| |
Introduction:
top
What Are Legislative Histories and How Are They
Used?
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY refers to the various steps and proceedings that occur as a bill makes its
way through the legislative process. Legislative histories
are compilations of documents that are produced by Congress as a bill is
introduced, studied, and debated prior to enactment of the bill into law.
These documents include committee reports (including the conference
report), debates, earlier texts of the bill, floor amendments,
congressional hearings, committee prints, and presidential signing
statements. Legislative histories are used by federal agencies and courts
to determine the Congressional intent of a particular statute. Legislative
documents are persuasive legal authority only. For an in-depth description
of the legislative process, go to
The Legislative Process.
THIS GUIDE lists
resources that identify legislative history documents and in some
instances provide links to the full text of documents. In general,
information before 1970 will be found in print; information after 1970 is
often available online and may also be available in print. An exception is
historical information on the Web site
A
Century of Lawmaking, which presents digitized files of many
Congressional publications from 1774-1875.
AN EXAMPLE OF A LEGISLATIVE HISTORY of the Telecommunications Act of
1996 follows. Note that it lists the bill numbers, House reports, Senate
reports, citations to Congressional Record sections, and the issue
of Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents in which the
presidential signing statement appears. Each of these documents can be
located in the CSUF Library by using the resources listed in this guide.
Example of legislative
history of Public Law 104-104: Telecommunications Act of 1996:
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY—S. 652 (H.R. 1555):
HOUSE REPORTS: No. 104–204, Pt. 1 accompanying H.R. 1555 (Comm.
on Commerce). SENATE REPORTS: Nos. 104–23
(Comm. on
Commerce, Science, and Transportation) and
104–230 (Comm. of Conference). CONGRESSIONAL RECORD:
Vol. 141 (1995): June 7, 8, 12–15, considered and passed
Senate. Aug. 2, 4, H.R. 1555 considered and
passed House. Oct. 12, S. 652 considered and
passed House, amended, in lieu of H.R. 1555.
Vol. 142 (1996): Feb. 1, House and Senate agreed to conference
report. WEEKLY COMPILATION OF PRESIDENTIAL DOCUMENTS, Vol. 32 (1996):
Feb. 8, Presidential remarks and statement.
SOURCE:
Public and Private
Laws, GPO Access
ONLINE
RESOURCES
top
LexisNexis
Congressional Universe: CIS Index (CSUF only)
top Go to
Congressional Universe: CIS Index
- Links to original
bill, to enacted law, debates in Congressional Record, committee
reports, hearings, and miscellaneous publications (presidential signing
statements, for example). Many links go to full text of documents.
- Coverage: 1970-date.
- Updated annually.
- Search by
public law number, by statutes-at-large,
by bill number, or by keyword.
.
- To access Congressional Universe:
top
-
CSUF
Library Home Page - www.library.fullerton.edu
- Click on:
Databases A-Z (left frame)
- Click on:
LexisNexis Congressional
- Click on:
Connect to Congressional
Universe
- Click on:
CIS Index
- Select
Legislative Histories by number or by
keyword
Thomas
Legislative Information
[Library of Congress] (free to everyone) Go to
Thomas
top
- Thomas provides:
- Text of bill
- Text of public law
- Information on its
process through Congress
- Coverage:
1973-currrent date
- For current
legislative session, see option at top of Thomas logon screen.
- To access
Thomas:
- Log on to
Thomas at http://thomas.loc.gov/
- Under
LEGISLATION, click on
Public Laws by Law Number
- Select
Congress (at top of screen) to locate
public law by number.
- Click on
History or Status
or Committees or other options as
available.
.
- To find a Public
Law number:
top
- Online:
Google
Unclesam
Sample search: "megan's law" and "public law"
.
- Print:
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name
REFERENCE KF90 .S52 1999
CATALOG RECORD
.
