Pollak Library Research Guides Government Information FEATURED DOCUMENT OF THE MONTH

library logo

Featured Documents of the Month
Government Documents Section Pollak Library California State University Fullerton

FDLP logo

ReadGovDocs
SlideShow [PPT]

Archive

< Federal Funds
< Digital TV
< Federal Dollars
< Nuclear Power
< Iraq War Costs
< Green Corporations
< Social Security Reform
< Climate Change
< Gasoline Prices
< Women
< Work in California
< Family Costs
< Girls & Math
< Child's Day
< Climate Change
< Botanic Garden
< Soldiers in Iraq
< Police Contacts
< Iraq Stability
< Food Spending
< Educational Attainment
< Katrina
< Iraq Study Group Rept.
< Data Book
< 2nd Generation Americans
< Workforce 2006
< Nuclear Materials
< Flu Pandemic
< Education Statistics
< China & Oil
< Katrina
< Surveillance
< Cancer
< Iraq
< Iraq War--Stability
< FEMA
< Social Security
< Childlren Ages 0-5
< Parks
< Alcohol First Use
< Working Poor
< Bullying
< Climate Change
< Snack Food
< Federal Debt
< Juvenile Arrests
< Drugs on Campusg
< Health Insurance Coverage
< Stem Cells
<  9/11 Commission
< Global Terrorism
< Immigration Statistics
< USA Patriot Act
< Statistical Portrait of the U.S.
< Expenditures on Children
< Occupational Outlook
Handbook
< America's Children
< Health Insurance 
Coverage
< Trends in the Health &  Well-Being of America's  Children & Youth
< Indicators of School Crime
< Country Reports on Economic Policy &  Trade Practices
< ID Theft
< Country Commercial Guides
< Emerging Infectious Diseases
< Employment & Earnings
< Thomas Jefferson and the Education of a Citizen
< Surgeon General Reports
< Foreign Labor Trends
< OECD Economic Surveys
< IMF Working Papers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2009 November

Individual Mandate: A Background Report [California Research Bureau] (April 2009)
Introduction: "Over 46 million Americans are without healthcare coverage. The number of uninsured is increasing with the growth of unemployment and stagnation of employer-based coverage. Healthcare cost growth continues to outpace growth in wages. The individual mandate is a policy option that could significantly reduce the number of uninsured in the United States and lead to universal health care coverage. An individual mandate would require every citizen to obtain health insurance, be it through an employer, an individual plan, a purchasing pool, or a public plan. This report will discuss how such a mandate could work, what it would cost. It also will review the pros and cons of the individual mandate as well as the availability, affordability and enforcement that would come from such a mandate."

California Foreclosure Watch: When Will the Pain End [CRB] (March 2009)
Intro: "When will the pain end? Not until 2010, when employment losses bottom out and housing prices start rising again. In the spreadsheets accompanying this brief report, data for 57 counties are available at Foreclosures09Q1.xls (Excel) and Foreclosures09Q1.pdf (PDF).The latest CRB estimate of California foreclosures is 1.1 million for the “cycle” or period 2007-2012, but total “lost” homes will reach 1.4 million. Lenders are trying to avoid the expense of foreclosures, sometimes giving cash incentives to those who are in default and voluntarily mail back the keys. Lenders are also becoming more open to short sales. In these two ways, lenders cut short the long foreclosure process. Some 300,000 units will be lost through jingle mail (deeds surrendered in lieu of foreclosure) or through short sales (principal forbearance that allows underwater homeowners to sell the home for less than the mortgage balance)."

2009 October

Men's and Women's Earnings by State: 2008 American Community Survey (September 2009)
Concise report presenting data on men's and women's earnings at the national and state levels.

2009 September

In the Midst of the Great Recession: The State of Working California 2009 [California Budget Project] (Sept 2009)
Examines the impacts that the recent recession has had on employment, earnings and income in California. Specifically it looks at the unemployment rate of California and the U.S. across the most recent years, loss of jobs (across industries), wage gains and declines across years, change in income (among quintiles, and across years), and more.

2009 August   top

Foreclosure to Homelessness 2009: The Forgotten Victims of the Subprime Crisis (2009)
Assesses the foreclosure crisis and its relationship to an increase in homelessness.

Climate Change & National Park Wildlife: A Survival Guide for a Warming World (2009) [National Parks Conservation Association]
Discusses changes in national parks as symptomatic of changes throughout the U.S.

Potential Impacts of Climate Change in the United States (May 2009) [CBO]
Preface: "Overview of the current understanding of the impacts of climate change in the United States, emphasizing the wide range of uncertainty about the magnitude and timing of those impacts and the implications of that uncertainty for the formulation of effective policy responses. The analysis draws from numerous published sources to summarize the current state of climate science and provide a conceptual framework for addressing climate change as an economic concern. In keeping with CBO’s mandate to provide objective, impartial analysis, the paper makes no recommendations."

Fact Sheet 2009-2046: Fifty-Year Record of Glacier Change Reveals Shifting Climate in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, USA (August 2009) [USGS]
This U.S. Geological Survey study focuses on three benchmark glaciers--the Wolverine and Gulkana in Alaska and the South Cascade Glacier in Washington--because their climates and elevations are representative of of other glaciers across the continent.

Cost assessment of Obama Administration proposed health care reform legislation as of July 14, 2009 [Congressional Budget Office]
Preliminary analysis of H.R. 3200, the America's Affordable Health Choices Act of 2009, which would establish a mandate for legal residents to obtain health insurance.

Afghanistan: U.S. Foreign Assistance (July 14, 2009)
Intro: "This report provides an overview of the U.S. aid program and congressional action. It describes what various aid agencies report they are doing in Afghanistan. It does not address the effectiveness of their programs." The report describes security programs, development and humanitarian-related activities, governance and democratization efforts, and counter-narcotics programs.


2009 July   top

Racial Categorization in the 2010 Census (2006)
A Briefing Before The United States Commission on Civil Rights Held in Washington, DC, April 7, 2006. Discusses the origin of race terms, beginning with the first census in 1790 through the introduction of "Hispanic" in the 1970's and following censuses.

Consolidated Federal Funds Report for Fiscal Year 2008: State and County Areas (July 2009)
Describes the distribution of federal funds by department and agency, and by state and county.

Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2008 (July 2009) | 1998-present
Presents Federal Government aid to state and local governments by state. Data are shown by Federal agency and program when possible.

2009 June   top

Budget of the United States Government FY 2010
The Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other budget items, such as related publications and supporting materials, are included.

Global Climate Change Impacts the United States (June 16, 2009)
Summarizes the science and the impacts of climate change on the United States focusing on  different regions of the U.S. and on various aspects of society and the economy such as energy, water, agriculture, and health. Also discusses the impacts of climate change in the U.S. and highlights the choices we face.

