Pollak Library Research Guides Government Information  SUPREME COURT CASES

library logo

 Supreme Court Cases
 
 A Guide to Resources in CSUF's Pollak Library
               U.S.

Reporters
Citations
Parallel Citations
Internet Sources

U.S.
Digests & Indexes

U.S.
Citators

U.S.
Major Cases
(Encyclopedias)

CALIFORNIA

Reporters
Digests
Indexes
Depublished Cases


Research guide of special note: Web Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research [LLRX]
United States Supreme Court Decisions by Topic [Cornell LII] (free)


U.S. COURT REPORTERS    top
Reporters or court reports are compilations of judicially-decided cases. They contain the text of the opinions of the United States Supreme Court.

Online: LexisNexis Academic
At logon screen, select Legal  tab and then
Federal & State Cases.

United States Reports    top
REFERENCE  KF101 .A212 CATALOG RECORD & INTERNET LINK 
[Citation: xxx U.S. xxx]
CSUF Library has Volume 371 (1962) to current date.
U.S. Supreme Court official case reporter.

U.S. Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition
REFERENCE  KF101 .A212
CATALOG RECORD 
[Citation: xxx U.S. L. Ed xxx  and xxx U.S. L. Ed. 2d xxx]
CSUF Library has Volume 1-100 (incomplete) of First Series and Volume 1-10 of Second Series

Supreme Court Reporter (West's)    top
REFERENCE  KF101 .S95 CATALOG RECORD 
[Citation: xxx S. Ct. xxx]
CSUF Library has Volume 89 (1968) to current date.


CITATIONS    top
Citations to court cases give the volume, the title of the reporter, and then the page number.
          For example, the citation for Roe v. Wade is 410 U.S. 113.
          To find the case, go to Volume 410 of U.S. Reports and turn to page 113.


PARALLEL CITATIONS     top
Parallel citations can be found in:

United States Supreme Court Digest, 1754 To Date (West's)
See Volume 15: TABLE OF CASES
REFERENCE  KF101 .A215 V.15 CATALOG RECORD

Shepard's United States Citations: Cases
REFERENCE  KF105.2 .S56 CATALOG RECORD 

Pollak Library Research Guide: Shepard's Citation Indexes / by Linda Heichman

U.S. DIGESTS & INDEXES 
Digests are used to find Supreme Court cases by name or by subject.

Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name
REFERENCE  KF90 .S52 1999 PTS. 1-3 CATALOG RECORD
Indexes the more important laws and court cases by their popular names.

United States Supreme Court Digest, 1754 To Date (West's)    top
REFERENCE  KF101 .A215 CATALOG RECORD

Pollak Library Research Guide: Using West's Digest to Find Cases by Subject / by SusanTschabrun
To find a Case by Name:
Go to Volume 16: See volumes with spine title TABLE OF CASES
 
To Find a Case by Keyword or Subject:
Go to Volume1: DESCRIPTIVE WORD INDEX
Example 1: To find cases on school desegregation, go to entry SCHOOL DESEGREGATION. You will find SCHOOLS [KEY]13. Go to the volume in which SCHOOLS would alphabetically fall--see spine titles--and then scan down to [KEY] 13
Example 2: To find cases about CHILD WITNESSES, go to CHILD, then scan down until you find CHILDREN AND MINORS--WITNESSES. Notice that the topic is WITNESSES [KEY] 40. Next go to the volume in which WITNESSES would alphabetically fall--see spine titles--and then scan down to [KEY] 40.
 
To find a Case by Topic & Key Number:
Scan the spines of volumes for the topic. If you do not see the topic you are researching, see To Find a Case by Keyword or Subject above. Then scan the volume for the key number. There are 414 digest topics—the list of  topics appears at the front of each digest volume.
 
WORDS AND PHRASES
Go to Volume 16: WORDS AND PHRASES
These volumes help find cases that have defined specific legal terms. It is lists of words or phrases that have been judicially defined in the cases indexed by the Digest and sets out the headnotes, titles, and citations of the case in which the definition appears.
EXAMPLES: Fighting Words, Reckless Disregard, Rule of Four, Treason

Index to the reports of the Supreme Court of the United States: embracing all the reported decisions of the court from its organization to the present date [1878]
REFERENCE  KF101.6 .M99 1980 
CATALOG RECORD
Indexes the very earliest cases.

