Treaties in Force:
A List Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United
States
Online:
Treaties in Force
Print: REFERENCE KZ235 .T74 CATALOG
RECORD
Bilateral treaties are listed by country and then by subject;
multilateral treaties are listed by subject. Lists
only "treaties and other agreements which on that date had not
expired by their own terms or had not been denounced by their parties,
replaced or superseded by other agreements, or otherwise definitely
terminated." Citations give references to full text
of treaties in the following resources owned by Pollak Library:
Treaties
[Thomas] (1968-current date)
This database fully covers treaty information from the 94th Congress
to the present. Treaty information is also available from the 90th to
the 94th, though some data may be missing. Information is available
about only a few treaties from the 81st through the 89th Congress. New
information is added daily. Links to full text of treaties for the
104th through present Congress.
Search by Congress, Treaty Number, Word/Phrase, Type of Treaty, Date
of Transmission. Searches all parts of the Treaty record (including
Index Terms) but not the text of the treaty itself.
World
Treaty Index
REFERENCE JX171 .R63
1983
v. 1-5
CATALOG RECORD
v. 1. Reference volume -- v. 2. Main entry section, pt. 1, 1900-1959
-- v. 3. Main entry section, pt. 2, 1960-1980 -- v. 4. Party
index -- v. 5. Keyword
index
Index-Guide to Treaties: Based on
The Consolidated Treaty Series
Edited and
annotated by Clive Parry, LL.D.
5TH Floor South JX120 .P352 (12 volumes) CATALOG
RECORD
Volume 1: General chronological list, 1648-1809.
Current treaties:
Treaties and
Other International
Acts Series
REFERENCE
KZ 235.2 .U55 CATALOG
RECORD
TIAS is a series of consecutively numbered
pamphlets containing the text of treaties. TIAS is the first
official publication of U.S. treaties. They first appear in this
"slip" form and then eventually are published in the bound volumes of
UST (United States Treaties and Other International
Agreements). The TIAS
series begins with the number 1501, the combined numbers in the Treaty
series and Executive agreement series having reached 1500, the last
number in the Treaty series being 994 and the last number in the
Executive agreement series being 506.
1950-Current
date:
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
Vol. 1 (1950)-present. Washington: Dept. of State
Annual.
Cited as UST.
REFERENCE
KZ235.2 .U553
CATALOG RECORD
Since 1950 this has been the official publication for treaties and
other international agreements to which the United States is a party.
Such publications had previously been included in the United States
Statutes at Large. Arrangement is numerical, following the
numbering used for the pamphlets in the Treaties and Other
International Acts Series. Texts are in original languages; each
volume includes subject and country indexes.
Index: A four-volume cumulative index for Vols. 1-21,
covering the years 1950-1970 has been issued.
1776-1949:
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of
America, 1776-1949 [Bevans]
REFERENCE KZ235.2 .U552 (13 volumes)
CATALOG RECORD
Cited as BEVANS; supersedes Malloy and Miller.
Covers the period before publications of United States Treaties and
Other International Agreements began. Text is in English only with
some commentary.
V. 1.
Multilateral, 1776-1917. --v. 2. Multilateral, 1918-1930. --v. 3.
Multilateral, 1931-1945. --v. 4. Multilateral, 1946-1949. --v. 5.
Afghanistan- Burma. --v. 6. Canada-Czechoslovakia. --v. 7.
Denmark-France. --v. 8. Germany- Iran. --v. 9. Iraq-Muscat. --v. 10.
Nepal-Peru. --v. 11. Philippines-United Arab Republic. --v. 12. United
Kingdom--Zanzibar. --v. 13. General index
1910-1938:
Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements
Between the United States of American and Other Powers, 1910-1938
[Malloy]
DOCS/US Y 4.F 76/2:T 71/4/
v.1-4
CATALOG RECORD
Within the chronological volumes material is arranged by country, and
covers the period 1776-1931. The text is in English only and includes
annotations and index.
Vols. [I-II] 1776-1909, compiled by William M. Malloy and
issued as Senate doc. 357, 61st Cong., 2d. sess
Vol. III, 1910-1923, issued as Senate doc. 348, 67th Cong., 4th
sess. Denys P. Myers, co-editor
Vol. IV, 1923-1937, issued as Senate doc. 134, 75th Cong., 3d
sess., contains a chronological index and an alphabetical index to the
contents of vol. I-IV
1920-1946:
Treaty Series /
League of Nations [LNTS]
5th Floor South JX170 .L4 Volumes
1-205
CATALOG RECORD
Indexes.
1789-1873:
United States Statutes At Large
Online:
Century of
Lawmaking for a New Nation
Treaties that appeared in the Statutes at Large from 1789-1873
are available full text at the Library of Congress's web site.
1778-1950:
United States Statutes At Large
REFERENCE KF50.U5
CATALOG RECORD
DOCUMENTS
MICROFILM 1(1789)-76(1962).
From 1778 to 1950 this was
the official publication source for U.S. treaties. Treaties are
included in each volume except for the years 1778-1845, when treaties
were all collected in Vols. 7-8. Some executive agreements are not
included. A list of all treaties included in Vols. 1-64, arranged
alphabetically by country and by topic within each country, appears in
Vol. 64, pt. 3, p. B1107-B1182.
1649-1919:
Consolidated Treaty Series
5th Floor South JX120 .P35
Volumes 1-231CATALOG
RECORD
Indexes.
Senate, House and Treaty Documents
(1995-present)
This section of
GPO Access
provides access to Senate Treaty Documents as text and PDF files,
from the 104th Congress to the present. Accompanying messages from
the President and the Secretary of State are included with the
treaty text.
Avalon
Project, Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Digital documents from pre-18th century through 1999. Coverage
is international, but the primary focus is on the U.S. Includes U.S.
bilateral treaties 1778 -1999, U.S.
multilateral treaties 1864-1999 and treaties between the U.S. and
Native Americans.
Multilaterals
Project, Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University
The texts of international multilateral conventions and other
instruments including treaties in the fields of human rights,
commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas.
Although the vast majority of texts date from the second half of the
20th century, the collection also includes historical texts, from
the 1648 Treaty of Westphalia to the Covenant of the League of
Nations.