- Print: United
States Code Annotated: Popular Name Table
REFERENCE KF62 .W48x Popu 2002 CATALOG
RECORD
Congressional
Record: History of Bills & Resolutions, 1983-current date
[GPO Access] Go to
History of Bills
top
- Brief digest of the
legislation, sponsor, committee to which legislation was referred,
references to debates, committee reports, and passage.
- Coverage:
1983-current date.
- Print version
also available: DOCS/US X/a
CATALOG RECORD
Public & Private Laws
[GPO Access] top Go to
Public and Private Laws
- Legislative history
is given at the end of each law.
- Coverage: 104th-108th
Congress (1995-2004)
- Search by
Congress or by Keyword.
-
Statutes at Large, 1789-1875 (Volumes 1-18) [American Memory]
- Every law, public and private, enacted
by the Congress is published in the Statutes at Large in order of the
date of its passage. Until 1948, all treaties and international
agreements approved by the Senate were also published in the set.
PRINT
RESOURCES
CIS Index (1970-1999)
top
PRINT
- 3rd Floor North—Shelved on CIS INDEX TABLES
CATALOG RECORD
- Citations to original
bill, to enacted law, debates in Congressional Record, committee
reports, hearings, and miscellaneous publications (presidential remarks
on signing, for example).
- INDEX and ABSTRACTS volumes are
print. Full text documents are
on microfiche.
- For years
1985-1999:
- Legislative Histories print volume for
each year.
- Coverage:
PL 98-216 to PL 108-170.
- For years
1970-1983:
- CIS Annual print volume--see Table of
Contents for section Legislative Histories.
- Coverage;
PL 91-1 to PL 98-215.
ONLINE
- LexisNexis: CIS Index
Search for legislative histories by number or by
keyword. Links to some full-text documents are available.
USCCAN—U.S.
Code Congressional & Administrative News
top
- USCCAN
REFERENCE KF63 U5x (1946-date)
CATALOG RECORD
- Full text of law,
committee reports, conference reports, joint explanatory statements, and
statements by legislative leaders explaining the background, history,
and purpose of the legislation.
- For each year, two
volumes are published:
- 1)
public laws (full text)
- 2)
legislative histories (full text
documents)
Slip Laws
(recent laws)
top
- Print: REFERENCE KF 50 .U5
CATALOG RECORD (Shelved after the
bound volumes of Statutes At Large)
- Slip laws are
distributed immediately after passage of a law and make the text of laws
available before bound volumes are issue.
- At end of each slip
law there is a legislative history summary:
- Citations to
original bill.
- Citations to
committee reports.
- Dates of
consideration and passage of bill by both houses of Congress.
- Citation to
presidential signing statement, if any.
- Online:
Public and Private
Laws [GPO Access]
- At end of each law
there is a legislative history summary.
U.S. Statutes at Large top
U.S. Code
top
- Print: DOCS/US Y 1.2/5:2000
CATALOG RECORD
- Online:
U.S. Code
| Search U.S.
Code
- At the end of each
section of the code, there is a list of public laws, statutes-at-large,
historical and revision notes, and amendments to the code section.
U.S. Code
Annotated
top
- Print: REFERENCE KF62 .W48x
CATALOG RECORD
- At the end of each
section, see Historical and Statutory Notes.
Calendars of the U.S. House of Representatives &
History of Legislation [GPO Access]
top
FINDING AIDS
The following resources help in locating the full text of documents
identified in legislative history summaries.
Committee Prints top
NOTE: Committee prints are research reports with background
information.
-
Congressional Committee Prints
[GPO Access]
- Coverage: 105th Congress forward
- A small number of committee prints is available
online here.
-
House Committee on Ways and Means Committee Prints
[GPO Access]
- 104th Congress forward
- Selected committee prints are available here.
- CIS Index
- Print: 3rd Floor North - Shelved in
CIS INDEX TABLES
- Coverage: 1970-current date.
- Start with Indexes, Abstracts,
or Legislative Histories print volume to find CIS number.
Write down the CIS number.
- Go to microfiche cabinets and locate CIS
number and view full text of the document.