To Have and Have Not (June 2, 2009) [California Budget Project]
A new CBP analysis finds that tax law changes included in recent budget agreements would result in large tax cuts for a very small number of corporations while lawmakers propose major cuts to social programs.

Sonia Sotomayor: Background report from the Law Library of Congress
Information on articles and books by Sotomayor, Congressional documents, cases, and web resources.

The Economic Case for Health Care Reform (June 2009)
Comprehensive analysis of the economic impacts of health care reform with forecast of where we are headed in the absence of reform. From The Council of Economic Advisers (CEA).

Notes on Economic Developments for the First 100 Days in Office (April 21, 2009)
Facts and statistics on economic changes during Obama's first 100 days in office.


2009 May   top

When Will the Pain End: California Foreclosure Watch (Q4 2008 data)
Briefly Stated report from the California Research Bureau.

Who Could Afford to Buy a Home in 2004? (May 2009)
Statistics and discussion on home affordability and barriers to homeownership.


2009 April   top

Building an Americanization Movement for the Twenty-first Century: A Report to the President of the United States from the Task Force on New Americans (2009)
Report on immigration reform and immigrant assimilation.

California Dropout Research Project: City Profiles (2009)
Includes Los Angeles, Pasadena, Santa Ana, Long Beach, San Diego, San Bernardino. From UC Santa Barbara.

California Statewide Survey: California & Their Government (March 2009) [PPIC] - May 19 Special Election
Survey preceding May 19 special election.

Job Outlook by Education, 2006-16 (Occupational Outlook Quarterly, Fall 2008) PDF-28 pages
U.S. Bureau of Labor statistics projects opportunities for new workers.

U.S. Nuclear Generation of Electricity (April 2, 2009)
Nuclear generation. Monthly and cumulative data are reported by State and by Reactor.


2009 March   top

2007 Economic Census

Just the Facts: California State Budget - February 2009

Impacts of Sea-Level Rise on the California Coast (March 2009) - PDF-113 pages
Analysis of population, infrastructure, and property at risk from projected sea-level rise from the California Climate Change Center.


2009 February   top

A New Era of Responsibility: Renewing America's Promise (FY2010 budget overview)
Description of the Obama Administration's fiscal policies and major budgetary initiatives.

Economic Stimulus: Issues and Policies - January 23, 2009 - PDF-23 pages
Source: Congressional Research Service.


2009 January    top

Inaugural Address of President Obama - January 20, 2009


December 2008   top

Economic Analysis of a Mortgage Foreclosure Moratorium - September 12, 2008
Analysis of the voluntary progress to enable troubled mortgage borrowers and lenders to refinance their loans through the FHA.

Subprime Mortgages: Primer on Current Lending and Foreclosure Issues - March 19, 2007
Background on subprime mortgages.


November 2008   top

Plum Book [United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions]: 2008
New positions to be filled in the Barack Obama administration. Comprehensive information on thousands of Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide. Additionally, appendices provide information on the positions listed and the Federal salary schedules under which they are paid.

End of Life: Helping with Comfort and Care (2008) PDF-72 pages


October 2008   top

Consolidated Federal Funds Report for Fiscal Year 2007: State and County Areas (September 2008) PDF-120 pages
Overview of how and where the federal government distributes funds. Statistics are broken out by federal department and agency (Dept. of Defense, Social Security Administration, Postal Service), as well as by state, county and subcounty area. Highlights: Retirement and disability payments to individuals accounted for $783 billion (more than 30 percent) of total federal spending. Of that amount, 80 percent, or $623 billion, went to Social Security recipients. Social Security was composed of retirement insurance payments; ($369 billion), survivors insurance ($113 billion), disability insurance; ($105 billion) and supplemental security income payments ($36 billion).

Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2007 (September 2008) PDF-56 pages
Data on federal grants to state and local governments.

Pollution Abatement Costs and Expenditures: 2005 (2008) PDF-104 pages
Detailed statistics on capital expenditures and operating costs for pollution prevention and pollution treatment for the manufacturing sector. These data are available by cost category (treatment/capture, prevention, disposal and recycling) and the media (air, water discharge and solid waste), both by state and industry.

Why Leaves Change Color PDF-5 pages


September 2008  top

Conversion from Analog to Digital TV, February 17, 2009
Intro: "On Feb. 17, 2009, all full-power TV stations will cease to broadcast analog programming. This transition to digital television will enable more efficient use of the nation’s airwaves, providing new advanced wireless services and increased public safety services. To mark this historic transition, the Census Bureau has assembled a sampling of statistics from its publications about television and the television industry."


August 2008  top

Where Did Your Federal Dollars Go in 2006? (2008)
Links to two reports: The first, Consolidated Federal Funds Report: 2006, provides a broad overview of how and where the federal government allocates funds. Statistics are provided for each federal department and agency, and presented by state, county and subcounty area. The second report, Federal Aid to States for Fiscal Year 2006, contains data on federal grants to state and local governments.


July 2008  top

Nuclear Power's Role in Generating Electricity (2008)
Intro: "At the request of the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, the Congressional Budget Office (CBO) assessed the competitiveness of nuclear power when compared with other sources of new capacity to generate electricity, focusing on the possible effects of constraints on carbon dioxide emissions and the impact of EPAct incentives. In accordance with CBO’s mandate to provide objective, impartial analysis, this study makes no recommendations."


June 2008  top

The Cost of Iraq, Afghanistan, and Other Global War on Terror Operations Since 9/11, updated November 9, 2007 [Congressional Research Service] PDF-50 pages
Intro: "With enactment of the FY2007 supplemental on May 25, 2007, Congress has approved a total of about $609 billion for military operations, base security, reconstruction, foreign aid, embassy costs, and veterans’ health care for the three operations initiated since the 9/11 attacks: Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF) Afghanistan and other counter terror operations; Operation Noble Eagle (ONE), providing enhanced security at military bases; and Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF)."


May 2008  top

The Greening of U.S. Corporations (2008) [U.S. Dept. of State] PDF-43 pages
Discusses economic incentives for U.S. corporations to develop green technologies. Major U.S. companies (General Electric, Wal-Mart, Apple) and CEO's are mentioned.


April 2008  top

Social Security Reform: The Nature of the Problem (Issue Brief No. 1: September 24, 2007) PDF-14 pages
Series of issue briefs from the Treasury on Social Security reform topics. The first brief explains the magnitude of the financial challenge facing Social Security and why acting sooner and spreading the burden of reform across more generations is fairer to future generations.

Issue Brief No. 1: Social Security Reform: The Nature of the Problem
Issue Brief No. 2
: Social Security Reform: A Framework for Analysis
Issue Brief No. 3: Social Security Reform: Benchmarks for Assessing Fairness and Benefit Adequacy


March 2008  top

Climate Change: Science Update 2007 (November 29, 2007) [CRS] PDF-17 pages
Summarizes highlights of new scientific research and assessments released in 2007 related to global warming. Discusses the fourth major assessment of technical information on climate change by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).


