns, challenges and proposed solutions are addressed at an
introductory level.
|
|
California's economy and
labor conditions |
In the Midst of the Great Recession: The State of
Working California 2009 [California Budget Project] (Sept
2009)
Examines the impacts that the recent recession has had on employment,
earnings and income in California. Specifically it looks at the
unemployment rate of California and the U.S. across the most recent
years, loss of jobs (across industries), wage gains and declines across
years, change in income (among quintiles, and across years), and more. |
|
Foreclosures and
homelessness |
California Foreclosure Watch: When Will the
Pain End [CRB] (March 2009)
Intro: "When will the pain end? Not until 2010, when
employment losses bottom out and housing prices start rising again. In
the spreadsheets accompanying this brief report, data for 57 counties
are available at
Foreclosures09Q1.xls (Excel) and
Foreclosures09Q1.pdf (PDF).The latest CRB estimate of California
foreclosures is 1.1 million for the “cycle” or period 2007-2012, but
total “lost” homes will reach 1.4 million. Lenders are trying to avoid
the expense of foreclosures, sometimes giving cash incentives to those
who are in default and voluntarily mail back the keys. Lenders are also
becoming more open to short sales. In these two ways, lenders cut short
the long foreclosure process. Some 300,000 units will be lost through
jingle mail (deeds surrendered in lieu of foreclosure) or through short
sales (principal forbearance that allows underwater homeowners to sell
the home for less than the mortgage balance)." |
|
Foreclosures and
homelessness |
Foreclosure to Homelessness 2009: The Forgotten
Victims of the Subprime Crisis (2009)
This study assesses the foreclosure crisis and its relationship to an
increase in homelessness. |
|
Climate change |
Potential Impacts of Climate Change in the
United States (May 2009) [CBO]
Preface: "Overview of the current understanding of the impacts of
climate change in the United States, emphasizing the wide range of
uncertainty about the magnitude and timing of those impacts and the
implications of that uncertainty for the formulation of effective policy
responses. The analysis draws from numerous published sources to
summarize the current state of climate science and provide a conceptual
framework for addressing climate change as an economic concern. In
keeping with CBO’s mandate to provide objective, impartial analysis, the
paper makes no recommendations."
|
|
Climate change |
Climate Change & National Park Wildlife: A
Survival Guide for a Warming World (2009) [National Parks
Conservation Association]
Discusses changes in national parks as symptomatic of changes throughout
the U.S. |
|
Global warming |
USGS report:
Fact
Sheet 2009-2046: Fifty-Year Record of Glacier Change Reveals Shifting
Climate in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, USA
(August 2009)
This U.S. Geological Survey study focuses on three benchmark
glaciers--the Wolverine and Gulkana in Alaska and the South Cascade
Glacier in Washington--because their climates and elevations are
representative of of other glaciers across the continent. |
|
Health care reform
legislation |
Cost assessment of Obama Administration proposed
health care reform legislation as of July 14, 2009 [Congressional Budget
Office]
Preliminary analysis of H.R. 3200, the America's
Affordable Health Choices Act of 2009, which would establish a mandate
for legal residents to obtain health insurance.
|
|
Afghanistan--U.S. Assistance |
Afghanistan: U.S. Foreign Assistance
(July 14, 2009)
Intro: "This report provides an overview
of the U.S. aid program and congressional action. It describes what
various aid agencies report they are doing in Afghanistan. It does not
address the effectiveness of their programs." The report describes
security programs, development and humanitarian-related activities,
governance and democratization efforts, and counter-narcotics programs. |
|
Federal Spending |
Consolidated Federal Funds Report for Fiscal Year
2008: State and County Areas
(July 2009)
Describes the distribution of federal funds by department and agency,
and by state and county.
Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2008
(July 2009) |
1998-present
Presents Federal Government aid to state and local governments by
state. Data are shown by Federal agency and program when possible.
|
|
Federal Budget FY 2010 |
Budget of the United States Government FY 2010
The Budget of the United States Government is a
collection of documents that contains the budget message of the
President, information about the President's budget proposals for a
given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been
issued throughout the fiscal year. Other budget items, such as related
publications and supporting materials, are included. |
|
Climate Change |
Global Climate Change Impacts the United States
(June 16, 2009)
Summarizes the science and the impacts of
climate change on the United States focusing
on different regions of the U.S. and on
various aspects of society and the economy such as energy, water,
agriculture, and health. Also discusses the
impacts of climate change in the U.S. and
highlights the choices we face. |
|
California health insurance
reform |
Individual Mandate: A Background Report
(Apr
2009) [CRB]
Discusses key issues in achieving universal healthcare coverage,
including profile of the uninsured and other statistical data.
|
|
Health Care Reform |
The Economic Case for Health Care Reform
(June 2009)
Comprehensive analysis of the economic impacts of health care reform
with forecast of where we are headed in the absence of reform. From The
Council of Economic Advisers (CEA). |
|
Obama's first 100 days |
Notes on Economic Developments for the First
100 Days in Office (April 21, 2009)
Facts and statistics on economic changes during Obama's first 100
days in office. |
|
California Budget 2009 |
To Have and Have Not
(June 2, 2009) [California Budget Project]
A new CBP analysis finds that tax law changes included in
recent budget agreements. reached in private negotiations with no public
hearings and little analysis, would result in large tax cuts for a very
small number of corporations. |
|
Supreme Court Justice
nominee |
Sonia Sotomayor: Background report from
the Law Library of Congress
Information
on articles and books by Sotomayor, Congressional documents, cases, and
web resources. |
|
Home prices |
Who Could Afford to Buy a Home in 2004?
(May 2009)
Statistics and discussion on home affordability and barriers to
homeownership. |
|
Immigration Reform |
Building an Americanization Movement for the
Twenty-first Century: A Report to the President of the United States
from the Task Force on New Americans (2009)
Report on immigration reform and immigrant assimilation.
|
|
California Dropouts |
California Dropout Research Project: City Profiles
(2009)
Includes Los Angeles, Pasadena, Santa
Ana, Long Beach, San Diego, San Bernardino. From UC Santa Barbara. |
|
Economic Census |
2007 Economic Census
Preliminary data from the 2007 Economic
Census. This advance report is the first in a series of industry and
geographic area data, including information for more than 1,000
communities not available from previous censuses.
The economic census is conducted every five years and is the most
comprehensive and detailed profile of the U.S. economy, covering
millions of businesses representing more than 1,000 industries. The
census provides the foundation and benchmark for gross domestic product,
monthly retail sales and other indicators of economic performance. These
data also provide unique portraits of American industries and local
communities |
|
California & Climate Change |
Impacts of Sea-Level Rise on the California Coast
(March 2009) - PDF-113 pages
Analysis of population, infrastructure, and property
at risk from projected sea-level rise from the California Climate Change
Center. |
|
Bush Administration
Documents Archived as of Jan 20, 2009 |
For any Bush
Administration link you have to a document on whitehouse.gov,
substituting
http://georgewbush-whitehouse.archives.gov/ in place of
http://www.whitehouse.gov will retrieve the item.
|
|
FY2010 Budget |
A
New Era of Responsibility: Renewing America's Promise (FY2010 budget
overview)
Description of the Obama Administration's fiscal policies and major
budgetary initiatives. |
|
Inaugural Address |
Inaugural Address
of
President Barack Obama,
January 20, 2009.
|
|
TARP |
Troubled Asset Relief Program and Foreclosures
(Feb/ 17, 2009) [CRS] PDF-13 pages
Analysis of the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008 (P.L.
