CHILD &
ADOLESCENT STUDIES
top
-
Child Welfare Information Gateway
- 32,000
abstracts/summaries of journal articles, books, technical
reports with contact information on obtaining the
materials.
- 1960-current date.
- ADVANCED SEARCH: Search by
title, author, keywords, document type, year.
- To limit search to journal articles, use ADVANCED
search form and in DOCUMENT TYPE box enter journal article.
- A service of the
Children's Bureau,
Administration for Children and
Families, U.S. Department of Health
& Human Services
CRIMINAL JUSTICE
top
-
National Criminal Justice Reference Center Abstracts Database
[NCJRS]
- 160,000 citations to
articles from scholarly journals, criminal justice trade publications,
books, federal, state, and local government reports and unpublished
research.
- 1970's-current date.
- Some full-text links to Department of Justice
publications, 1995-current date.
- To limit search to journal articles, include the
word "journal" in the main search box along with your keywords.
.
NCJRS
Virtual Library
EDUCATION
top
-
National Center for
Education Statistics [NCES]
Search for statistics and full-text analytical publications from NCES,
the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to
education.
-
Educator's Reference Desk [ERIC]
- More than one million abstracts
of education-related documents and journal articles.
- Published and unpublished reports collected by ERIC
Clearinghouses.
- Curriculum materials and lesson plans.
- Full-text ERIC Digests.
- To limit to journal articles, at bottom of screen
check LIMIT to JOURNAL ARTICLES.
- Administered by the
National Library of Education,
U.S. Department of Education.
.
-
National Academies Press
- 2500
full-text books in all science disciplines (behavioral science,
biology, computer science, education, environment, mathematics, and
more)
- From National Academy of
Sciences
.
-
Science Education
(science.gov)
- Resources for kids, parents, and
teachers.
- Full text and
abstracts/citations.
- Research reports and statistics.
- This is a sub-page of
science.gov.
-
ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES
top
-
Agricola
- 3,600,000 citations to journal articles,
monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and
technical reports, 1979-current date.
- Indexes 850 journals.
- To limit to journal articles, include Keyword:
periodicals in your search.
- A service of the
National Agricultural Library, U.S.
Department of Agriculture.
.
-
Biology & Nature
(science.gov)

- Animals,
plants, biocomplexity, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, natural
resources, pest control, and more.
- Full text
and
abstracts/citations.
- This is a sub-page of
science.gov.
- Congressional
Research Service Reports [National Library for the
Environment]
-
Full-text eports produced by the Congressional Research
Service, a branch of the Library of Congress providing nonpartisan
research reports to members of the House and Senate.
- 1192 CRS Reports on environmental and related
topics.
- Search by title, author, keyword.
- Browse Topics: Biodiversity, Climate Change,
Economics & Trade, Wetlands and more.
.
-
EPA Publications: National Environmental Publications Internet Site
[NEPIS]
- Content-based access to the
full text of over 9,000
archival and current EPA publications online.
- Subject areas include water quality, wastewater,
pesticides, ecological issues, wetlands, and many more
environmental-related areas.
.
-
National Academies Press
- 2500
full-text books in all science disciplines (behavioral science,
biology, computer science, education, environment, mathematics, and
more)
- From National Academy of
Sciences
.
-
Natural Resources and
Conservation (science.gov)
- Biocomplexity, ecosystems,
energy, forestry, land and more.
- Full text
and
abstracts/citations.
- This is a sub-page of
science.gov.
.
Plants National
Database
- Classification, phylogeny, images, information
about plant research.
- Focuses on the vascular and nonvascular plants of
the United States and its territories. Includes checklists, species
abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plants symbols,
plant growth data, references and other plant information.
- From USDA.
HEALTH/MEDICINE
top
-
PLos: Public Library
of Science
Full
text: PLoS publishes peer-reviewed,
open access
scientific and medical journals that include original research as well
as timely feature articles. All PLoS articles are immediately freely
accessible online, are deposited in the free public archive PubMed
Central, and can be redistributed and reused according to the terms of
the
Creative Commons Attribution License.
