Pollak Library Research Guides Government Information  Primary Sources PUBLIC PAPERS OF THE PRESIDENTS  

library logo

Primary Sources
Public Papers of the Presidents

Public Papers of the Presidents
Below are resources in the Government Document Section or that are freely available online. Please note that Pollak Library also owns sets of papers of many presidents that have been published by commercial publishers. Please ask at the Reference Desk for assitance in locating these additional resources.
Lists of All Presidents Presidents of the United States
Presidents listed chronologically and also alphabetically. Brief biographical information on each.

POTUS: Presidents of the United States
Background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each president. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites.

The American Presidency Project
Our archives contain 72,879 documents related to the study of the Presidency. Includes:
•The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
•The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to Bush (1929-1993)
•The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Clinton - G.W. Bush (1993-2007)

Washington Writings of George Washington from the Original Manuscript Sources: 1745-1799
3rd Floor North DOCS/US  Y 3.W27/2:13/V.1-39 CATALOG RECORD
39-volume set of Washington's words, writings, and correspondence. INDEX is last 2 volumes.

Public Papers of George Washington (1741-1799) [American Memory]
Searchable by keywords (examples: slavery, constitution).
Introduction:
"
The complete George Washington Papers collection from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consists of approximately 65,000 documents. This is the largest collection of original Washington documents in the world. Document types in the collection as a whole include correspondence, letterbooks, commonplace books, diaries, journals, financial account books, military records, reports, and notes accumulated by Washington from 1741 through 1799. The collection is organized into nine Series or groupings. Commonplace books, correspondence, and travel journals, document his youth and early adulthood as a Virginia county surveyor and as colonel of the militia during the French and Indian War. Washington's election as delegate to the First and Second Continental Congresses and his command of the American army during the Revolutionary war are well documented as well as his two presidential administrations from 1789 through 1797. Because of the wide range of Washington's interests, activities, and correspondents, which include ordinary citizens as well as celebrated figures, his papers are a rich source for almost every aspect of colonial and early American history. "

Adams, John The Papers of John Adams [The Avalon Project at Yale Law School]
Full text of inaugural address, annual messages, messages to Congress, and proclamations.
Jefferson
Public Papers of Thomas Jefferson [American Memory]
Searchable by keywords (examples: slavery, declaration of independence).

Thomas Jefferson Papers: An Electronic Archive [Massachussetts Historical Society]
Catalog of Books, Declaration of Independence, Farm Book, Garden Book, Notes on the State of Virginia, Architectural Drawers, and more.

Madison Public Papers of  James Madison [American Memory]
Searchable by keywords (examples: slavery, constitution).
Introduction: The collection is organized into six series dating from 1723 to 1836. Beginning with a selection of his father's letters, the series moves through Madison's years as a student, and as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates and include extensive notes of the debates during his three-year term in the Continental Congress (1779-82).
Lincoln Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress [American Memory]
Searchable by keywords (examples: slavery, gettysburg address).
Washington, Adams,J., Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Adams,J.Q., Jackson, Van Buren, Harrison,W.H, Tyler, Polk, Harrison,B., Cleveland, McKinely, Roosevelt (T.), and Taft
Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1920)
Print:
REFERENCE
J81 .B97  v. 1-20 CATALOG RECORD
INDEX is in Volumes 19 and 20.

 

Madison, Monroe, Adams (J.Q.), Jackson, Van Buren, Harrison (W.H), Tyler, Polk, Harrison (B.), Cleveland, McKinely, Roosevelt (T.), and Taft Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1817-1920)
Print:
DOCS/US
 AE 2.113/2:  v.2-20 CATALOG RECORD
Note: Volume 1 (Washington, Adams, Jefferson) of this set is missing--see copy in REFERENCE
J81 .B97  v. 1-20 CATALOG RECORD
INDEX is in Volumes 19 and 20.
Madison, Monroe, Jackson, Van Buren, Harrison, Tyler, Polk, Taylor, Pierce, Lincoln, Johnson, Grant, Arthur, Harrison, Cleveland, McKinley, Wilson, Coolidge

 

Presidential Papers [microfilm]
  • James Madison Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:M 26 28 reels 
  • James Monroe Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:M 75 11 reels 
  • Andrew Jackson Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:J 13  78 reels  
  • Martin Van Burean Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:V 27 35 reels 
  • William Henry Harrison Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:H 24/3 3 reels 
  • John Tyler Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:T 97 3 reels 
  • James K. Polk Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:P 75 67 reels  
  • Zachary Taylor Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:T 21 2 reels 
  • Franklin Pierce Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:P 61  7 reels  
  • Abraham Lincoln Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:L 63  97 reels 
  • Andrew Johnson Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:J 63  55 reels  
  • Ulysses S. Grant Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:G 76 32 reels 
  • Chester A. Arthur Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:AR 7 3 reels 
  • Benjamin Harrison Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:H 24/2 151 reels  
  • Grover Cleveland Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:C 59 164 reels 
  • William McKinley Papers - Docs/Film/US  LC 4.7:M 21 98 reels
  • Woodrow Wilson Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:W 74 100 reels (1876-1918) 
  • Calvin Coolidge Papers - Docs/Film/US LC 4.7:C 77 190 reels 
Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, G.H, Clinton, Bush, G.W. Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-present) (searchable) [UMich] 
Note: "
Incorporates the privately-published Roosevelt pages."
Introduction:
"The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online."
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events.
Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, G.H, Clinton, Bush, G.W. Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-present) [National Archives]
Print:
DOCS/US
AE 2.114: CATALOG RECORD

 

Reagan
Public Papers of the President: Ronald Reagan [Reagan Presidential Library]
Bush, G.H
Clinton
Bush, G.W.
Public Papers of the Presidents (1992-present) [GPO Access]   
Of special note: Presidents as Poets Presidents as Poets [Library of Congress]
URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/docslinks/primary_presidents.htm
Created: February 23, 2009.  Updated: February 23, 2009 .
Government Documents Section Pollak Library California State University-Fullerton Fullerton CA  92834