110-343), which created the Troubled Asset Relief Plan (TARP).
|
|
Afghanistan |
Securing Afghanistan: Getting on Track
(January 23, 2009) [U.S. Institute of Peace Working Paper]
PDF-42 pages
About: "This Working Paper examines the security environment in
Afghanistan, assesses the programs put in place to address these
threats, identifies existing gaps, and offers possible solutions. The
report was vetted by top experts on Afghanistan in an extensive review
process. The authors are C. Christine Fair and Seth Jones of the RAND
Corporation."
|
|
Iraq War |
Hard Lessons: The Iraq Reconstruction
Experience (February 2, 2009) PDF-378 pages
Reviews the Iraq reconstruction experience from
mid-2002 through the fall of 2008. From the Special Inspector
General for Iraq Reconstruction. |
|
Economic Stimulus |
Economic
Stimulus: Issues and Policies
- January 23, 2009 - PDF-23 pages |
|
Guantanamo Detention Center |
Closing the Guantanamo Detention Center: Legal
Issues - January 15, 2009 - PDF-40 pages Overview of major legal issues likely to arise in the event of
executive and/or legislative action to close the Guantanamo detention
facility. It discusses legal issues related to the transfer or release
of Guantanamo detainees (either to a foreign country or into the United
States), the continued detention of such persons in the United States,
and the possible removal of persons brought to the United States. Also
discusses constitutional issues that may arise in the criminal
prosecution of detainees including detainees' right to a speedy trial,
the prohibition against prosecution under ex post facto laws, and
limitations upon the admissibility of hearsay and secret evidence in
criminal cases. |
|
Inaugural Address |
Inaugural Address of President Barack Obama - January 20, 2009 |
|
Foreclosures |
Economic Analysis of a Mortgage Foreclosure Moratorium
- September 12,
2008 Analysis of the voluntary progress to enable troubled mortgage borrowers
and lenders to refinance their loans through the FHA.
Subprime Mortgages: Primer on Current Lending and Foreclosure Issues
- March 19, 2007 Background on subprime mortgages. |
|
Presidential Election -- Transition Team Resources |
Presidential Transition Resources 2008-2009
Intro: "The Presidential Transition Act of 2000 (P.L. 106-293) authorizes the
General Services Administration (GSA) to develop a transition directory
in consultation with the National Archives and Records Administration
(NARA). The Act provides that the transition directory "shall be a
compilation of Federal publications and materials with supplementary
materials developed by the Administrator that provides information on
the officers, organization, and statutory and administrative
authorities, functions, duties, responsibilities, and mission of each
department and agency." Senate Report 106-348 clarifies that the
directory is intended to "assist in navigating the many responsibilities
that fall on a new administration" that is "confronted by an
overwhelming amount of material." |
|
Obama Administration Jobs |
Plum Book [United States Government
Policy and Supporting Positions]: 2008
New positions to be filled in the Barack Obama administration.
Comprehensive information on thousands of Federal civil service
leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive
branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive
appointment, nationwide. Additionally, appendices provide information on
the positions listed and the Federal salary schedules under which they
are paid. |
|
Foreclosures in California |
Foreclosures in California: The Current Housing
Crisis is More Severe than Previous Corrections (May 2008)
PDF-11 pages State and county statistics and forecast as of April 2008. |
|
Oil Industry Profits |
Oil Industry Financial Performance and Windfall Profits Tax
(September
2008) [CRS] PDF-25 pages Reviews Congressional efforts to deal with the
oil industry's windfall profits and the four approaches that have been
taken. |
|
Federal Spending FY 2007 |
Consolidated Federal Funds Report for Fiscal Year
2007: State and County Areas
(September 2008) PDF-120 pages
Overview of how and where the federal government distributes funds.
Statistics are broken out by federal department and agency (Dept. of
Defense, Social Security Administration, Postal Service), as well as by
state, county and subcounty area. Highlights: Retirement and disability
payments to individuals accounted for $783 billion (more than 30 percent) of
total federal spending. Of that amount, 80 percent, or $623 billion, went to
Social Security recipients. Social Security was composed of retirement
insurance payments; ($369 billion), survivors insurance ($113 billion),
disability insurance; ($105 billion) and supplemental security income
payments ($36 billion).
Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2007
(September 2008) PDF-56 pages
Data on federal grants to state and local governments.
|
|
Why Leaves Change Color |
Why Leaves Change Color
PDF-5 pages |
|
Labor Force Facts / Labor Day |
Labor Day 2008: September 1
Statistics on employee benefits, number of workers in occupations,
earnings, hot jobs, commutes, and more. |
|
Iraq War |
Securing, Stabilizing, and Rebuilding Iraq: Progress
Report: Some Gains Made, Updated Strategy Needed
(June 2008) [GAO] PDF-94 pages
Discussion of progress meeting goals in The New Way Forward (improving
security, devloping Iraqu secuirty forces, helping the Iraqi government,
enacting legislation, spending capital budgets and providing essentail
services. |
|
Energy Outlook |
International Energy Outlook 2008: Highlights
[EIA]
An assessment by the Energy Information
Administration (EIA) of the outlook for international energy markets through
2030. U.S. projections appearing in IEO2008 are consistent with those
published in EIA’s Annual Energy Outlook 2008 (AEO2008) |
|
Nuclear Power |
Nuclear Power's Role in Generating Electricity
(2008) Intro: "At the request of the Chairman and Ranking Member of the
Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, the Congressional Budget
Office (CBO) assessed the competitiveness of nuclear power when compared
with other sources of new capacity to generate electricity, focusing on the
possible effects of constraints on carbon dioxide emissions and the impact
of EPAct incentives. In accordance with CBO’s mandate to provide objective,
impartial analysis, this study makes no recommendations." |
|
Report on Public
Statements |
Report on Whether Public Statements Regarding Iraq By
U.S. Government Officials were Substantiated by Intelligence Information
(June 2008) PDF-172 pages
"Details Administration prewar statements that,
on numerous occasions, misrepresented the intelligence and the threat from
Iraq." |
|
Report on DoD
Policy Office |
Intelligence Activities Relating to Iraq conducted by the Policy
Counterterrorism Evaluation Group and the Office of Special Plans within the
Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
(June
2008) PDF-57 pages
"Details inappropriate, sensitive intelligence
activities conducted by the DoD’s Office of the Undersecretary of Defense
for Policy, without the knowledge of the Intelligence Community or the State
Department. . . . The report found that the
clandestine meetings between Pentagon officials and Iranians in Rome and
Paris were inappropriate and mishandled from beginning to end. Deputy
National Security Advisor Steve Hadley and Deputy Secretary Paul Wolfowitz
failed to keep the Intelligence Community and the State Department
appropriately informed about the meetings." |
|
Prop 13 |
Proposition 13: 30 Years Later |
|
Home Equity Comparison and Analysis by City |
Ownership, Rental Costs and the Prospects of
Building Home Equity-An Analysis of 100 Metropolitan Areas
(2008) PDF-17 pages
Compares ownership and
rental costs in the 100 largest metropolitan areas. Projects potential for
accumulating home equity in these markets. |
|
Foreclosures |
Foreclosures to Homelessness: The Forgotten Victims of the Subprime Crisis
(April 2008) PDF-60 Pages
Report on the homeowners and renters who have become
homeless once their equity is exhausted.
|
|
Analog to
Digital TV |
Conversion from Analog to Digital TV: Feb. 17, 2009
(May 23, 2008)
Intro: "On Feb. 17,
2009, all full-power TV stations will cease to broadcast analog programming.