-
CancerLit
- Bibliographic database with 1.5 million citations
and abstracts from over 4,000 different sources including biomedical
journals, proceedings, books, reports, and doctoral theses.
- 1960's-current date. Updated with more than 8,000
records every month.
- Does not provide full-text articles. It provides
the title, authors, source, abstract (when available).
- Produced by the
National Cancer Institute, National
Institutes of Health, U.S.
Department of Health & Human Services.
-
Combined Health Information Database
- Bibliographic database produced by
health-related agencies of the Federal Government.
- Provides titles, abstracts, and
availability information for health information and health education
resources.
.
-
Medline Plus
- Full text current, authoritative
information from National Library of Medicine and National Institutes
of Health
- Health topics, drug information,
medical encyclopedia, clinical trials, health news, directories of
physicians/dentists.
Searchable
and browsable.
.
National Academies Press
- 2500
full-text books in all science disciplines (behavioral science,
biology, computer science, education, environment, mathematics, and
more)
- From National Academy of
Sciences
.
National
Library of Medicine: Databases
- Links to databases and
electronic information
From
National Institutes of Health.
.
NLM Gateway
- Links to databases
with articles, abstracts, on health issues.
NLM/NIH
Resources: Databases
- Links to NLM/NIH
databases.
- Links to other federal
government resources.
- Links to
other health-related databases (Merck, for example).
.
Nutrient
Data Laboratory
- Food composition and nutrition
data.
- From USDA.
.
PubMed
Health & Medicine
(science.gov)
- Alternative
medicine, biomedical technologies, diseases and medical conditions,
drugs and pharmacology, food and nutrition, health care, diagnostic
procedures, medical devices, mental health and behavior, occupational
health and safety, surgery, therapies.
-
Full text and
abstracts/citations.
- This is a sub-page
of
science.gov.
HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
top
-
HUD User
- Bibliographic database dedicated exclusively to
housing and community development issues.
- 8,000 full-abstract citations to research reports,
articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy,
building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host
of other relevant fields.
- Search by title, author, full text,
date. Boolean.
- Links to some
full-text HUD
publications.
-
Full-text
periodicals at HUD User.
- A service of the Office of Policy
Development and Research, U.S.
Department of Housing and Urban Development
LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES
top
- Handbook
of Latin American Studies [HLAS]
- Online bibliography of Latin America selected and
annotated by scholars.
- Contains both humanities and social sciences
literature, in disciplines including Anthropology, Art, Economics,
Geography, Government & Politics, International Relations, Literature,
Music, Philosophy and Sociology.
- Approximately 300,000 citations to books, book
chapters, journal articles, and published conference proceedings.
- Edited by the
Hispanic Division of
the Library of Congress
SCIENCE
top
-
National Academies Press
- 2500
full-text books in all science disciplines (behavioral science,
biology, computer science, education, environment, mathematics, and
more)
- From National Academy of
Sciences
.
-
Science.gov
- Gateway to science
information from U.S. government agencies.
- Includes research
and development results.
- Two major types of
information are included—selected authoritative science Web sites and
databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference
proceedings, and other published materials.
- Participating
agencies: Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health &
Human Services, Interior, EPA, NASA, National Science Foundation..
-
Science Accelerator
Science Accelerator can
search by keyword, author, title, date the following:
-
PLos: Public Library
of Science
Full
text: PLoS publishes peer-reviewed,
open access
scientific and medical journals that include original research as well
as timely feature articles. All PLoS articles are immediately freely
accessible online, are deposited in the free public archive PubMed
Central, and can be redistributed and reused according to the terms of
the Creative Commons Attribution License.
-
SciTechResources
- Online databases that allow you to
search ongoing or completed government research. These database
resources allow you to quickly locate government publications,
articles, and reports. For ongoing research, a point of contact is
provided.
- Computer &
Insormation Science: CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and
search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and
information science. CiteSeer was developed in 1997 at the NEC Research
Institute, Princeton, New Jersey, by
Steve Lawrence,
Lee Giles and
Kurt Bollacker.
