PRIMARY
SOURCE MATERIALS ON NATIVE AMERICANS are listed
below. These are scholarly works published by the U.S. Government
beginning in the early 1800's. All are cataloged and can be located by
searching the
Library Catalog or by using print indexes to
government documents.
THE FOLLOWING ARE SELECTIVE LISTS OF TITLES
that are representative of the resources found in the collection. The lists
include both background information (secondary sources that are sometimes
excellent finding aids to primary sources) and primary source materials (for
example, the texts of treaties, laws, and statutes). Online sources are given
when they provide parallel material.
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, please ask at the Reference Desk (1st Floor North) or
request assistance online via
Ask A Librarian.
- General index:
Annual Report Of The Bureau Of American Ethnology: General Index
(1933) top
DOCS/US SI 2.1:1930-1931
CATALOG RECORD
The Annual
Reports were published from 1879 to 1931 and are a series of scholarly
treatises published by the Smithsonian Institution on Indian Tribes. Pollak
Library owns most of the Annual Reports (DOCS/US SI 2.1:). The GENERAL INDEX to the annual reports was published as the
48th Annual Report and indexes volumes 1-48. An INDEX also appears at the back of
each volume. The Annual Reports published after 1930 are very brief
overviews of field research. Pollak Library owns the 50th (1932-33), 77th
(1959-60), 78th (1960-61), 79th (1961-62), 80th (1962-63), and 81st
(1963-64).
- Index to
Bulletins 1-100 of the Bureau of American Ethnology: With Index to
Contributions to North American Ethnology, Introductions, and Miscellaneous
Publications (1963)
DOCS/US SI 2.3:178
CATALOG RECORD
This Bulletin
was published in 1963 to index several collections of Smithsonian
publications:
Bulletins 1-100 (DOCS/US 2.3:), Contributions to North American
Ethnology (DOCS/US SI 1.33:), and Smithsonian Miscellaneous
Publications (DOCS/US SI 1.7:).
- CIS U.S.
Serial Set Index, 1789-1969
DOCS/US
Y 1.1/2:C 74* CATALOG RECORD [Note:
Shelved at the end of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set]
- See SUBJECT INDEX to find references to American State Papers, Senate Journals, Senate Documents,
House Journals, and House Documents. Pollak Library's holdings of U.S.
Serial Set prior to 1961 are incomplete (see stacks for holdings). The
Library of Congress has made a digitized version of the Serial Set available
online - see American Memory below.
Online:
American Memory: United States Congressional Serial Set [Library of Congress] The Library of Congress provides a digitized version of the Serial Set for
the years 1789-1873. The United States Congressional Serial Set began
publication with the 15th Congress, 1st session (1817). Documents of the
first fourteen Congresses were published as the American State Papers. The
Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate
Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with
proposed legislation and issues under investigation. Hearings are generally
published separately. The documents include all other papers ordered printed
by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may
include reports of executive departments and independent organizations,
reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of
non-governmental organizations. Coverage is 1st Congress - 42d Congress
(1789-1873).
CIS Index
to Publications of the United States Congress (1970-date)
top
CIS INDEX TABLES Y 4.CIS:
CATALOG RECORD [Note: Shelved on the CIS INDEX TABLES, 3d Floor North)]
This begins in
1970 and indexes House and Senate hearings, reports, prints, documents,
special publications, Senate executive reports, and Senate executive
documents. Pollak Library owns many of these in print. Starting with the
100th Congress (1987), each title in the Serial Set that Pollak Library owns
in print has been cataloged separately and can be located by title or
subject searches. In addition, all hearings from 1970-to-date are available
on microfiche. Beginning in 1990 (101st Congress, 2d Session), Pollak
Library owns the complete microfiche collection. Guide to
American Indian Documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899
(1977)
top
REFERENCE KF8201 .A1 J63
CATALOG RECORD
This is a
finding guide for House and Senate documents and reports published in the
Serial Set from the 15th through the 55th Congresses (1817-1899).
Arrangement is chronological. SUBJECT INDEX. Pollak Library's
holdings of U.S. Serial Set prior to 1961 are incomplete (see stacks for
holdings). The full text of the documents and reports may be available at
the Library of Congress web site
American Memory:
United States Congressional Serial Set (see description above).
Index to
Schoolcraft's Indian Tribes of the United States (1954) DOCS/US SI 2.3:152 (Bulletin 152)
CATALOG RECORD
Note: This title is bound with another title. The
INDEX is the second
title in the volume.
This indexes
Historical and Statistical Information Respecting the History, Condition,
and Prospects of the Indian Tribes of the United States (1851-57) (DOCS/US
I 20.2:In 2/) written by Henry Rowe Schoolcraft, who lived thirty years
on the frontier and wrote six vothroughout America. Volume 1 has
Census returns
on the following Indian tribes: Iroquois, Algonquin, Dakota,
and Appalachian. Each of the six volumes also has a detailed Table of
Contents.