- Online: See
Congressional Universe: CIS Index (CSUF only).
- Coverage: 1970-current date.
- U.S. Congressional
Serial Set & Index
top
- Serial Set: DOCS/US Y
1.1/2:
- Index: DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:C 74*
[Note: Index is shelved at the end of the Serial Set]
- Committee prints designated as House or Senate
documents are available in the Serial Set.
- See SUBJECT INDEX
to find references to Senate Journals, Senate Documents, House
Journals, and House Documents.
- Pollak Library's holdings of U.S. Serial Set
volumes prior to 1961 are incomplete. See stacks for holdings.
- Online: American Memory:
United States
Congressional Serial Set [Library of Congress].
Committee Reports—House & Senate
top
Committee Reports are primarily
recommendations by committees on the passage of a bill.
Committee Reports usually reprint the text of the bill, describe its
purposes, and gives reasons for the committee's recommendations. Committee
Reports and Conference Reports are the most important source of
legislative history.
- GPO Access:
Senate, House and Executive Reports
- Coverage: 104th Congress forward
- House, Senate, and Executive Reports.
Includes conference reports.
- House, Senate, and Treaty Documents.
Includes conference reports.
-
Thomas
- Coverage: 104th Congress forward
- At logon screen, see COMMITTEE INFORMATION
links to view Committee Reports. Because some committee home pages
give links to reports, also search under House Committees and Senate
Committees.
- Congressional Universe: CIS Index
[CSUF only]
- Coverage: 1970 forward
- Full text online of some committee reports. [CSUF only]
- CIS Index
- Print:
3rd floor North - Shelved on CIS INDEX TABLES
Coverage; 1970-1999.
Full text on microfiche.
Start with Indexes, Abstracts,
or Legislative Histories print volume to find CIS number.
Write down CIS number.
Go to microfiche cabinets and locate CIS
number and view full text of committee print.
USCCAN - U.S. Code
Congressional & Administrative News
- PRINT: REFERENCE KF63 U5x
CATALOG RECORD
Full text of law, committee reports, conference
reports, joint explanatory statements, and statements by legislative
leaders explaining the background, history, and purpose of the
legislation.
For each year, two volumes are published:
- 1) public laws
(full text)
- 2) legislative
histories (full text documents)
U.S. Congressional
Serial Set & Index
- Serial Set: DOCS/US Y
1.1/2:
- Index: DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:C 74*
[NOTE: Index is shelved at the end of the Serial Set]
- Committee prints designated as House or Senate
documents are available in the Serial Set.
- See SUBJECT INDEX
to find references to Senate Journals, Senate Documents, House
Journals, and House Documents.
- Pollak Library's holdings of U.S. Serial Set
volumes prior to 1961 are incomplete. See stacks for holdings.
- ONLINE: American Memory:
United States Congressional Serial Set
[Library of Congress].
Pollak Library Catalog
- Pollak Library owns many hearings, reports, and
committee prints in print.
- If you have the title of a report, search
Library Catalog
by title.
- If you do not have a title, search
Library Catalog
by KEYWORD and limit by
author (keyword in committee name) or
year of publication if known.
- Ask at Documents Desk for additional
search strategies.
Congressional Bills
top
-
Congressional
Bills, 103d Congress forward (1993-date) [GPO Access]
- Thomas, 101st congress forward (1989-date)
- Congressional Universe [CSUF only], 1970-date.
Congressional Debates
top
Note: Transcripts of debates on the floor of the
House and Senate are recorded in the Congressional Record.
-
Thomas
- 1989 to date (101st
Congress forward)
- Congressional Universe [CSUF only]
- Congressional Record:
1873-date (43rd Congress forward)
Online:
INTERNET VERSION,
1994-date.