This transition to digital television will enable more efficient use of the
nation's airwaves, providing new advanced wireless services and increased
public safety services. To mark this historic transition, the Census Bureau
has assembled a sampling of statistics from its publications and other
federal government sources about television and the television industry." |
|
Hurricanes |
2008 Hurricane Season Begins: In Harms Way
Statistics on U.S. hurricanes,
spotlighting
the number of people living in areas that could be most affected. |
|
Energy Bill 2007 |
-
Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007
(P.L. 110-140, H.R. 6)
The Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (P.L. 110-140, H.R. 6)
was signed into law on December 19, 2007. This broad reaching energy
policy law consists mainly of provisions designed to increase energy
efficiency and the availability of renewable energy.
-
H.R. 6
Enrolled version
Text of law:
PDF-311 pages |
HTML LEGISLATIVE HISTORY—H.R. 6: CONGRESSIONAL RECORD, Vol. 153 (2007): Jan. 18, considered and passed House. June 12–15, 18–21, considered and passed Senate, amended. Dec. 6, House concurred in Senate amendments with amendments. Dec. 12, 13, Senate considered and concurred in House amendments with an amendment. Dec. 18, House concurred in Senate amendment. WEEKLY COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS, Vol. 43 (2007): Dec. 19, Presidential remarks.
|
|
Wealth & Net Worth of Americans |
Net Worth and the Assets of Households: 2002
(2008) PDF-24 pages Intro: "This report compares the levels of wealth and asset ownership, such
as home equity, savings accounts, certificates of deposit, stocks and mutual
funds, and vehicle ownership, by various socioeconomic factors, including
monthly household income, in late 1999/early 2000 and late 2002." |
|
Federal Budget |
Where Did Your Federal Dollars Go in 2006?
(2008) Links to two reports: The first,
Consolidated Federal Funds Report: 2006, provides a broad
overview of how and where the federal government allocates funds. Statistics
are provided for each federal department and agency, and presented by state,
county and subcounty area. The second report,
Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2006, contains data on
federal grants to state and local governments. |
|
CSU Impact of California Budget Cuts |
Cumulative Impact: How Cuts to Higher Education in the Recent Past, Today
and in the Near Future Will Affect Access and Opportunity for California
Students (April 16, 2008) PDF-29 pages [Blue Sky Consulting Group]
Summary:
"Higher education in California would
suffer a second major blow in less than six years if the state adopts the
sweeping cuts proposed in this year's budget." |
|
Aging |
End of Life: Helping with Comfort and Care (2008) PDF-72 pages |
|
Plug-in HEV's |
Plug-in HEV's: A Near-Term Option to Reduce Petroleum Consumption from FY05
Milestone Report (2007) PDF-28 pages
Assesses plug-in hybrid electric vehicle market and
technology issues. |
|
Nuclear Power |
Nuclear Power 2010
[DOE] Background and updates on nuclear power
plants and nuclear power plant technology. Fact sheet, press
releases, current events and projects, and a deployment scorecard listing
new applications, permits issued, and related data on new reactor activity.
|
|
Pollution Abatement |
Pollution
Abatement Costs and Expenditures: 2005
(2008) PDF-104 pages
Detailed statistics on capital
expenditures and operating costs for pollution prevention and pollution
treatment for the manufacturing sector. These data
are available by cost category (treatment/capture,
prevention, disposal and recycling) and the media (air, water discharge and
solid waste), both by state and
industry. |
|
Green Companies |
The Greening of
U.S. Corporations (2008) [U.S. Dept. of State] PDF-43 pages
Discusses economic incentives for U.S. corporations to develop green
technologies. Major U.S. companies (General Electric, Wal-Mart, Apple) and
CEO's are mentioned.
|
|
Demographics |
USA Counties
More than 5,900 data items
for the U.S., the 50 states,
and all of the nation’s 3,141 counties and county equivalents.
Age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits,
business patterns, crime,
earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health,
households, housing, income, labor
force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail
trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and
wholesale trade. It is the most comprehensive source for data on counties
in the United States. |
|
Census Atlas |
Census Atlas of the United States (2007)
More than
700
full-color maps. First general
population and housing statistical atlas published by the Census
Bureau since 1925. Featuring more than 300 pages and weighing about 7
pounds, the atlas presents data from 1790
through 2000. It is arranged by topic and grouped into
three general themes — who we are, where we come from and what we do.
Most maps feature county-level detail for the United States and Puerto Rico.
|
|
Gasoline Consumption |
Effects of Gasoline
Prices on Driving Behavior and Vehicle Markets
(2008) PDF-58
pages Excerpt from Summary: "This Congressional Budget Office
(CBO) study examines the scope and intensity of consumers’ responses to
the upward trend in gasoline prices that began in 2003. Those responses
have been large enough to interrupt a pattern of steady growth in total
gasoline consumption dating back to 1990, the last time U.S. gasoline
prices rose substantially. If current high prices—and consumers’
responses to them—persist, the effect on overall gasoline consumption
will grow stronger as older, less-fuelefficient vehicles are retired and
as consumers consider other, less easily implemented adjustments to
their patterns of consumption." |
|
Southern California--State of the Region 2007 |
State
of the Region 2007 (Southern California) [SCAG]
"The State of the Region, 2007 documents the
progress of the Southern California Region (includes the 5 counties of LA,
Ventura, Riverside, San Bernardino and Orange) in quality of life
issues. Topics examined include demographics (race/ethnicity,
age of people in region), the economy
(employment, wages and salary), transportation
(commute time to work, mode of transportation), the
environment (level of air pollution, water
quality) housing (homeownership rate,
housing affordability) and more. The report also comes with a report card
that gives a letter grade (with historical comparison) on the issues
mentioned above." |
|
Climate Change |
Climate Change: Science Update 2007 (November 29, 2007) [CRS] PDF-17
pages
Summarizes highlights of new scientific research and assessments
released in 2007 related to global warming.
Discusses the fourth major assessment of technical information on
climate change by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
published in November. |
|
Cost of Iraq War |
The Cost
of Iraq, Afghanistan, and Other Global War on Terror Operations Since
9/11, updated November 9, 2007
[Congressional
Research Service] PDF-50 pages
Intro:
"With enactment of the FY2007
supplemental on May 25, 2007, Congress has approved a total of about $609
billion for military operations, base security, reconstruction, foreign
aid, embassy costs, and veterans’ health care for the three operations
initiated since the 9/11 attacks: Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF)
Afghanistan and other counter terror operations; Operation Noble Eagle
(ONE), providing enhanced security at military bases; and Operation Iraqi
Freedom (OIF)." |
|
California--Employment |
The State of Work in California, 1979-2006: A Generation of Widening
Inequality (2007) PDF-72 pages
Summary: "The story of the past
generation is one of widening inequality. Since
the late 1970s, California’s job growth has become
concentrated in low-wage and high-wage jobs and the
gap between workers at the low end and the high end of
the earnings distribution has widened. Meanwhile, income
has become increasingly concentrated among the richest
Californians. A Generation of Widening Inequality: The State
of Working California, 1979 to 2006 documents employment,
wage, and income trends in California during the past
generation and highlights the importance of public policies that
address the gap between rich and poor." |
|
Federal Budget |
Long-Term Fiscal Challenge: Comments on the Bipartisan Task Force for
Responsible Fiscal Action Act (2007) [GAO]
Intro: "The bottom line is that the
nation’s longer-term fiscal outlook is daunting under any realistic policy scenario or set of assumptions. Continuing on
this unsustainable fiscal path will gradually erode, if not
suddenly damage, our economy, our standard of
living, and ultimately our national security. Our current path also increasingly will constrain our ability to address
emerging and unexpected budgetary needs and they serve to increase
the burdens that will be faced by future
generations." |
|
Education of
Homeless Youth--California |
The Educational Success of
Homeless Youth in California: Challenges and Solutions
(2007) CRB
Intro: "Most homeless youth who are on their
own are not in school. Yet the majority of homeless and formerly
homeless youth recently surveyed by the California Research Bureau
expressed the desire to return to school and have life goals that
require extensive education to achieve. This report discusses key
issues related to the challenges homeless youth face in achieving
their educational goals. It describes federal and state programs and
funding, identifies successful practices and model programs, and
presents policy options that address these challenges."