List of
Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology with Index to Authors and
Titles (1971)
Online:
List of Publications of the bureau of American Ethnology with Index to
Authors and Titles
Print:
DOCS/US SI 2.3:200
CATALOG RECORD
This is the last publication of the Bureau (in 1965 it merged with the Smithsonian
Office of Anthropology) and gives lists of and indexes to the following from
1877-1971: Annual Reports, 1879-1965 (DOCS/US SI 2.1:) Bulletins, 1887-1971(DOCS/US SI 2.3:) Contributions to
North American Ethnology, 1877-1893 (DOCS/US I 17.5:) Miscellaneous
Publications, 1880-1962 (DOCS/US SI 1.7:)
Native American issues: a reference handbook
(2005)
6TH FLOOR SOUTH E98.T77 T56 2005 CATALOG
RECORD
Statistics: Census Facts for Features: American Indians
2008
|
2007
|
2006 |
2005 |
2004
top
Current
statistics on population, age, state and county distribution, families,
education, homeownership, veteran status, language and employment.
Statistics:
American
Indian & Alaska Native (AI/AN) Populations
Demographics, 10 leading causes of death, high
prevalence health issues, health statistics, and more. From CDC's Office
of Minority Health & Health Disparities.
Statistics: The
American Community--American Indians and Alaksa Natives: 2004
(2007) PDF-24 pages
Statistics: Minority
Population Tops 100 Million (May 2007)
Statistical data on Native Americans with comparison
data on African Americans, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Pacific
Islanders.
Statistics: American
Factfinder: American Indian and Alaska Native Data and Links
[Census Bureau]
Links to U.S. Census Bureau statistics.
Statistics:
We the People: American Indians and Alaska Natives in the United States (2006) PDF-23 pages
A portrait of the American
Indian and Alaska native population in the United States, providing data on
the largest specified tribal groupings, reservations, Alaska Native Village
Statistical Areas (ANVSAs) and areas outside reservations and ANVSAs at the
national level. It is part of a special report series that presents data
collected from Census 2000 on demographic, social and economic
characteristics. (Added 02/08/2006)
Statistics:
1881-1913:
Report of the Secretary of the Interior; being part of the Message and Documents
communicated to the Two Houses of Congress
DOCS/US I 1.1:
(1881-1913)
CATALOG RECORD
Various subjects are covered
in these reports. See INDEX of each volume for specific information. Of
special note is 1892/v.2: front section is a discussion of Indian
Affairs and back section has extensive statistics by subject and by
tribe. CSUF owns various volumes from 1881-1913. Spine title: Messages
and Documents.
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Performance and Accountability Report Fiscal Year 2005
[Dept. of Interior] (2006) PDF-181 pages
Introduction:
"The Bureau of Indian Affairs’ (BIA) Performance and Accountability Report (PAR) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2005 provides performance and financial information that enables Congress, the President, and the public to assess the performance of the Bureau relative to its mission and stewardship of the resources entrusted to it."
Tiller's
Guide to Indian Country : Economic Profiles of
American Indian Reservations
(2005) REFERENCE E93 .T55 2005
CATALOG RECORD
Economic
information on each of the American Indian tribes arranged by tribe name.
Geographical Index.
Annual
Report Of The Bureau Of American Ethnology (1879-1931)
DOCS/US SI 2.1:
CATALOG RECORD
Published from
1879 till 1931, this is a series of scholarly treatises published by the
Smithsonian Institution on Indian Tribes. An INDEX appears at the
back of each volume. The GENERAL INDEX was published as the 48th
Annual Report and indexes volumes 1-48 (DOCS/US SI 2.1:1930-1931).
Pollak Library also owns the 50th (1932-33), 77th (1959-60), 78th (1960-61),
79th (1961-62), 80th (1962-63), and 81st (1963-64) annual reports which are
very brief overviews of field research during those years.
Annual
Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs (1824-1949)
top
Print: DOCS/US I 20.1:
CATALOG RECORD
Microfiche: DOCS/FICHE/US I 20.1:
CATALOG RECORD
Pollak Library owns several volumes of this title (title varies) in microfilm and print
from 1824-1949. The annual reports were written by the Commissioner of
Indian Affairs and addressed to the Secretary of the Interior. Also included
are the texts of reports and correspondence from Indian Agents, Territorial
Governors, Military Officers, and Physicians and Teachers to the
Commissioners. The reports are from all areas throughout the nation covering
all Indian tribes, from California to New York to Colorado to New Mexico to
Oregon.
Bulletin (Smithsonian Institution. Bureau of American Ethnology)
(1887-1967)
top
DOCS/US SI 2.3:
CATALOG RECORD
The Bulletins cover a wide range of subjects. Pollak Library owns 174 Bulletins. A GENERAL INDEX to Bulletins 1-100 appears in
Bulletin 178. A
few of special note are listed here:
Bulletin
30. Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico. This is an
encyclopedic 2-volume work on Indian tribes, customs, rituals, and locations
published originally in 1905. CSUF owns
1912 edition and
1959 edition.
Bulletin 60.
Handbook of Aboriginal American Antiquities. This book gives
a systematic presentation of archeological science and the progress of
research at the time (1919), specifically dealing with race origins,
migrations, culture evolution, chronology, and the use of stone.
Bulletin 78. Handbook
of the Indians of California. This is an analysis of the many tribes
living in California including Chumash, Paiute, and Shoshone.