Online:
Congressional Record Index, 1983-date [GPO Access]
Print: DOCS/FICHE/US X
(1873-date)
CATALOG RECORD
Congressional Globe: 1833-1873
(23rd-42nd Congress)
INTERNET VERSION (23rd-42nd
Congress)
Print: DOCS/FILM/US
X
CATALOG
RECORD
Register of Debates:
1824-1837 (18th-25th Congress)
INTERNET VERSION (1824-1837)
Print: DOCS/FILM/US X
CATALOG RECORD
Annals of Congress:
1789-1824 (1st-18th Congress)
INTERNET VERSION
(1789-1824)
Print: DOCS/FILM/US X
CATALOG RECORD
Congressional Hearings
top NOTE: Hearings include testimony before Congressional committees.
ONLINE: Congressional Universe: CIS Index [CSUF only], 1970-date.
ONLINE:
Congressional Publications [GPO Access]
PRINT: CIS Index
- 3rd floor North - Shelved on
CIS INDEX TABLES
PRINT: Search
Library Catalog
by title of hearing or by keywords.
Congressional Record
top
NOTE: The Congressional Record contains
transcripts of legislative proceedings and debates on the floor of the
House and Senate. The Congressional Record sometimes contains
arguments for or against an issue.
- ONLINE: Congressional
Record Bound (new as of 12/2007):
Volume
145 (1999; first session of the 106th Congress)
Volume 146 (2000; second session of the 106th Congress)
Volume 147 (2001; first session of the 107th Congress)
Additional volumes will be added in the near future.
- ONLINE:
Congressional
Record, vol. 141 forward (1994-date) [GPO Access]
- ONLINE:
Congressional Record Index, 1983-date [GPO Access]
- ONLINE:
Thomas (1989-date)
- POLLAK LIBRARY HOLDINGS--PRINT, MICROFILM, &
MICROFICHE:
ON DOCUMENTS
MICROFILM 1873-1976,1984-TO CURRENT DATE.
ON DOCUMENTS MICROFICHE 1977-TO CURRENT DATE.
IN DOCUMENTS STACKS, INDEX 1961,1963-1977,1980-TO CURRENT DATE
- PRINT & MICROFORM:
Congressional Record (1789-date)
CATALOG RECORD
- Congressional Record:
1873-date (43rd Congress forward)
INTERNET
VERSION, 1994- date.
Congressional Record Index, 1983-date
[GPO Access]
Microfiche: DOCS/FICHE/US X
(1873-date)
CATALOG RECORD
Congressional Globe:
1833-1873 (23rd-42nd Congress)
(23rd-42nd
Congress)
Microfilm: DOCS/FILM/US
X
CATALOG RECORD
Register of Debates:
1824-1837 (18th-25th Congress)
INTERNET
VERSION (1824-1837)
Microfilm: DOCS/FILM/US X
CATALOG RECORD
Annals of Congress:
1789-1824 (1st-18th Congress)
INTERNET VERSION (1789-1824)
Microfilm: DOCS/FILM/US X
CATALOG RECORD
Federal Register
top
CATALOG RECORD
PRINT: DOCS/FILM/US AE 2.106: (1936-year before
current year) .
PRINT: Federal Register Index—DOCS/US
AE 2.106:INDEX
CATALOG RECORD
House Journal
top
House Journal, 1991-1998
PRINT: DOCS/US XJH
CATALOG RECORD
- CSUF owns 1822-date in paper.
- See SUBJECT
INDEX and
HISTORY OF BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS section.
Senate Journal
top
Presidential Documents
top
NOTE: When the Presidents signs a bill into law, he
will often issue a statement stating why he is approving the law. Signing
statements are available in Weekly Compilation of Presidential
Documents.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the
United States
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
USCCAN - U.S. Code Congressional &
Administrative News
Print: 1986-date volumes include presidential signing
statements
History of Line
Item Veto Notices
- Includes statement of the president upon
veto of legislation
Presidential Documents
- Selected documents. Search by date or
by president.
Periodicals
top Search the following journals for articles about legislation by retrieving
issues during and following the time the bill or act was being debated
and enacted.
Web Sites—Guides to Finding Federal
Legislative Histories
top
top
|