|
BELOW ARE THE MAJOR ITEMS OR COLLECTIONS IN POLLAK
LIBRARY
documenting the United States Cold War era, divided
into the principal categories of foreign relations and domestic policy.
For additional materials in Pollak Library, search the
Library
Catalog by the
Subjects
listed here. Tip: While viewing the list of results, click on
Limit/Sort
to narrow by additional terms or to sort by year of publication.
Indexes
top
Index to Documents of
the National Security Council PREX 3.2:D 63/INDEX
CATALOG RECORD Subject index to microfilm
collection of National Security Council documents and Minutes of
Meetings of the National Security Council. Document descriptions in the
index include, where available, the level of security classification
given (Secret, Top Secret, etc.)
Encyclopedias
top
The following titles are located in the Reference
Section, First Floor Library North.
Foreign Relations
top
Executive sessions of
the Senate Foreign Relations Committee Y 4.F 76/2:EX 3/2/
CATALOG RECORD 10-volume set.
Foreign Relations
of the United States Print: DOCS/US S 1.1: Online:
See Pollak Library Guide:
Foreign Relations of the United States
"The Foreign
Relations of the United States series presents the official
documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and
significant diplomatic activity. The series is produced by the State
Department's Office of the Historian.It began
in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. Foreign
Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries,
Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central
Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other
foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals
involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy."
-Excerpt from Web site.
Documents of the
National Security Council PREX 3.2:D 63
CATALOG RECORD Memoranda, papers, directives,
and minutes of meetings of the NSC documenting United States national
security policy from Truman to Reagan. The collection includes various
supplements, and is basically chronological with documents added as they
are declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)
requests from researchers. Use Index to Documents of the National
Security Council to find documents on a particular subject or
policy.
Minutes of Meetings of
the National Security Council PREX 3.2:D 63/2
CATALOG RECORD Minutes include the date, time
and location of the meeting, attendees, and record of topics discussed.
Also recorded are any presidential decisions and the delegation of their
implementation. Use Index to Documents of the National Security
Council to find documents on a particular subject or policy.
Official Conversations
and Meetings of Dean Acheson (1949-1953) PR 33.2:AC 4
CATALOG RECORD 5 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. The guide provides a list of each reel's contents,
including participants and the subject of the meeting. For example:
December 1950, entry 4: Staff, O. Franks,
G. Kennan, Gen. Marshall: re Korean crisis, Truman-Atlee talks. 12 pp.
The State Department
Policy Planning Staff Papers S 1.2:K 34
CATALOG RECORD 3 volume set of unedited,
original documents. Of particular interest to people "interested in the
development of postwar foreign policy, the process of policymaking, and
the ideas of George Kennan." (preface).
The Communist
Conspiracy: Strategy and Tactics of World Communism Y 1.1/8:84-2/ 2240-2241; 2243-2244
CATALOG RECORD 1956 report of the House
Committee on Un-American Activities (HUAC).
Minutes and Documents of
the Cabinet Meetings of President Eisenhower (1953-1961) PR 34.2:C 23
CATALOG RECORD 10 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. The guide provides a list of each reel's contents, with
names or initials of participants. The guide also contains a name index
to the collection.
Minutes of Telephone
Conversations of John Foster Dulles and of Christian Herter PR 34.2:D 85
CATALOG RECORD 11 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. Typescript minutes of the telephone conversations of
Eisenhower's Secretaries of State in their official capacities. The
printed guide provides a list of each reel's contents, with names or
initials of participants. The guide also contains a name index to the
collection.
American Foreign Policy
Current Documents S 1.71/2:
CATALOG RECORD Prepared by the Historical Division of the United States
State Department. Continues A Decade of American Foreign Policy:
Basic Documents, 1941-1949.
CATALOG RECORD
Israel: National
Security Files (1963-1969) PREX 3.2:I 85/1963-69
CATALOG RECORD 3 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. Collection includes cables, telegrams, memos, reports and
other documents, arranged chronologically. Subjects covered include
military aid, economic development projects, foreign relations of
Israel.
CIA Research Reports:
Middle East (1946-1976) PREX 3.10: M 52/1946-76 CATALOG
RECORD 3 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. The guide includes a reel list, arranged by country and
chronology, and a subject index to the collection. Reports include
"Black September" (1972), "Communist China and the Arab World" (1965)
and "Likelihood of a British-French Resort to Military Action against
Egypt in the Suez Crisis" (1956).