Contributions to American Ethnology
[U.S. Department of the Interior] top
DOCS/US SI 17.5:
CATALOG RECORD
Pollak Library
owns several of these scholarly reports on Native Americans written between
1881 and 1890. See the LIBRARY CATALOG or shelves
for holdings.
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare (2005) REFERENCE E81
.E98 2005
CATALOG RECORD
Map of
traditional tribal locations. Chapters: American Indians Prior to 1492.
Warfare Terminology. Armies of Empire: Colonial, State, Federal, and
Imperial Forces in the Indian Wars. War and Warfare. Wars and Warfare:
Another View.
Handbook of North American Indians (1978-date)
top
REFERENCE E77 .H25 CATALOG RECORD<
When it is completed, this 20-volume set from the Smithsonian Institution, started in
1978, will be the standard source of information on North American Indians.
It gives an encyclopedic summary of what is known about the prehistory,
history, and culture of the aboriginal peoples of North America. Volumes are
not published in sequence. Bibliography citing primary sources at the end of
each volume. An INDEX appears at end of each volume. A GENERAL INDEX will appear in Volume 20, when it is published. Volumes
published as of 2002:
Volume 4:
History of Indian-White Relations (1988). Basic reference work on
the history of the interactions between the aboriginal people in North
America and those arriving from Europe and Africa after 1492.
Volume 5: Arctic
(1984). Indians living above the Arctic Circle (North Alaska, Bering Sea,
and the Asian-Eskimo Zone), principally those of the Eskimo-Aleut language
family.
Volume 6: Subarctic
(1981). Indians living just below the Arctic Circle, including
Subarctic Algonquin, Northern Athapaskan, Cree, Ojibwa, and
Montagnias-Naskapi.
Volume 7:
Northwest Coast (1990) Athapaskan, Haida, Tsimshian, Kwakiutl,
Nootkans, and Chinookans.
Volume 8:
California (1978) Tolowa, Yurok, Wiyot, Hupa, Chilula, Whilkut,
Karok, Shastan, Miwok, Yokuts, Costanoan, Esselen, Chumash, Gabrielino and
Serrano, and others.
Volume 9: Southwest
(1979) Mogollon, Hohokam, Anasazi, Southern Athapaskan, Pueblo, Taos,
Zuni, and Hopi.
Volume 10:
Southwest (1983) Havasupai, Mohave, Maricopa, Papago, Pima, Yaqui,
Apache, and Navajo.
Volume 11: Great
Basin (1986) Shoshone, Bannock, Paiute, Kawaiisu, and Washoe.
Volume 12: Plateau
(1998) Flathead, Yakima, Wasco, Nez Perce, Klamath, Modoc. Also
includes special report on the Indian stick game.
Volume 13: Plains
(2001) Hidatsa, Mandan, Arikara, Three Affiliated Tribes, Omaha, Ponca,
Iowa, Otoe and Missouria, Kansa, Osage, Quapaw, Pawnee, Wichita, and
Kitsai. Special Report on the Sun Dance, page 983. 2 volumes.
Volume 15:
Northeast (1978) Abenaki, Narragansett, Delaware, Algonquin,
Iroquois, Shawnee, Fox, Kickapoo, Illinois, Winnebago, Potawatami,
Chippewa, and Ojibwa.
Volume 17:
Languages (1996) Basic reference on the native languages of the
North American continent.
Handbook of South American
Indians (1963)
top
DOCS/US SI 2.3:143/V.1-7
CATALOG RECORD
This 7-volume work was published as Bulletin Smithsonian Institution Bureau Of American
Ethnology 143. CSUF owns volumes 1, 4, 6, and 7. There is extensive
discussion of Indian tribes. Included are maps, photographs, and
illustrations. V. 1: The marginal tribes. V. 2: The Andean civilizations.
V.3: The tropical forest tribes. V. 4: The circum-Caribbean tribes. V. 5:
The comparative ethnology of South American Indians. V. 6: Physical
anthropology, linguistics, and cultural geography of South American Indians.
V. 7: INDEX.
Indians at Work
(1933-1945)
top
DOCS/US I 20.22:
CATALOG RECORD
Internal newsletter published by the Bureau of Indian Affairs from 1933-1945
consisting of reports from field workers describing educational and medical
programs being introduced to Indian tribes throughout the United States. The
first-hand reports give historical information, relating farming practices
and family stories as told by the Indians, and contemporary information.
Many articles highlight Native Americans' service in World War II.
Photographs.
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (1998)
top
REFERENCE
E77 .G15 1998 v. 1-4
V. 1. Northeast, Southeast, Caribbean -- v. 2.
Great Basin, Southwest, Middle America -- v. 3. Arctic, Subarctic, Great
Plains, Plateau -- v. 4. California, Pacific Northwest, Pacific Islands
Navajo
Yearbook (1951-1961) DOCS/US
I 20.44: CATALOG RECORD
Annual report of the progress achieved in carrying out the provisions of the Navajo-Hopi Long
Range Rehabilitation Act (Public Law 474, 81st Congress). It discusses all
programs conducted on the Navajo Reservation. The 1951-61 edition includes
an 80-page document on the Navajo language and an extensive report on Navajo
religion. The 1958 edition has statistical tables including population by
reservation, population on- and off-reservation in 1950 & 1958, deaths by
age and sex in 1957, leading causes of death in 1957, crimes, school
enrollments and graduates, relocations, destinations of relocatees, and
reasons given for return to reservation.
Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology (1965-date)
top
DOCS/US
SI 1.33:
CATALOG RECORD
A GENERAL INDEX is contained in Bulletin No. 178 (DOCS/US SI 2.3:178). Pollak
Library owns various volumes in this series. Each volume has an extensive
Table of Contents. See the
LIBRARY CATALOG or stacks for
complete holdings. Included in this collection is Volume 2 (DOCS/US
SI 1.33:2) with the following reports: No. 2: Early Skeletons from
Tranquillity, California. No. 6: Notebook of a Cherokee Shaman. No. 9:
Navajo Political Process. No. 27: Ceremonies of the Pawnee.
Smithsonian
Miscellaneous Collections (1862-1972) top
DOCS/US SI 1.7:
CATALOG RECORD
This series
covers a wide variety of subjects. Pollak Library owns many of the volumes
but only a few that were written about Native Americans. Two of note are
listed here. Search the
LIBRARY CATALOG
or check shelves for additional holdings. The Aboriginal
Population of America North of Mexico (1928) DOCS/US SI 1.7:80/7
Discussion of the populations of Indians in America including
statistical
tables by geographic area and by tribe. Estimates are given from the 1600's
to about 1900.
TREATIES & LAWS--Background
Sources
top
- American
Indian Law Deskbook (1998)
5th Floor South KF8205 .A76
1998 suppl. 2000
CATALOG RECORD
Federal Indian law policy:
origins and legal development -- Indian, Indian tribe, and Indian country --
Indian and reservation lands -- Criminal law -- General civil-regulatory
jurisdiction -- Civil-adjudicatory jurisdiction -- Tribal sovereign immunity
and the Indian Civil Rights Act -- Indian reserved water rights -- Hunting
and fishing regulation -- Environmental regulation -- Taxation in Indian
country -- Indian lands gaming -- Indian Child Welfare Act -- State-tribal
cooperate agreements.
- American Indian Law
Deskbook (1993)
top
- REFERENCE KF8205 .A76 1993
CATALOG RECORD
Reference book on
federal, state, and tribal relations. It is heavily footnoted with citations
to public laws, statutes, Supreme Court cases, and additional primary source
materials.
-
- And
Still the Waters Run (1996)
6th Floor South E78.I5 D28 CATALOG
RECORD
Recounts the removal of the Five Civilized Tribes from eastern states
to Oklahoma. Bibliography on pages 392-402 lists government document
sources.-
- Early California Laws and Policies Related to California Indians(2002)
PDF-59 pages
Excerpt from executive summary: "The initial investigation and research contained in this report
led to a focus on four examples of early State of California laws and
policies that significantly impacted the California Indians’ way of life: ·
The 1850 Act for the Government and Protection of Indians and related
amendments; · California militia policies and "Expeditions against the
Indians" during 1851 to 1859; · The State of California’s official response
to federal treaties negotiated with California Indians during 1851 to 1852;
and · Early and current state fish protection laws that exempt California
Indians from related prohibitions".
- History of
Indian Policy (1973) top
DOCS/US I 20.2:H 62
CATALOG RECORD
History of the policies of the United States toward American
Indians from the colonial period to 1970. It gives extensive background on
treaties, statutes (including the General Allotment Act or Dawes Act of
1887), and tribal removals
and relocations. Of special note are 1970 Census
counts of American Indians by state, by county (foldout map), and by tribe.
The Permanent Indian Frontier:
The Reason for the Construction and Abandonment of Fort Scott, Kansas,
During the Dragoon Era: A Special History Study (1986) DOCS/US I 29.88/5:F 77 s
CATALOG RECORD
Special study on Indian removal and
relocation from the National Park Service.
Removal: Native American Bibliography
[Central Michigan University]
Bibliography of sources on the United States government policy of
removing the Indians from their land and sending them west of the
Mississippi. Pollak Library may not own all of these publications.
TREATIES & LAWS--Primary Sources top
Avalon Project at the
Yale Law School (Yale)
top
The Avalon Project has mounted
full-text digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History,
Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government .
Of special note:
Treaties
Between the United States and Native Americans and
Statutes of the United States Concerning Native Americans.
Cherokee Nation v. Georgia 30 U.S. 1 (1831)
top
This is a Supreme Court decision in which Chief Justice John Marshall holds that an Indian tribe was
neither a state in the Union nor a foreign nation within the meaning of the
Constitution and, therefore, could not maintain an action in the Federal
Courts. Upholds Indians' right to their land until title is voluntarily
given to United States by treaty.
GPO Access:
Databases
[GPO ]
This Government Printing Office web site gives access to the full text of the
following: Congressional bills 1993-date, Congressional documents 1995-date,
Congressional Record 1994-date, Congressional Reports 1995-date, Federal
Register 1994-date, public laws 1995-date, and U.S. Code, 1994. From this
site, it is possible to search across multiple databases simultaneously.
