Pollak Library Research Guides Government Information UNITED STATES

library logo

U.S. Government Information
 
A Guide To Resources in CSUF's Pollak Library
Election 2008
Find Your Representatives
TAX FORMS--Federal
TAX FORMS--California
PERIODICALS Online
USA.gov

Business,
Economics,
&
Labor

top









































































 

10-K's [SEC] | SEC Info     top
Agricultural Statistics
Beige Book [current economic conditions by Federal Reserve District] | Archive
Budget and Economic Outlook
Budget of the United States Government
     Budget Documents FY 2007
Budget: Consolidated Federal Funds Report for Fiscal Year 2005
Budget—Congressional Budget
     Congressional Budget - Current FY

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Business Data & Statistics
[Business.gov]
Career Guide to Industries
Census Bureau Home Page
Census Bureau: Statistics of U.S. Businesses
Census Data
See CENSUS & DEMOGRAPHICS below
Cities-Official City Sites
Commerce Business Daily

Conference Board
[nonprofit organization]
Confidence Index
[Conference Board]
Congressional Budget Office [economic data & projections]

Consumer Expenditure Survey

Consumer Price Index
(CPI) [current, archived, FAQ's]
Consumer Price Index [archived releases]
Counties-Official County Sites
County and City Data Book
[selected tables]
County Business Patterns
(businesses by employment size)See also Zip Code Statistics
County Business Patterns: Search by County or Zip (small businesses/employment size)
Current Population Survey
Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations

Dismal Scientist [Economy.com]
E-Commerce: E-STATS: Measuring the Electronic Economy
Economic Census 2002
Economic Census 1997
Economic Indicatorsand latest news releases
Economic Indicators
[GPO Access]See also Leading Economic Indicators
Economic Policy Institute
Economic Report of the President
Economic Reports: Recent Economic Reports [Bureau of Economics] new
Economic Statistics Briefing Room

Economy At A Glance
[by region and by state] new

EDGAR
[SEC]
Employee Benefits in ...
Employment and Unemployment
[selected BLS tables]
Employment Projections
Federal Reserve Bulletin
Federal Reserve Economic Database
[FRED]

Federal Reserve Regional Summaries

Federal Reserve Statistical Releases

Federal Reserve System Board of Governors
Federal Reserve System Board of Governors - Annual Report to Congress
Financial Report of the United States Government
GDP: Gross Domestic Product

Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
Historical Statistics on Banking

Income Statistics
[Economics Statistics Briefing Room]
Income
[personal income by state]: Annual 1929-2005

Industry Statistics: Current Industrial Reports
Industry Statistics: Related Sources

Industry, Trade, and Technology Review
Labor Statistics
[BLS]
Leading Economic Indicators
See also Major Economic Indicators
Local Area Personal Income
Minerals Yearbook
Monthly Energy Review
Monthly Labor Review: MLR

National Bureau of Economic Research
[private, nonpartisan organization]

National Income & Products Accounts of the United States
National Labor Relations Board

O*Net Online
(previously called Dictionary of Occupational Titles)
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Quarterly
PPI Detailed Report
[Producer Price Indexes]
SIC Codes
(search by keyword) [OSHA]

SIC Codes Finder [also NAICS Numbers]
STAT-USA [CSUF only]
State Exports to Countries & Regions
State of Working America
2004/05 [EPI] new
Survey of  Current Business Survey of  Current Business

TradeCom.com [trade statistics]
TradeStats Express (U.S., state-by-state) new
Treasury Bulletin
Unemployment Statistics-Local Area
U.S. Business Advisor
U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights
Zip Code Business Patterns
& County Business Patterns (small businesses/employment size)
Zip Code Statistics

Census & Demographics

top




 


 





















 

CORE RESOURCE: American Community Survey
CORE RESOURCE:
American FactFinder [Census statistics]     top
CORE RESOURCE:
Gateway to Census 2000
CORE RESOURCE:
Demographic Profiles (all cities, counties, and states)
CORE RESOURCE:
Census: Subjects AZ
CORE RESOURCE: MapStats

SIPP:
SIPP P-70 Reports
SIPP: SIPP Working Papers
SIPP: Statistical Briefs
Census 2000 [Pollak Library Guide]
Fast Facts for Congress
new
American Community Survey

American Housing Survey
Census Briefs [1996-date]
Census Bureau Home Page
Census: Facts for Features
Census: Historical (1790-1970)
Census: News Releases Subject Index
Census: Publication Subject Index
Cities-Official City Sites
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
County Quick Facts
[Census Bureau]
Economic Census 2002 new
Economic Census 1997

Historical Census (1790-1970)
Maps [Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection]
Minority Links
[African Americans, Asian Americans, & Hispanic Americans]
Population-Asian and Pacific Islander
Population-Black Population in the U.S.
Population-EstimatesAll LevelsLatest Data
Population-Foreign Born Population of the United States
Population-Hispanic Population in the United States
Poverty Guidelines
Race Statistics
State and County Quick Facts
[Census Bureau]
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book