|
|
Consumer
Spending--Historic Data |
100 Years of Consumer Spending
(2006) PDF-69 pages
Intro: "Consumer expenditure data
presented longitudinally,
drawing on information from decennial census
reports to present a 100-year history of significant changes in consumer
spending, economic status, and family demographics in the country as a
whole, as well as in New York City and Boston. Nine timeframes are presented
independently, with a section titled “Perspective” providing an analytic
framework for each period to aid in interpretation. Tables and charts
tracing common elements over the 100-year period also should aid the reader
in the interpretation of trends." |
|
American War Casualties |
American War
and Military Operations Casualties: Lists and Statistics (2007)
PDF-28 pages Source: Congressional Research Service
[CRS] (via Federation of American Scientists)
Intro: This report is written in response
to numerous requests for war casualty statistics and lists of war dead. It
provides tables, compiled by sources at the Department of Defense (DOD),
indicating the number of casualties among American military personnel
serving in principal wars and combat actions. Wars covered include the
Revolutionary War,
the War of 1812, the
Mexican War, the
Civil War, the
Spanish-American War,
World War I,
World War II, the
Korean War,
the Vietnam Conflict, and the
Persian Gulf War. Military operations
covered include the Iranian Hostage Rescue Mission, Lebanon
Peacekeeping, Urgent Fury in Grenada, Just Cause in Panama,
Desert Shield and Desert Storm, Restore Hope in Somalia,
Uphold Democracy in Haiti, and the ongoing Operation Enduring
Freedom (OEF) and Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF).
For the more
recent conflicts, starting with the Korean War, more detailed information
on types of casualties, and when available, demographics have been
included. This report also cites sources of published lists of military
personnel killed in principal wars and combat actions. This report will be
updated as events warrant. |
|
Cost of Raising Children in California |
Making Ends Meet: How Much Does it Cost to Raise a
Family in California? 2007 PDF-28 pages
Estimates the cost of a basic standard of living in California for
four family types. It calculates annual family budgets and hourly wages
needed to cover costs of housing and utilities, child care, transportation,
food, health coverage, payroll and income taxes, and miscellaneous expenses,
but does not account for savings, vacations or emergencies. Because the
cost of living varies across California, the report also provides detailed
budgets for the four family types in 10 regions in the state, including Los
Angeles County. |
|
Social Security Reform |
Social
Security Reform: The Nature of the Problem (Issue Brief No. 1: September
24, 2007) PDF-14 pages
This is the first in a series of issue briefs that the Treasury will release
on Social Security reform topics. This brief explains the magnitude of the
financial challenge facing Social Security and why acting sooner and
spreading the burden of reform across more generations is fairer to future
generations. |
|
Petraeus Report |
Petraeus Report to Congress on the Situation in Iraq: September 10-11, 2007
PDF-23 pages Transcript of General David H. Petraeus' testimony to Congress giving
his assessment of the security situation in Iraq and his recommendations
concerning troop levels. |
|
Iraq War |
Combating War
Profiteering: are
we doing enough to investigate and prosecute contracting fraud and abuse in
Iraq? : hearing before the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate,
One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, March 20, 2007.
PDF-118 pages |
|
Climate Change |
Addressing Climate
Change: views from the private sector :
hearing before the Subcommittee
on Energy and Air Quality of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of
Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, February 13,
2007. |
|
Plants |
A Botanic Garden for the Nation: The United States Botanic Garden
(2007)
Chronicles the history of the United States Botanic Garden. Also
documents the plants and exhibits housed there.
|
|
Earmarks |
Earmarks
"This database provides more information on
earmarks in one place than has ever been available through the Federal
Government. It is part of an effort to bring greater transparency and
accountability to federal spending. This step is consistent with recent
changes in the House Rules and Senate legislation, which require more
disclosure for future earmarks. The database includes aggregate data on
the number and cost of earmarks and displays that information by agency
and State. In addition, the database provides details on individual
earmarks. This database remains a work in progress. New features will be
added in the weeks and months ahead." --from Web Site
(June 18, 2007) |
|
Minorities--Statistics |
Minority Population Tops 100 Million (May 2007)

Comparison data on African Americans, Asian Americans,
Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, and Pacific Islanders. (May 17, 2007) |
|
Universal
Health Care in California |
Universal Health Care in California (March 2007)
Issues related to the "January 8, 2007, [proposal by] Governor
Schwarzenegger ... that California provide medical insurance to all
residents in the state." Links and analysis of topics related to this
proposal and to other universal health care proposals. From the Institute
of Governmental Studies (IGS) Library, University of California, Berkeley. |
|
Iraq War |
The latest quarterly report from DoD on
"Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq" has been released. This is
the first time the Defense Department has referenced it as a "civil
war." "Some elements of the situation in Iraq are properly descriptive
of a "civil war," including the hardening of ethno-sectarian
identities and mobilization, the changing character of the violence,
and population displacements." [p. 14]. Also included are numerous
graphs, maps and charts including some energy production reports, the
number of attacks, combat operation, the number of sectarian murders
and incidents, casualties, assessed capabilities and more.
National Intelligence Estimate: January 2007
is referenced in the above
report. |
|
Katrina |
Hurricane Katrina: A Nation Still Unprepared
(Congressional
Reports: S. Rpt. 109-322)
URL:
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/katrinanation.html
Added 12/22/2006. |
|
Iraq Study Group Report |
Iraq Study Group Report
/
James A. Baker, III,
and Lee H. Hamilton, co-chairs; Lawrence S. Eagleburger ... [et al.]
(December 2006) PDF-160
pages The landmark final report of the Iraq Study Group (ISG). |
|
State, County, & Metropolitan Statistics |
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2006
PDF-448 pages

Data items for the United States and individual states, counties and
metropolitan areas. The files include data published for 2005 population
and housing unit estimates and many items from the 1990 and 2000 Census of
Population and Housing. Includes SUBJECT INDEX.
Topic areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments,
communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education,
elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households,
housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media,
natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin,
residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services,
tourism, transportation, and veterans.