Early
Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations
Intro: "The Oklahoma State University Library Electronic Publishing Center
has digitized all of
Kappler's volumes
[3],
but it is especially useful that the second volume on treaties has been
converted, because this now affords easy access to those texts fashioned
between 1778 and 1868. In the present collection, the texts of the nine
remaining treaties, created between the years 1722 and 1805, are offered.
These are the product of seven, early treaty events between a number of
American Indian Nations and the British, and of two United States
efforts."
Indian
Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Charles J. Kappler) (1904)
DOCS/US I 1.107:1-7 (7 volumes)
CATALOG RECORD
This is a compilation of the treaties, laws, Executive Orders, and other
matters relating to Indian affairs up until 1903. It follows the general
form of the Statutes-at-Large and includes annotations, footnotes,
cross-references and INDEX. Agreements between Indian nations and tribes from 1778 to 1871
are treaties. On March 3, 1871, Congress passed legislation (16 STATS
566) stating that agreements must thereafter be passed by both Houses of
Congress whereupon they become laws, not treaties.
Indian Law: An
Overview [Cornell] top
Links to sections of the U.S. Constitution, U.S. Code, Federal
Regulations, Supreme Court Decisions, State Judicial Decisions, and
Agencies.
Indian Removal Act: Primary Documents in
American History [Library of Congress]
top
Links to full-text documents.
The Indian
Removals (Senate Document 512, 23rd Congress 1st Session, 1834-35) DOCS/US Y 1.1/2:245-1 to -5
[Note: This volume is not
individually cataloged in the Library Catalog.]
These five volumes consist of correspondence on the emigration of
Indians between November 30, 1831, and December 27, 1833. They contain
reports and detailed financial accounts written by military and civil
government employees documenting how Indian removal was carried out at
the bureaucratic level after it had been decided upon politically.
Pollak Library owns the 1974 reprint.
Online version:
Senate Document 512: Correspondence on the Subject of the Emigration of
Indians Between the 30th November, 1831, and 27th December, 1833
This digitized version from the Library of Congress gives both text and
TIFF images of the original document.
Laws Relating to the
Five Civilized Tribes in Oklahoma 1890 to 1914 (1915) DOCS/US Y 4.IN 2/1:F 58/4
CATALOG RECORD
This is a compilation of all statutes concerning the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma
( Choctaw, Chickasaw, Cherokee, Creek, and Seminole) that were passed
from 1890 to 1914. The statutes are arranged chronologically. The Table of
Contents gives the complete statute name, statute number, and the date.
Opinions of the Solicitor of the Department of
Interior Relating to Indian Affairs, 1917-1974 (1979)
DOCS/US I 1.69/9:1917-74 V.1-2
CATALOG RECORD
The Indian Civil Rights Act of 1968 ( 25
U.S.C. 1341) authorized the compilation of official opinions of
the Solicitor of the Department Relating to Indian Affairs. This
2-volume document was published to make available to the public
previously unpublished opinions dealing with Indian statutes, the
status of Indian land and rights in natural resources, and
definitions of tribal governmental powers. The INDEX ian
tribe, first search by a topic such as RESERVATIONS and then
scan the entries for tribal names such as
Chippewa or Papago.
Presidential
Policy Papers on Indian Self-Determination top
This U.S.
Senate web site gives the texts of statements by Presidents Nixon, Carter,
Reagan, Bush, and Clinton on federal Indian policies and legislation. Included is the
noted speech
by President Nixon on Indian self-determination on July 8, 1970.
CALIFORNIA INDIANS--Background Sources
top
Early California Laws and
Policies Related to California Indians(2002)
PDF-59 pages
Excerpt from Executive Summary: "The initial investigation and research contained in this report
led to a focus on four examples of early State of California laws and
policies that significantly impacted the California Indians’ way of life: ·
The 1850 Act for the Government and Protection of Indians and related
amendments; · California militia policies and "Expeditions against the
Indians" during 1851 to 1859; · The State of California’s official response
to federal treaties negotiated with California Indians during 1851 to 1852;
and · Early and current state fish protection laws that exempt California
Indians from related prohibitions".
Forty-fourth
Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology (1926-1927)
top
DOCS/US SI 2.1:926-927
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed accounts of
archeological investigations in California during 1927.
Contents: Exploration of the Burton Mound at Santa Barbara,
California. Social and religious beliefs and usages of the
Chickasaw Indians. Uses of plants by the Chippewa Indians.
Archeological investigations. INDEX.
Handbook of North American Indians, Volume 8: California
(1978)
top
DOCS/US SI 1.20/2:8
Discusses the Tolowa, Yurok, Wiyot, Hupa,a, Whilkut, Karok, Shastan,
Miwok, Yokuts, Costanoan, Esselen, Chumash, Gabrielino and Serrano, and
others.
Explorations and Field-Work of the Smithsonian Institution (1928-1933)
DOCS/US SI 1.2:E 96/
CATALOG RECORD
Collection of research reports on American Indians.
