library logo

Drug Abuse
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Titles

Encyclopedias

Statistics
Books
Articles
Web Sites
California--Statistics
California--Proposition 36
California--General
CSUF CAmpus Information
Laws on Drug Control
Legalization of Drugs
Primary Sources
Crime & Drug Abuse

Recent Titles 

Encyclopedias

new title Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Drug Abuse Sourcebook (2004)
REFERENCE  HV5801 .D724 2004 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs (2002)
4th FLOOR SOUTH RM316 .M555 2002 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior (2001)
REFERENCE  HV5804 .E53 2001 Vol. 1-4 CATALOG RECORD

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior (2004)
REFERENCE   R726.5 .E53 2004  v. 1 -2   CATALOG RECORD

National Survey of State Laws (all 50 states) (2003)
REFERENCE KF386 .N38 2003 (see page 307-338) CATALOG RECORD

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
REFERENCE  H41 .I58 2001  v. 1-26 CATALOG RECORD 


Statistics

Core Statistics

Additional Statistics


Books

Following is a list of recent books. To find additional books in Pollak Library, search the Library Catalog by the subjects listed here.

Books & Internet—Additional Titles (alphabetical by title)


Articles

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases. From the list, select a database and then enter search terms.

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Con
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

CQ Researcher articles of special note:

  • "War on Drugs," June 2, 2006
  • "Preventing Teen Drug Use," March 15, 2002
  • "Drug-Policy Debate," July 28, 2000
  • "Zero-Tolerance," March 10, 2000

Additional journals & articles of note:   

Journal of Behavioral Health Services & Research. Full text in ABI/Inform.

"Success of Addicts Doing Treatment, Not Time, Questioned," Los Angeles Times, November 10, 2003 (statistics).

"Work Rights of Former Addicts at Issue," Los Angeles Times, October 9, 2003.

"Open the Prison Door to Savings; Freeing 10,000 nonviolent drug offenders could avert painful cuts to the court system" (statistics) [EDITORIAL]. Los Angeles Times, January 5, 2003.

Project D.A.R.E. Outcome Effectiveness Revisited. Steven L West, Keri K O'Neal. American Journal of Public Health. Washington: Jun 2004.Vol.94, Iss. 6; pg. 1027, 3 pgs. [assessment of DARE]. Available full text in ABI/Inform.

Project DARE: No Effects at 10-Year Follow-up. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology. 1999 Aug v.67 is.4, page 590-3. Available full text in PsycArticles.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance [MMWR]

"Unintended Effect of War on Drugs Found in Study; Crime: Of inmates in survey, more than half were nonviolent with no serious narcotics record. Also, minorities made up a large percentage." Los Angeles Times, Home Edition, Sep 20, 2002, page A-24.

"Health Effects of Cannabis," Bulletin on Narcotics, v.49/50 page 85 (1997-98)


California--Statistics

California--Proposition 36

California--General

Laws on Drug Control

Legalization

Library Catalog Subject Search: drug legalization united states


Crime & Drug Abuse
  Library Home Page