|
Subject Headings to Full-Text
Primary Sources
Available in Pollak Library
top
Print--books: To retrieve a list of books available
in Pollak Library that provide full text of primary sources on American
history, search the Library Catalog by:
SUBJECT:
united states history sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- 1783-1865 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- 1815-1861 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- 1849-1877 -- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History -- 1865-1898 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History --
1865 1921-- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History --
1901 1953 -- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History --1919 1933
-- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History --1933 1945
-- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History -- 1945
-- Sources
SUBJECT: United
States -- History -- 1961-1969 Sources
SUBJECT:
United States -- History -- 20th century -- Sources
SUBJECT:
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Correspondence
SUBJECT:
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Diaries
SUBJECT:
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 -- Correspondence
Online
Primary Sources
Freely Available
top
Online
Primary Sources
Available in Pollak Library--Historical Newspapers
top
A
Selected List of
Books in Pollak Library
top
- Documents illustrative of the formation of the union of the
American states (1927)
DOCS/US LC 14.2:D 65 CATALOG
RECORD
DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:8573
Full text of documents relating to the Constitutional history of the
United States starting with the first Continental Congress in 1774 and
ending with the 9th Amendment in 1920.
LC Subject Heading:
Constitutional history -- United States -- Sources
-
- American archives: fourth series,
containing a documentary history of the English colonies in North
America from the King's message to Parliament of March 7, 1774 to the
Declaration of Independence of the United States /
Reprint of the 1837 ed
DOCS/US Z 1.1: v.1-6
CATALOG RECORD
Covers
United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
and
United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783
Writings of George Washington from the Original Manuscript Sources:
1745-1799
DOCS/US Y 3.W 27/2:13/ V.1-39
CATALOG RECORD
39-volume set of Washington's words, writings, and correspondence.
INDEX is last 2 volumes.
- Elliot's Debates: The debates in the several State conventions on the adoption of the
Federal Constitution, as recommended by the general convention at
Philadelphia in 1787 ... Collected and rev. from contemporary
publications by Jonathan Elliot
DOCS/US
Z 2.1:EL 5/2/
v.1-5 CATALOG
RECORD Full text of debates starting 1787.
Vol. 5 has
title: Debates on the adoption of the Federal Constitution in the
convention held at Philadelphia in 1787, with a diary of the
debates of the Congress of the Confederation as reported by James
Madison. Rev. and newly arranged by Jonathan Elliot. Supplementary to
Elliot's Debates. Reprint of the 2d ed.,
1836-45.
Secret journals of the acts and proceedings of Congress from
the first meeting thereof to the dissolution of the Confederation, by the
adoption of the Constitution of the United States
DOCS/US Z 2.8:
v.1-4
CATALOG RECORD
Full text of proceedings from 1775-1789. Reprint of the 1821 ed.
- America Firsthand:
Readings in American History
(1992)
6th Floor South E173 .A72 1992 CATALOG
RECORD
- Contents: v. 1. From settlement to
Reconstruction. -- v. 2. From Reconstruction to the present
American Historical
Documents, 1000-1904
(1910)
6th Floor South AC1 .H2 vol. 43 CATALOG
RECORD
- American History
Told by Contemporaries
(1908)
6th Floor South
E173 .H32 CATALOG
RECORD
- v. 1. Era of colonization, 1492-1689.--v. 2. Building of the
Republic, 1689-1783.--v. 3. National expansion, 1783-1845.--v. 4.
Welding of the nation, 1845-1900
-
- American Decades Primary Sources (2004)
REFERENCE E169.1 .A471977 2004
CATALOG RECORD
- Volume [1] 1900-1909 -- [2] 1910-1919 --
[3] 1920-1929 -- [4] 1930-1939 -- [5] 1940-1949 -- [6] 1950-1959 -- [7]
1960-1969 -- [8] 1970-1979 -- [9] 1980-1989 -- [10] 1990-1999.