It is now hosted at the Pennsylvania State University's College of
Information Sciences and Technology under the direction of Professor Lee
Giles. Isaac Councill is
the CiteSeer adminstrator and technical director. The CiteSeer model was
used to create a similar search engine,
SmealSearch, for academic
business documents. CiteSeer also provides mirrors at other sites.
- Energy:
Department of Energy:
For Researchers
- Links to information
on research grants.
- Energy:
DOE
Information Bridge
- Full-text and bibliographic records of
Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports
in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences,
energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science,
renewable energy, and other topics.
- 1995-current date.
- To limit to journal article, do an ADVANCED search
and select DOCUMENT TYPE: journal article.
.
- Energy:
Energy and
Energy Conservation (science.gov)
- Energy
conservation, energy efficiency, energy policy, fossil use, nuclear
power, renewable sources, and more.
- Full text and
abstracts/citations.
- Includes sources from U.S. Dept.
of Energy and other agencies.
- This is a sub-page of
science.gov.
.
- Energy:
Energy Citations Database
- Bibliographic records of literature in disciplines
of interest to Department of Energy such as chemistry, physics,
materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics,
climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines.
- Citations to report literature, conference papers,
journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
- 1948-current date, with regular updates.
- Energy:
Defense
Technical Information Center (DTIC) Report Collection.
This full-text collection provides access to unclassified, unlimited
documents. It is a growing subset of almost 42,000 reports referenced
and available in STINET, which dates back to 1974. Subject areas include
biological and medical sciences, environmental pollution and control,
behavioral and social sciences, and patents and patent applications.
- Energy:
DOE
Information Bridge Report Collection. This site performs
full-text searching across over 65,000 reports and over 4.3 million
pages. Bibliographic citations are also available. Subject areas
include physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental
sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information
science, renewable energy, and other topics. Full text is available
for reports from 1995 forward.
- Energy:
EPA Publications: National Environmental Publications Internet Site [NEPIS]. This
site offers an increasing number of archival and current EPA documents
online. Subject areas include water quality, wastewater, pesticides,
ecological issues, wetlands, and many more environmental-related
areas. With over 9,000 documents, NEPIS is EPA's largest electronic
documents site..
-
Geology: Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey
Catalogs, locators, and
collections of U.S.G.S. publications.
-
Nanotechnology
[NTIS]
NTIS has over 700 publications in its
collection on the emerging field of nanotechnology. This broad and
interdisciplinary field has been growing explosively in the past few
years. While understanding of nanotechnology is just beginning to
unfold, its tremendous potential for revolutionizing the ways in which
materials and products are created is just beginning to show significant
commercial impact.
-
National Technical
Information Service (NTIS)
Comprehensive resource for federally funded scientific, engineering, and
business-related information. The database provides some full-text
access and indexes over two million publications back to 1990.
- NasaTechnical Reports Server [NTRS[
NTRS provides access to NASA's current and historical aerospace
research and engineering results. NTRS integrates three separate
information collections and enables search and retrieval of information
through a common interface:
- NACA Collection:
Citations and reports from the NACA Technical Report Server (TRS),
http://naca.larc.nasa.gov, are now in NTRS. The NACA TRS site is
retired and no longer in service following the consolidation of
citations and reports into NTRS. The NACA collection is historical
information from the NACA period lasting from 1915 to 1958.
- NASA Collection:
Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA. The NASA
collection time period starts in 1958 and continues to the present.
- NIX Collection: Citations
and images, photos, movies and videos downloaded from the NASA Image
eXchange and served out through NTRS. NIX is a separate system and
users can go directly to the NIX to search imagery as well as through
NTRS.
- OSTI: Office of
Science and Technology Information
- The Office of Scientific and Technical Information
(OSTI) leads Department of Energy
(DOE) e-government initiatives for disseminating R&D information.
- Links to citations, full text reports, scientific
journals, preprint servers, information by subject, and R&D
accomplishments.