|
|
North Korean Strategic Threat
|
House Intelligence Committee Announces Report on North Korean Strategic
Threat (October 3, 2006)
Full Report (PDF-36 pages/8.8 MB)
Source: U.S. House of Representatives Permanent Select Committee on
Intelligence The report focuses on the threat posed by North Korea and its military,
how it games nuclear diplomacy, and how it engages in criminal activity,
including drug trafficking and counterfeiting. It also includes a timely
section on the possibility of a North Korean nuclear test. |
|
National Intelligence Estimate--Global Terrorism |
Declassified Key Judgments
of the National Intelligence Estimate Trends in Global Terrorism:
Implications for the United States
dated April 2006
[released
September 26, 2006] PDF-4 pages |
|
American Laws that Apply Outside the U.S. |
Extraterritorial
Application of American Criminal Law
(2006) PDF-77 pages Congressional Research Service report analyzing American criminal laws
that apply outside of the United States and obstacles to their
enforcement. |
|
U.S. Population Reaches 300 Million |
Facts for Features: 300 Million
Introduction: "Our nation’s population is expected to reach
300 million the later part of this year. To help spotlight this occasion,
the Census Bureau steps back in time by comparing contemporary life and
statistics to those in the time periods in which the nation reached other
noteworthy population milestones in 1967 (when the population reached 200
million) and in the year 1915 (when it reached 100 million)." |
|
Lawns & Water Demand in California |
Lawns and
Water Demand in California
[PPIC]
- PDF-24 pages (2006)
Introduction: "Over the next 25
years, outdoor water use will be a major factor in escalating water demand
in California. The demand will be aggravated by the dominant land-use
pattern in inland areas: single-family homes with lush lawns. Without
efforts aimed specifically at reducing outdoor urban water use, the demand
will pose significant financial and environmental challenges for
California. In this issue of CEP, the authors analyze population
growth and housing trends in the state’s major climactic regions, estimate
residential lot and yard sizes, and examine the water needs of cool-season
turf grass lawns. They also evaluate several outdoor water conservation
programs." |
|
Real ID Act of 2005 |
Real ID Act of 2005
(text
of law: Public Law 109-13) PDF-21 pages
- Requirements for a national identification card
- Passed as Section B of H.R. 1268 (109th Congress) as Public
Law 109-13
Immigration: Analysis of the Major Provisions of H.R. 418, Real
ID Act of 2005
(Congressional Research Service)
Social Security
Administration: Improved Agency Coordination Needed for Social
Security Card Enhancements
(March 2006) PDF-56 pages
Discusses how a biometric Social Security card
could raise general privacy concerns about the card becoming a
national identification card. Concerns about unauthorized workers and the use of counterfeit
documents led the Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee to ask
that GAO identify key issues to be considered.
REAL ID Act of 2005
-- H.R.
418
[Library of Congress
/ Thomas] Official material for to the Real ID Act of 2005, an act
designed to "establish and rapidly implement regulations for State
driver's license and identification document security standards, to
prevent terrorists from abusing the asylum laws of the United
States, ... and to ensure expeditious construction of the San Diego
border fence." Includes text of legislation, bill summary, list of
cosponsors, and links to related bills. From the Library of
Congress.
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: REAL ID
Material about the proposed regulations "to establish minimum
standards for state-issued driver's licenses and identification
cards" under the requirements of the Real ID Act of 2005. Includes
the text of the proposed standards, questions and answers about the
proposed guidelines, and a transcript of a four-hour May 2007 town
hall meeting about the proposed regulations. From the U.S.
Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
|
|
Influenza
Epidemic of 1918: National Archives |
Influenza
Epidemic of 1918: National Archives
Documents and photos from the National Archives. |
|
Flu Epidemic Strategy Plan |
National Strategy for Pandemic Influenza Implementation Plan
(May 2006) PDF-233 pages Implementation plan to clarify roles and responsibilities of governmental
and nongovernmental entities. |
|
Gasoline Prices |
Gasoline Prices: New Legislation and Proposals (April 21, 2006)
PDF-14 pages
Background and analysis of recent legislation
addressing gasoline prices, discussing policy options. From the
Congressional Research Service. -added 5/11/2006 |
|
Youth in Detention |
Psychiatric Disorders of Youth in Detention
Full Document
PDF-16 pages (2006)
Introduction: "Examines the prevalence of
alcohol, drug, and mental disorders among youth at the Cook County
(Illinois) Juvenile Temporary Detention Center, by gender, race/ethnicity,
and age. Drawing on research conducted by the Northwestern Juvenile
Project, this Bulletin finds that nearly two-thirds of males and
three-quarters of females studied met diagnostic criteria for one or more
psychiatric disorders. The Bulletin presents information that can help the
juvenile justice system detect youth psychiatric disorders and respond
with an integrated system of services." -added 5/10/2006 |
|
China & Oil Demand |
China's Growing
Demand for Oil and Its Impact on U.S. Petroleum Markets (April 2006) PDF-58 pages
Introduction: "China’s demand for crude oil and refined petroleum
products has been growing over the past decade, and in 2003 and 2004, the
country’s demand for oil increased dramatically, surprising many energy analysts. This paper explores the reasons for that
growth and the implications for petroleum markets in the United States."
-added 5/10/2006 |
|
FEMA's Performance after Katrina |
Performance Review of FEMA’s Disaster
Management Activities in Response to Hurricane
Katrina (March 31, 2006) PDF-218 pages
Preface: "This report assesses the Federal
Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) performance as it conducted its disaster management responsibilities in response to
Hurricane Katrina. We examined whether the laws, regulations, policies, procedures, plans, guidelines,
and resources were adequate and operational, and whether FEMA's organizational structure enhanced or
hindered its emergency management capabilities."
-added 04/14/2006 |
|
China's Demand for Oil |
China's Growing Demand for Oil and Its
Impact on U.S. Petroleum Markets
(April
2006) PDF-58 pages
Introduction: China’s demand for crude oil and refined petroleum
products has been growing over the past decade, and in 2003 and 2004, the
country’s demand for oil increased dramatically (see Figure 1-1),
surprising many energy analysts. This paper explores the reasons for that
growth and the implications for petroleum markets in the United States. |
|
Education Statistics--Historical |
A Half-Century of Learning: Historical Statistics on Educational
Attainment in the United States: 1940 to 2000
— In
1940, statistics on educational attainment were collected for every person
enumerated in the census and from a sample of them thereafter. In 1940,
only 25 percent of the population age 25 and older had a high school
diploma, and just 5 percent earned a bachelor’s degree or more. By the
close of the 20th century, these figures had increased to 80 percent with
high school diplomas and 24 percent with bachelor’s degrees. Educational
attainment data are shown by sex, race and Hispanic origin (since 1980) at
the regional and state levels. These data are based on the decennial
census and are separate from annual data collected in the Current
Population Survey. |
|
Hurrican
Katrina |
A Failure of
Initiative: Final Report of the Select Bipartisan Committee to Investigate
the Preparation for and Response to Hurricane Katrina
(H. Rpt 109-377) Intro: "On September 15, 2005, the House of Representatives
approved H. Res. 437, which created the Bipartisan Committee to
investigate the preparation and response to Hurricane Katrina by local,
State and Federal agencies. The Committee presents this official, edited
and corrected copy with the findings stemming from it to the U.S. House of
Representatives and the American people for their consideration." |
|
High School Students Readiness for Colleges--California |
College Opportunity Reports 06 [Institute
for Democracy, Education and Access at UCLA]
(2006)
These reports examine how
well California high schools prepare students for college. Data is
given on every legislative district and public high school in California on: students graduating, percentage
passing courses for University of California (UC) and California State
University (CSU) admission, percentage enrolled in college, credentialed
teachers, percentage receiving free and reduced priced lunch, English
learners and race/ethnicity. A general overview of school funding,
credentialed teachers, counselors, courses needed for college prep and
more are also included.
SELECTED
FINDINGS:
-
California ranks
only below Mississippi in sending high school seniors to a 4 year
college.
-
5% of the
graduating class of 2004 in California attends a UC, and 7% attends a
CSU.
-
Intensely
segregated schools (enrolling 90% or more minorities) are "5 times more
likely than majority white schools to serve high proportions of
low-income students."
-
37% of
African-Americans, and 47% of Latinos attend intensely segregated
schools.
-
California spends
$6,765 per pupil compared to $8,041 for the national average.
-
In 2004, 10% of
Belmont High School seniors passed courses necessary
for UC/CSU admission compared to 63% of Beverly Hills High seniors.
|
|
Small Businesses--Statistics |
Small Business Week 2006
A collection of statistics relating to small
businesses--number, growth rate, employees, and more. |
|
Information Technology Expenditures in Business |
Information
and Communication Technology: 2004 (2006) PDF-51 pages
Description of survey: "The Information and Communication Technology
Survey (ICTS), a supplement to the Annual Capital Expenditures Survey
(ACES), was created in response to economic data user and policymaker
concerns about the lack of available data on e-business infrastructure
investment by nonfarm businesses. Rapid changes and advances in
information and communication technology (ICT) equipment have resulted in
these assets having short useful lives and a
tendency to be replaced much quicker than other types of equipment.