Contents: 1928. Studying the Mission Indians of California and the Taos of New
Mexico.--Collecting grasses in the Southwest.--1930. Collecting flies in the
West.--Studying the Indians of New Mexico and California.--Arizona's
prehistoric canals, from the air.--The search for ancient life forms in the
rocks of the western United States.--Archeological reconnaissance in Texas
and Nevada.--1931. Hunting baskets in Arizona.--An important archeological
site in eastern Arizona.--A prehistoric cave in Texas.--1932. Hunting flies
in the West.--Field-work among the Mission Indians of California.--Some
early pueblo remains in eastern Arizona.--Prehistoric cave dwellers of
Texas.--1933. Rescuing the early history of the California
Indians.--Investigations on ancient canals in southern Arizona.--An Arizona
village of a thousand years ago.--Cave burials in southwestern Texas.
CALIFORNIA
INDIANS--Primary
Sources
top
Handbook of the Indians of California
(1925) DOCS/US SI 2.3:78
CATALOG RECORD
A. L. Kroeber spent 17 years with the Indians living in California and in 1923 wrote this analysis of their civilization.
He describes in detail the Yurok, Karok, Chimariko and Wiyot, Athabascans,
Yuki, Huchnon, Wappo, Pomo, Coast and Lake Miwok, Shasta, Achomawa and
Atsugewi, Modoc, Yana and Yahi, Penuian, Wintun, Maidu, Miwok, Costanoans,
Yokuts, Esselen, Chumash, Washo, Shoshone, Paiute, Mono and Koso, Chemehuevi,
Kawaiisu and Tubatulabal, Serrano, Gabrielino, Juaneno, Luiseno, Cupeno,
Diegueno and Kamia, Mohave, and Yuma. Illustrations and INDEX.
The Kamia of Imperial Valley (1931)
top
DOCS/US SI 2.3:97
CATALOG RECORD
Detailed account of the Kamia Indians who lived in the area surrounding the
Salton Sea. It describes their social life and customs including dwellings,
tobacco, warfare, pottery, games, marriage and funerals, and mythology.
INDEX.
National Indian Law
Library top
Tribal codes and constitutions provided
by the tribes. The National Indian Law Library (NILL) and its partners—the National Tribal Justice
Resource Center and the University of Oklahoma Law Library—have obtained
permission from the individual tribes to place these documents on their
website. Contains documents from several California tribes.
A New Original Version of Boscanas Historical Account of the San Juan Capistrano Indians
of Southern California (1846, reprinted 1966)
DOCS/US SI 1.7:92/4
CATALOG RECORD
Jeronomic Boscana was a missionary at San Juan Capistrano from 1812 to 1826 during which time he wrote this manuscript titled "Chinigchinich: A Historical Account of the Belief, Usages, Customs, and Extravagancies of the Indians of
This Mission of San Juan Capistrano, called the Acagchemem Tribe."
Originally published in 1846; Pollak Library owns the 1966 reprint.
Progress
Report to the Legislature by the Senate Interim Committee on California
Indian Affairs (Senate Resolution no. 115) (1955)
DOCS/STATE CALIF L500 I635 R4 1955
CATALOG RECORD Boscana was a missionary at San Juan Capistrano from 1812 to 1826 during
which time he wrote this manuscript titled "Chinigchinich: A Historical
Account of the Belief, Usages, Customs, and Extravagancies of the Indians of
This Mission of San Juan Capistrano, called the Acagchemem Tribe."
Originally published in 1846; Pollak Library owns the 1966 reprint.
Tribes of California (1877)
DOCS/US I 17.5:3
CATALOG RECORD
Stephen Powers lived among the California Indian tribes
from 1871 to 1872 and wrote exhaustive descriptions of their
social customs and traditions. Tribes described are: Karok,
Yurok, Tolowa, Hupa, Patawat, Viard, Mattoal, Wailakki,
Yuki, Tatu, Pomo, Yokaia, Gallinomero, Gualala, Ashochimi, Kabinapek, Makh
Elchel, Patwin, Win Tun, Shastika, Modok, Achomawi, Nozi, Maidu, Nishinam,
Miwok, Yosemite,Yokuts and Paiuti. The final two chapters discuss "General
Facts" and "Aboriginal Botany".
DAWES ACT--Background Sources top
"Choctaw-Chickasaw Enrollment:
Part I," Prologue, Winter 1999, v.31 no.4 p.231-245DOCS/US AE 1.111:31/4
pages 231-245 Government periodical article with extensive background information on the
Dawes Commission and Dawes Act. Photographs, bibliographic references to primary sources.
"Choctaw-Chickasaw Enrollment: Part II," Prologue, Spring 2000, v.32 no.1 p.7-22
top
DOCS/US AE 1.111:31/4 pages 7-22 Government periodical article with extensive background information on the
Dawes Commission and Dawes Act. Photographs, bibliographic
references to primary sources.
"Federal
Indian Policy: Cherokee Enrollment, 1887-1898," Prologue, Winter, 1990, v.22
no.4 p.338-349 DOCS/US AE 1.111:22/4 pages 338-349
Government periodical article with extensive background information on the
Dawes Commission and Dawes Act. Photographs, bibliographic references to
primary sources.