Consumer Information

top

Air Traveler Information     top
Consumer Expenditure Surveys Home Page
Consumer.gov
[formerly Consumer Gateway]
Consumer Information Center
[Pueblo Co]
Government Complaint Center

Country Information

top

 

 







 

CORE RESOURCE: Background Notes     top
CORE RESOURCE:
World Factbook
CORE RESOURCE:
Social Indicators [UN]
CORE RESOURCE:
Country Studies / Area Handbook Series [Library of  Congress]
Bribery:
See Country Market Research and Anti-Bribery Reports [Trade Compliance Center]
Country Commercial Guides (1996-2001)—For latest, see STAT-USA [CSUF ONLY]
Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices

Education for All: Country Reports
Foreign Trade Statistics
GlobalHealth

International Economic Trends
[Federal Reserve]

Maps
[Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Minerals Yearbook, Volume III: International Reports

Nations of the World
STAT-USA
[CSUF ONLY]

STATISTICS:
International Statistical Agencies
Travel Warnings

Crime & Justice

top












 

 

CORE RESOURCE: Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics    top
CORE RESOURCE:
Crime in the United States (Uniform Crime Reports)
CORE RESOURCE: Uniform Crime Reports County Data
CORE RESOURCE: Bureau of Justice Statistics
CORE RESOURCE:
Justice Bureau Statistics Publications
CORE RESOURCE:
Justice Information Center [NCJRS]
Capital Punishment
Compendium of Federal Justice Statistics
Corrections Statistics
Cybercrime
[Computer Crime and Intellectual Property]
Hate Crimes Statistics
Juvenile Justice Statistical Briefing Room [OJJDP]
National Drug Control Strategy

Prevalence of Imprisonment in the U.S. Population, 1974-2001
Probation and Parole
Statistics
School Crime and Safety, 2001 TEXT | PDF-191 pages
Use of Force by Police: Overview of National and Local Data
White House Social Statistics Briefing Room

Drug Abuse

top
 

2005 National Survey on Drug Abuse and Health     top
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Drug Abuse and Addiction Research: 25 Years of Discovery
NIAAA
[National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism]
NIDA
[National Institute on  Drug Abuse]

Education

top






 

CORE RESOURCE: Digest of Education Statistics     top
CORE RESOURCE: Condition of Education
CORE RESOURCE:
National Center for Education Statistics [NCES]
Accreditation Status of Colleges and Universities [U.S. Dept. of Education]
Common Core of Data [U.S. Dept. of Education]
Education for All: Country Reports

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence new
120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
Projections of Education Statistics to 2009
Title IV
[financial aid institution codes]

Title IX: Sports Law [Pollak Library Guide]

Environment

top







 

Biological Survey     top
DOE Information Bridge
[25,000 research reports full-text]
Drinking Water Sources
[EPA]
Endangered Species Home Page
Environmental Health Information
GulfLink: Gulf War Illnesses
National Biological Information Infrastructure
Local Climatological Data
Ozone Depletion
Science & Engineering Indicators
Tides Online
Weather Events of 1991-2006

Government Information:
General

top

 


 

 

 





















 

U.S. GOVERNMENT'S WEB PORTAL:
CORE RESOURCE:
Our American GovernmentPDF-136 pages
CORE RESOURCE: Ben's Guide to US Government for Kids
CORE RESOURCE: Constitution and Codes (federal & state)
CORE RESOURCE: Constitution Resources [Federal Resources for Educational Excellence] new
CORE RESOURCE: United States Government Manual
CORE RESOURCE--overview of presidential administrations (print only): Congress and the Nation
Contacting the Congress
(find your representatives)  

America's Story [Library of Congress]
American Memory Project
[Library of Congress] 

American Presidents: Life Portraits

Avalon Project at Yale Law School

Basic Collection
[FDLP]
BUDGET:
FedSpending.org
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Civil War: The Valley of the Shadow
[primary sources]
Congressional Directory

Congressional Directory: Pictorial
Congressional Districts by Zip Code
Congressional E-Mail Addresses and Web Sites

Congressional Research Service Reports new
Consular Affairs Bureau
[Travel warnings]
Copyright Forms and Instructions
Executive Branch

FOIA: Freedom of Information Act new
Foreign Relations of the United States Online 1945-1972
Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1960
FORMS: FedForms.gov

GAO [Government Accountability Office]
Gettysburg Address
GPO ACCESS | Multi-Database Search
Global Perspectives on the United States: A Nation by Nation Survey [print]
Homeland Security Office
House of Representatives
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Legislative Branch
Library of Congress Home PageCatalog
Making of America
[primary sources]
Maps
[Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection]

Patents & Trademarks
[NOTE: For full text patents with images, try
US Patents]
Presidents of the United States
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1991-)

Public Papers of the Presidents [Hoover-present] (searchable) [UMich] new

State of the Union Messages 1790-today | 1992-today
Tax Forms [IRS]
Travel Warnings
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents

War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records
Yale Law School Primary Sources on History, Law, & Diplomacy
Zip Codes

Government Information:
Laws & Regulations

top

























 