February 2008  top

Effects of Gasoline Prices on Driving Behavior and Vehicle Markets (2008) PDF-58 pages
Excerpt from Summary: "This Congressional Budget Office (CBO) study examines the scope and intensity of consumers’ responses to the upward trend in gasoline prices that began in 2003. Those responses have been large enough to interrupt a pattern of steady growth in total gasoline consumption dating back to 1990, the last time U.S. gasoline prices rose substantially. If current high prices—and consumers’ responses to them—persist, the effect on overall gasoline consumption will grow stronger as older, less-fuelefficient vehicles are retired and as consumers consider other, less easily implemented adjustments to their patterns of consumption."


January 2008  top

Census Atlas of the United States (2007)
More than 700 full-color maps. First general population and housing statistical atlas published by the Census Bureau since 1925. Featuring more than 300 pages and weighing about 7 pounds, the atlas presents data from 1790 through 2000. It is arranged by topic and grouped into three general themes — who we are, where we come from and what we do. Most maps feature county-level detail for the United States and Puerto Rico.

Women's History Month: March 2008
Core statistics with links to detailed reports on: population, motherhood, earnings, education, businesses, voting, jobs, military, marriage, computers, volunteerism, and sports.


December 2007  top

The State of Work in California, 1979-2006: A Generation of Widening Inequality (2007) PDF-72 pages
Summary: "The story of the past generation is one of widening inequality. Since the late 1970s, California’s job growth has become concentrated in low-wage and high-wage jobs and the  gap between workers at the low end and the high end of the earnings distribution has widened. Meanwhile, income has become increasingly concentrated among the richest Californians. A Generation of Widening Inequality: The State of Working California, 1979 to 2006 documents employment, wage, and income trends in California during the past generation and highlights the importance of public policies that address the gap between rich and poor."


November 2007   top

Making Ends Meet: How Much Does it Cost to Raise a Family in California? 2007 PDF-28 pages
Estimates the cost of a basic standard of living in California for four family types. It calculates annual family budgets and hourly wages needed to cover costs of housing and utilities, child care, transportation, food, health coverage, payroll and income taxes, and miscellaneous expenses, but does not account for savings, vacations or emergencies. Also provides detailed budgets for the four family types in 10 regions in the state, including Los Angeles County.


October 2007   top

Encouraging Girls in Math and Science [PDF]
Intro: "This National Center for Education Research (NCER) Practice Guide is the second in a series of IES guides in education. Developed by a panel of experts, this guide brings together the best available evidence and expertise to provide educators with specific and coherent evidence-based recommendations on how to encourage girls in the fields of math and science. The objective is to provide teachers with specific recommendations that can be carried out in the classroom without requiring systemic change. Other school personnel having direct contact with students, such as coaches, counselors, and principals may also find the guide useful. The guide offers five recommendations and indicates the quality of the evidence that supports the recommendations. Together, the recommendations make a coherent statement: To encourage girls in math and science, educators need to strengthen girls’ beliefs about their abilities in math and science, spark and maintain greater interest in these subject areas, and build associated skills."


September 2007   top

A Child's Day: 2003 (2007) PDF-22 pages | 2000
Statistics on tv viewing, meals with parents, praise from parents, sports participation, progression through school, and more.


August 2007   top

Climate Change (August 2007) [GAO]
Introduction: "Climate change has implications for the vast land and water resources managed by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Forest Service (FS), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and National Park Service (NPS). These resources generally occur within four ecosystem types: coasts and oceans, forests, fresh waters, and grasslands and shrublands. GAO obtained experts' views on (1) the effects of climate change on federal resources and (2) the challenges managers face in addressing climate change effects on these resources. GAO held a workshop with the National Academies in which 54 scientists, economists, and federal resource managers participated, and conducted 4 case studies."

Related: Addressing Climate Change: views from the private sector : hearing before the Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Tenth Congress, first session, February 13, 2007.


July 2007   top

A Botanic Garden for the Nation: The United States Botanic Garden (2007)
Chronicles the history of the United States Botanic Garden. Also documents the plants and exhibits housed there.  


June 2007   top

Congressional Testimony: Hearing on Mental Health Problems Confronting Soldiers Returning from Iraq, Afghanistan
Summary: "Numerous reports indicate that a large percentage of soldiers returning from Iraq and Afghanistan are suffering from mental health problems such as post-traumatic stress disorder. In a hearing on Thursday, May 24, the Committee heard from afflicted soldiers and their families, examined the ability of the DOD and the VA to screen, treat, and track returning soldiers who are at risk, and assessed the impact that these illnesses are having on military readiness and military families."


May 2007   top

Contacts between Police and the Public: 2005> (2007) PDF-14 pages
Data on black, hispanic, and white drivers and traffic stops.


April 2007   top

The latest quarterly report from DoD on "Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq" has been released. This is the first time the Defense Department has referenced it as a "civil war." "Some elements of the situation in Iraq are properly descriptive of a "civil war," including the hardening of ethno-sectarian identities and mobilization, the changing character of the violence, and population displacements." [p. 14]. Also included are numerous graphs, maps and charts including some energy production reports, the number of attacks, combat operation, the number of sectarian murders and incidents, casualties, assessed capabilities and more.
 
Related: The recent National Intelligence Estimate: January 2007 is also referenced in the report and it can be found at http://www.dni.gov/press_releases/20070202_release.pdf.

March 2007   top

Food Spending in American Households, 2003-04
Description: "Average yearly expenditures on food in U.S. urban households increased between 2003 and 2004. Over the period, annual per capita spending on food rose from $2,035 to $2,207. The 2004 average comprises $1,347 spent on food consumed at home and $860 spent on food consumed away from home. These amounts reflect a year-to-year increase of 7.9 percent in food-at-home expenditures and 9.3 percent in food-away-from-home expenditures. Wealthier urban households tended to spend more than other urban households for both food at home and food away from home, and they spent a larger share of their food budget than other households on food consumed away from home. The share of the food budget spent on food consumed away from home varied from 30 percent for the poorest group to 44 percent for the wealthiest."


February 2007    top

Educational Attainment in the United States: 2006
Description: "Adults with advanced degrees earn four times more than those with less than a high school diploma, according to tabulations released today by the U.S. Census Bureau. The series of tables, Educational Attainment in the United States: 2006, showed adults 18 and older with a master’s, professional or doctoral degree earned an average of $79,946, while those with less than a high school diploma earned about $19,915. The tables also showed adults with a bachelor’s degree earned an average of $54,689 in 2005, while those with a high school diploma earned $29,448."

 

 


January 2007    top

Hurricane Katrina: A Nation Still Unprepared (Congressional Reports: S. Rpt. 109-322)
URL: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/serialset/creports/katrinanation.html


December 2006    top

Iraq Study Group Report / James A. Baker, III, and Lee H. Hamilton, co-chairs; Lawrence S. Eagleburger ... [et al.] (December 2006) PDF-160 pages
The landmark final report of the Iraq Study Group (ISG).