Companies are expensing the full cost of such assets during the current
annual period rather than capitalizing the value of such assets and
expensing the cost over two or more years. In some cases this is due to
the short useful life of the asset, and in other cases this is because
companies have varying dollar levels for capitalization.
The ICTS data are critical for providing improved source data to the
investment component of gross domestic product, capital stock estimates,
and capital flow tables. The data will also be used to assess future
productivity and economic growth prospects. In addition, the data provide
facts about trends in such expenditures useful for identifying business
opportunities, product development, and business planning."
|
|
Katrina--Federal Response |
The Federal Response to Katrina: Lessons Learned
(February 2006) PDF-228
pages Source:
Department of Homeland Security Excerpt from Foreward:
"The Report is organized in a manner to give
the reader the most comprehensive and clear understanding possible of what
happened during the Federal response to Hurricane Katrina. It begins with
a discussion of the magnitude and complexity of the response challenge by
discussing 'Katrina in Perspective'—providing an historical comparison
both of the hurricane itself and the resultant flood. Only by
understanding what the storm was, and was not, can an appropriate and
measured assessment of the response take place. A National Preparedness
“Primer” on the current Federal framework is then provided to give the
reader an understanding of how the current system was supposed to
function. This chapter points out some fundamental confusion in the
Federal planning and identifies potential shortcomings in the
applicability of our plans to catastrophic widespread incidents." |
|
Income
Distribution & Inequality 1979-2003 |
New. Unnoticed CBO Data Show Capital Income Has Become Much More
Concentrated at the Top
(2006) [Center on Budget and Policy Priorities]
CBO Report:
Historical
Effective Federal Tax Rates, 1979-2003
This
report examines who received income from interest, dividends, rents and
capital gains in the US from 1979 to 2003. The report briefly discusses
the impact on income inequality of extending lower tax rates on capital
gains and dividend income.
SELECTED
FINDINGS:
-
In
2003, the top one percent of the population received 57.5 percent of all
capital income. This was larger than in any
other year examined by CBO, with its data going back to 1979. (The top
one percent consisted in 2003 of households with after-tax
incomes that averaged $701,500.)
-
In
2003, the bottom 80 percent of the population received
only 12.6 percent of such capital income, the lowest share on
record (with data back to 1979). As recently
as 1989, for instance, the bottom 80 percent of the population received
23.5 percent of capital income subject to taxation, a share nearly twice as high.
-
By
contrast, the average after-tax income of the middle fifth of the
population rose a relatively modest 15 percent
(less than one percentage point per year), and the average after-tax
income of the poorest fifth of the population
rose just 4 percent, or $600, over the 24-year period.
|
|
Government Surveillance |
Presidential Authority to Conduct Warrantless
Electronic Surveillance to Gather Foreign Intelligence Information (January 5, 2006)
(PDF-44pages; 380
KB) Source: Congressional Research Service (via Federation of American
Scientists From cover page: "This memorandum lays out a general framework for
analyzing the constitutional and statutory issues raised by the NSA
electronic surveillance activity. It then outlines the legal framework
regulating electronic surveillance by the government, explores ambiguities
in those statutes that could provide exceptions for the NSA
intelligence-gathering operation at issue, and addresses the arguments
that the President possesses inherent authority to order the operations or
that Congress has provided such authority." |
|
Terrorism
and Military Force |
Authorization For Use Of Military Force in Response to the 9/11 Attacks
(P.L. 107-40): Legislative History
(PDF-6 pages, 44 KB) Source: Congressional Research Service
"In response to the terrorist attacks against the United States on
September 11, 2001, the Congress passed legislation, S.J.Res. 23, on
September 14, 2001, authorizing the President to “use all necessary and
appropriate force against those nations, organizations, or persons he
determines planned, authorized, committed, or aided the terrorist attacks
that occurred on September 11, 2001, or harbored such organizations or
persons....” The President signed this legislation into law on September
18, 2001 (P.L. 107-40, 115 Stat. 224 (2001)). This report provides a
legislative history of this statute, the 'Authorization for Use of
Military Force' (AUMF), which, as Congress stated in its text, constitutes
the legislative authorization for the use of U.S. military force
contemplated by the War Powers Resolution. It also is the statute which
the President and his attorneys have subsequently cited as an authority
for him to engage in electronic surveillance against possible terrorists
without obtaining authorization of the special Court created by the
Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) of 1978, as amended. This
report will only be updated if events warrant." |
|
Baby
Boomers |
Oldest Baby Boomers Turn 60!
[Census Bureau]
Statistics on the number of baby boomers, most popular names of boomers,
staying fit, and more. |
|
Cigarette Smoking--United
States |
Cigarette Smoking Among Adults --- United States, 2004 Source:
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention "Tobacco-use prevention and control measures appear to be decreasing both
the prevalence of cigarette smoking and the proportion of heavy smokers, who
are at high risk for tobacco-related morbidity and mortality. However, to
further decrease smoking prevalence among adults and to meet the national
health objective, effective comprehensive tobacco-control programs that
address both initiation and cessation of smoking should be fully implemented
in every state and territory." See also:
State-Specific Prevalence of Cigarette Smoking and Quitting
Among Adults --- United States, 2004 |
|
Terrorism--Airport Readiness |
Guidelines to Improve Airport Preparedness Against Chemical and Biological
Terrorism (PDF; 372 KB)
Source: Sandia National Laboratories From
press release: "'Guidelines to Improve Airport
Preparedness Against Chemical and Biological Terrorism' is a 100-page
document that makes concrete recommendations on improving security and
assessing vulnerable areas, and helps its readers understand the nature of
chemical and biological attacks. The report has been turned over to Airports
Council International (ACI) and the American Association of Airport
Executives (AAAE), two large organizations that together represent the
interests of thousands of airport personnel and facilities in the U.S. and
around the world." Note: This is the
unclassified version. |
|
Pandemic Influenza--U.S. Preparedness |
Pandemic Influenza:
Domestic Preparedness Efforts (PDF-36 pages,
168 KB) Source: Congressional Research Service (via Federation of American
Scientists "(I)f a flu pandemic were to occur in the next several years, the U.S.