CORE RESOURCE--overview of presidential administrations (print only): Congress and the Nation
CNSTITUTION: Constitution of the United States
U.S. CODE:
U.S. Code (search or browse)
U.S. CODE: U.S. Code Search Form
U.S. CODE: U.S. Code Outline [LII]
GENERAL: Cornell Legal Information Institute [U.S. Code, Public Laws, Constitution, Supreme Court Opinions, and more]
GENERAL: American Law Sources Online [U.S. Code, Public Laws, Constitution, Supreme Court Opinions, and more]
GENERAL: Guide to Law Online: United States [Library of Congress]
FEDERAL REGISTER & CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS: Science.gov

new Active Legislationcurrent bills by subject [Senate]     top
Avalon Project at Yale Law School

Basic Collection
[FDLP]
Billscurrent bills by subject:
Active Legislation
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
         
Statutes at Large, American State Papers, Serial Set, Congressional Record (1789-1875)
Code of Federal Regulations
[GPO Access]
Code of Federal Regulations Outline
[LII]
Committee Prints (1997-current date)

Congressional Hearings Online: Browse
(1997 to current date)
Congressional Record
(1994-current date)

Congressional Serial Set (Documents and Reports)
Copyright Forms and Instructions
Disabilities Information

Executive Orders [CSUF Guide]
Executive Orders
[President G. W. Bush]
Federal Register
(1994-current date)

Federal Register: Submit Comments on Documents Open for Comment
FedLaw
GPO ACCESS | Multidatabase Search
House of Representatives
How Laws Are Made
Joint Committee on Taxation
Law Library
[US House of Representatives Internet Law Library]
Legislative Histories Research Guide [CSUF research guide]
Legislative Histories Research Guide
[UMich]
Patents & Trademarks
[NOTE: For full text patents with images, try Delphion]
Popular Names of U.S. Laws
 [CSUF research guide]
Public Laws
(104th Congress to date) [GPO Access]

Public Laws (103rd Congress to date) [Thomas]
Regulations.gov—Submit Comments on Federal Register Documents Open for Comment
Senate

Tax Forms [IRS]
Thomas
[Library of Congress]
    
Search for Bill Summary & Status
     Search for Public Laws
     Search the Congressional Record
     Constitution of the United States 

U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873 [A Century of Lawmaking]

Voting Records: House & Senate (by bill)
Voting Records of Representatives: Roll Call Votes: House
Voting Records of Senators: Senate Roll Call Votes (1989-present)
 

Government Information:
Sources for Finding

top











 

SEARCH ENGINES:    top
Google Uncle Sam

Contacting the Congress (find your representatives)
Agencies & Departments of the Federal Government
Congressional Directory

Congressional Directory: Pictorial
Congressional Research Service Reports—CRS Reports
[CNIE]
Congressional Research Service Reports/Dept. of State [CRS]
new
DOCUMENTS CENTER
[UMich]

Earmarks new
Federal Bulletin Board
FORMS:
FedForms.gov
new
GPO ACCESS
INFOMINE

Periodicals Online

Reference Shelf

Tax Forms [IRS]
U.S.I.A. Daily Washington File
[news, speeches]

Health Information

top




















 

CORE RESOURCE: Medline Plus [medical encyclopedia]    top
CORE RESOURCE:
CDC [Centers for Disease Control
CORE RESOURCE: FastStats 
CORE RESOURCE: Health United States
CORE RESOURCE:
HealthFinder
CORE RESOURCE:
Surgeon General Reports
America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being

Cancer Statistics
(data by state and metropolitan area) (2002) [CDC] new

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
ChildStats
Clinical Trials
Food Guide Pyramid

GlobalHealth

GulfLink: Gulf War Illnesses
Health Insurance Coverage [statistics]
Human Genome Project Information

Mental Health Publications

MMRW

Nutrient Database [USDA]
PubMed Central
[full-text reports]
Social Security Handbook

Surgeon General's Reports, 1964-date
Surgeon General's Reports on Tobacco and Smoking

Travelers' Health
[CDC]

Trends in Health & Aging

Vital Statistics Reports

Vital Statistics System

Weight Loss & Control

Jobs

top

America's Job Bank     top
USA Jobs
Federal Job Search
BLS Career Information for Kids

Career Guide to Industries
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Quarterly

Statistics

top

CORE RESOURCE: Statistical Abstract of the United States     top  
US STATISTICS: USA.gov: Data & Statistics

CSUF GUIDE: Statistics: A Pollak Library Research Guide 

Supreme Court

top

Supreme Court of the United States [official web site]      top
Today's opinions: click on OPINIONS then SLIP OPINIONS
Supreme Court Decisions—current & historic
Historic Supreme Court Decisions
Supreme Court Cases At A Glance
Supreme Court Merit Briefs
Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975
Supreme Court Decisions 1992-2000 | Bench Opinions
Supreme Court Opinions, 1991-date (502+) [Bound Volumes]

Library Home Page 

An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2003 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
This guide created and maintained by Catherine Kaye.
Links verified 09/18/2006.
Updated: 04/15/08.
Locations of visitors to this page