The Endangered Species Act and ‘Sound Science’ (2006) PDF-29 pages
From Summary: "This report provides a context for evaluating legislative proposals through examples of how science has been used in selected cases, a discussion of the nature and role of science in general, and its role in the ESA process in particular, together with general and agency information quality requirements and policies, and a review of how the courts have viewed agency use of science. This report will be updated as events warrant."


November 2006    top

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2006 PDF-448 pages    top
Data for the U.S. and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas. The files include data published for 2005 population and housing unit estimates and many items from the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.

Topic areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans.


October 2006     top

Labor Force Characteristics of Second-Generation Americans
Full Paper (PDF-10 pages/72KB)
Source: Monthly Labor Review (Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Dept. of Labor)
“This article examines the labor force status, occupations, and earnings of second- and third-and-higher-generation workers by a variety of demographic characteristics including age, sex, race or ethnicity, educational attainment, and family status. It also looks at the labor market situation of the two groups that make up the second generation — persons whose parents are both foreign born (foreign parentage) and persons who have one native-born parent and one foreign-born parent (mixed parentage).”


September 2006     top

America’s Dynamic Workforce: 2006 [U.S. Department of Labor] PDF-48 pages
Chartbook (statistics, tables, charts) PDF-72 pages
Presents an overview of current conditions and notable trends affecting the American labor market and economic activity. Primary emphasis is on measures of labor market performance ­ employment, labor force participation, unemployment, and compensation. General measures of economic performance such as gross domestic product (GDP) and productivity growth are also described as they relate to labor market conditions and trends.


August 2006     top

Securing U.S. Nuclear Materials: DOE Needs to Take Action to Safely Consolidate Plutonium (July 2005)
Highlights | Full Report
Summary: "Plutonium is very hazardous to human health and the environment and requires extensive security because of its potential use in a nuclear weapon. The Department of Energy (DOE) stores about 50 metric tons of plutonium that is no longer needed by the United States for nuclear weapons. Some of this plutonium is contaminated metal, oxides, solutions, and residues remaining from the nuclear weapons production process. To improve security and reduce plutonium storage costs, DOE plans to establish enough storage capacity at its Savannah River Site (SRS) in the event it decides to consolidate its plutonium at SRS until it can be permanently disposed of in a geologic repository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. GAO was asked to examine (1) the extent to which DOE can consolidate this plutonium at SRS and (2) SRS’s capacity to monitor plutonium storage containers."


July 2006     top

National Strategy for Pandemic Influenza Implementation Plan (May 2006) PDF-233 pages
Implementation plan to clarify roles and responsibilities of governmental and nongovernmental entities.


June 2006     top

A Half-Century of Learning: Historical Statistics on Educational Attainment in the United States: 1940 to 2000
Introduction: "
In 1940, statistics on educational attainment were collected for every person enumerated in the census and from a sample of them thereafter. In 1940, only 25 percent of the population age 25 and older had a high school diploma, and just 5 percent earned a bachelor’s degree or more. By the close of the 20th century, these figures had increased to 80 percent with high school diplomas and 24 percent with bachelor’s degrees. Educational attainment data are shown by sex, race and Hispanic origin (since 1980) at the regional and state levels. These data are based on the decennial census and are separate from annual data collected in the Current Population Survey."


May 2006     top

China's Growing Demand for Oil and Its Impact on U.S. Petroleum Markets (April 2006) PDF-58 pages
Introduction: "China’s demand for crude oil and refined petroleum products has been growing over the past decade, and in 2003 and 2004, the country’s demand for oil increased dramatically, surprising many energy analysts. This paper explores the reasons for that growth and the implications for petroleum markets in the United States."


April 2006     top

CBO Data Show Capital Income Has Become Much More Concentrated at the Top (2006) [Center on Budget and Policy Priorities] PDF-4 pages

[Wealth distribution in U.S. households--comparison of 1970s and 2003]
CBO Report: Historical Effective Federal Tax Rates, 1979-2003

This report examines who received income from interest, dividends, rents and capital gains in the US from 1979 to 2003. The report briefly discusses the impact on income inequality of extending lower tax rates on capital gains and dividend income. 

 

SELECTED FINDINGS:

  • In 2003, the top one percent of the population received 57.5 percent of all capital income. This was larger than in any other year examined by CBO, with its data going back to 1979. (The top one percent consisted in 2003 of households with after-tax incomes that averaged $701,500.)

  • In 2003, the bottom 80 percent of the population received only 12.6 percent of such capital income, the lowest share on record (with data back to 1979). As recently as 1989, for instance, the bottom 80 percent of the population received 23.5 percent of
    capital income subject to taxation, a share nearly twice as high.

  • By contrast, the average after-tax income of the middle fifth of the population rose a relatively modest 15 percent (less than one percentage point per year), and the average after-tax income of the poorest fifth of the population rose just 4 percent, or $600, over the 24-year period.

Related report:

Where Did They Go? The Decline of Middle-Income Neighborhoods in Metropolitan America (2006) [Brookings Institute]  
This report examines the income of families and neighborhoods across the nation using decennial census data going back to 1970. Data is broken down by family income levels and neighborhoods (from very low to very high) among the 100 largest metropolitan areas in the US. 

SELECTED FINDINGS  
  • The number of very low income neighborhoods (50% or less of area median income) in the 100 most populous metro areas increased by more than 300% from 1970 to 2000.
  • The share of middle income neighborhoods in the 100 largest metro areas declined from 31.7% in 1970 to 22.5% in 2000.
  • 37% of lower income families in 2000 lived in middle income neighborhoods, compared to 55% in 1970.
  • The share of very high income families (more than 150% of area median income) among the 100 largest metro areas increased from 23.6% in 1970 to 28.1% in 2000.
  • The Los Angeles - Long Beach metro area experienced a 23.6% decline in middle income neighborhoods from 1970 to 2000.

March 2006     top

Performance Review of FEMA’s Disaster Management Activities in Response to Hurricane Katrina (March 31, 2006) PDF-218 pages
Preface: "This report assesses the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) performance as it conducted its disaster management responsibilities in response to Hurricane Katrina. We examined whether the laws, regulations, policies, procedures, plans, guidelines, and resources were adequate and operational, and whether FEMA's organizational structure enhanced or hindered its emergency management capabilities."

The Federal Response to Katrina: Lessons Learned (February 2006) PDF-228 pages
Source: Department of Homeland Security
Excerpt from Foreward: "
The Report is organized in a manner to give the reader the most comprehensive and clear understanding possible of what happened during the Federal response to Hurricane Katrina. It begins with a discussion of the magnitude and complexity of the response challenge by discussing 'Katrina in Perspective'—providing an historical comparison both of the hurricane itself and the resultant flood. Only by understanding what the storm was, and was not, can an appropriate and measured assessment of the response take place. A National Preparedness 'Primer' on the current Federal framework is then provided to give the reader an understanding of how the current system was supposed to function. This chapter points out some fundamental confusion in the Federal planning and identifies potential shortcomings in the applicability of our plans to catastrophic widespread incidents."


