Education: A Pollak Library Research Guide
Cal State Fullerton

Home
Up
Library Home Page Library Catalog

 

Education: Finding Education Law in Electronic Format

Subject Resource
California Case Law LexisNexis Academic Universe
bulletClick on Legal
bulletClick on Federal and State Cases (right hand toolbar)
bullet Use the pull down menu on Select Sources to select CA Federal & State Cases, Combined

Available on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.

Federal Case Law LexisNexis Academic Universe
bulletClick on Legal
bulletClick on Federal and State Cases (right hand toolbar)
bullet Use the pull down menu on Select Sources to select Federal Court Cases, Combined
bulletInput your search term(s)

Available on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.

California Statutory Law California Legislative Information: Codes
bulletCheck Education Code
bulletClick on Search to view the Table of Contents for the Education Code
bulletKeyword searching is also available
Available free to all on the Internet
California Current Legislation California Legislative Information: Pending Bills
bulletSearch by Bill Number, Author, or Keyword
bulletCommittee analysis contains Legislative Intent
bulletSubscribe to email notification service to track progress in the legislation
Available free to all on the Internet
California Administrative
Law

California Code of Regulations
The California Code of Regulations (CCR) Web site contains the text of the regulations that have been formally adopted by state agencies, reviewed and approved by the Office of Administrative Law, and filed with the Secretary of State.
Available free to all on the Internet
California Law Guides How a Bill Becomes a Law
Glossary of Legislative Terms
For Background Information on the Law and Articles on the Impact of Law

Select
News

LexisNexis Academic Universe
bulletClick on News
bullet

Use the pull down menu on Select Sources to select Legal News Group File

bulletUse the pull down menu to select Headline, Headline/Lead, or Full-text search
bulletSelect the Date of coverage
bulletInput your search term (e.g. Sexual harassment and schools; IDEA and Special Education
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.
Select
Publications Library
Factiva
bulletFull-text from more than 8000 sources including magazines and major newspapers.
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.

A good starting place for basic articles

Academic Search Premier [EBSCO Host]
bulletSome citations, some abstracts, some full-text, some PDF. SFX enabled.
bulletFull text coverage from 1985 on, depending on title.
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.
Law Reviews

(Full-text)

LexisNexis Academic Universe
bulletClick on Legal
bullet The default setting is US & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined
bulletInput your search terms. Click on Search.
bulletTo view a document, click on the blue underscored title.
bulletNote: Law Review articles tend to be very long. To find the portion of the article which contains your search terms, change the view from full text to KWIC. (Click on the KWIC button at the top of the screen.)
bulletAvailable on CSUF campus and from your home computer by logging on through the Campus Portal.

 

Current Webmaster: S. Rosenblatt. Please send notice of broken links, comments, and questions to srosenblatt@fullerton.edu.
Original Guide
by Carol Bednar. Revised January 2007 M.A. Lynn, June 2009 S. Rosenblatt
An administrative page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999-2010, California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: June 2009.