response would be affected by the limited availability of a vaccine (the
best preventive measure for flu), as well as by limited availability of
certain drugs used to treat severe flu infections, and by the general lack
of surge capacity within our healthcare system. The U.S. healthcare system
is largely private, while the public health system is largely based in
state, rather than federal, authority. This structure creates numerous
challenges in assuring the needed response capacity, and coordinating the
various response elements. Planning is further complicated by the fact that
while periodic influenza pandemics have been seen over the years, their
timing and severity have been unpredictable. This report will be updated to
reflect changing circumstances." |
|
Plan B: Over the Counter
Emergency Contraceptive Drug Plan |
FDA:
Decision Process to Deny Initial Application for Over-the-Counter Marketing
of the Emergency Contraceptive Drug Plan B Was Unusual
Highlights |
Full Report |
|
Iraq
War--Training of Iraqi Forces |
Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq
(Report to Congress October 2005) PDF-44 pages

The first section of this report discusses on
stability and security in Iraq and enumerates goals and progress regarding
Iraq’s political stability, security environment, and economic progress. The
second section of the report, on Security Force Training and Performance,
gives indicators of the training and development of the Iraqi Security
Forces (ISF). |
|
Hurricane
Katrina--Relief |
Meeting the Basic Needs of
Hurricane Katrina Victims: Recommendations to Federal Policymakers
Full Report
(PDF; 100 KB) Source: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Excerpt: "The following are preliminary
recommendations for legislation to help meet the basic human needs of the
families that have been displaced or otherwise harshly affected by Hurricane
Katrina. The proposals discussed here relate to mechanisms for providing
assistance to individuals and families so they can meet their basic needs,
such as food, clothing, and housing. This memo does not include
recommendations in other areas — such as infrastructure needs or
environmental clean-up." |
|
Education--Economic
Benefits |
What It’s Worth: Field of Training and Economic Status: 2001
Full Report
(PDF; 652 KB) Source: U.S. Census Bureau "An update on the value of an education, with national earnings data for men
and women by level of educational attainment. Data provided by race and
Hispanic origin as well. Includes a section on the amount of time it takes
people to complete degrees beyond high school." |
|
World Energy Update |
World Energy "Areas To
Watch" See also:
Oil and Natural
Gas Hotspots Factsheet Source: Energy Information Administration
"The countries/regions listed in this report are: a) important from an oil
and/or natural gas perspective; and b) currently (or potentially in the
short- to medium-term) confronting significant economic, political, or other
issues that could affect domestic or world oil and gas markets. Click on the
name listed below for a brief discussion/analysis of the main concerns
regarding that particular country/region's energy industry. Information
contained in this report is the best available as of September 2005."
Includes Bolivia, Caspian/Caucasus, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Nigeria,
Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Venezuela. |
|
Racial
Discrimination Report—2000 |
Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination
[Clinton Report] (2002)
This report was issued by the U.S. Department of State in
2000 and evaluates progress made since the original treaty was entered into
in 1994. To locate the archived copy of this report online, go to the
Department of State web site www.state.gov
and click on International issues. Select Human Rights, then
Racial Discrimination. Excerpt from web site: "This
Report is prepared under the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of
Racial Discrimination, entered into force for the United States on November
20, 1994. The Initial Report of the United States of America to the UN
Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination covers the situation
in the United States through August 2000." |
|
Where Do
Your Tax Dollars Go? |
Where Do Your Tax Dollars
Go?
This publication shows how the average
household's tax dollars are spent for every state and 193 cities, towns and
counties. SOURCE:
National Priorities Project. |
|
Federal Debt |
Federal Debt: Answers to
Frequently Asked Questions: An Update (August 2004)
PDF-90 pages
Section 1. What is the federal debt?
Section 2. What is the relationship between the budget and federal debt?
Section 3. What is the relationship between the economy and federal debt?
Section 4. Federal debt management and ownership Section 5. Current and future policy issues regarding federal debt Appendix 1. Selected bibliography. Appendix 2. Glossary
Appendix 3. Scope and methodology. -- Tables -- Figures |
|
Health Insurance Coverage |
Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance (August 2004)
PDF-77 pages
Press release &
summary:
HTML
Excerpt: "Real median household income remained
unchanged between 2002 and 2003 at $43,318, according to a report released
today by the U.S. Census Bureau. At the same time, the nation’s official
poverty rate rose from 12.1 percent in 2002 to 12.5 percent in 2003. The
number of people with health insurance increased by 1.0 million to 243.3
million between 2002 and 2003, and the number without such coverage rose
by 1.4 million to 45.0 million. The percentage of the nation’s population
without coverage grew from 15.2 percent in 2002 to 15.6 percent in 2003."
Additional Reports:
Health
Insurance Data [Census Bureau] |
|
Electoral
College |
The Electoral College [National Archives] |
|
The 9/11
Commission Report (July 22, 2004)
Monographs on
terrorist financing and terrorist travel |
The 9/11 Commission Report:
Final Report of
the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States,
Official Government Edition
Executive Summary:
PDF-34 pages
"The
Commission’s Final Report provides a full and complete account of the
circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist attacks,
including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. It
also includes recommendations designed to guard against future attacks."
–Excerpt from report
Monograph on Terrorist Financing (2004)
Monograph on 9/11 and Terrorist Travel
(2004) These two reports were issued by the 9/11 Commission at the time it
released its final report (see above link). |
USA PATRIOT Act Field Report |
Report from the Field: The USA PATRIOT Act
at Work (July 2004) Full report:
PDF-31 pages
Summary: HTML |
|
Prisoner
Abuse—Iraq War—Red Cross Report |
Report of the International
Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) on the Treatment by the Coalition Forces
of Prisoners of War and Other Protected Persons by the Geneva Conventions
in Iraq during Arrest, Internment and Interrogation (February 2004)
PDF-24 pages |
|
Taguba
Report—Iraq War—Prisoners of War Report |
Article 15-6 Investigation of
the 800th Military Police Brigade Online:
PDF-53 pages
Print: DOCS/US D 1.2:AR 7
CATALOG RECORD
Report prepared by Maj. Gen. Antonio M. Taguba., U.S. Army./ Report
submitted Mar. 9, 2004. Investigation into the
alleged abuse of prisoners of war by members of the 800th Military Police
Brigade at Abu Ghraib Prison, Baghdad, Iraq. |
|
War on Terrorism |
Coordinating the War on
Terrorism (March 2004) [RAND]
PDF-23 pages
This Occasional Paper addresses the questions of why coordination is
important and how it should be accomplished
within the executive branch of the federal government. The
paper concludes with a vision for a White House coordinating
process and for the shape of the newly created
Terrorist Threat Integration Center. |
|
Fastest Growing
Occupations |
Occupations with the Largest
Job Growth, 2002-2012 (February 2004) For more detailed information, see
Occupational Employment Projections
to 2012 PDF-26 pages. Additional relevant articles are available in
Monthly Labor
Review, February 2004. See also: Employment Projections
[BLS] |
|
Wright Brothers
top |
First Flight Centennial
Facts and figures on
air transportation starting with Kitty Hawk in 1903. Gives annual
operating revenue for air industry, number of jobs generated by air
transportation, number of people employed by the industry, and more. (12/3/03) |
|
Arab
Americans—Census data
top |
Arab Americans: 2000
PDF-12 pages
National,
regional, and state information on the total
Arab population, as well as on the three largest
Arab groups: Lebanese, Syrian and Egyptian. County- and selected
place-level data also are provided for the total Arab population.
Tables in the brief show 2000 and 1990 totals with numeric and
percentage changes for the Arab population and specific Arab groups at the
national level; 2000 and 1990 totals for the Arab population and 2000
totals for the three largest Arab groups at the national, regional and
state (includes the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico) levels; and 2000
totals for the Arab population in selected cities. (12/3/03) |
|
California
Homeland Security |
Local Homeland Security in
California: Surveys of City Officials and State Residents (September
2003) PDF-34
pages Presented at the League of California Cities annual conference, Session on
Policies and Plans for Dealing with Terrorism, Sacramento, California,
September 9, 2003. |
|
Terrorism—Government Spending |
2003 Report to Congress on Combating Terrorism
[OMB]
(September 2003)
PDF-77 pages
Unclassified report on government-wide spending
to combat terrorism. Information on Executive
Branch spending, programmatic initiatives, and priority terrorism-related
areas for FY 2002 through FY 2004. |
|
Nation Building
top |
America's Role in Nation
Building: From Germany to Iraq [RAND] (2003)
Full Report Executive Summary
PDF-17
pages
Excerpt from press release: "...
reviews more than 50 years of
U.S. efforts to transform defeated and broken enemies into democratic and
prosperous allies. The authors conclude that rebuilding Iraq will be
difficult but possible, and use historical perspective to illuminate
today's headlines."
|
|
ID Theft
top |
ID
Theft: When Bad Things Happen to Your Good Name
PRINT:
FT 1.2:T
34/
2001-2
ONLINE:
PDF-37
pages
The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has produced this publication to help
people guard against and recover from identity theft. It describes how
ID theft occurs, how you can minimize your risk, what to do if you are a
victim, how to resolve credit problems, and more. Information about
federal and state laws is provided. APPENDIX includes the ID Theft
Affidavit form and instructions.
|
|
September 11
Report
top |
Congressional Reports: Joint Inquiry into
Intelligence Community Activities before and after the Terrorist Attacks
of September 11, 2001
In February 2002, the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence and the
House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence agreed to conduct a Joint
Inquiry into the activities of the U.S. Intelligence Community in
connection with the terrorist attacks perpetrated against our nation on
September 11, 2001. This report (available as both S. Rept. 107-351 and H.