February 2006     top

Presidential Authority to Conduct Warrantless Electronic Surveillance to Gather Foreign Intelligence Information (January 2006) (PDF-44pages; 380 KB)
Source: Congressional Research Service (via Federation of American Scientists)
From cover page: "This memorandum lays out a general framework for analyzing the constitutional and statutory issues raised by the NSA electronic surveillance activity. It then outlines the legal framework regulating electronic surveillance by the government, explores ambiguities in those statutes that could provide exceptions for the NSA intelligence-gathering operation at issue, and addresses the arguments that the President possesses inherent authority to order the operations or that Congress has provided such authority."

Authorization For Use Of Military Force in Response to the 9/11 Attacks (P.L. 107-40): Legislative History (January 2006) (PDF-6 pages, 44 KB)
Source: Congressional Research Service
From cover page: "In response to the terrorist attacks against the United States on September 11, 2001, the Congress passed legislation, S.J.Res. 23, on September 14, 2001, authorizing the President to “use all necessary and appropriate force against those nations, organizations, or persons he determines planned, authorized, committed, or aided the terrorist attacks that occurred on September 11, 2001, or harbored such organizations or persons....” The President signed this legislation into law on September 18, 2001 (P.L. 107-40, 115 Stat. 224 (2001)). This report provides a legislative history of this statute, the 'Authorization for Use of Military Force' (AUMF), which, as Congress stated in its text, constitutes the legislative authorization for the use of U.S. military force contemplated by the War Powers Resolution. It also is the statute which the President and his attorneys have subsequently cited as an authority for him to engage in electronic surveillance against possible terrorists without obtaining authorization of the special Court created by the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) of 1978, as amended. This report will only be updated if events warrant."


January 2006     top


Report to the Nation on the Status of Cancer, 1975–2002
Source: Journal of the National Cancer Institute, Vol. 97, No. 19, 1407-1427, October 5, 2005
Introduction: "Cancer death rates for all cancer sites combined and for many common cancers have declined at the same time as the dissemination of guideline-based treatment into the community has increased, although this progress is not shared equally across all racial and ethnic populations. Data from population-based cancer registries, supplemented by linkage with administrative databases, are an important resource for monitoring the quality of cancer treatment. Use of this cancer surveillance system, along with new developments in medical informatics and electronic medical records, may facilitate monitoring of the translation of basic science and clinical advances to cancer prevention, detection, and uniformly high quality of care in all areas and populations of the United States."


December 2005    top

National Strategy for Victory in Iraq PDF-38 pages (386 KB)
November 20, 2005
Introduction: "The following document articulates the broad strategy the President set forth in 2003 and provides an update on our progress as well as the challenges remaining."


November 2005    top

Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq (Report to Congress October 2005) PDF-44 pages
The first section of this report discusses stability and security in Iraq and lists goals and progress regarding Iraq’s political stability, security environment, and economic progress. The second section of the report, on Security Force Training and Performance, gives indicators of the training and development of the Iraqi Security Forces (ISF).


October 2005    top  

FEMA: Organization and Mission (September 2005) PDF-68 pages
Introduction: "By congressional direction and tradition, FEMA's mission comprises four broad areas -- preparedness, response, recovery, and hazard mitigation. (DHS) Secretary Chertoff identifies response and recovery as the 'core' operations of FEMA that will be retained in the agency. Preparedness functions would be transferred to a new directorate. No information is available concerning plans for the disposition of hazard mitigation activities."


September 2005    top  

Social Security: Distribution of Benefits and Taxes Relative to Earnings Level (2004) PDF-66 pages
Introduction: "Social Security faces a long-term structural financing shortfall. Program changes to address that shortfall could alter the way Social Security’s benefits and revenues are distributed across the population and affect the income security of millions of Americans. To gain a better understanding of the distributional effects of potential program changes, the Chairman and Ranking Minority Member of the Senate Special Committee on Aging asked us to address (1) how to define and describe "progressivity," that is, the distribution of benefits and taxes with respect to earnings level, when assessing the current Social Security system or proposed changes to it; (2) what factors influence the distributional effects of the current Social Security program; and (3) what would be the distributional effects of various reform proposals, compared with alternative solvent baselines for the current system."


August 2005    top  

Status of Children Ages 0-5 [Orange County] (2005) [OCHNA] PDF-155 pages
Contents: Population characteristics, birth/death data, health care resources, health care access, prenatal/maternal behaviors/ child safety (child abuse), school readiness, and more. Discussion and statistics)  Survey findings, data tables, and statistical analyses regarding children between the ages of 0 and 5 years old in Orange County. The OCHNA survey sampled 684 households in the county with at least one child under six years old.


July 2005    top    

The State of the Parks: The California Desert Parks: Joshua Tree National Park, Death Valley National Park, Mojave National Preserve: A Resource Assessment (June 2005) PDF-52 pages
Report from the National Parks Conservation Association assessing the condition of natural and cultural resources in the parks in an effort to determine how well equipped the National Park Service is to protect the parks in its stewardship capacity. The association's goal is to provide information that will help policy-makers, the public, and the National Park Service improve conditions in national parks, celebrate successes as models for other parks, and ensure a lasting legacy for future generations. COLOR PHOTOS.


June 2005    top    

Characteristics of Primary Alcohol Admissions by Age of First Alcohol Use: 2002 (2005)
Statistics and discussion on age of first use of alcohol and later abuse and dependence.


May 2005    top

A Profile of the Working Poor PDF-12 pages (2005)
This report presents data on the relationship between labor force activity and poverty in 2003 for workers and their families.  In 2003, 35.9 million people, 12.5 percent of the population, lived at or below the official poverty threshold—1.3 million more than in 2002. The working poor are those who spent at least 27 weeks in the labor force (working or looking for work), but whose incomes fell below the official poverty threshold. The working- poor rate—the ratio of the working poor to all individuals in the labor force for at least 27 weeks—was 5.3 percent.


April 2005    top

Take Action Against Bullying (2005) [SAMHSA]
This guide provides an overview of bullying behaviors, their effects, and some preventative measures.
Statistics: Indicators of School Crime & Safety: Bullying at School
Related publications: About Bullying


March 2005    top

Economics of Climate Change: A Primer (2003)
Print: DOCS/US  Y 10.2:EC 7/10 CATALOG RECORD
Online: Internet Version
This Congressional Budget Office (CBO) study presents an overview of issues related to climate change, focusing primarily on its economic aspects. It summarizes the current state of climate science and provides a conceptual framework for addressing climate change as an economic problem. It also examines public policy options and discusses the potential complications and benefits of international coordination. In keeping with CBO’s mandate to provide impartial analysis, the study makes no recommendations.