- Patents:
U.S. Patent Database.
This site provides full image access to all U.S.-granted patents back to
1790, with full-text searching back to 1976 and the
full-text of
published applications. The database also enables searching for
references, which can include articles, reports, and proceedings.
- Physics:
Spires High-Energy Physics (HEP) Database.
The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator
Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's as a database of particle physics
literature. This database comprehensively indexes over 500,000 articles,
papers, preprints, and technical reports. Most of the materials are
available in full text, with coverage extending back to 1974.
-
Transportation
Research Information Services (TRIS Online).
This database provides access to nearly 500,000 records in
transportation-related fields. Sources include books and articles as
well as some full-text research studies, technical reports, and
conference papers. Access: http://trisonline.bts.gov/sundev/search.cfm.
SOCIAL SCIENCES
top
- Access to
Archival Databases (AAD) [National Archives]
- Online access to more than 350 databases, which
were created by over 20 Federal agencies. NARA plans to expand the
system to more than 500 databases.
- Notable databases in the initial release of AAD
include:
--Preservation survey of Civil War sites
--Combat casualties from the Vietnam and Korean Wars
--POWs from World War II and Korean War
--Japanese-American Internee Files from World War II
--Port of New York ship passenger lists,1846-1851 (Irish Famine
database)
--Death records from the Gorgas Hospital Mortuary in Panama, 1906-1991
--Indexes to black and white and color NASA photographs, 1958-1991
--After action combat and air sortie reports from the Vietnam War
--Military Prime Contracts in excess of $10,000, 1965-1975
--Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Ownership Reporting System,
1978-1998
--SEC Proposed Sales of Securities System (Insider trading), 1972-1993
.
- Alcohol &
Alcohol Problems Science Database [ETOH]
- Database of
historic alcohol-related research information covering 1972-2003.
- 110,000 abstracts and bibliographic references to
journal articles, books, dissertation abstracts, conference papers and
proceedings, reports and studies, and chapters in edited works.
- Search by title, author, publication, year.
- A service of the
National Institute on Alcohol
Abuse and Alcoholism.
-
National Academies Press
- 2500
full-text books in all science disciplines (behavioral science,
biology, computer science, education, environment, mathematics, and
more)
- From National Academy of
Sciences
-
National
Archeological Database
- The National Archeological
Database, Reports module, is an expanded bibliographic inventory of
over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning,
mostly of limited circulation. this "gray literature" represents a
large portion of the primary information available on archeological
sites in the U.S.
- Search by keyword, state,
county, author, title, publication date, worktype, cultural, material,
and more.
-
Child Welfare Information Gateway
- 32,000 abstracts/summaries of
journal articles, books, technical
reports with contact information on obtaining the
materials.
- 1960-current date.
- ADVANCED SEARCH: Search by
title, author, keywords, document type, year.
- To limit search to journal articles, use ADVANCED
search form and in DOCUMENT TYPE box enter journal article.
- A service of the
Children's Bureau,
Administration for Children and
Families, U.S. Department of Health
& Human Services
-
PopLine
- Bibliographic reproductive health database with
citations and abstracts of worldwide literature in the field of
population, family planning, and related health issues including
teenage pregnancy and AIDS.
- 285,000+ records including journal articles,
newspaper articles, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations,
conference papers, laws, bills, and court decisions, and
limited-distribution unpublished reports.
- Updated 1st and 3rd Monday of each month.
- Use Expert Search to search by author, title,
keyword, subject, language, source, and date.
- This database is funded primarily by the
United States Agency for International
Development.
-
Population Index
- Annotated bibliography of recently published books,
journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population
topics.
- Searchable and browsable database containing 46,035
abstracts of demographic literature published 1986-2000.
- Search by author, subject, region or free-text
appearing anywhere in a citation. Limit by year or range of years.
- Compiled by Office of Population Research,
Princeton University, with support from the National Institute of
Child Health and Human Development and the U.S. Agency for
International Development.
TOP
|