Supreme Court of the United States, 1789-1980: an index to opinions arranged by justice
REFERENCE  KF101.6 .B57 1983 CATALOG RECORD
This index is valuable to historians studying a specific period of the Court's history because the opinions are arranged by justice.

Words and Phrases (West's)    top
REFERENCE  KF156 .W6 CATALOG RECORD
Permanent ed. 1658 to date. All judicial constructions and definitions of words and phrases by the State and Federal courts from the earliest times, alphabetically arranged and indexed.


U.S. CITATORS 
Citators are used to determine and verify if the researched case is still good case law, i.e., the case still has precedential value and has not been overruled or somehow distinguished.

Pollak Library Research Guide: Shepard's Citation Indexes / by Linda Heichman

Shepard's United States Citations: Cases     top
REFERENCE  KF105.2 .S56 CATALOG RECORD
Gives case citation tracings for U.S. Supreme Court cases in all three reporters: U.S. Supreme Court Reports, Supreme Court Reports Lawyers Edition and West's Supreme Court Reporter. Begins with Volume 1 of each reporter and continues to current date. 

Shepard's United States Citations
REFERENCE  KF78 .S56 CATALOG RECORD 
See volumes with Court Rules on spine. Then see Table of Contents for Supreme Court Reports. Gives citations for cases in United States Supreme Court Reports, Supreme Court Reports Lawyers Edition, and Supreme Court Reporter.


U.S. MAJOR CASES--ENCYCLOPEDIAS         top

Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Online: Oxford Reference Online [CSUF only]
Select Law and then Oxford Guide To United States Supreme Court Decisions

Online: Historic Supreme Court Decisions by Topic [Cornell LII] (free)
Online: Historic Supreme Court Decisions by Party Name [Cornell LII]
(free)

Landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court (2008)
5th Floor South
KF4549 .F56 2008  CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court (2001)
REFERENCE  KF8742.A35 E53 2001 - 3 volumes CATALOG RECORD

Great American Court Cases
REFERENCE  KF 385 .A4 G68 1999 - 4 volumes  CATALOG RECORD

Landmark Supreme Court Cases
REFERENCE  KF 4549 .L58 1999  CATALOG RECORD

Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court
2006 edition:
REFERENCE  KF 4549 .M334 2006 CATALOG RECORD
2000 edition:
5th FLOOR SOUTH  KF 4549 .M334 2000 CATALOG RECORD

Online--free: Landmark Cases
Text of opinions and resources to support the teaching of landmark Supreme Court cases
.

Supreme Court Yearbook [annual]
5th FLOOR SOUTH KF 8741.A152 S87 (1989-2001) CATALOG RECORD

West's Encyclopedia of American Law  CATALOG RECORD
Note: 2005 ed. is available in Gale Virtual Reference Library
.
In 1998 print ed., look up case in Index in Volume 12. Also, searching by legal topic may help identify key cases relevant to that topic.

Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (2006)
Reference KF4747.5 .E53 2006 v. 1-3

Corpus Juris Secundum  CATALOG RECORD
This source presents background and discussion of legal topics and identifies major relevant cases. Start with the General Index (shelved after main volumes) and look up legal topic, such as "abortion." The entry under this topic identifies key cases.

Pollak Library Research Guide: Corpus Juris Secundum

Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America (2005)
REFERENCE  JC599.U5 E53 2005 v. 1-3 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Supreme Court Quotations
REFERENCE  KF 8742 .A35 E529 2000 CATALOG RECORD


U.S.INTERNET SOURCES  

Historic Supreme Court Decisions by Topic [Cornell LII]
Historic Supreme Court Decisions by Party Name [Cornell LII]

United States Supreme Court Official Web Site    top
    
Slip opinions, 1999-current date
    Bound volumes: Volume 502(1991) - 530(1999) or current date

Highlights of the Supreme Court's 2007-2008 Term

Highlights of the Supreme court's 2006-2007 Term

Highlights of the Supreme Court's 2005-0606 Term

Highlights of the Supreme Court's 2004-2005 Term

Highlights of the Supreme Court's 2003-2004 Term

Highlights of the Supreme Court's 2002-2003 Term

FindLaw
   
Decisions 1893-current date
   Browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number
   Searchable by citation, case name, full text
   See also: Supreme Court News [current cases]

Landmark Cases [free]
Text of opinions and resources to support the teaching of landmark Supreme Court cases
.