February 2005    top

Taxing Snack Foods: What to Expect for Diet and Tax Revenues (August 2004)
Available online only: PDF-12 pages
Keywords: Obesity, excise tax, price elasticity of demand, snack food
Abstract: "Health researchers and health policy advocates have proposed levying excise taxes on snack foods as a possible way to address the growing prevalence of obesity and overweight in the United States. Some proposals suggest higher prices alone will change consumers' diets. Others claim that change will be possible if earmarked taxes are used to fund an information program. This research examines the potential impact of excise taxes on snack foods, using baseline data from a household survey of food purchases. To illustrate likely impacts, we examine how much salty snack purchases might be reduced under varying excise tax rates and possible consumer price responses. We find that relatively low tax rates of 1 cent per pound and 1 percent of value would not appreciably alter consumption—and, thus, would have little effect on diet quality or health outcomes—but would generate $40-$100 million in tax revenues."


January 2005    top

Federal Debt: Answers to Frequently Asked Questions: An Update (2004) PDF-90 pages
Section 1. What is the federal debt?
Section 2. What is the relationship between the budget and federal debt?
Section 3. What is the relationship between the economy and federal debt?
Section 4. Federal debt management and ownership
Section 5. Current and future policy issues regarding federal debt
Appendix 1. Selected bibliography.
Appendix 2. Glossary
Appendix 3. Scope and methodology. -- Tables -- Figures


December 2004    top

Juvenile Arrests, 2002 (2004)
Summary and an analysis of national and state juvenile arrest data presented in the FBI's report Crime in the United States 2002. Baseline information for those interested in monitoring the nation's progress in addressing serious juvenile crime.


November 2004    top

The Challenge in Higher Education: Confronting and Reducing Substance Abuse on Campus (2004)
ONLINE: HTML
PRINT: 
CATALOG RECORD


October 2004    top

Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States: 2003
Online: PDF-77 pages

Excerpt: "Real median household income remained unchanged between 2002 and 2003 at $43,318, according to a report released today by the U.S. Census Bureau. At the same time, the nation’s official poverty rate rose from 12.1 percent in 2002 to 12.5 percent in 2003. The number of people with health insurance increased by 1.0 million to 243.3 million between 2002 and 2003, and the number without such coverage rose by 1.4 million to 45.0 million. The percentage of the nation’s population without coverage grew from 15.2 percent in 2002 to 15.6 percent in 2003."


September 2004   top

Stem Cells and the Future of Regenerative Medicine
Print: DOCS/US  NA 1.2:ST 46/2002
Online:
HTML
This report addresses key questions about the biology and therapeutic potential of human stem cells, undifferentiated cells that can give rise to specialized tissues and organs.


August 2004   top

The 9/11 Commission Report: Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, Official Government Edition
Online: Full Report
Online: Executive Summary: PDF-34 pages
Print: DOCS/US  Y 3.2:T 27/2/FINAL  CATALOG RECORD
"The Commission’s Final Report provides a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. It also includes recommendations designed to guard against future attacks." –Excerpt

Also of interest:
Turbulent Transition in Iraq: Can It Succeed?
(June 2004)
Online: PDF-8 pages
Relevant Courses: Political Science, History
This report is a brief up-to-date overview of the situation in Iraq as the Interim Government of Iraq begins to assume authority. From the Institute for National Strategic Studies, National Defense University.


July 2004   top

Patterns of Global Terrorism, 2003
The annual "Patterns of Global Terrorism" report, released April 2004 by the Secretary of State and the Coordinator for Counterterrorism, is submitted in compliance with Title 22 of the United States Code, Section 2656f(a), which requires the Department of State to provide Congress a full and complete annual report on terrorism for those countries and groups meeting the criteria of Section (a)(1) and (2) of the Act.

Note: Corrected Year in Review, Appendix A, and Appendix G were posted on June 22, 2004. Numbers in the text, specifically numbers of killed and wounded, will be revised to reflect to corrected Appendices.


June 2004    top

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Print: CATALOG RECORD (1978-current year)
Online: Statistical Yearbook (1996-2002)
Relevant Courses: Political Science, Social Studies
Discussion and detailed statistics on current and historical immigration to the United States. Includes immigration by country of birth 1820-current year. Also naturalizations, enforcement, legislation, and more.


May 2004   top

USA PATRIOT Act—Text of Law:
Uniting and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism (USA PATRIOT Act ) Act of 2001. Public Law 107-56 (115 Stat. 272 (2001)  PDF-132 pages

USA PATRIOT Act: A Legal Analysis (April 2002) [Congressional Research Service] PDF-79 pages


April 2004   top

Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends (2002) CATALOG RECORD
Relevant Courses: Political Science, Criminal Justice, Child & Adolescent Studies, Social Studies
Discussion and detailed statistics by major subjects. Chapters: Population Characteristics, Households and Families, Social Conditions, Labor Force and Job Characteristics, Housing, Income/Wealth/Poverty, Education, Crime and Criminal Justice, Health, Leisure/Volunteerism/Religiosity, Voting, and Government.  .

Related: State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State (2002) CATALOG RECORD
Overview of social conditions and statistics for the U.S. Rankings of states on key economic and demographic indicators. For each state, 10 pages of discussion and statistics are provided on the following:  population, economic structure, agriculture, energy, travel, education, government finance, health.

March 2004   top

Expenditures on Children by Families, 2002  PDF 33 pages
Relevant Courses: Child & Adolescent Studies, Social Studies
Detailed statistics on two-parent families and single-parent families.

Related: A Child’s Day: 2000 (Selected Indicators of Child Well-Being) (2003) PDF-20 pages  
Statistics about children that are seldom reported, including reading interaction with parents in single and two-parent homes, family rules about television, mealtimes shared, family outings, and more.


February 2004   top

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Relevant Courses: Business Writing, Career Counseling, Job Applicants
Online: Occupational Outlook Handbook
Print: REF DESK & DOCS DESK CATALOG RECORD
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is published biennially and is a source of career information, designed to provide assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Of special note is an annual report on Tomorrow's Jobs.

Related: Occupational Outlook Quarterly
Print: CATALOG RECORD
OOQ
is a quarterly journal providing practical information on jobs and careers. Articles are written in straightforward, non-technical language and cover a wide variety of career and work-related topics such as new and emerging occupations, training opportunities, salary trends, and results of new studies from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.


January 2004   top

America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2003
Relevant Courses: Child & Adolescent Studies, Social Studies
Online: HTML and PDF
Print: DOCS/US  PR 42.8:C 43/ 2003 CATALOG RECORD

This is the seventh annual report to the nation on the condition of children in America. Nine contextual measures describe the changing population, family, and environmental context in which children are living, and 25 indicators depict the well-being of children in the areas of economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. This year’s report has a special section featuring decennial census data that portrays changes in the lives of America’s children from 1990 to 2000 for all States and the District of Columbia for nine indicators.

