Pollak LibraryResearch Guides Government Information Primary Sources WORLD WAR II   

library logo

Primary Sources
World War II

Print Resources    top

United States Army in World War II: Readers Guide     top
DOCS/US  D 114.7/2:992
CATALOG RECORD
This guide lists and summarizes the volumes in the United States Army in World War II series, providing an outline of the contents of each volume. The guide covers the following subseries: War Department, Army Ground Forces, Army Service Forces, Western Hemisphere, War in the Pacific, Mediterranean Theater of Operations, European Theater of Operations, Middle East Theater, China-Burma-India Theater, Technical Services, Special Studies, Pictorial Record, World War II Sources. INDEX.

United States Army in World War II CATALOG RECORDS    top
Pollak Library owns 94 volumes in this series.

Chronology, 1941-1945     top
DOCS/US   D 114.7:S 63/C 37 
CATALOG RECORD
This compilation establishes the sequence of events in World War II from the bombing on Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941, until the surrender of the Japanese on September 2, 1945. It details the tactical events of the war day by day.

Index to Documents of the National Security Council (1994)     top
DOCS/US  PREX 3.2:D 63/INDEX
CATALOG RECORD
Primary sources (correspondence, memoranda, progress reports, policy recommendations) from the National Security Council (NSC) from the Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan administrations. This volume is a detailed and cumulative aid to declassified NSC documents. The documents are on five reels of microfilm: DOCS/FILM/US PREX 3.2:D 63.

Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt CATALOG RECORD    top
"The material in these volumes has been compiled and collated by Samuel I. Rosenman, counsel to the governor        during the administration of Franklin D. Roosevelt as governor of the state of New York, 1929-1932."  v. 1. The genesis of the new deal, 1928-1932.--v. 2. The year of crisis, 1933.--v. 3. The advance of recovery and reform, 1934.--v. 4. The court disapproves, 1935.--v. 5. The people approve, 1936.--v. 6. The constitution prevails, 1937.--v. 7. The continuing struggle for liberalism, 1938.  --v. 8. War-and neutrality, 1939.--v. 9. War-and aid to democracies, 1940.--v. 10. The call to battle stations, 1941.--v. 11. Humanity on the defensive, 1942.--v. 12. The tide turns, 1943.--v. 13. Victory and the threshold of peace, 1944-45.


To Find Additional Print Resources      top

To find additional sources,  search the Library Catalog as follows:

SUBJECT SEARCH
          world war 1939-1945

While viewing the results list, click on LIMIT/SORT. On next screen, change default from WORDS IN AUTHOR to WORDS IN SUBJECT and type in one of the following terms:

correspondence
diaries
interviews
pamphlets
periodicals
personal narratives
sources

KEYWORD SEARCH (sample searches)    top
       
world war 1939-1945 correspondence
       
world war 1939-1945 diaries
       
world war 1939-1945 personal narratives
       
world war 1939-1945
sources


Web Resources       top

A People At War    top
Digitized images and narrative about men and women, military and civilian, who served during World War II.

After the Day Of Infamy: Man-on-the-Street Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor [Library of Congress]
Audio files and transcripts of more than two hundred recorded interviews with Americans in the months after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Searchable or browsable by names, subjects, audio titles, manuscript titles, geographic locations, and series.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History    top
Full-text electronic library with links to more than 400 primary source documents relating to American history that have been digitized by academic institutions. Coverage is from the 15th Century to the 21st Century, arranged in a chronological list. 

A Chronology of US Historical Documents [University of Oklahoma College of Law]
Links to the text of historical documents from Pre-colonial Era to the present.

Foreign Relations of the United States    top
"
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian.It began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy." -Excerpt from Web Page.

Government Views of D-Day 1944 [CUNY]
Links to web resources by topic—for example, Code Talkers, General Eisenhower, maps, Medal of Honor, Preparations & Planning, and Weather.

The Great Depression and World War II [National Archives]    top
This Teaching With Documents web site provides background information as well as digitized images of documents concerning FDR, Churchill, Eisenhower, and more.

Historic Government Publications from World War II: A Digital Library
Browsable and searchable collection from SMU with links to PDF versions of original documents.

Japanese Surrender Document    top
Digitized image of the official Instrument of Surrender signed by Japanese representatives September 2, 1945.

top

URL of this page: http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/docslinks/primary_wwii.htm
Created: March 17, 2003.  Updated: September 16, 2008 .
Government Documents Section Pollak Library California State University-Fullerton Fullerton CA  92834