Rept. 107-792) consists of 832 pages that presents the joint inquiry’s
findings and conclusions, an accompanying narrative, and a series of
recommendations. –GPO Access |
|
Demographics |
Fast Facts for Congress
Facts sheets from Census 2000 by county, congressional district, state,
and U.S. Easy to search. |
|
Home Values
top |
Home Values Through the
Roof
Press
Release Full Report: Home Values: 2000
PDF-10 pages
Census 2000 report
on the increase in housing values from 1950 to 2000. (5/29/03) |
|
Bioterrorism:
Orange
County Information |
Bioterrorism:
Guide to Domestic Preparedness
Information to help
residents of Orange County prepare in the event
of a disaster. |
|
California's
Response to Bioterrorism
top |
Responding to
Bioterrorism: Assessing California's Preparedness (March 2002)
PDF-
61 pages
"The events of September 11, 2001 and the subsequent discovery of
anthrax-laden letters in several states heightened national and state
concerns about preparedness for terrorism response. This report focuses on
the particular problem of bioterrorism. It sets forth assumptions on what
constitutes a bioterrorist attack and lists bioterrorist scenarios. It
provides an overview of California's preparedness for bioterrorism
including the Standardized Emergency Management System and the California
Terrorism Response Plan (CTRP) and describes the roles and
responsibilities of the network of state, federal, and local agencies
responders involved in CTRP implementation. Annexes to the report provide
additional technical information including definitions of key terms and
acronyms and descriptions of four known terrorist events." -Excerpt |
|
Nuclear Power in
California
top |
Benefits and Risks of Nuclear Power in
California
(2002)
PDF-76
Pages
"As a result of California's
electricity crisis during 2001, policy makers scrambled to examine all
possible options for maintaining a reliable supply of energy at a
reasonable cost. Existing nuclear power plants within the state were very
helpful during the recent electricity crisis. Four operating reactors at
two nuclear power plants produce approximately 18 percent of California�s
power. To help legislators and analysts explore nuclear power's future
role in California, this report outlines the benefits and risks associated
with nuclear power." -Excerpt |
|
Minimum Wage in
California
top |
Minimum Wage: Who Gets it and What Difference
Does it Make?
(2002)
PDF-
39 pages
"This report discusses the impact of the minimum
wage, especially for workers who depend on these jobs for their living
expenses. A majority of the 1.6 million workers (and their families) who
earn less than $7.00 per hour work full time; hence, we assume that they
depend on minimum-wage earnings to support themselves and their families."
-Excerpt |
|
Infectious
Diseases
top |
Global
Threat of New and Reemerging Infections Diseases (2003)
Comprehensive
analysis of the security implications of the spread of infectious diseases.
Examines the impact of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in
South Africa, highlighting this particular crisis as a graphic example of
the devastating effects that infectious disease can have on virtually
every aspect of a state's functioning viability. Also
gives a detailed analysis of the United States
and the threat posed by specific diseases,
assessing the effectiveness of the existing public health infrastructure,
and offering specific actions that can be taken to improve the country's
ability to meet this emerging challenge. |
|
Embedded Media
Rules |
Embedded Media Rules During Iraq Military Operations
PDF-13
pages |
|
U.S.
Department of Homeland Security
top |
U.S. Department of Homeland
Security Homeland Security is a new cabinet-level department designed to
consolidate national defenses against terrorist attack and coordinate
counterterrorism intelligence. |
|
Sharing
Information Among Law Enforcement Agencies |
Optimizing
State Investments for Justice Information Sharing
PDF-6
pages Report from the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices
on how law enforcement agencies can share information across bureaucratic
boundaries in response to terrorism. |
|
Historical
Documents
top |
Our Documents: Milestone Documents
100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records
Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The
documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965. Includes the
Homestead Act (1862),
Chinese Exclusion Act (1882),
Dawes Act (1887), and
19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Women's Right to Vote (1920) . |
|
Travel
Security |
Travel Security Administration
Links to information for travelers, about employment, law and
policy, and security & law enforcement. |
|
Dietary
Guidelines |
Center for Nutrition Policy and
Promotion Dietary information including
'Dietary
Guidelines for Americans,' recipes, and tips for healthy and
thrifty meals. Links to many additional publications. |
|
White House
Report on Iraq |
Apparatus of
Lies: Saddam's Disinformation and Propaganda, 1990-2003
PDF-34 pages |
|
Economic
Value of a College Education
top |
The Big Payoff: Educational Attainment and Synthetic
Estimates of Work-Life Earnings (2002)
PDF-13 pages Press Release
This report analyzes the economic value of a high school degree and also
the earnings estimates of college graduates in comparison to high school
graduates. |
|
Home-Based
Workers
top |
Home Based
Workers
(December 2001)
PDF-8 pages
Employment characteristics, demographic characteristics,
self-employment by industry and occupation not working at home and working
at home for data year 1997. Discussion, tables, charts. 1/05/02 |
|
Maternity
Leave
top |
Maternity Leave and Employment Patterns, 1961-1995
(2001) Full text:
PDF-21 pages
Highlights:
Press
Release The report discusses changes in the
characteristics of first-time mothers, how rapidly mothers with newborns
return to work, trends in women's work experience before their first birth
and changes in U.S. society, including enactment of family-related
legislation such as the Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978 and the
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. The report also addresses the number
of hours worked, pay levels and job-skill levels for new mothers returning
to the workforce. |
|
Recession
top |
NBER Announces Recession Began March 2001
(26-Nov-01). "The NBER's Business Cycle Dating Committee has determined that a peak in
business activity occurred in the U.S. economy in March 2001. A peak marks
the end of an expansion and the beginning of a recession. The
determination of a peak date in March is thus a determination that the
expansion that began in March 1991 ended in March 2001 and a recession
began. The expansion lasted exactly 10 years, the longest in the NBER's
chronology." |
|
USA Patriot
Act
top |
USA Patriot
Act (HR 3162)
Uniting and Strengthening America by
Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism.
Introduced 10/23/2001. Signed into law by President Bush 10/26/2001.
|
Baby
Boomers: Statistics
top |
Baby Boom Brought Biggest Increases Among People 45-to-54 Years Old
This Census news release states: "People born
during the early years of the baby boom (1946 through 1950) fueled the
55-percent increase of the 50- to 54-year-olds, the largest percentage
growth between 1990 and 2000 of any five-year age group."
Age:
2000 (September 2001)
PDF-12 pages
This is the full report on age structure in the
United States, with data on baby boomers.
The
65 Years and Over Population: 2000
(October 2001)
PDF-8 pages
Portrait of population and
housing data for the 65 years and over population and its distribution at
the national and subnational levels. Also gives highlights of comparisons
with 1990 census. |
An
instructional page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
Created and maintained by
Catherine Kaye, Govenment Documents Section. (c) 2008 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Created: 9/25/00. Updated:
03/23/10 . |