- Encyclopedia of
American Historical Documents
- REFERENCE E173
.E54 2004 CATALOG
RECORD
- 1,600-plus documents representing turning points in U.S. history,
approximately 50 to 65 documents per era. Each section
presents an overview of the period.
Some documents appear in their entirety; however, some (Federalist
Papers, USA PATRIOT Act) are represented by key excerpts.
Supreme Court justices' opinions, presidential announcements and
inaugural addresses, and
notable speeches. Bibliographic
notations at the end of each article. Includes laws,
speeches, treaties, political party platforms, and song lyrics with
amendments to the U.S. Constitution, presidential statements, and court
decisions. Introductory notes give the origins
of each document, place it in historical context, and comment on its
legacy.
- Annals of America
(1968)
- REFERENCE E173 .A79 V.1-20
- Primary sources--texts of documents. 20 volume
set.
v. 1. 1493-1754: Discovering a new world.
v. 2. 1755-1783: Resistance and revolution.
v. 3. 1784-1796: Organizing the new Nation.
v. 4. 1797-1820: Domestic expansion and foreign entanglements.
v. 5. 1821-1832: Steps toward equalitarianism.
v. 6. 1833-1840: The challenge of a continent.
v. 7 1841-1849: Manifest destiny.
v. 8. 1850-1857: A house dividing.
v. 9. 1858-1865: The crisis of the Union.
v. 10. 1866-1883: Reconstruction and industrialization.
v. 11. 1884-1894: Agrarianism and urbanization.
v. 12. 1895-1904: Populism, imperialism, and reform.
v. 13. 1905-1915: The progressive era.
v. 14. 1916-1928: World war and prosperity.
v. 15. 1929-1939: The great depression.
v. 16. 1940-1949: The Second World War and after.
v. 17. 1950-1960: Cold war in the nuclear age.
v. 18. 1961-1968: The burdens of world power.
v. 19-20. Great issues in American life; a conspectus.
- Historic Documents
(1972-present)
- Online:
Historic Documents [CSUF ONLY]
- Print: REFERENCE
E839.5 .H57
CATALOG RECORD
For index in online version, see CUMULATIVE INDEX in left frame of main
page.
- Primary source
documents including presidential speeches, international
agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S.
governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Older documents provide limited access (summaries only).
-
- Documents of American History
/ by Henry
Steele Commager
Print: REFERENCE E173 .C66 1973b
CATALOG RECORD
Primary documents about major events
in the history of the United States, also many
letters and speeches. Starts with "Privileges
and Perogatives Granted to Columbus. April 30, 1492,"
and proceedds through the Civil Rights Act of 1957.
Debating the
Issues in Colonial
Newspapers: Primary
Documents on Events of the
Period (2000)
Newspapers in colonial America -- Censorship, printing control, and
freedom of the press, 1690 -- Inoculation controversy, 1721 --
Impartiality, objectivity, and the press, 1729 -- Attakulakula visits
King George II, 1730: Native American-English relations -- Trial of John
Peter Zenger, 1735 -- Women's rights, 1738 -- Stono Rebellion, 1739 --
Great Awakening and George Whitefield, 1739-1745 -- Religious divisions,
1740-1745 -- Massachusetts legalizes lotteries, 1744 -- Medical
discoveries and the amazing "Chinese stones," 1745 -- Paper money and
the Currency Act, 1751 -- New York public education controversy,
1753-1755 -- Albany Congress, the Plan of Union, and the French and
Indian War, 1754-1763 -- Cherokee War, 1759-1761 -- Stamp Act crisis,
1765-1766 -- "No taxation without representation," 1765-1766 -- The Sons
of Liberty, 1765-1776 -- Tories versus patriots, 1768-1775 --
Nonimportation agreements, 1768-1775 -- Boston Massacre, 1770 --
Religious liberty: Baptists call for toleration, 1770-1776 -- Somerset
case and the anti-slavery controversy, 1772 -- Tea Act and the Boston
Tea Party, 1773-1774 -- Continental Congress, 1774-1775 -- Edenton Tea
Party and perceptions of women, 1774 -- Arguments over going to war with
England, 1774-1776 -- Separation from England, 1768-1776 -- Battles of
Lexington and Concord, 1775 -- Declaration of Independence, 1776
- Letters of
Delegates to Congress 1774-1789
- Online:
American
Memory: Letters of Delegates to Congress to Congress, 1774-1789
Print: CATALOG RECORD
The
twenty-six volumes of the Letters of Delegates to Congress,
1774-1789, makes
available all the documents written by delegates that bear
on issues of their time, including slavery, during the First and
Second Continental Congresses, 1774-1789. The twenty-five volumes of
text include approximately twenty thousand entries and single cumulative index. Although letters from delegates
comprise the preponderance of the entries, there are many diaries,
public papers, essays, and other documents.