CIA Research Reports:
Africa (1946-1976) PREX 3.10: A 25/1946-76
CATALOG RECORD 3 reels of microfilm with
printed guide. The guide includes a reel list, arranged by country and
chronology, and a subject index to the collection. Includes biographical
reports, as well as information reports on foreign and domestic politics
of African nations.
Domestic Policy
top
Annual Report /
Committee on Un-American Activities, US House of Representatives
Y 1.1/2:12435-2 1961-63 & 1966
CATALOG RECORD Annual report to Congress on
committee activities investigating communist subversion in the United
States, reports on hearings, recommendations for legislation to increase
surveillance capabilities.
Cold War America, 1946 to 1990
(2003) REFERENCE E741 .G76 2003
CATALOG RECORD
Foreign Relations
of the United States See Pollak Library Guide:
Guide to Foreign Relations of the United States
"The Foreign
Relations of the United States series presents the official
documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and
significant diplomatic activity. The series is produced by the State
Department's Office of the Historian.It began
in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. Foreign
Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries,
Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central
Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other
foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals
involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy."
-Excerpt from Web Site.
Edited Compilations
top
DOCUMENTS
A Decade of
American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents, 1941-1949
S 1.69:415.
CATALOG RECORD
Continued by American Foreign Policy
Current Documents.
At Cold War's
End: US Intelligence on the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1989-1991
PrEx 3.2 C 67
CATALOG RECORD Compilation of declassified intelligence reports on the
USSR and Eastern Europe. Includes introduction and timeline of key
events between 1989-1991.
The Central
Intelligence Agency, history and documents
PrEx 3.2:C 45/985
CATALOG RECORD Edited volume, full and excerpted documents from the
agency's creation in 1947 through 1981. Includes subject index.
On the front
lines of the Cold War: documents on the intelligence war in Berlin
1946 to 1961 PREX 3.18:D 65
CATALOG RECORD
CIA Cold War
Records Series
CIA Documents on the
Cuban Missile Crisis PREX 3.2:M 69
(fiche) also on INTERNET
CATALOG RECORD
The CIA under Harry
Truman PrEx 3.17:T 78/1994
CATALOG RECORD Items were selected for
inclusion based on "novelty, space and relevance." Facsimiles of the
original documents are used when possible, some documents have been
retyped for legibility. Arranged in three chronological sections,
Part I: From the dissolution of the OSS in 1945 to
the creation of the CIA in 1974; Part II:
1947-1950, Part III: From mid-1950-1952. See also:
"Intelligence and United States Foreign Policy."
Selected Estimates
on the Soviet Union, 1950-1959 PrEx 3.17:ES 8
CATALOG RECORD
BOOKS (5th
Floor South)
American Foreign
Relations
JX231 .D61
CATALOG RECORD
Web Resources
top
AMDOCS: Documents for the
Study of American History Full text
electronic library with links to more than 400 primary source documents
relating to American history that have been digitized by academic
institutions. Coverage is from the 15th Century to the 21st Century,
arranged in a chronological list. Scroll down to heading: COLD WAR.
CIA Electronic Document Release
Center Digitized documents made available
from the CIA through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Their "Most
Popular Documents" include reports on the Bay of Pigs, the CIA
involvement in the 1954 coup in Guatemala, and Human Rights in Latin
America.
Cold War International History
Project At the Woodrow Wilson International
Center for Scholars, a project which collects and archives research and
documents from the Cold War -- with emphasis on international, rather
than exclusively western sources. The CWIHP Bulletin contains
"recently released and translated documents from former Communist-world
archives, along with brief introductions by leading Cold War historians and archivists."
CovertAction Quarterly
Foreign Relations of the
United States "The
Foreign Relations of the United States series
presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S.
foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series
is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.It
began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential
libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council,
Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and
other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of
individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy."
-Excerpt from Web Page.
Foreign Relations of the United
States: Cuban Missile Crisis
The Avalon Project at Yale Law
School. Digitized documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis including
presidential papers from the Kennedy Library and declassified CIA
documents.
Harvard Project on Cold War
Studies Publishes the
Journal of Cold War
Studies. Makes available some primary source documents from the
former Eastern Bloc, including KGB reports.
Historic Government Publications
from World War II: A Digital Library Browsable and searchable collection from SMU with links to PDF
versions of original documents.
The National Security
Archive at The George Washington University
top
|