"Federal
Indian Policy: Cherokee Enrollment, 1898-1907," Prologue, Spring 1991, v.23
no.1 p.24-38
top
DOCS/US AE 1.111:23/1 pages 24-38
Government periodical article with extensive background information on the
Dawes Commission and Dawes Act. Photographs, facsimiles, bibliographic
references to primary sources.
Handbook of North American Indians - Volume 4: History of Indian-White Relations
(1988)
DOCS/US SI 1.20/2:4
CATALOG RECORD
For information on the Dawes Act, see INDEX (includes acreage affected,
arguments for, criticism of, and repeal of). Several other volumes in this
set also discuss the Dawes Act or Dawes Commission--See INDEX in the back of
each volume.
A History of Indian Policy (1973) top
DOCS/US I 20.2:H 62
CATALOG
RECORD
Nattive History of the policies of the U.S. toward American
Indians from colonial period to 1970. Chapter 5 discusses the
General Allotment Act (Dawes Act) in detail. Maps and
photographs.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
(1904)
DOCS/US I 1.107:1-7 (7 volumes)
CATALOG RECORD
Dawes Commission is discussed extensively in
this 7-volume set under the entry "Commission to Five Civilized
Tribes."
"Snakes
& Scribes: The Dawes Commission and the Enrollment of the Creeks,"
Part 1 |
Part 2
Prologue, Spring 1997, v.29 no.1 p.28-41
(ONLINE & PRINT)
DOCS/US AE 1.111:29/1 p. 28-41
Government periodical article with background information on
the Dawes Commission and Dawes Act. Photographs, facsimiles, bibliographic
references to primary sources.
DAWES ACT--Primary
Sources top
Dawes Act
Scanned image of
original document along with discussion and analysis. Excerpt: "Also known
as the General Allotment Act, the law allowed for the President to break up
reservation land, which was held in common by the members of a tribe, into
small allotments to be parceled out to individuals."
[Source: 100 Milestone
Documents from OurDocuments.com].
Native
Americans Documents Project [CSU San Marcos]
Documents from microfilmed
collections of reports and letters published by the National
Archives. Some were taken from official publications, mainly the
annual reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs. Major
primary source material is available on the General Allotment
Act of 1887 (the Dawes Act), the Rogue River War and Siletz
Reservation, Report of the Commissioner of Indians Affairs in
1871, and the Third Annual Report of the Board of Indian
Commissioners in 1871.
The Aboriginal Population of
America North of Mexico (1928)
top
DOCS/US SI 1.7:80/7
CATALOG RECORD
Brief overview of
population by region and by tribe of Indians in 1600 and 1907.The
Architecture of Pueblo Bonito (1964) DOCS/US SI 1.7:147
CATALOG RECORD
The
story of the growth and decline of the prehistoric village Pueblo Bonita,
the ruin of an Indian apartment dwelling in Chaco Canyon, New Mexico.
Written in 1964 and the fifth report on Pueblo Bonito, it incorporates the
data of the earlier studies. Photographs and illustrations. INDEX.
The Cegiha
Language (1890) DOCS/US I 17.5:6
CATALOG RECORD
The materials
in this volume consist of myths, stories, and letters of the Ponkas and the
Omahas collected by a missionary who lived with the tribes from 1871-1873
and 1878-1880. Myths are written in the Cegiha language (of the Siouan
linguistic family) with simultaneous English translation. Myth titles
include: How the Rabbit Caught the Sun in a Trap, How the Rabbit Killed the
Black Bears, The Rabbit and the Grizzly Bear, The Corn-Woman and the
Buffalo-Woman, The Orphan: A Pawnee Legend, and The Warriors Who Were
Changed to Snakes. INDEX.
Ethnography and Philology of the Hidatsa
Indians (1877) top
DOCS/US I 18.6:7
CATALOG RECORD
Washington Matthews spent 1854 to 1860 stationed along the Upper
Missouri and studied the Hidatsa Indians' customs and language. Part I:
Location, Dwellings, Caches, Cemetery & Burial, Worship, Farming,
Conversation, Arts, Food, Inter-tribal trade, and Intercourse with Whites.
Part II: History of the Tribe, Character, Appearance, Ceremonies, Mythology
and Superstitions, Marriage, Names, Relationship, Hunting, Warfare, Stories,
Divisions of Time. [Part III] Philology: Classification of the Hidatsa
Language, Relations of Dakota & Crow to Hidatsa, Letters, Syllables, Words
(Nouns, Verbs, Adjectives, Adverbs, Prepositions), Hidatsa Dictionary,
English-Hidatsa Vocabulary.
Historical and
Statistical Information Respecting the History, Condition, and Prospects of
the Indian Tribes of the United States (1851-57)
DOCS/US
I 20.2:In 2/ Written by Henry Rowe Schoolcraft, who lived thirty years on the
frontier and wrote six volumes on the history, traditions, arts, and
populations of Indian tribes throughout America. Volume 1 has
Census returns
on the following Indian tribes: Iroquois, Algonquin, Dakota,
and Appalachian. Each of the six volumes also has a detailed Table of
Contents. INDEXED IN: Index to Schoolcraft's Indian Tribes of
the United States (1954)
DOCS/US SI 2.3:152 (Bulletin 152)
CATALOG RECORD
[Note: This title is bound with another title. The
INDEX is
the second title in the volume.]