Documents Illustrative of the Formation of the Union of the American States
(1927)
- DOCS/US LC 14.2:D 65 CATALOG
RECORD
- Text of core documents including Declaration
of Independence, Articles of Confederation, and the Constitution.
-
-
Journals of the Continental Congress
- Online:
Journals of the
Continental Congress
Print:
CATALOG RECORD
Print:
INDEX
The First Continental Congress met from
September 5 to October 26, 1774. The Second Continental Congress ran
from May 10, 1775, to March 2, 1789. The Journals of the Continental
Congress are the records of the daily proceedings of the Congress
as kept by the office of its secretary,
Charles Thomson. None of these editions
includes the "Secret Journals," confidential sections of the records,
which were not published until 1821.
-
- Foreign Relations
of the United States (1861-1976)
- See Pollak Library
Research Guide:
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States
series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S.
foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series
is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.
It began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual
volumes. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from
Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National
Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International
Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private
papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
Volumes in the series since 1952 are organized chronologically
according to Presidential administrations, and geographically and
topically within each subseries: 25 volumes cover the
Kennedy
administration (1961-1963), 34 cover the
Johnson
administration (1964-1968), and about 54 are scheduled for the Nixon
and Ford administrations (1969-1976). Volumes on the
Nixon administration
are now being researched, annotated, and prepared for publication.
General Indexes
top
-
Search Library Catalog by subject:
Government publications -- United States -- Indexes
Search
Library Catalog by subject:
Government publications -- United States -- Catalogs
-
-
Catalog of U.S. Government
Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal
publications that includes descriptive records for historical and
current publications and provides direct links to those that are
available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject,
and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Descriptive Catalogue of the
Government Publications of the United States, September 5, 1774 - March
4, 1881 / compiled by order of congress by Ben: Perley Poore -
1774-1881 COMPACT STACKS Z1223 .A178
PT. 1-2
CATALOG RECORD
Chronological list of
documents. INDEX is in Part 2
Checklist of
United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
top
DOCS/FILM/US: GP 3.2:C 41/3
(118 Reels)
CATALOG RECORD
COMPACT STACKS Z1223 .A18 PTS 1-3 Index to executive branch
documents. The actual documents can be found in a microfiche collection
published by CIS entitled "U.S. Executive Branch Documents," not owned
by CSUF. Check Melvyl to find
local research libraries who own this collection, or ask at the
Government Documents desk about Interlibrary Loan.
Comprehensive Index to the
Publications of the United States Government,
1889-1893, by John G. Ames
Compact Stacks Z1223 .A1792
1881-1893 V.1-2 CATALOG
RECORD
Comprehensive Index of
the Publications of the United States Government
- 1893-1940 COMPACT STACKS Z1223
.A18 CATALOG
RECORD
"The Ames comprehensive index of the
documents of the Fifty-first and Fifty-second Congress"
Monthly Catalog of United States
Government Publications: Monthly Catalog, 1941-current date
1774-2000 ISSUES: COMPACT STACKS
Z1223 .A18 CATALOG
RECORD
National Union Catalog of Manuscripts Materials
top
NUCMC, or the National Union Catalog of
Manuscript Collections, is a free-of-charge cooperative cataloging program
operated by the Library of Congress.