Legal Information Institute [Cornell]     top
     All opinions issued since May 1990
     600 historic decisions from prior years

Supreme Court Opinions Archive, 1992-current date [GPO Access]
Supreme Court Opinions and Orders from the 1992-1993 session through the 1999-2000 session in WordPerfect 5.1, ASCII and Adobe Acrobat Portable Document (PDF) format.

Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975 only) [GPO Access]    top
     Finding aid to the official version of United States Reports
     Opinions 1937-1975
     Searchable by citation, case name, full text.

CNN.com Supreme Court Archive
Current news about the Supreme Court with a synopsis of each case currently or about to be considered [current cases].

CALIFORNIA  


CALIFORNIA COURT REPORTERS     top

Pollak Library Research Guide: California Reports/Reporters / by Carol Bednar
This guide includes info about official v. unofficial reporters and more.

California Reports
1st Series
(1852-1934)  REFERENCE KFC45 .A21
CATALOG RECORD
2nd Series  
(1935-1970) REFERENCE KFC45 .A22 CATALOG RECORD
3rd Series  
(1970-1992) REFERENCE KFC45 .A23
CATALOG RECORD
4th Series  
(1992-current date) REFERENCE KFC45 .A24
CATALOG RECORD

West's California Reporter
1st Series
 (1960-1992) REFERENCE KFC47 .C31
CATALOG RECORD
2nd Series  
(1991-current date) REFERENCE KFC47 .C32 CATALOG RECORD


CALIFORNIADIGESTS     top

West's California Digest
1st Series (1850-1981) REFERENCE KFC57 .W467
CATALOG RECORD
2nd Series  (1981-current date) REFERENCE KFC57 .W47 CATALOG RECORD

Pollak Library Research Guide: Using West's Digest to Find Cases by Subject / by SusanTschabrun

CALIFORNIAINDEXES    top

Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Name
REFERENCE  KF90 .S52 1999 PTS. 1-3 CATALOG RECORD
Indexes the more important federal and state laws and court cases by their popular names.

Shepard's California Citations: Cases
REFERENCE KFC39 .S54c 1999 Vol. 1-14 CATALOG RECORD


DEPUBLISHED CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT CASES    top
Depublished opinions can no longer be cited but their conclusion remains intact as far as the case's parties are concerned.

The following indicate changes in the status of recent California Supreme Court cases. Prior case history, depublication, review and other information affecting citability are noted.

West's California Reporter Second Series - Advance Sheets
REFERENCE KFC47 .C32
CATALOG RECORD
(These are the weekly pamphlets shelved after the bound volumes of West's California Reporter Second Series)
Go to page SC-1. This is titled "Cases Accepted by Supreme Court" or NEWS RELEASE. Unpublished cases are noted in the descriptions of specific cases.
NOTE: Not every issue will have cases that were depublished so it may be necessary to check more than one issue.

California Subsequent History Table - LATEST
REFERENCE KFC47.2 C3  2002
CATALOG RECORD 
This is shelved following the weekly pamphlets of West's California Reporter Second Series.
This also notes changes in the status of opinions.

For an explanation of depublication and for the titles of sources for finding depublished cases, see UCLA Law Library's research guide Depublication of California Court of Appeals Decisions.

To simply identify a depublished opinion, use LexisNexis Academic:

Click on LEGAL tab
Click on FEDERAL & STATE CASES
Sources: CA Federal & State Cases Combined
Search terms: depublished or depublication
Change date as appropriate
Show: EXPANDED LIST to see occurrences of search term in records.

 

top      Library Home Page     top

An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This page created and maintained by Catherine Kaye at ckaye@fullerton.edu
URL of this page:
http://guides.library.fullerton.edu/docslinks/supremecourt.htm
Created: 02/25/02. Updated: 08/06/08.