Houses and House-Life of the American Aborigines
(1881)
top
DOCS/US I 17.5:4
CATALOG RECORD
The focus is on customs, hospitality, and structures of adobe and stone, long houses, and the
mound-builders. Chapters are titled: I. Social and governmental
organizations.--II. The law of hospitality and its general practice.--III.
Communism in living.--IV. Usages and customs with respect to land and
food.--V. Houses of Indian tribes north of New Mexico.--VI. Houses of the
sedentary Indians of New Mexico.--VII. and VIII. Houses in ruins of the
sedentary Indians of the San Juan River and its tributaries.--IX. Houses of
the Mound-builders.--X. Houses of the Aztecs or ancient Mexicans.--XI. Ruins
of houses of the sedentary Indians of Yucatan and Central America. Tribes
discussed include Algonquin, Delaware, Munsee, Dakota, Cherokee, Choctaw,
Creek, Maya, Ojibwa, Nyach, Iroquois, Seneca-Iroquois, Onondaga-Iroquois,
Mandan, Mennetaree, Maricopas, Mohave.
The Official
Correspondence of James S. Calhoun While Indian Agent at Santa Fé and
Superintendent of Indian Affairs in New Mexico (1915) DOCS/US I 20.2:C 12
CATALOG RECORD James S. Calhoun was the first
territorial governor of New Mexico and this book contains all his
correspondence from 1849-1952. Calhoun focuses on the administrative
functions of his assignment but includes considerable detail on Indians in
the southwest during the years he served. Tribes mentioned include Apache,
Comanche, Jicarilla, Navajo, Utah, and Zuni.
Note: The following list
includes both background materials and primary sources. top
Statistics:
Census Facts for Features: American Indians
2008
|
2007
|
2006 |
2005 |
2004
Current
statistics on population, age, state and county distribution, families,
education, homeownership, veteran status, language and employment.
Statistics:
2000 Census: The
American Indian and Native Population: 2000 (2002)
PDF-12 pages
Population by tribe is given in Table 5. Ten
largest tribes. Ten places with largest population or highest percentage
of Native American population. Discussion and statistics.
Statistics:
Census Bureau: American Indian and Alaska Native Populations
[Census Bureau] The Census
Bureau web
site provides access to statistical reports on American Indians:
population estimates and projections, characteristics of American
Indians by tribe and language, social and economic characteristics for
the 25 largest American Indian Tribes, and more.
American Memory
[Library of Congress]
top
Library of Congress multimedia
collection of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, and
moving pictures from American history. It includes legislation, maps,
photographs, and additional primary source materials on Native
Americans. Of special note:
American
Indians of the Pacific Northwest.
American
Indians of the Pacific Northwest
[Library of Congress: American Memory]
This digital
collection integrates over 2,300 photographs and 7,700 pages of text
relating to the American Indians in two cultural areas of the Pacific
Northwest, the Northwest Coast and Plateau. These resources illustrate many
aspects of life and work, including housing, clothing, crafts,
transportation, education, and employment.
Avalon Project at the
Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy [Yale] The Avalon
Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History,
Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Of special note:
Treaties
Between the United States and Native Americans and
Statutes of the United States Concerning Native Americans.
A Century of
Lawmaking, 1774-1873 [Library of Congress] top
Digitized
images of the Journals of the Continental Congress, Statutes-At-Large
from 1789-1873 (1st-42d Congress), House Journal, Senate Journal,
Debates of Congress from 1789-1873 (1st-42d Congress), and
more.
Federally
Recognized American Indian Tribes and Alaska Natives
PDF-7 pages
[BIA]This Bureau of Indian Affairs site gives links
to The Federal Register Notice that appeared on Monday, July 12, 2002,
"Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible to Receive Services from the
U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs."
Indians/Native Americans [National
Archives] Links to American history relating to Native
Americans. Digitized images of primary source materials in the National
Archives and selected special collections are presented.
National Portrait Gallery:
Native Americans [Smithsonian
Institution] top
Images of portraits of noted Native Americans Sequoyah, Chief Joseph,
Black Hawk, Sitting Bull, Chief Thundercloud, and others, painted by artists
in the 1880s.
Native Americans: Laws [FedLaw] top
Full texts of laws (for example,
18 U.S.C. 113,
Indian Country Defined) and regulations, including Executive Orders (for
example, EO 13007,
Indian Sacred Sites).
The
North American Indian: Edward S. Curtis [Northwestern University--American Memory]
Digital collection presenting 2226 illustrations from The North American
Indian by Edward S. Curtis. Excerpt from home page: "Curtis said he wanted to document "the
old time Indian, his dress, his ceremonies, his life and manners." In over
2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional
customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes. The twenty volumes, each with
an accompanying portfolio, are organized by tribes and culture areas
encompassing the Great Plains, Great Basin, Plateau Region, Southwest,
California, Pacific Northwest, and Alaska. Featured here are all of the
published photogravure images including over 1500 illustrations bound in the
text volumes, along with over 700 portfolio plates."
top
|