|
Government Documents Collection
Hours
Open access is provided to the Government
Documents Collection. The collection is located on
the 3rd floor of Library North and is open and
accessible to patrons during all library open hours.
Government Documents Public Service Desk Hours
Library Hours
Hours for the Reference Desk and the
Government Documents Public Service Desk are posted at
Library Hours.
Assistance during Hours when the Government Documents Desk is Not Open
Assistance is available at the Reference Desk
(1st Floor North) most hours that the Library is
open.
Electronic
research assistance requests
can be submitted at any time at
Ask A Librarian or
Research Consultation Requests.
Online Research Guide A web-based guide with links to
the most frequently requested information is available at
Government
Resources.
Library
Catalog The
Documents Collection has been fully cataloged
and can be searched
from your home computer via the
Library
Catalog.
Circulation of Government Documents
Unless stamped NOT
FOR CIRCULATION,
government documents circulate with the same rules
as materials in the general collection.
- LOCATION: 3RD Floor
North
Government Documents are housed in open
stacks on the 3rd floor of Pollak Library's North Wing. Access is
available during all hours that the Library is open. .
There are four major collections
within Government Documents:
- International Documents
16,000 Documents Includes United Nations documents and documents
from other international intergovernmental organizations such as NATO,
World Bank, World Health Organization, and the European Community.
- United States Documents
600,000 Microform Documents 230,000 Paper Documents 240 CD-ROMs
Pollak Library is a selective depository for
United States Documents.
- State Documents
35,000 Documents Includes documents from California, Arizona, New
Mexico, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, and Hawaii.
Pollak Library is a partial depository for California
Documents.
- City, County, and Regional
Documents
12,000 Documents Includes documents from Orange
and Los Angeles Counties, Orange County cities, Southern California
Association of Governments, and South Coast Air Quality Management
District.
|
Electronic Access to Government
Publications
▲ |
In the
Library: Computer terminals are available in the
Government Documents Section to provide access to selected
government information in digitized format as well as to other
electronic information resources.
Remote Access:
The
majority of government documents are now available via the World
Wide Web and are linked to from the Library Catalog.
Links to current and major publications are provided
on the Government Documents website:
Government Documents
Resources .
|
Internet Use Policy
Guidelines ▲ |
As a Federal Depository
Library, Pollak Library follows FDLP Internet Use Policy
Guidelines.
- Pollak Library provides
the general public with no-fee Internet
access to the products in the FDLP
Electronic Collections.
- Free and unrestricted search
capability is provided at workstations located
in the Government Documents
Section. No fees are charged for access and
there are no requirements based on residency or age.
- Patrons
may inquire at the Government Documents public service desk for
assistance in accessing government information on the Internet
through mediated searching.
- There is no filtering
software installed on public service terminals in Pollak Library.
- Patrons accessing government
information on the Internet will be charged the usual and customary
fees for printing. There are no fees for retrieval, downloading, or
e-mailing.
- Assistance is provided at the
Government Documents Desk and at the
Reference Desk.
Electronic reference service can be
requested at any time at Ask
A Librarian or
Research Consultation Requests.
|
Public Service Guidelines
for Government Information in Electronic Formats
▲ |
As a Federal Depository
Library, Pollak Library follows Depository Library Public Service
Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.
- Pollak Library makes
government information in electronic format available for free use
by the general public.
- Pollak Library maintains
hardware and support systems that allow for the unimpeded use of
government documents and exceed the "2001 Minimum Technical
Requirements for Public Access Workstations in Federal Depository
Libraries."
- Pollak Library makes tangible
electronic products and services (CD-ROM's and floppy diskettes)
available to the general public in a timely manner. Circulation of
products for which the Library is unable to provide technical support
is permitted in accordance with the Library's general circulation
policies.
- The Government Documents
Section maintains a home page with links to government information
that supports the needs of the campus and the community:
Government Documents
Resources.
- Pollak Library has fax and
e-mail capability for making government information available to
distance users in accordance with existing policies in the Library.
- Pollak Library provides
download and print capability of government information in electronic
format. There are no fees for retrieval or downloading. A standard fee
is charged for printing. Costs associated with printing and
downloading are consistent with other public service provisions in the
Library.
- Reference service is provided
at the Government Documents Section public service desk by librarians
and staff knowledgeable in government information publications.
Electronic reference service is provided consistent with services
provided in the general Reference section.
- Pollak Library provides
instruction and training in the use of government information products
in support of the needs of patrons.
top
This page created and maintained by
Catherine Kaye,
Government Documents Section, Pollak Library, California State
University, Fullerton.
Links validated: 12/18/2007. |
|