December 2003    top

Income, Poverty, and Health Insurance: 2003 (August 2004)
Relevant Courses: Child & Adolescent Studies, Social Studies
Online: PDF-77 pages
Press release & summary: HTML
 
Previous reports are available online also:
Health Insurance Coverage in the United States, 2002
Online:  PDF-24 pages
Press-Release
Discussion and statistics by race, Hispanic origin, foreign-born, age, for children, and more. Data for U.S. and all 50 states.
 
Health Insurance Coverage: 2001 (released 9/02) PDF-24 pages
Press Release
Text version with highlights

Previous Reports

Excerpt: "The number of people with health insurance rose by 1.2 million between 2000 and 2001, to 240.9 million, but at the same time the number of uninsured rose by 1.4 million, to 41.2 million, the Commerce Department's Census Bureau reported today." (9/30/02)

.
Previous print report:
Print: DOCS US  C 3.186:P-60/211 (1999)

November 2003    top

Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth (annual)
Relevant Courses: Child & Adolescent Studies, Sociology
Print: DOCS DESK  HE 1.63:2002 CATALOG RECORD
Online: 2002 Internet Version 
Discussion and extensive statistics (charts and tables) on Population (number of children, race/ethnicity, foreign born, family structure, neighborhoods), Economic Security (family income, poverty, child support, parental labor force participation, child care, housing, food security), Health Conditions (health insurance coverage, immunization, overweight, HIV/AIDS, STD's, abuse and neglect, suicidal youth, violent victimization), Social Development (life goals, peer approval, television viewing habits, working youth, closeness with parents, parents' activities with children), Behavioral Health (seat belt use, cigarette use, alcohol, drunk driving, drug use, peer attitudes), Sexual Activity (contraceptive use, pregnancy and abortion), and Education (early childhood program enrollment, high school dropouts, reading proficiency, science proficiency, parental involvement in child's school, student computer use).

Related site: America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well Being 2003


October 2003    top

Indicators of School Crime and Safety, 2003
Relevant Courses: Education, Child & Adolescent Studies, Social Sciences
Print: DOCS/US  ED 1.347: 2002
Data on crime at school from the perspectives of students, teachers, principals, and the general population. Examines crime occurring in school as well as on the way to and from school. This report strives to place school crime in the context of crime in the larger society.

September 2003    top

Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices - Note: Ceased 2002
Relevant Courses: International Business, Marketing
Print: DOCS DESK Y 4.IN 8/14:C 83/2002
CATALOG RECORD
Online: Economic Policy and Trade Practices
Each country report contains the following information for countries with which the U.S. has significant economic or trade relationships:
Key Economic Indicators: economic indicators in the national income, monetary, and trade accounts.
General Policy Framework: overview of macroeconomic trends.
Exchange Rate Policies: their impact on the price competitiveness of U.S. exports.
Structural Policies: changes that may affect U.S. exports to that country.
Debt Management Policies: implications for trade with the U.S.
Significant Barriers to U.S. Exports and Investment: formal and informal barriers to U.S. exports and investment.
Export Subsidies Policies: measures to support exports, including those by small businesses.
Protection of U.S. Intellectual Property: laws and practices safeguarding intellectual property rights.
Worker Rights: The final section has two parts: 1) laws and practices with respect to internationally recognized worker rights, and, 2) conditions of worker rights in goods-producing sectors where U.S. capital is invested.
Extent of U.S. Investment in Selected Industries: U.S. investment by sector where information is available.
SOURCE OF INFORMATION IN REPORTS: U.S. Embassies supplied the country report data, which is analyzed and reviewed by the Department of State in consultation with other U.S. Government agencies. The reports are intended to serve as general guides to economic conditions in specific countries. Each report incorporates the best information currently available.

August 2003    top

Updated information as of April 2006:
Identity Theft: 2004 (2006) PDF-8 pages
Presents data on identity theft victimization and its consequences from the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). This is the first report from new questions about identity theft added to the survey in July 2004 and encompasses credit card thefts, thefts from existing accounts, misuse of personal information, and multiple types at the same time. The report, based on interviews with 40,000 household residents drawn to be nationally representative, describes age, race, and ethnicity of the household head; household income; and location of the household (urbanicity). Characteristics of the theft presented include economic loss, how the theft was discovered, whether misuse is ongoing, and problems experienced as a result of the identity theft.

2002 publication:
ID Theft: When Bad Things Happen to Your Good Name

Print:
FT 1.2:T 34/  2001-2 
Online: PDF-37 pages
The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has produced this publication to help people guard against and recover from identity theft. It describes how ID theft occurs, how you can minimize your risk, what to do if you are a victim, how to resolve credit problems, and more. Information about federal and state laws is provided. APPENDIX includes the ID Theft Affidavit form and instructions.

Related information: Consumers: ID Theft

July 2003    top

Country Commercial Guides [online only]
Relevant Courses: International Business, Marketing
Earlier reports: 1996-2001
Latest reports: STAT-USA (click on GLOBUS and then scroll down to Country Commercial Guides)
The Country Commercial Guides (CCG) are prepared by US Embassy Staff once a year and contain information on the business and economic situation of foreign countries and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Each CCG contains the same chapters, and an appendix, which include topics such as marketing, trade regulations, investment climate, and business travel.
Available online only. Select a country to view a major report -- 50 to 80 pages -- on that country's business and trade outlook.
Content:

     1: Executive Summary
     2: Economic Trends And Outlook
     3: Political Environment
     4: Marketing Us Products And Services
     5: Leading Sectors For Us Exports And Investments
     6: Trade Regulations, Customs And Standards
     7: Investment Climate Statement
     8: Trade And Project Financing
     9: Business Travel
   10: Economic And Trade Statistics
   11: Us And Country Contacts
   12: Market Research
   13: Trade Event Schedule

Related Site: Background Notes (economic, social, and government data on each country)


June 2003    top

Emerging Infectious Diseases (PERIODICAL)  

Online: Emerging Infectious Diseases: EID
Relevant Courses: Biology, Health Science, Human Services, Nursing, Political Science, Social Sciences
Content: Research articles on infectious diseases and related issues. Published by CDC. Searchable by keyword, title, or full text. Browsable by date.
Dates: All issues are available full text online, 1995-current date.

 

May 2003    top

Employment & Earnings CATALOG RECORD
Print: DOCS/US   L 2.41/2: 
Online: Current Employment Statistics (selected tables)

Relevant Courses:
Business, Economics, Management

Content: Monthly data on employment and unemployment with detailed statistics. Brief overview of the employment situation at the beginning of each issue.
Dates: Pollak Library owns monthly issues from 1955 to current date.