Congressional &
Legislative Documents Indexes
top
Congressional Hearings: Search,
105th Congress forward [GPO Access]
Congressional Hearings: Browse,
105th Congress forward [GPO Access]
Congressional Publications
[GPO Access]
-
Serial Set
(15th Congress-64th Congress, 1817-1917)
Note: The entire set has not been digitized, only portions.
The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly
referred to as the Serial Set, began publication with the 15th
Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the
American State
Papers. The Serial Set
contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate
Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing
with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents
include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate.
Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of
executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special
investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental
organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries,
executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
Serial Set Index
Print:
U.S. Serial Set Index, 1789-1969
[CIS] DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:C 74* CATALOG
RECORD
[Note: This is shelved at the end of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set]
- See SUBJECT
INDEX to find references to American State Papers, Senate
Journals, Senate Documents, House Journals, and House Documents. Pollak
Library's holdings of U.S. Serial Set prior to 1961 are incomplete (see
stacks for holdings). The Library of Congress has made a digitized
version of the Serial Set available online - see American Memory
below.
Online:
American Memory:
United States Congressional Serial Set [Library of
Congress]
The Library of Congress provides a digitized version of the Serial Set
for the years 1789-1873. The United States Congressional Serial Set
began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st session (1817). Documents
of the first fourteen Congresses were published as the American State
Papers. The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the
House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional
committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under
investigation. Hearings are generally published separately. The
documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or
Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports
of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of
special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of
non-governmental organizations. Coverage is 1st Congress - 42d Congress
(1789-1873).
-
CIS Index to Publications of the United States
Congress (1970-date)
CIS INDEX TABLES Y 4.CIS: CATALOG
RECORD
[Note: This is shelved on the CIS INDEX TABLES, 3d Floor Library North]
- This begins in
1970 and indexes House and Senate hearings, reports, prints, documents,
special publications, Senate executive reports, and Senate executive
documents. Pollak Library owns many of these in print. Starting with the
100th Congress (1987), each title in the Serial Set that Pollak Library
owns in print has been cataloged separately and can be located by
searching the Library Catalog
by title or subject. In addition, all hearings from 1970-to-date
are available on microfiche. Beginning in 1990 (101st Congress, 2d
Session), Pollak Library owns the complete microfiche collection.
Online:
Congressional Universe
is a subscription database that provides online access to indexes and
abstracts of Congressional publications and CIS Legislative Histories
(1970-present).
- CIS Index to
Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings, 18th Congress - 88th Congress,
1823-1964
DOCS/US Y 1.3:C 55/1823-1964
CATALOG RECORD
- The actual hearings can
be found in the microfiche collection published by CIS entitled,
"Unpublished US Senate Committee Hearings", not owned by CSUF. Check
Melvyl to find local research
libraries who own this collection, or ask at the Government Documents
desk about Interlibrary Loan.
-
GPO Access
- GPO Access is a
full-text database of federal government resources. Years of coverage
varies by title.
Search and browse capability is available for the following: The
Budget of the U.S. Government, Campaign Reform
Hearing, Catalog of U.S. Government
Publications (CGP), Code of Federal
Regulations, Commerce Business Daily,
Congressional Bills, Congressional
Calendars, Congressional Committee Prints,
Congressional Directory, Congressional
Documents, Congressional Hearings,
Congressional Record, Congressional
Record Index, Congressional Reports,
Constitution of the United States of America,
Deschler's Precedents of the U.S. House of Representatives,
Economic Indicators, Economic Report of
the President, Federal Register,
GAO Reports, GAO Comptroller General
Decisions, GILS Records,
Government Manual, History of Bills and
Resolutions, House Practice,
House Rules Manual, Interior
Department-Reports of the Office of the IG , Privacy
Act Notices, Public Laws,
Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.,
Senate Manual, Supreme Court Decisions
(1937-1975), Unified Agenda,
United States Code, Ways & Means
Committee Prints, Weekly Compilation of
Presidential Documents.
top |