Description: Employment status by sex, age, race, Hispanic origin, educational attainment. Employment by marital status, occupation, class of worker, part-time status. Unemployed by age, sex, occupation, industry, reason for unemployment, duration of unemployment. Persons not in the labor force by desire and availability for work, age, and sex. Multiple jobholders by demographic and economic characteristics. Vietnam-era veterans. Historical data, 1950 to date. Labor force data by region, state, area, and national. Weekly earnings by detailed occupation and sex. Union affiliation data. Minimum wage data. Employee absences data. Annual averages for employment and hours and earnings.
Note: See cover for special features in each issue.
Note:
 Median weekly earnings for detailed occupations: see January issue, usually Table 39.
Note:  
Average hours and earnings by detailed industry: usually is Table B-15.


April 2003    top

Thomas Jefferson and the Education of a Citizen (1999) CATALOG RECORD
Relevant Courses: Liberal Studies, Political Science, Social Sciences
Collection of essays by American scholars on Thomas Jefferson's views about how members of society need to prepare themselves to be citizens of the newly formed republic. Published by the Library of Congress in commemoration of the 250th anniversary of Jefferson's birth. 

Contents: 
I.
The public and private spheres. Citizens and families : a Jeffersonian vision of domestic relations and generational change / Michael Grossberg -- Binding ties : the public and domestic spheres in Jefferson's letters to his family / Frank Shuffelton -- Beyond education : Thomas Jefferson's "Republican" revision of the laws regarding children / Holly Brewer -- Jefferson, the family and civic education / Jan Lewis. 
II. An informed citizenry. Jefferson and literacy / Douglas L. Wilson -- Bulwark of revolutionary liberty : Thomas Jefferson's and John Adams's programs for an informed citizenry / Richard D. Brown -- Thomas Jefferson and legal education in revolutionary America / Herbert A. Johnson -- "That knowledge most useful to us" : Thomas Jefferson's concept of utility in the education of republican citizens / Jennings L. Wagoner, Jr. -- Education and democracy : summary and comment / Benjamin R. Barber.
III. Influence of the old and new worlds. Thomas Jefferson and the old world : personal experience in the formation of early republican ideals / Elizabeth Wirth Marvick -- Why slaves can't read : the political significance of Jefferson's racism / James Oakes -- Thomas Jefferson's dualistic perceptions of Native Americans / Donald A. Grinde, Jr. -- The old and the new worlds : summary and comment / C. Vann Woodward. 
IV. A republic of citizens. Citizenship and change in Jefferson's constitutional thought / David N. Mayer -- Liberty and virtue : religion and Republicanism in Jeffersonian thought / Eugene R. Sheridan -- Ward republics : the wisest invention for self-government / Suzanne W. Morse. V. An international perspective. The education of those who govern / Ralph Ketcham -- Thomas Jefferson and his conception of happiness / Liu Zuochang.


March 2003    top

Surgeon General Reports
Relevant Courses:  Psychology, Sociology, Social Sciences
Background: The Surgeon General's reports present and analyze public health issues of current concern.

Recent Surgeon General Reports:

  • Surgeon General's Call to Action to Prevent and Decrease Overweight and Obesity (2001) PDF-39 pages
  • Mental Health: Culture, Race, and Ethnicity, A Supplement to Mental Health: A Report of the Surgeon General INTERNET VERSION
  • Women and Smoking: A Report of the Surgeon General INTERNET VERSION
  • Youth Violence: A Report of the Surgeon General INTERNET VERSION
  • Preventing Tobacco Use Among Young People: A Report of the Surgeon General INTERNET VERSION.

Links to additional Surgeon General Reports:

PRINT versions are also available in the Government Documents Section of Pollak Library. Inquire at the Documents Desk (3rd Floor North) or the Reference Desk (1st Floor North).


February 2003    top

Foreign Labor Trends   
Relevant Courses: International Business, Marketing
Content: Key labor indicators (labor force, employment, unemployment, income), summary of the country's economy, description of labor sector (government, employers organizations, trade unions), economic growth and employment, investment, social security, labor law and other topics of current interest. The reports are issued annually by the U.S. Department of Labor.

Foreign Labor Trends (includes income data)
Available in
STAT-USA
At logon screen, click on GLOBUS. Under International Trade Library Highlights  click on Country Specific Reports and then scroll down to  Foreign Labor Trends.  Reports available for many but not all countries.

Related source: Foreign Labor Statistics


January 2003   top

OECD Economic Surveys 
Relevant Courses: International Business
Content: Recent developments in a country's economy, macroeconomic policies and issues, structural reform, challenges in the financial sector. Discussion and extensive tables and charts. In-depth reviews of Member countries' economies and selected non-Member countries. Eighteen new surveys are issued during each calendar year. Each issue provides a solid analysis of developments in the country, special reports on topics of current interest, and extensive statistical information. At the back of each edition, there is a foldout chart of BASIC STATISTICS: INTERNATIONAL COMPARISONS including several economic indicators.
 
How to Find OECD Economic Surveys in Print:
Search LIBRARY CATALOG by TITLE:
TITLE: oecd economic surveys
TITLE: oecd economic surveys japan
TITLE: oecd economic surveys united states

How to Access OECD Economic Surveys on the INTERNET [CSUF only]:

Search LIBRARY CATALOG by TITLE to bring up CATALOG RECORD for a specific country (see above). Then click on "Access on Internet. CSUF IP address required. Click here, then scroll down to JOURNALS & NEWSLETTERS. Select title and GO."

How to Access Additional Country Information Available from OECD:

Go to OECD's web site listing current country economic information: OECD: Economics. Of special note is the current issue of OECD Economic Outlook, usually available at this site.


December 2002     top

IMF Working Papers 
Relevant Courses:
International Business
Content: Economic and monetary issues of the 184 IMF member countries. Theoretical and empirical reports. CSUF owns 1360 reports and receives about 150 new reports each year.
Dates:  1988-current date. In 2002, 154 Working Papers have been received so far.

How to Find IMF Working Papers Owned by CSUF in Print:

Search Library Catalog by keyword. Search examples:

KEYWORD:     imf working paper transition
NOTE:
While viewing results, click on Limit/sort to sort titles by date.

To view a list of all IMF Working Papers:

TITLE:     imf working paper
NOTE:
Type "paper" (singular) and not "papers"
NOTE:
Click on Limit/Sort to sort by date or to add another subject term such as the name of a country, economic system, or concept.

How to Access Internet Versions (1997-current date):

Online access:

Go to: IMF Working Papers by Date
Online access: Search by Subject
     NOTE: In Series box, scroll down and select Working Papers
Online access: By Country

Recently Received Titles:
NOTE: While viewing CATALOG RECORD, click on Access on Internet to go directly to online version.


 Locations of visitors to this page

This page created and maintained by Catherine Kaye.
Created: 11/18/02. Updated: 11/02/09 .